App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MATRIX LMS Logo

MATRIX LMS

Intelligent learning platform (ILP) for business.

see alternatives

(8)

MATRIX LMS Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

50

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.06/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Beautiful interface - ease of use - mobile responsive - inbuilt gamification - social community - Inbuilt Apps - automation of everything with innovative rules engine - this solution has it all.
Good software for the money, good GUI that is straightforward with where you are what you can do in the module. Ability to setup of tests, paths of learning and fun stuff a plus.
Matrix is the best product of its kind on the market blending seamlessly brilliant functionality with attractive design features, making it my organisations go to option for Educational software.
I lost some completion data records where there should of been a hard stop warning that this could happen before I made the change.
The API is poorly documented, can't get a log file from anyone @ matrix to even route the problem, seems as if there are no developers that can be reached for the offered api.
This is extremely frustrating. Participants must pay monthly to access the platform, even after completing the course.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


50 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tony P.

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic all rounder solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

Matrix LMS has replaced multiple prior sites & solutions with a single main site for all of our community digital learning, social & ecommerce needs - it has saved us significant person time in the extensive level of automation possible while also boosting new business models and product offers with its varied ecommerce and digital product features.

Pros

We have transitioned from another solution to Matrix LMS about 18 months ago as we wanted a feature rich and easy to use solution for our digital community - Matrix has exceeded all expectations from ease of installation, huge range of features, automation capability and exception customer support.

Cons

For those seeking high levels of accessibility functionality, Matrix LMS is a good solution with need to be careful as with any tech as to what content is loaded / designed to support accessibility.

Vendor response

Hi Tony, thank you very much for your feedback; we are happy to know that MATRIX exceeded your expectations! Let us assure you that our commitment to providing you with a cutting-edge education and training platform will remain the same. We continuously work on improving our features, and we are happy to share with you that we now have an integration with Amazon Alexa and Microsoft Immersive Reader that further strengthens our accessibility feature. Kind regards, CYPHER LEARNING team.

LR
AvatarImg

Laurie R.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Drone Operations Review

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall and once set up, the Matrix solution will definitely take my business from a few students to 1000's of students will no real extra work my end, the platform is extremely stable, to date our students are increasing monthly and so far, no real concerning issues what soever

Pros

1) Each school has its own fully self managed portal (organisation) 2) Ability to have 2 parents to watch over students progress 3) Ability to have the “careers Adviser” at the school to watch over the students (Manager) 4) Ability of Instructors (school teachers) to have complete control over the courses 5) Competencies mapped back to ASQA (TGA) https://training.gov.au/Training/Details/AVI30419 requirements 6) Internal messaging system with students and teachers in a safe controlled environment 7) Ability of the Instructor to enroll students in the next courses (unit of competency) 8) Benchmark answers when marking assessments

Cons

I actually found it quite simple, I do not really have anything negative to say, other than it took me time to learn the way Matrix makes things happen, which are all very intuitive

HV
AvatarImg

Heather V.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Matrix LMS Review

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Ability to Customise and Brand the platform.

Cons

Reporting, Initial Onboarding and ongoing support, Student enrolment into face-to-face workshops, Compatibility of SCORM files on all devices is poor, App is challenging to use, and does not have a smooth user experience.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us! We're very sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We'd also like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things right by sharing your valuable insights with our team. Kind regards, CYPHER LEARNING team.

CN
AvatarImg

Cristian N.

Professional Training & Coaching, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellent portal for LMS and more recently an LXP solution at the same price.

Reviewed a year ago

It is the only platform on which I found all the functionalities I need as a trainer. From the beginning it seems a bit complicated to understand the whole architecture of the portal, later it was easy for me to build interactive, adaptive and personalized courses.

Pros

1. Diversity of training solutions that can be used. 2. The portal has only fallen once in 9 years of daily use. 3. Integration of dozens of ad-ons that really help the training process

Cons

1. The fact that it does not integrate a SCORM export solution. 2. Extremely slow, limited customer service. They offer only laconic answers and are not focused on solving the problems faced by the administrator. Sometimes the distance between answers is 5-7 hours, even if they are in the US time zone. This is extremely frustrating. 3. Participants must pay monthly to access the platform, even after completing the course. At the beginning, the participants could check their account and diplomas without paying and only paid if they entered the course. Now they have no access to anything unless they pay.

AW
AvatarImg

Anita W.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flexible learning portal with fast support

Reviewed 7 months ago

We've streamlined our training offer since starting with Matrix LMS, and increased number of people attending our training by at least 200%.

Pros

It's our one stop shop for managing training, whether it's online or in a classroom. Before using Matrix we spent a lot of time managing classroom training. Users can self enrol, we can manage waitlists and assessments can be uploaded for marking, providing an excellent audit trail. We can also manage multiple brands within the one portal, which is both a cost saving and saves on administration effort.

Cons

There was a hefty price rise about 2 years after we started using it. It's still reasonable value for money, but it left us in an awkward position if we didn't get approval for the extra funds, as we would have had to move learning portals again, which is a big effort. However, they did ease us into the change and we appreciate that enormously.

DB
AvatarImg

Donna B.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall great product, not so admin friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago

As mentioned, overall the product is great and is doing what we need it to do, so far. It has been a long and slow process getting things off the ground as we are learning as we go since there are no user manuals even for the admin functions. There is still so much more that we want to do and believe MATRIX will be able to, it's just taking the time to figure out how to do it.

Pros

There are a lot of features that can be turned on/off. It seems to have everything we need to accomplish out goals for an LMS.

Cons

There could be better documentation, there are not user manuals at all. Searching for help is time consuming and may not always get exactly what you are looking for. You have to implement a lot of things to discover how they work. Wish the relationship was more of a partnership; we are on our own pretty much until we message for help and that can even take a while to get the response we need. Wish there was someone we could call to get direct answers.

Vendor response

Hi Donna, thank you for your feedback. We do have user manuals for all types of users: administrators, instructors, and learners. The guides can be found on our website https://www.matrixlms.com/info/resources#section2 or in the platform in the Help Center, under Getting started guides. I hope this helps and please let us know if you need assistance with something in particular.

DC
AvatarImg

Dale C.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Matrix LMS for Online Learning

Reviewed 8 months ago

Matrix LMS has been essential to our success as a business. The level of support has been exceptional.

Pros

The ease of setup, assessment task management and ongoing customer support are essential for our eLearning platform. Matrix LMS delivers all these features,

Cons

The level of reporting and compliance management could be improved. I have specific needs and have to adapt the reporting platform.

JP
AvatarImg

James P.

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good training portal

Reviewed 6 years ago

I use this training portal in my day to day work for an insurance broker that has to have over 2,000 sales staff fully trained. The portal allows me to easily create organisations, classes, lessons, modules and students and combine them all to create structured learning that is easy to track, easy to report on and all for an affordable monthly cost. The support forum is a great place to raise any issues and there's always someone available to answer any questions I have. It's not perfect and is still improving each month, but it allows me to do my job more efficiently and does a lot of heavy lifting that I would otherwise have to do with spreadsheets and time that I don't have.

Pros

Ease of use, customisable aspects.

Cons

Some issues embedding videos, but support forum is a big help with this.

OS
AvatarImg

Oscar S.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VERY USEFUL TOOL FOR MANY PURPOSSES

Reviewed 4 years ago

The experience as admin and teacher has been great. The experience of the students and users has been nice but always with an improvement comment of something that for now it cannot be adjusted. Great platform aldough, it has fullfilled most of the company´s requirements. Thank you.

Pros

Very easy to implement, easy understanding of the process to create content, courses, paths, etc. The platforms base is really easy to navigate (admin)

Cons

There are some features that should be editable or personalizable to provide the user a better experience navigating. There is no drag and drop content option or chance the location of widgets, menu, boxes etc. This may give another good experience to the user.

RJ
AvatarImg

Ranjana J.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Improve student experience

Reviewed 6 months ago

Good.

Pros

Responsiveness, Pricing, Support Forum

Cons

Old user interface Inability to integrate different SSO capabilities e.g Login with Microsoft account (outlook.com)

Vendor response

We are glad that you had a good experience with MATRIX. Thank you for your trust! We are happy to let you know that MATRIX is capable of SSO with O365, which will allow you to log in with your MS365 account. Kind regards, CYPHER LEARNING team.

LL
AvatarImg

Lai L.

Professional Training & Coaching, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Dynamism of Matrix

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Matrix LMS is very user-friendly and has so many features that will allow an organization to maximize the benefits of self-directed learning.

Cons

Although the platform allows for customization of reports, there are so many options that it be daunting. I wish there is a guide that will help the administrator department identify the data that matters.

Vendor response

Hello Lai, we are grateful that you took the time to provide feedback to NEO. We love your suggestions; we would also be happy if you could share them with us via our Suggestion area of the Help Desk. Besides, please feel free to contact your dedicated ACE representative about this. Kind regards, CYPHER LEARNING team.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Terrific Flexibility, Affordable, but be prepared to invest learning time

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very Good!

Pros

Flexible pricing plans that are reasonable. Has terrific add on features and customization. The tech support is very responsive, thorough, and 24 hours on weekdays. Love that there is an App as a learner choice. Frequent updates enhance my administrator experience regularly.

Cons

1) Training aids will get you started but you have to spend a great deal of time, and trial and error in learning to manage your LMS, build courses, etc. 2) I lost some completion data records where there should of been a hard stop warning that this could happen before I made the change. 3) There is no weekend tech support which I would likely use only occasionally. 4) I can't configure slides to move horizontally in a single slide click through fashion. Rather, I have to either load them individually or leave it as a vertical scroll through of the entire deck.

JR
AvatarImg

James R.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

We've used this Portal for several years, and it is satisfactory for our needs.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We are familiar with this software. It does everything we need it to do. Our participants are able to find what they need.

Cons

It could be prettier and easier to navigate. It can get complicated to find what you're looking for, and the ease of enrolling participants is cumbersome - a mail merge or excel sheet upload would be extremely helpful. The Calendar is a total mess, and requires constant attention in order to update it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Phill B.

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome next gen digital learning

Reviewed 4 years ago

With a world class solution, the super responsive & customer focused support function make Matrix LMS best of breed!

Pros

Beautiful interface - ease of use - mobile responsive - inbuilt gamification - social community - Inbuilt Apps - automation of everything with innovative rules engine - this solution has it all!

Cons

Copyright attribution feature would assist with government focused applications

MN
AvatarImg

Moshe N.

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazing functionality but support is not the best

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We used Matrix in my previous job, functionality wise it is one of the best, you can do almost anything you need for you business.

Cons

Not the easiest software to use BUT when you get used to it it's great (like most software solutions) the support (at least in our region) was not the best, it took weeks sometimes to get mini bugs fixed.

MA
AvatarImg

Mark Anthony E.

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Matrix LMS

Reviewed 7 months ago

Great experience

Pros

This LMS provided us the opportunity to continue to provide learnings to our users

Cons

That there is a cycle that limits the number of days the learners can use the LMS.

Vendor response

Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for NEO! We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to hearing from you more frequently. We're also glad to see you happy with our Support team! Kind regards, CYPHER LEARNING.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Robust, Customizable LMS

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's been an overall positive experience. If given the option to purchase an LMS all over again, I would choose Matrix.

Pros

I love that Matrix is very customizable and is basically a blank slate for our needs. We can do nearly anything we need with it.

Cons

I don't love that it's not intuitive for everyone in the beginning. I've been using the system for two years and am the main point of contact at my 5000 person organization for the LMS and I still don't know how to use some of the features. A more organized, intuitive interface would be worth slightly more money.

HT
AvatarImg

Hana T.

Alternative Medicine, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A LSM that has it all - although sometimes you need to look for it

Reviewed 4 years ago

By far the most complex LMS while being "ready made" - so you can figure out how much customization you want to do, or just work with what is available. Love the community features. Still have to venture into badges and gamification, but that will come for sure.

Pros

The versatility and the amount of features and functionality.

Cons

Sometimes the settings aren't as intuitive as they could be, and it takes time and/or a chat with customer support (always quick and helpful, though!) to fine tune a course. I would appreciate a more robust user manual.

AK
AvatarImg

Andrea K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great simple solution but not for developers

Reviewed 5 years ago

Simple administration of courses with tested results, the ability to handle a very large number of users simultaneously.

Pros

Initial features, integration options with woocommerce in wordpress. The api is a wonderful tool but could be a goldmine if properly documented or supported.

Cons

The API is poorly documented, can't get a log file from anyone @ matrix to even route the problem, seems as if there are no developers that can be reached for the offered api.

KA
AvatarImg

Kai A.

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exceptional platform. The Team @ Matrix go Above & Beyond

Reviewed 6 months ago

Satisfied.

Pros

Visual Portal Editor & Access/Discount Codes.

Cons

Users once deactivated can't re-do the same course to refresh their knowledge without creating a new account/email.

BB
AvatarImg

Bronwen B.

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matrix review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The Appearance User friendly for learners

Cons

Personalisation features for assessments (Cannot personalise group) Gender equity (Should have male, female and non-binary options) Pulling scores for groups is not an option

KM
AvatarImg

Kris M.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great LMS with lots of functions and customizations.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Good software for the money, good GUI that is straightforward with where you are what you can do in the module. Ability to setup of tests, paths of learning and fun stuff a plus.

Cons

Can sometimes be difficult remembering what you can and can't do in certain roles and where you need to be to make changes. There needs to be a better way to manage and add content.

Ad
AvatarImg

Angele d.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall an excellent product and seamless implementation.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our go to market time frame was excellent when it came to launching the NetRefer Academy thanks to Matrix LMS.

Pros

The product is customisable, offers a number of features that you wouldn't find in other LMS platforms whilst at the same time keeping the costs low. Matrix are extremely fair in their pricing model and are responsive and helpful whenever support is needed.

Cons

Some features although present are limited such as the gamification options and the API service also lacks some methods when it comes to the ecommerce platform. However we understand, that like with any software it is always evolving and we look forward to seeing improvements in the next few versions.

EO
AvatarImg

Emma O.

Mental Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matrix LMS

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use Matrix to keep track of training completion of our provider network.

Pros

This system makes it easy to keep track of where users are in a course and whether they have completed the course.

Cons

I've gotten many complaints from users who are having issues with video playback.

JH
AvatarImg

Justin H.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matrix LMS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Matrix LMS is a great entry into corporate learning platform approaches. For the type of LMS, there truly are a great variety of features. Automation also played a major role in our consideration of this product.

Cons

Had some difficulty in setting this up as there was a lack of documentation (the support forum seemed to be a good source of insight, however).