Halogen TalentSpace Reviews

Halogen TalentSpace Reviews

Halogen TalentSpace

Performance and Talent Management Made Easy!

4.53/5 (90 reviews)
7,542

gisele toe

great experience

17/08/2017

Pros

Very easy to use, cloud data base mobile friendly. Like the performance appraisal 630 and option for the employee to give feedback and set goals.

Cons

Customization can be improved. It is very heavy on administration and requires a great deal of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bonnie Van Epps

Technology has helped advance our talent management efforts!

07/08/2017

Halogen's customer support and implementation teams have been simply amazing to work with. Implementation felt daunting (I'm a team of one that was implementing this for our organization), but the implementation team helped me break it into phases and was with me every step of the way, helping me to create processes and fields to fulfill the vision I had for this system to be used within our organization.

Pros

The product is intuitive to use and the support staff works hard with you to determine how to make the technology work best for you and what you're trying to accomplish. The modules are spot on and make it easy for managers and employees to hold and capture 1:1 meeting notes, document goals and progress made, and give feedback across the organization. Other features we've found useful include: * Talent View provides a quick at a glance org chart * We've uploaded other documents such as past performance reviews, development resources, etc to individual talent profiles * Talent Profiles provide employees a way to search and connect with one another in a unique way * Process reporting is quick and simple - I've never had access to reporting like I do with Halent

Cons

* Processes can be tricky to build if you aren't familiar with how the product works - definitely use the customer support team. They are amazing and very, very helpful * Some modules haven't been able to manage processes as we had hoped. Our bonus structure doesn't fit into the Compensation module so we found that we weren't able to leverage that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cina Hartage

Halogen helps!

03/08/2017

Pros

online set up dashboard workflows set up reporting customer service (Chris especially) is awesome!!!

Cons

not the easiest to navigate not the best training set up to learn product bugs multiple updates etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Abby Steele

Verified Reviewer

Amazing customer service from implementation to successful utilization

27/06/2017

Pros

One of the greatest features of Halogen/Saba is their people. The implementation team, the customer representatives, and the technical service support all make sure to answer every question to help in the best way possible in finding a solution to your problem.

Cons

Some of the administrator features are not as user friendly as the end user technology. I do find myself wishing for some additional customization features in how the forms and processes run. However, that being said, Halogen/Saba has always taken their client feedback into consideration and often will try to include the features you request in the last version roll-out. It looks promising that many of the things we would like to see could be part of a future version.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
HR Analyst (Hospital & Health Care company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Halogen is GREAT!

26/06/2017

Pros

The ease of use on the user end. The customer support and implementation personnel are amazing. Halogen is constantly improving and looking at what can be done to make the product even better.

Cons

The administrator (back end) side of the system is still out dated. Hoping improvements will reflect on this end soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Abby Steele

Halogen/Saba provides some of the best customer support in the business!

19/06/2017

Streamlining several projects and processes. Great visibility towards goals, performance, and feedback for both managers and employees.

Pros

Our company has been trying to leverage Halogen over the last two years, and are finding many ways to find use the program. The customer service is really second to none. Anytime we have what seems like an easy or difficult questions a technician is always very responsive and helps to find a solution.

Cons

There are currently some difficulties on the administration side with some restrictions to formatting or setup, which allows for a somewhat limited customization option, however, Halogen is excellent about taking your feedback and trying to incorporate it into the latest update to their system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dee Halpin

Verified Reviewer

Great Communication Tool for Large Companies

15/06/2017

Pros

The ability for others to leave feedback is invaluable. Old performance management software only allowed supervision to leave notes about employee behavior, with this software all are able to do so. They can either give constructive feedback or recognition. It's impossible for a supervisor to be see everything, this way others are able to assist supervision in adequately evaluating their peers.

Cons

There are a lot of back door moves that need to be made to get certain evaluations up and going. I wish there were an easier way to assign quarterly and annual evaluations without having to individually do each one.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laurelle Bednar

Halogen is a great system that is easy to use and fulfills our needs

05/05/2017

It is easy to use, onboarding is great and the feedback piece is the best

Pros

I love the feedback and performance coaching features. They are easy to use and for the user to understand.

Cons

Sometimes, there are so many steps to do one thing! I know this is common is these types of systems so I don't look at it as necessarily a negative!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dee Halpin

An easy new updated software that replaced a very outdated Performance Management program.

04/05/2017

It has encouraged employees to do better do to the fact that others can recognize them for their efforts. I have heard employees comment on how good it felt to receive feedback. You can really see a change in their work habits.

Pros

The ability for anyone to leave feedback for any employee no matter if they are a supervisor or a line employee. Due to the fact that others can recognize you for great service, it gives supervision a better picture of what kind of employee they have. It really does open the door for better communication between supervision and staff.

Cons

Our agency ran into some issues where there are multiple supervisors per team, and all should have the ability to leave supervisor notes, feedback, etc. for each employee and initially were unable to do so. With the addition of secondary supervisors, we were able to solve that problem, but it did take some time and assistance from customer support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Vanzuilekom

Verified Reviewer

Every great business is built on friendship

26/04/2017

Pros

I would have to say the service and support. TMS systems are more or less built and designed to do the same thing. However what truly separates the good from the truly great is the service that follows the implementation of the product. Halogen truly does have a great product, but they enhance it by providing truly exceptional service.

Cons

I keep looking...and if I can't find anything that easy...what does that tell you about the product?

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bobbi Kelly, PHR, SHRM-CP

Verified Reviewer

Your imagination is the only limitation

06/04/2017

Pros

Very flexible. Great customer service. Seems to be on the cutting edge of what trends are coming up in performance management (i.e. one on one meetings, etc.)

Cons

So flexible it can be overwhelming at times. Halogen has many "bells and whistles" that it can be overwhelming at first, especially to new users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julie Gillum

Verified Reviewer

Halogen and Law Enforcement

13/03/2017

Pros

Halogen has the best customer service I have ever had the pleasure of working with-Hands down. They are knowledgeable, quick and efficient and so pleasant. The site is intuitive and good looking. The employees love that we moved from a computer based program to a web based program as most of our staff work out of the office/in their patrol vehicles. Feedback central is the best thing ever. It has completely shifted our culture from performance evaluation to performance management.

Cons

Halogen is a bit bulky on the back end for law enforcement specific items. We have very specific procedures that required Halogen to develop some work arounds for us. Even still there are some things that we need that Halogen just cannot do yet. However, they are constantly updating so we are hoping they integrate some of our wish list into future updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Will Huetinck

Halogen is Admin heavy, expensive, and not there to support when things go wrong

06/03/2017

Halogen is only good if you have a dedicated staff to manage and administer. It is very heavy on administration and requires a great deal of time. If your company does have a dedicated staff for appraisals, then you don¿t need Halogen. They promised many things during the sales consultation. After signing up, a box full of large manuals came through. That was the first indication of the challenge using the software. After initial training, there is a lack of support. After repeatedly raising concerns for an SME, they repeatedly asked the same questions. No answers or support were given. Currently, they are not even answering customer emails even though we are a current paying customer with services still under contract. If they had an office in Hong Kong, our company would sue them for misrepresenting their services.

Pros

The user interface is pleasantly designed.

Cons

Set-up takes weeks. Ongoing admin and new appraisals take lots of time. Needs a full time staff to administer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

If you are a company of less than 50 employees (and perhaps 100), you would need one good employee to regularly use this software. Given that, the same employee would have the time to plan and initiate staff appraisals without the use of this software, thereby saving the company tens of thousands of dollars. This system was supposed to lessen administration. Instead it has been a huge burden that our company finally had to abandon even with over 6 months of contracted services still paid for.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ali Siddiqui ✈

Verified Reviewer

Halogen Rules!

02/03/2017

Pros

Excellent product features, seamless customization options and great customer service. Halogen TalentSpace is everything that you want them to be - and maybe a lot more. Highly Recommended, especially for Performance Management automation!

Cons

It's been a great experience thus far and we stay positive for the future too! PS: We have a feeling it will keep getting better :-)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julie Gillum

Halogen For Law Enforcement

28/02/2017

Halogen was a replacement for a previous program which was no longer compatible with our software upgrades. It was a bit more expensive than some of the other options we looked at but it was far superior to its competition. It took quite some time to build, only because we wanted to build all of our evaluation processes before launching (This is not necessary). However, it was worth the time and made us all more comfortable with the software. It could be a smidge more customizable but they are constantly updating and changing. The customer service is absolutely out of this world. They are prompt and friendly! Great product with great service!

Pros

It is cloud based which is fantastic and the customer service is incredible. It is also user friendly and has a great look!

Cons

It is on the more expensive side and it could be a bit more customizable for our specific needs but not enough to dissuade me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

The build time can be a bit much if you really want to get detailed.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ali Ahmad

Halogen is the Best Deal!

15/02/2017

We are a diversified business group with interests in sectors ranging from Hospitality to IT to FMCG and a host of other business lines in between. Our management wanted to implement a holistic Performance Management System which could cater to the unique needs of each BU we have. After scanning and evaluating dozens of HR Softwares/ Service Providers we came across Halogen TalentSpace and wow - what a discovery it was. The best product, the best features, seamless functionality, excellent customization options and good value for money. We haven't looked back since. And we are confident you wouldn't look any further either. Try Halogen, you would be glad you did!

Pros

Everything is great!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

The customization features are really cool!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marc Garelick

Great for SMB's

12/01/2017

Great software that's easy enough to implement data from old platforms. User-friendly and simple to explain to employees who need to use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melanie Griffin

Verified Reviewer

Great for flexible year-round communication

01/12/2016

We use the Performance Management module of Halogen, and it's been a hugely successful upgrade from our previous, paper-based system. I am the administrator and came in with no Halogen experience; within a week I was administering, with help from the support team. Which is key: Halogen has great support and they will work with you to get the system to do what you need it to do.

Pros

Not only easy to use but also easy to learn. Very customizable. Support comes in a variety of forms so you can choose which is best for your problem, learning style, or training audience. Encourages yearlong engagement with performance management through editable goals and supervisor/employee relationships.

Cons

I wish the coding for forms was a little less confusing. Some of the buttons for that (and the processes themselves, only not quite as much for those) are counterintuitive and require more try-it-and-see than I'd like.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

Have a clear-cut integration and training plan specified to your company going in. It's got great support for any way you want to do it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
stephanie berrios

one time use

01/12/2016

i one used this one time but i definitely liked. very friendly, no problems self explain

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
ESTEPHANIE  de la rosa

one use

29/11/2016

i only use this one time for short period of time is very easy to use

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Bauman

Verified Reviewer

Halogen is Life Changing

17/11/2016

Halogen has made a huge difference for this organization. We have been here for 51 years and there has never been any evaluations done, ever. This something new to the majority of the people here. It is a wonderful learning experience for them. It is about time that they be evaluated and find out how they can make changes in some of the things they are doing in their current positions. Halogen is the best tool for this job.

Pros

Easy to use and understand.

Cons

We have people without computers, so that is an issue. They would like to be able to do it on paper.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

I would definitely recommend it. Everyone is so helpful while you are going through the training process and then the Halogen support team couldn't be better. They really know what they are doing and are always so helpful and they send you an email with what they helped you with and what was done.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maren Kelley

Rockstar of talent management

17/11/2016

Our organization has used Halogen TalentSpace for 9 years as our goal management, feedback and performance management solution. We also use the learning module for managing training. The system configuration is simple and building processes and forms is fun. You can use the solution for more than just performance reviews - we use it for compliance sign-offs, coaching, individual development plans, compensation management, and more. The best part about Halogen is the world class customer service - they are simply the best out there!

Pros

Easy to configure, great tools for Outlook users makes feedback simple and easy, can integrate with other applications. It's as complete a solution as you can have for managing HR programs that isn't an HRIS system.

Cons

It's not an HRIS or payroll system so you need to integrate it with your other solutions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

Utilize their customer success consulting services - they can really help you define your programs and build processes around them that make sense.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Yutzie

Does the job

25/08/2016

Pros

Fairly responsive customer service and the product is very robust.

Cons

The reporting is confusing and not very intuitive as well as the processes are very manual and tough to automate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

4/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

Make sure youunderstand how each module works (or doesn't) work together.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Silvia Macedo

Halogen TalentSpace does the job!

21/06/2016

Pros

I like the fact that it's simple and straight forward (compared to other solutions that I worked with...). I have worked with other talent management systems in the past and it took me a lot longer to get familiar with how the system worked. I also like the fact that the vendor is very responsive and I never had to wait too long to get a straight answer to my questions.

Cons

I think the performance side could be improved specially when it comes to setting up goals and submitting them to the line manager. It should be more intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halogen TalentSpace

Create test accounts and play around as much as possible. You should be able to get a grasp after spending some time playing around with the solution.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christina Liccar

Verified Reviewer

Using Halogen In the Public Sector

26/04/2016

Our law enforcement agency began using Halogen less than a year ago. Our old performance management system was archaic and very had very bulky maintenance for Human Resources. Halogen has brought us into the new age and has provided tremendous support to get us up and running. I spent about 6 months learning about Halogen and working with an implementation consultant to ensure that the software was customized to best suit our needs. In addition to our customizing the software, we were provided with testimonials from other clients and given tips and tricks from Halogen to best encourage user adoption from our employees. The Halogen culture of customers and support is extremely easy to access and helpful.

Pros

Feedback to document employees performance year long, not just was evaluation time. This has increased transparency with our employees and supervisors. Customization of the forms and processes Ease of connecting with other customers and support

Cons

Has proven to have some limitations for our law enforcement agency. Building out competencies and forms was very labor intensive because there was not a variety of pre-built law enforcement competencies (officer safety etc.). That said, some of the competencies in the Halogen Library were able to be used after being manipulated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more