This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories
emPerform

Online Employee Performance Management Software

visit website

emPerform Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The CRG emPerform team are very eager to keep us happy as a client and will work with us to meet our needs and get the best out of the system.

Julia C.

We have been impressed with the ease of functionality the system provides and the helpfulness of the customer support team.

Kevin D.

The software is easy to use, easy to setup, fully customizable and aesthetically pleasing. The 'tag' system, and the ability to incorporate these notes into the formal reviews is a favourite feature.

Christina B.

Cons

Admin is VERY clunky, logging in is difficult, and features are limited.

Heidi T.

When the appraisal is printed it's hard to read.

Joanna D.

Good tool for the employees - terrible for the administrators.

Linnea B.

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

23

15

4

1

0

88%
positive reviews
93%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


43 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Performance Management Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

I was just recently introduced by emPerform while recently entering into a new position, and like many other companies we were using the method of handing a print off to an employee and asking them to complete their own evaluation. Which this method is fine as long as there is open dialect between Manager and employee, but at times we all get busy and lose sight of this process. This was my first...

Pros

Very user friendly from an employee standpoint

Cons

Nothing really, just learning the system from an administrative standpoint.

Vendor response

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding emPerform features and our support team! We are so glad emPerform supports open communication and ongoing performance accountability. If there is anything we can ever do to help or if you have additional feedback, we would love to hear from you. Contact us directly support@employee-performance.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revamped entire Performance Management System

Reviewed a year ago

Reduced time spent on a cumbersome, ineffective review system; revamped entire cycle based on the tools available to us in emPerform (ability to record goals and training needs) and address company values.

Pros

emPerform has not only solved our problem of cumbersome performance reviews, but completely challenged our approach to performance management in general. We have been guided through a full re-do of our annual cycle and have received valuable, experienced advice from people who have been in this industry for years. The software is easy to use, easy to setup, fully customizable and aesthetically pleasing. The 'tag' system, and the ability to incorporate these notes into the formal reviews is a favourite feature.

Cons

Although using libraries for tracking responses is really useful, the downside is that you can only have one library within a section. We were hoping to just have one form with all the sections and questions within one page - but in order to track and pull data from responses we need more than one evaluation area for one formal review. We were, however, supported in working around this effectively. During the demos, we thought the view/user-ability of emPerform was less impressive than other software, however the customization of it seems to be superior.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

emPerform is a nice tool but a bit clunky

Reviewed 5 years ago

The journaling and tagging features in emPerform support our ongoing performance review process. The improved user interface that was rolled out in January 2016 is a big improvement over the previous version. One of their greatest strengths is their very helpful customer service team and account managers - always responsive and thorough. However, the system is still clunky, particularly on the admin side, and administrators and users alike continue to have difficulty even logging in. The system could use a bit of a technology update as well, incorporating more features and allowing for hyperlinks and more individualization.

Pros

customer service, improved user interface on the individual employee login side, journaling and tagging features

Cons

admin is VERY clunky, logging in is difficult, and features are limited

Vendor response

Hi Heidi - Thank you for the feedback. We are glad that our tag module supports your efforts for ongoing performance management and are sorry that you have been experiencing difficulties with login. We will follow up directly to discuss options so emPerform works as smoothly as possible for your administrators. We are always working to improve our features and usability for valued customers like you and thank you again for your feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

emPerform paved the way!

Reviewed 4 months ago

Excellent experience with an excellent product and high-performing support team.

Pros

We moved to a system after only being on paper since the inception of our organization (ca. 100 years). Naturally, there was substantial angst around the move. The team at emPerform made the entire process so easy. The software is specifically designed for performance management and adapts quite easily to any need an organization might have. In addition, smaller/mid-sized organizations get the same service and attention to detail as the larger companies. As a non-technical person, emPerform was easy to follow and implement.

Cons

None - this is our first year and as of yet, no complaints. Every aspect has functioned as expected.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Performance Appraisal and Compensation Modules

Reviewed a year ago

Pennichuck Water had always used a paper based performance management process. This paper process was becoming increasingly less efficient so the Company went through an extensive process to review various platforms. At the same time, we have been a company blessed with minimal turnover. However an increasing number of retirements were resulting in a changing demographic in our population and a...

Pros

• Very robust yet intuitive system that is straight-forward to use both as an employee and administrator of the system • The on-site implementation, guidance from implementation specialists, and online training resources make it easy to navigate the administration of new appraisals, forms surveys, etc. Once you know how to build one thing in the system, it is easy to build something else since the platform is so consistent with its features and build-out functionality, • Customer service is excellent – having a designated implementation duo with us from the start helped make the implementation and support fit to our personal needs, making the experience of rolling this out to employees much smoother

Cons

There was nothing noteworthy. As any software, there are always limitations but our implementation team proactively supported us in how we may work through these concerns.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We love emPerform!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our organization has enjoyed a terrific collaborative experience with the emPerform performance management system, and the entire emPerform support team, from our first point of contact, through the initial implementation, continuing through our ongoing use of the system, and our enjoyable (and I do mean that enjoyable, every time!) correspondence with the emPerform team for support, training, upgrades, etc. From day one, the software has been of extremely high value to us both the product and the service provided by emPerform has been above and beyond all of our (high!) expectations. It's just a great product and a great team to be involved with. We couldn't ask for more.

Pros

From an administrative perspective, I like how elegant and easy the system is to use. I appreciate being able to design new forms and evaluation workflows myself (the well designed system makes me feel so smart, it's that user friendly!), knowing too that if I get stuck a clear and informative tutorial, as well as fabulous tech support are immediately accessible. I like that the emPerform technology is seamlessly supporting important conversations between our managers and their direct reports. Instead of being overwhelmed and bogged down with the forms as they used to be, our managers are freed up to focus their attention on our employees rather than struggling with the forms. This is, of course, invaluable for us.

Cons

I have no complaints about this software.

Vendor response

Hi Karie - Thank you for the feedback! It has been a pleasure working with your team and we are so happy emPerform supports your organization's performance management objectives. As always, if you need anything, please reach out to us! 1.877.711.0367

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Performance Process Transition

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall we are extremely satisfied with the system, as it has taken us from a cumbersome paper process to an efficient cloud based solution allowing our employees the ease of submitting feedback and the effectiveness for our supervisors to collect that feedback. That ability to save time in executing the process allows for more time focused on coaching than on facilitating the process. As we go forward and partner with CRG emPerform's customer support team in truly mirroring our dynamic process, we feel it will be the exact answer to what we had been dreaming of!

Pros

We have been impressed with the ease of functionality the system provides and the helpfulness of the customer support team. Transitioning from a fully paper based process, CRG emPerform brought a vast range of capabilities based on how we have developed our process. The team there is willing to listen and create just about anything in whatever way you envision. Their desire is to make it work exactly how you want and will partner with you in making suggestions to make your process as user-friendly and efficient as possible.

Cons

As a matrixed organization, our performance process has moved to a dynamic approach with the ability to include feedback multiple times from the same evaluator within a review period. This process structure has created some difficulty for the system to mirror that process and get the total data set gathered for each individual based on how the system is configured.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Automating your paper reviews

Reviewed 8 months ago

Our interactions with all stages of implementation and continuing support have been excellent. The staff are knowledgeable about each product, they are attentive to our needs and provide a very high level of customer service.

Pros

We were able to set up workflows to mimic existing paper workflows which allowed an easier transition from paper to online. Use of tags and journal entries were very helpful to supervisors as well as peer to provide immediate feedback and store performance data when it occurs instead of trying to remember it 6 months to one year later.

Cons

Not easy to set up workflows but CRG implementation specialists are extremely knowledgeable and able to explain how workflows need to be set up based on our needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Performance Review Process for our company

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall, the experience has been very positive, the selection and implementation process went smoothly and all questions were answered quickly. The CRG emPerform team are very eager to keep us happy as a client and will work with us to meet our needs and get the best out of the system! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been a great implementation specialist, he's very knowledgeable about the system and very quick to respond to any of our questions, it has been great working with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]!

Pros

It's a great tool to streamline the process and the workflows help to keep things moving without having to remember to send out emails periodically throughout the year. We kept the overall process similar to what employees have done previously, so that the new tool wasn't a shock to our staff. Overall feedback has been positive with a few suggested improvements. We are working on implementing what is possible and makes sense for our business goals.

Cons

Some minor software glitches where the system booted you out periodically. Other issues with not saving data, would like to see an auto-save function. Bullets and numbering would be helpful to add into the text boxes to help with organizing content. The size of the text box was limiting, the box should expand as you type. Not limiting goal editing to just the author, both/all parties should be able to edit Goal Titles. Auto-emails should include employee name in the content of the email (not just the email title), adding customized tokens where we can create email templates and have them customized for each employee.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We've been using emPerform for about 6 months and really like the system. Has everything we need!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

How customizable it is. We can set it up how based off of what we need and can make the workflow super easy and user friendly. The support we've received along the way has also been incredible! It seems to be a one stop shop for us in terms of performance management for our entire organization.

Cons

While it has a ton of reporting capability, it is a bit difficult to find what you need at times and drill down into the reporting and data.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback Mike! We love how you see the value in emPerform's 'one-stop shop' for performance management. Let's connect to discuss some reporting tricks. Our reporting library is quite extensive with drill-down so we agree it can take a little practice - but we're here to help and will reach out ASAP.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

EmPerform review

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use to use paper to complete our evaluations and emPerform transitioned us from that process which helped us complete evaluations more timely.

Pros

Customer Service is phenomenal. CSRs and team work very hard to make sure we are taken care of. I have an immediate response from Lonnie. They are amazing. They have spoiled me to where I hold other software companies to this standard.

Cons

I can't think of one thing I do not like about the software. Fantastic software and customer service!

Vendor response

Thank you for the glowing review! We love working with your organization and are so glad emPerform is helping your workforce complete performance evaluations in a more timely manner. That's what we're here for!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have used emPerform at two companies and like the system. Both roll-outs have gone great!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use - point, click, type, save, submit! As the administrator, I like the ease of building new forms and surveys. Super easy compared to other systems.

Cons

The ratings are averaged and I wish we had the option to sum the ratings. You can only do 1 360 evaluation per review period on an employee. It would be helpful to be able to do multiple 360 evaluations on the same employee throughout the year.

Vendor response

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Joy! We are thrilled to have you back in the emPerform family. We have a great feature coming out this year that will allow you to do unlimited 360°'s - stay tuned for that!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

emPerform Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall our experience with emPerform has been terrific! Our newly assigned consultant didn't miss a beat with us and offered up many suggestions that helped streamline our processes even more!

Pros

I like the look and feel of the product. Very professional when you put the tool together with your company's logo and colors. Pretty intuitive from a non-admin perspective. My managers seemed to like it.

Cons

From an admin perspective, it is a little cumbersome and often overwhelming. Need a step by step administrative user guide.

Vendor response

Thank you for the wonderful feedback Gayle! I know our entire team loves working with your team. We are always working to improve the usability of emPerform so we will be in touch to discuss some changes that are coming and to and get some of your ideas. :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Streamlined Performance Management

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This system is very user friendly and easy to understand and has allowed us to incorporate all of the facets of our performance management system along with the salary review component. This has increased the efficiency of administering this process on an annual basis as well as helps our Supervisors and Managers maintain feedback throughout the year. From a user standpoint, it does not require much training to learn the process. From an administrator standpoint, I like the flexibility that the system offers in terms of changing layouts, formats, etc. I also like the notifications that are automatically sent to users as this has decreased the time it takes to administer our performance evaluation process.

Cons

The evaluation reports are VERY confusing to read. Even when exporting to PDF or Word, the formatting is done is such a way that is almost impossible to make more reader friendly. I would like to see improvements made in this area, as it is necessary from time to time to print a report.

Vendor response

Thank you for the great feedback Erika! We are so glad that emPerform has helped streamline all aspects of Ecore's performance management & compensation planning and love how you are getting value from the flexibility of the software and its ease of use! We are working to improve the exporting format of our reports and will keep you updated on the progress! Thanks for being such a wonderful customer and power-user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

BSA LifeStructures EmPerform Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great. Emplementation with Lonnie was very thorough and helpful. Customer service is very responsive.

Pros

building the forms and workflow exactly as we wanted

Cons

The behind the scenes administrative process is a bit tedious, but user experience is great and that is ultimately what matters.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome! Customer rep are amazing to work with.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, flexibility , tech support, help with reports, tags are awesome, others are happy with the system

Cons

Email notifications aren't working very well right now. Other than that I can think of anything else.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Lori! We think you are awesome too! We'll look into your emails right away so we can make sure all is running smoothly for you.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Talent Management Initiative

Reviewed 6 years ago

With well earned respect, I confidently recommend emPerform for future talent management projects. Looking to breathe some life into our employee evaluation process. I had the good fortune of working with CRG emPerform on the renovation of our Talent Management Initiative. It stood out as one of the most complex projects undertaken by our organization. The success of this complex project depended...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Wow! Thank you for that great review Angelo! It has been a pleasure working with you to automate and streamline vital performance management processes. Be sure to keep in touch as your processes and needs change so we can ensure you are always getting the most from the features included with emPerform.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Experience with emPerform

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The system is pretty much adaptable to anything you want it to be. You can easily add or delete sections from one review to another or copy the previous review and make it the next review. Our managers like the system, even though they don't like doing reviews, but they are happy with the ease of use.

Cons

The workflow set up is challenging and emPerform staff assistance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Customizable System

Reviewed 5 years ago

The thing about emPeform is that you can customize pretty much anything. The hard part about it is that its not easy to learn or train on it, but once you start figuring out the features it becomes amazing. Our review system here is not an easy one, but were able to put in a workflow that makes it easy for managers and employees to complete while capturing all the information that we needed.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Christina - thank you for your review of emPerform! We love your feedback and you captured one of our biggest points of pride - configurability. We have yet to meet two companies with the same needs so it's important to us that emPerform works for our customers instead of the other way around. So glad emPerform is doing just that for you. We are always working to make training and ramp-up easier and you said it best "once you start figuring out the features it becomes amazing." We have launched some exciting new training programs and resources and will be in touch to discuss. Thanks again for your review and be sure to keep in touch - we are always here to help!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very Happy Client!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have used the CRG emPerform software since 2014 -- everything about the process, from the introduction to the company, the decision to implement, the onsite consultation and build of the system for our company, user training and the ongoing user experience has been top quality, easy and very timely. The software is user friendly...intuitive and simple to use for end users as well as for the administrators. The reporting feature is very robust and helpful. In sum, very satisfied with this software and the experience of working with CRG emPerform overall - highly recommend.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for the great feedback Sammi! It has been a pleasure working with you and your team as well. We aim to deliver outstanding quality and value to our customers at every stage of buying, implementation, roll-out and beyond. If you ever have suggestions on how we can improve our software or services, please email us directly or call. 1.877.711.0367

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

emPerform review

Reviewed 5 years ago

We chose emPerform because of it's ease of use, it met our immediate needs and had a reasonable price point. The implementation team was excellent, they worked very closely with my team and provided the support we needed to get our performance system up and running. During upgrades the emPerform team was available to answer any questions my team had and prepared my team for what was to come. We have made suggestions for enhancing the system know that emPerform is building additional capabilities. I look forward to seeing the tool meet even more of our needs.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Wonderful review and feedback Renu! Great to hear you enjoyed working with our amazing implementation team during setup and upgrades (I know they feel the same). Customer feedback is VERY important to us. Every suggestion or idea is valued and we are always working to improve emPerform functionality so please keep it coming! Thank you :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Good tool for the employees - terrible for the administrators

Reviewed 5 years ago

EmPerform is very complicated to use from an administrative standpoint. I've been working with the system for soon 2 years, and I'm still getting confused and frustrated when I need to design a new appraisal or change something in a current appraisal (and I consider myself very computer savvy). Customer Service is not included, so they bill us every time I need to call or email for support (which is quite frequently). Our employees do like the system, and it looks good once it's up and running. It's a nice and functional performance management tool from an employee standpoint, however the headache to set it up and lack of support is not worth the end result.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Linnea - we are so sorry to hear you have been experiencing difficulties setting up and administering emPerform. We can assure you that end-user and administrator usability is our top priority. If you would like to contact us directly, we can discuss options for ensuring your setup and ongoing maintenance is as smooth and easy as possible. support@employee-performance.com

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Software Upgrades Issues

Reviewed 5 years ago

As above stated based on my rating it's good. However it doesn't give details about upgrades. Every time there's an upgrade we spend a great amount of time waiting for the issues to be fixed. The most current upgrade we waited about a week. There were technical issues on the back end that couldn't be explain. We usually have to get a test profile to go through the steps when there are major upgrades so we can catch these issues ahead of time. Yes customer support is great during this time but the software itself definitely has issues each upgrade occurs.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Mia - I am so sorry to hear the upgrade process didn't go smoothly for you. I can assure you this isn't the norm for emPerform. I know we have already been in touch throughout the process but we will reach out again outside of Capterra to discuss further. Your satisfaction is our #1 priority.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

emPerform looks okay at first glance, but it is actually very glitchy and non-functional.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the look of emPerform. They were able to customize the homepage with our company logo and colors.

Cons

- The software has a lot of glitches. Performance reviews get "stuck" in different stages and the admin has to move the review along. This causes some approvals to get deleted and the process has to restart. - The interface is very limited and staff doesn't really use it throughout the year, only during review time. - Customer service is in Candada and they are hard to reach.

Vendor response

We are very sorry to hear that Sabine and can assure you that your satisfaction is our top priority. Someone will be reaching out immediately to discuss and assist. We can adjust your workflow so that the review automatically progresses and you will not experience it being 'stuck'. As for support, we are again sorry to hear that you find our support team difficult to reach as we are in Canada. Support is always included for emPerform customers and is available live during eastern business hours. We do pride ourselves on our fast and diligent responses. We are not able to change how your users approach performance management but again, we will reach out to see if there is anything we can adjust with your emPerform to help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very intuitive system

Reviewed a year ago

The benefits of clear goals and expectations on paper cannot be overstated. Not only do our employees perform better when expectations are set, but they are more secure and productive in their work environment. They understand and meet expectations. Performance management can be a great morale booster.

Pros

This software is applicable across levels of experience because it is so intuitive and user-friendly. It follows the traditional annual review with the option to add in salary reviews. The methodical, lock-step, process of performance review in emPerform allows for easy implementation.

Cons

I honestly can't think of anything. emPerform was even able to customize our software for employees who reported to two different managers.