This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Matrix LMS

Complete learning solution (LMS) for businesses.

see alternatives

Matrix LMS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I'm really impressed about how good this site looks, i haven't seen anything like it before and it's quite easy to use.

Ana T.

Matrix is the best product of its kind on the market blending seamlessly brilliant functionality with attractive design features, making it my organisations go to option for Educational software.

Dean E.

Good software for the money, good GUI that is straightforward with where you are what you can do in the module. Ability to setup of tests, paths of learning and fun stuff a plus.

Kris M.

Cons

I lost some completion data records where there should of been a hard stop warning that this could happen before I made the change.

Anonymous Reviewer

The API is poorly documented, can't get a log file from anyone @ matrix to even route the problem, seems as if there are no developers that can be reached for the offered api.

Andrea K.

Awful customer service by matrix office in SF.

Neve S.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

23

13

2

0

3

88%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


41 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic all rounder solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Matrix LMS has replaced multiple prior sites & solutions with a single main site for all of our community digital learning, social & ecommerce needs - it has saved us significant person time in the extensive level of automation possible while also boosting new business models and product offers with its varied ecommerce and digital product features.

Pros

We have transitioned from another solution to Matrix LMS about 18 months ago as we wanted a feature rich and easy to use solution for our digital community - Matrix has exceeded all expectations from ease of installation, huge range of features, automation capability and exception customer support.

Cons

For those seeking high levels of accessibility functionality, Matrix LMS is a good solution with need to be careful as with any tech as to what content is loaded / designed to support accessibility.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall great product, not so admin friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

As mentioned, overall the product is great and is doing what we need it to do, so far. It has been a long and slow process getting things off the ground as we are learning as we go since there are no user manuals even for the admin functions. There is still so much more that we want to do and believe MATRIX will be able to, it's just taking the time to figure out how to do it.

Pros

There are a lot of features that can be turned on/off. It seems to have everything we need to accomplish out goals for an LMS.

Cons

There could be better documentation, there are not user manuals at all. Searching for help is time consuming and may not always get exactly what you are looking for. You have to implement a lot of things to discover how they work. Wish the relationship was more of a partnership; we are on our own pretty much until we message for help and that can even take a while to get the response we need. Wish there was someone we could call to get direct answers.

Vendor response

Hi Donna, thank you for your feedback. We do have user manuals for all types of users: administrators, instructors, and learners. The guides can be found on our website https://www.matrixlms.com/info/resources#section2 or in the platform in the Help Center, under Getting started guides. I hope this helps and please let us know if you need assistance with something in particular.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Good for starters, but has a long way to go...

Reviewed 3 years ago

Lots of storage space and content library for adding the same resources to multiple courses. Learner access constraints.

Pros

It's great for school use as long as instructors know how to use it. It's got all of the basic functions and great dynamic user access capabilities.

Cons

Configuration items are very non intuitive - it takes so long to figure out at what level do I need to visit the configurations to make changes to a course. The text editor is also limited, as are the media types available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good training portal

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use this training portal in my day to day work for an insurance broker that has to have over 2,000 sales staff fully trained. The portal allows me to easily create organisations, classes, lessons, modules and students and combine them all to create structured learning that is easy to track, easy to report on and all for an affordable monthly cost. The support forum is a great place to raise any issues and there's always someone available to answer any questions I have. It's not perfect and is still improving each month, but it allows me to do my job more efficiently and does a lot of heavy lifting that I would otherwise have to do with spreadsheets and time that I don't have.

Pros

Ease of use, customisable aspects.

Cons

Some issues embedding videos, but support forum is a big help with this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Terrific Flexibility, Affordable, but be prepared to invest learning time

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very Good!

Pros

Flexible pricing plans that are reasonable. Has terrific add on features and customization. The tech support is very responsive, thorough, and 24 hours on weekdays. Love that there is an App as a learner choice. Frequent updates enhance my administrator experience regularly.

Cons

1) Training aids will get you started but you have to spend a great deal of time, and trial and error in learning to manage your LMS, build courses, etc. 2) I lost some completion data records where there should of been a hard stop warning that this could happen before I made the change. 3) There is no weekend tech support which I would likely use only occasionally. 4) I can't configure slides to move horizontally in a single slide click through fashion. Rather, I have to either load them individually or leave it as a vertical scroll through of the entire deck.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VERY USEFUL TOOL FOR MANY PURPOSSES

Reviewed 3 years ago

The experience as admin and teacher has been great. The experience of the students and users has been nice but always with an improvement comment of something that for now it cannot be adjusted. Great platform aldough, it has fullfilled most of the company´s requirements. Thank you.

Pros

Very easy to implement, easy understanding of the process to create content, courses, paths, etc. The platforms base is really easy to navigate (admin)

Cons

There are some features that should be editable or personalizable to provide the user a better experience navigating. There is no drag and drop content option or chance the location of widgets, menu, boxes etc. This may give another good experience to the user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

We've used this Portal for several years, and it is satisfactory for our needs.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We are familiar with this software. It does everything we need it to do. Our participants are able to find what they need.

Cons

It could be prettier and easier to navigate. It can get complicated to find what you're looking for, and the ease of enrolling participants is cumbersome - a mail merge or excel sheet upload would be extremely helpful. The Calendar is a total mess, and requires constant attention in order to update it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome next gen digital learning

Reviewed 2 years ago

With a world class solution, the super responsive & customer focused support function make Matrix LMS best of breed!

Pros

Beautiful interface - ease of use - mobile responsive - inbuilt gamification - social community - Inbuilt Apps - automation of everything with innovative rules engine - this solution has it all!

Cons

Copyright attribution feature would assist with government focused applications

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A LSM that has it all - although sometimes you need to look for it

Reviewed 3 years ago

By far the most complex LMS while being "ready made" - so you can figure out how much customization you want to do, or just work with what is available. Love the community features. Still have to venture into badges and gamification, but that will come for sure.

Pros

The versatility and the amount of features and functionality.

Cons

Sometimes the settings aren't as intuitive as they could be, and it takes time and/or a chat with customer support (always quick and helpful, though!) to fine tune a course. I would appreciate a more robust user manual.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Keeps getting better! Excellent support

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- The support team is fantastic. - The system is very easy to use. - The dev team is constantly pushing out new features requested from the community and the feature set continues to grow!

Cons

- Given a lot of the new functionality being pushed out continually, certain bugs exist (as they do in most SaaS), but the team is always on it! - There are various features you might expect to work one way, but sometimes they do not work as expected. - The reporting seems robust, but is quite wonky and a lot of data you would expect to be captured is not.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazing functionality but support is not the best

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We used Matrix in my previous job, functionality wise it is one of the best, you can do almost anything you need for you business.

Cons

Not the easiest software to use BUT when you get used to it it's great (like most software solutions) the support (at least in our region) was not the best, it took weeks sometimes to get mini bugs fixed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Robust, Customizable LMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's been an overall positive experience. If given the option to purchase an LMS all over again, I would choose Matrix.

Pros

I love that Matrix is very customizable and is basically a blank slate for our needs. We can do nearly anything we need with it.

Cons

I don't love that it's not intuitive for everyone in the beginning. I've been using the system for two years and am the main point of contact at my 5000 person organization for the LMS and I still don't know how to use some of the features. A more organized, intuitive interface would be worth slightly more money.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great simple solution but not for developers

Reviewed 4 years ago

Simple administration of courses with tested results, the ability to handle a very large number of users simultaneously.

Pros

Initial features, integration options with woocommerce in wordpress. The api is a wonderful tool but could be a goldmine if properly documented or supported.

Cons

The API is poorly documented, can't get a log file from anyone @ matrix to even route the problem, seems as if there are no developers that can be reached for the offered api.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matrix review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The Appearance User friendly for learners

Cons

Personalisation features for assessments (Cannot personalise group) Gender equity (Should have male, female and non-binary options) Pulling scores for groups is not an option

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great LMS with lots of functions and customizations.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Good software for the money, good GUI that is straightforward with where you are what you can do in the module. Ability to setup of tests, paths of learning and fun stuff a plus.

Cons

Can sometimes be difficult remembering what you can and can't do in certain roles and where you need to be to make changes. There needs to be a better way to manage and add content.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall an excellent product and seamless implementation.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our go to market time frame was excellent when it came to launching the NetRefer Academy thanks to Matrix LMS.

Pros

The product is customisable, offers a number of features that you wouldn't find in other LMS platforms whilst at the same time keeping the costs low. Matrix are extremely fair in their pricing model and are responsive and helpful whenever support is needed.

Cons

Some features although present are limited such as the gamification options and the API service also lacks some methods when it comes to the ecommerce platform. However we understand, that like with any software it is always evolving and we look forward to seeing improvements in the next few versions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matrix LMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use Matrix to keep track of training completion of our provider network.

Pros

This system makes it easy to keep track of where users are in a course and whether they have completed the course.

Cons

I've gotten many complaints from users who are having issues with video playback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matrix LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Matrix LMS is a great entry into corporate learning platform approaches. For the type of LMS, there truly are a great variety of features. Automation also played a major role in our consideration of this product.

Cons

Had some difficulty in setting this up as there was a lack of documentation (the support forum seemed to be a good source of insight, however).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A world of possibilities

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was able to dream further about my training programs than with other LMSs. I could see myself creating so many interesting paths and engaging users and students.

Pros

Matrix gives you almost any feature ever imagined for an online teacher. It gives you great resources for blended learning and I really appreciate its sophisticated design and brand image.

Cons

Lots of options can be a con too. You need to be a heavy user and eLearning pro to be able to really use the features. If you are inside an enterprise trying to start or improve Matrix can be a bit hard to understand.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User Friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent

Pros

User friendly interface and ability to undo misty easily

Cons

Some limited functionality in terms of assessment reporting

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great all round system!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have used a lot of systems throughout my career and I can finally say I have found a system that I am happy to recommend to others. The key points that I believe are most important to users are mentioned below: - Easy to use for both the administrator and more importantly the user - Looks modern, clean and neat - No annoying, nasty glitches - Compatible with a large range of other systems/programs -...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Fantastic platform!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Matrix LMS is a great platform for delivering on-line learning curriculum. I researched all of the options available and decided on Matrix for many reasons including the look and design of the platform (it has a social media feel to it), because of it's many functions, and because of the excellent price point. I have been able to put my leadership development program online for a fraction of the cost of other learning management programs. But most significantly and surprising to me, has been the response to questions posted in the support forum. The response to my questions has far exceeded my expectations. I use a lot of online tools and platforms in my work, and the responsiveness of the team at Matrix is second to none. I highly recommend this platform for many reasons.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Meeting MATRIX

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent Platform, recommended for beginners and experts in the LMS medium.

Pros

1. Very Easy to use. 2. Goog design of the platform. 3. Allow you to customize everything. 4. Is very cheap considering the functions it has.

Cons

1. They don´t have enought emojis in the chat and for Generation Y and Z, that is very important. 2. Sometimes it gets difficult charge the updates in time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great and easy LMS

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use MATRIX LMS to provide peer-to-peer training. The online forums are a big asset to us since our coaches work remote and this is their way of connecting, sharing their experience and getting advice when they need it. Another thing is that the course is asynchronous, we really profit from this feature as it gives a chance to the learner to take the course anytime and anywhere. MATRIX is a very simple system compared to other online platforms we used, more user-friendly, and the content is easier to deal with. The MATRIX support team has been very responsive, every time we had an issue, we sent it through the forum and we got an instant reply, and that makes us feel valued as customers.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best LMS .. you have to try it

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

it is highly flexible or customizable, the graphical interface is elegant, it facilitates the creation of programs almost as in a tutorial .. It is quite intuitive.

Cons

It takes a while to adapt and know all the functionalities and benefits of the application, it is limited to perform manual backups of the content.