App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ELMO Software Logo

ELMO Software

HR & Payroll Software, simplified.

(6)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ELMO Software Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

241

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.59/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Superb Customer Service and Support Staff: Throughout both the pre- and post-implementation phases, I received assistance that was competent, fast, and effective.
I think the system albeit in its infancy allows great connections across the organisation. It also allows our staff to take advantage of great discounts.
Ease of use - clarity of information. Good reminder of what is required in serving the public and interacting with staff.
There are many many many many really poor user experience pieces wasting considerable user time and the answer when saying that is poor is "Unfortunately, this is the expected behaviour of the system.
The course building application is woefully restricting and dated. We don't use it anymore, and create eLearning modules in a different program to upload into ELMO.
The program doesnt have the items in alphabetical order making it sometimes difficult to find something in a hurry.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


241 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tyrone C.

Engineering Change Officer

Defense & Space, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

simplistic HR system

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Tyrone C.: Hello, my name is Tyrone. I am an ILS analyst. I write ELMO number five for more reviews,...

KK
AvatarImg

Kseniya K.

P&C Director

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

ELMO HRIS: Review Snap-shot

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Kseniya: Hi, my name is Kseniya. I work in HR capacity. For the Elmo Software, I will give four score...

DW
AvatarImg

Deborah W.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to implement learning management system

Reviewed 6 years ago

Improved functionality from previous LMS, automated email reminders and easy to access cloud based system and course builder tool from anywhere.

Pros

Cloud based meant the system was easy to implement with little support required from internal IT resources. Very intuitive for end users with a clean interface, and most don't need much help to navigate around the system. Great support from implementation team even though it was phone based. Already experienced updates that have improved the functionality which is reassuring with product road map. Reporting really visual and easy to understand especially for managers. Very good value for money.

Cons

Data migration of learning records very manual but only a one-off pain point. Face to face event management is buried in system so not as intuitive for administrators and little visibility for facilitators that aren't administrators.

FH
AvatarImg

Frank H.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great overall quality of platform for money spent with good customer service and support throughout.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Centralised HR Platform where we can design, manage and report on the three critical people stages for us in our business, which are Recruitment, On-boarding and Learning.

Pros

I think the ease of use and implementation of each of the three modules we currently have; recruitment, on-boarding and learning (including course library) is the main benefit for our business wanting to design and deploy learning modules quickly to our employees, but also makes it easier to implement best practice processes for these which improve workplace efficiencies in how we manage our most important...

Cons

The ELMO Survey tool and functionality requires some further enhancements to be made to ensure that it provides more granular data for clients (e.g. like Survey Monkey's design), as this will assist us in drilling down further with certain users/learners of the portal to see for example, how long and how many attempts they take for completing compliance modules etc.

GB
AvatarImg

Geoff B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

ELMO Payroll Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

There are few redeeming features about ELMO Payroll. It appears to have been developed on the run using a 3rd party payroll system most likely from USA

Cons

Features that are critical are least developed such as reports from which to compile a general ladger payroll journal for uploading to an accounting system; termination transactions get included in the pay period of termination reports rather then being able to produce an 'extra' pay period; the conversion from existing to new system was as bad as it could possibly get in terms of communication with ELMO, manual data entry when uploading files fails and inconsistency with leave entitlements computation - ELMO expresses annual leave in days and long service leave in weeks - what happened to hours ??

CF
AvatarImg

Clinton F.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Elmo has a modern, clean interface, and can be highly customised

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Elmo for our Leave applications, personal leave, Annual leave etc., as well as keep us updated on what documents/certificates/checks are needed for our employment. Also Elmo enables us to provide some onboarding modules for our new staff, so it's great to have that in one place, and means the new staff become familiar with it's operation from the start.

Pros

Ease of use is high. Clean layout within the software is helpful. Customisation means we are not forced to use pre-defined templates as with some other apps, so we can tailor the forms to suit our business processes.

Cons

The other side of the customisation coin, is that the forms seem to need creating from scratch. At least that's the feedback I have had, as a user, from the staff who are creating the forms, but this might be a gap in their knowledge so might be good to look at Elmo/talk with a rep to see what pre-defined templates they may have available.

Vendor response

Hi Clinton. Thanks so much for your detailed review. It's great to hear your feedback about ELMO's Leave Management and Onboarding. Please do not hesitate to reach out regarding pre-defined templates, your system administrator or your Account Manager here at ELMO can help. Thanks again, we really hope you and your organisation continue to benefit from using ELMO Software to streamline your HR processes! Best wishes, ELMO Team

VF
AvatarImg

Vic F.

Security and Investigations, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent portal for a large security company

Reviewed 2 years ago

Problems? There are no such things. Only challenges that are life's little tests.

Pros

The pleasant UI and the way the system has been implemented for staff is well thought out and easy to navigate.

Cons

Nothing springs to mind unless you include the "user to keyboard interface". You know, the one who always forgets his password. Whilst it is very simple to reset, i'm running out of passwords.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your review, Vic! We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide feedback and are enjoying ELMO's UI. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Ah
AvatarImg

Andre h.

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

A very user friendly software that helps with my daily work

Pros

Easy to use for my employee's performance review

Cons

I don't have encounter any during my usage

Vendor response

Hi Andre, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you find ELMO's Performance Management solution helpful and easy to use. Best wishes, ELMO Team

DG
AvatarImg

Daniel G.

Human Resources, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive

Pros

Excellent product- has allowed us to bring training , onboarding and payroll and a Human resource database into one system

Cons

Document attachment could be larger to allow bigger documents to be saved

Vendor response

Hi Daniel. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such great feedback. Your feedback has been passed on to our Product Development team. We hope your organisation continues to benefits from using ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO Team

AJ
AvatarImg

Andrew J.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

easy to use, great way to merge leave, HR and learning modules in one system.

Pros

being able to see things such as forecasted leave helps an employee to work out when they can take leave etc. being able to share recognition with peers and for the company to see it also is great.

Cons

perhaps the forecasted leave could be on the home page of the leave? just sometimes a little annoying to go through different pages to find out?

Vendor response

Hi Andrew, Thanks so much for your review and it's great to hear about your positive experience using ELMO's cloud-based solutions. We've passed your feedback regarding forecasted leave on to our Product Development team. Best wishes, ELMO

SL
AvatarImg

Shelley L.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I found ELMO is very easy to navigate and administrate after i have been more familiar with it

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

it's learning module and performance module are very easy to set up and use. I have continuously received good feedback on those 2 modules.

Cons

Currently it hasn't got the remuneration module which we really need. if they can realise a good remuneration module soon it will be very helpful.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Performance Tracker

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The product is really ease to use. It has features that can help us in evaluating our performance while also allowing other colleagues and managers to provide feedback to us.

Cons

I basically have not experienced any drawbacks from the software.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the review! We hope you continue to enjoy ELMO's Performance Management solution. Best wishes, ELMO Team

DW
AvatarImg

Debbie W.

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We have the ELMO Learning module - so far, so good! Easy way to get learning out to the business.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

PROS: ELMO was relatively easy to install, and the single sign on function is great as it means we don't have to log on separately to use the system. The system has been branded to look the same as our other platforms, and is quite intuitive in terms of navigating around. The ability to deploy learning opportunities from the Library works well, and we're also able to generate our own content using the course builder. The support team have been great - particularly with more presence in NZ! The data and tracking we get from the system has worked well for us and allows us to provide real time analytics to our management team.

Cons

CONS: We have come up against some limitations, particularly around linking learning items together - e.g. if we want to run a webinar using Skype across the organisation, we can't embed the Skype link into an invitation direct from ELMO. We also wanted to be slightly "out of the box" and use ELMO for collation and recording of Driving Licence details for example, or apply for an unlisted external programme using the system. This proved to be more challenging than we thought, but it is probably more to do with an unintended use of the system rather than a particular system issue......

CS
AvatarImg

Caroline S.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Head of People and Culture

Reviewed a year ago

I don't feel we have what we were sold. We moved from Employment Hero which I feel was simple and intuitive had all the basic features and was a better system for core HR , however not for onboarding or performance.

Pros

The Onboarding and Performance modules are the only good modules we have used in ELMO

Cons

There is no option to save pdf's or other documents (emails) in employee's profile , believe it or not, so we have to compile employee files separately which defeats the purpose for the system . After many conversations with our account manager there has been no definitive timeframe to rectify this huge problem. Also the salary doesn't automatically feed to key pay (our payroll system) , so we have to add the salary in both ELMO and our payroll system separately . Setting up ELMO has been complicated. When sending pay or leave related emails the link doesn't work. Again no timeframe to rectifying this problem.

PS
AvatarImg

Pratik S.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Learning Management Sysytem

Reviewed 2 years ago

ELMO software has streamlined the learning and tracking completion of learning modules. Easy to do performance assessments as well.

Pros

It is easy to navigate the learning modules, assign and track completion

Cons

Bit difficult to search the learning modules. There should be a way to add the learning modules into categories and this would make it easy to search and allocate the modules.

Vendor response

Hi Pratik, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we're glad to hear you are enjoying ELMO's Learning Management System. Your feedback regarding categories has been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

JS
AvatarImg

Jen S.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Elmo LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy for users to use when selecting and completing modules

Cons

Difficult & time consuming to set up Requires prior knowledge & skills of HTML coding Build platform confusing Desktop and Mobile must be built separately - duplication Mobile has no working flash, plain text only so user experience not engaging Restrictive on videos, pictures and file attachment size

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your review, Jen. We are glad that you find ELMO's Learning Management System easy to use. If you ever need any more help, your system administrator can reach out to your Account Manager for support and additional training to ensure you get the most out of the platform. Kind regards, ELMO Team

VT
AvatarImg

Vasilios T.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

If you are a small business Do Not Buyt This Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very disappointing.

Pros

The only thing that was in line with the salesperson's demo was rewards and recognition.

Cons

The customer service is horrible, it is always on you to chase them.

Vendor response

Hi Vasilios. We appreciate the time you've taken to provide feedback. Your Account Manager has been in contact with you to discuss your areas of concern so that we can work together to improve your experience with ELMO and deliver an effective outcome. Thank you for your feedback, ELMO Team

NK
AvatarImg

Nathan K.

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very customisable features for onboarding and recruitment modules.

Cons

Lack of user friendly editing options e.g. Having to delete an option because you can not edit a field.

Vendor response

Hi Nathan. Thanks so much for your review. It's great to hear your feedback about ELMO's Recruitment and Onboarding modules. We have passed on your feedback to our Product Development team. If you ever need any more help on customisation, you can reach out to your Account Manager who can help you work out solutions specific to your business needs. Best wishes, ELMO Team

TL
AvatarImg

Tashi L.

Individual & Family Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ELMO user friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have no complaints yet

Pros

Leave management system: Employee can easily have access to their leave balances and apply for appropriate leave with ease. Thats because ELMO shows all the information's.

Cons

Don`t know yet. So far, I think this is serving my purpose.

Vendor response

Hi Tashi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you find ELMO's Leave Management solution easy to use. Best wishes, ELMO Team

LU
AvatarImg

Lourdes U.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very functional and user friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

In one quick look you can find what you need. Is very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

I can't find anything I dislike or like least. I use all the features. Something a little bit confusing sometimes is the days when you request leave but just for a few hours instead of the entire day. Not a big deal though.

Vendor response

Hi Lourdes. It's great to hear your positive feedback about ELMO's cloud-based solutions. We have also passed on your feedback to our Product Development team. Best wishes, ELMO

JS
AvatarImg

Jen S.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ELMO Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

We recently launched ELMO to our company and it is in the process of becoming the core component for training and development. The library has provided a good base and saved us a lot of time, effort and costs in the creation of basic courses as we did not have to start from scratch. So far, all my interactions with the people who work at ELMO have been fantastic, they are a company that care about their people, and their people really want the products to work for you and your people.

Pros

The ELMO library, it gives a great starting point for any business that is wanting to develop ELearning modules.

Cons

The reporting needs to be real time, but I believe this is something ELMO is working on. I also think an Administrator training course on how to create the moving pictures and other cool techniques that are used within the library courses would be useful.

HH
AvatarImg

Hasini H.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Elmo Software Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is very easy for me to set my performance goals and manage leave using this software.

Pros

Easy to get used to. Gets the job done. Unobstructive.

Cons

Sometimes, it takes a while to load some pages. Does not happen frequently.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review, Hasini. We are happy to hear you are enjoying using ELMO Software and it is helping to set your goals! Kind Regards, ELMO Team

TK
AvatarImg

Tom K.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Performance Management (appraisal)

Reviewed 6 years ago

people - very nice to deal with - very helpful system - overall good

Pros

ELMO system is very user friendly and people who you will get to deal with are very nice

Cons

when designing the system to suit your organisation - you have to think of all the possibilities as it is either hard or not possible to change the formatting once go live until maybe you reach your end of year.

NO
AvatarImg

Nicole O.

Veterinary, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New user

Reviewed a year ago

The Sales experience was exceptional. We are yet to start using the system although the implementation schedule looks very achievable and workable for our business

Pros

Intuitive, user friendly and everything is integrated

Cons

not sure as yet as we haven't started actively using it.

Vendor response

Hi Nicole. Thanks for your great review and feedback on your experience with the team so far! We are so excited for you to start using ELMO to help streamline all your HR processes. Best wishes, ELMO Team

DA
AvatarImg

Diane A.

Individual & Family Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive

Pros

Interface, ease of access, user friendly

Cons

Formatting and/or Display issues at times

Vendor response

Hi Diane. Thanks so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you have had a positive experience using ELMO. Your administrator may be able to help you with formatting/display. Otherwise, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for assistance. Kind regards, ELMO Team

AS
AvatarImg

Anand S.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall satisfied with the software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good

Pros

Ease of use and its comprehensive features are great and user friendly

Cons

Nothing that I experienced so far. It is well designed and equipped with clear features and options

Vendor response

Hi Anand. Thank you for the review. We're so glad to hear that you find ELMO's cloud-based solutions easy to use. Kind regards, ELMO

PA
AvatarImg

Pavel A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very Well

Reviewed a year ago

Good

Pros

It's Practical and user friendly. Covers most of requirements

Cons

Navigation is a bit complicated and sometimes isn't clear

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your review! We hope you continue to enjoy using ELMO Software and its integrations. Many thanks, ELMO Team