Newton Reviews

Newton Reviews

Newton

Mobile hiring software for managing & organizing recruitment

4.4/5 (31 reviews)
1,344     1,833

Amy King

Excellent metrics tracking and straight forward applicant process

20/01/2017

This is definitely one of the most forward thinking applicant tracking systems. It's truly designed to put the power back in the hands of the recruiter. With automated systems and easy to use processes, Newton is a no-brainer. Once you see how easy the site is to track candidates, upload new connections and leads and tag them with keywords, you'll be hard pressed to find another site that equals it. Hiring Managers can also respond to automated emails from the system with a list of hashtag words to move candidates or approve new requisitions. This improves response times since they don't even have to log into the site! The metrics are simply amazing as well. You can see more accurate detail about your candidates in the process, your sources and your time to fill, which gives you the power to improve the gaps in your system with real-time data.

Pros

Awesome metrics Customizable workflows Ease of applicant tracking, sourcing, and contacting Automated posts to external sites Fantastic customer service.

Cons

Almost too much information in the metrics almost.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Do a demo, you'll be impressed with their knowledge of recruiting and the ease of implementation.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paula Shields

User Friendly

13/12/2016

The implementation time was quick. The software is very intuitive and user-friendly.

Pros

Links to career websites Easy to use

Cons

Does not have a query function to find applicants with certain skill sets/backgrounds

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Breen

Newton - Good product for small to midsized corporate implementations

12/12/2016

Newton software is designed for a corporate implementation. I run a recruiting group at a government contractor where we place candidates on site at various Federal government agencies and prime contract holders. We are not a staffing agency but I run my group like a staffing group and newton software is not designed for a staffing model. Having said that, it works quite well in its function as a corporate applicant tracking system. The Job orders page is its best feature in my opinion. When you bring up the job requisitions page, you can get a very clear idea of the number of candidates that are being sourced for each position and what stage each candidate is in. The reporting function is strong in Newton. The filters allow you to drill down to get specific metrics. Like any piece of software it takes some getting used to but it does have some very good workflow aspects to it. Automatic notification of candidates that have been declined or not accepted for a position as well as notification triggers when interviews are scheduled. Another nice function is that you can request feedback from the hiring manager, who has reviewed a resume, interviewed or phone screened. This id done in the app as part of the workflow functionality. We are a small organization and based on my knowledge of more powerful/robust ATS's, Newton will work well with small to midsize organizations.

Pros

The Job Reqs Dashboard and the reporting are its strongest features

Cons

A little klunky in its design - needs some updating.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Anderson

Agencies stay away

03/11/2016

We are an agency that recruits for many customers and jobs. Newton is not build for agencies. It's built for corporate organizations recruiting on the same company. It's also very expensive and the product team rejects every request you send in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin Cameron

Newton AT Experience

26/10/2016

Very easy to navigate and highly customizable. Also was very impressed with the customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Highly recommend this product. Customer service team was very helpful.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ian Erskine

Newton is Solid

12/10/2016

Having been an internal recruiter for a variety of technical companies (Enterprise, Consumer Software, Games), I have run across plenty of poorly conceived ATS platforms. Usually they work like dinosaurs and everyone hates to use them. Newton is the exact opposite. I've been using it for two years now, have recommended it to all the clients where I have been onsite, and we all love it. It's obvious that Newton is designed by people that actually worked in the recruiting industry as recruiters. Top attributes: easy to set up, easy to use, and the front page gives you a great snapshot of all your jobs/candidates. Newton is a great collaboration tool to use with hiring managers and is the only system that I have used that doesn't require me to train hiring managers. Literally they just have to push ONE button to provide feedback. Executive team members and my clients that use Newton love the dashboards that provide them with easy to read, graphical, real-time performance metrics. (I like the dashboards because I don't have to spend all my time generating a bunch of status reports every week). Nice! Simply put, the guys at Newton get it. They've always been helpful. You can call their offices and actually talk to a live person and the best part is they keep making improvements to the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christian  Mack

Newton ATS

19/09/2016

Pros

The dashboard layout summarizes everything recruiters, hiring managers, and executives need and want to see.

Cons

There seems to be a few bugs that are present when running Newton on Apple's products. Nothing major, but something to look into.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Compare the overall summary/dash pages to any other ATS, and you'll likely notice Newton has the best and most easily readable layout. I'm not so sure on scalability, so if you're in a very large organization, check out the details relevant to your scale.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shaun Liu

Pretty cool, made for Recruiters by Recruiters

01/09/2016

Pros

Extremely simple to use and the home interface is easy to look at and understand. Scheduling and tracking candidates in the pipeline are easy as 2 steps.

Cons

The application seems to be newer compared to the many others available on the market, which means they might be changing and implementing new features that might not be too useful in the future

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Always check out other software just in case another one fits your current situation better.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Olivia Gonsalves

Newton - Free LinkedIn postings make it absolutely fantastic!!!

18/08/2016

Pros

Free LinkedIn postings, really great support team, very easy to use interface

Cons

Hardcoded recruiting process can't be customized to a specific business

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Be fair and help others make better judgments. When making decisions to buy, things can get really confusing really soon. Stick to what your main USP is and look for that in the product.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Rutter

Nothing Better Than Newton!

11/08/2016

Pros

Simplicity at its best! Visually appealing to both the candidate and the administrators. Easy to communicate throughout the entire process with hiring managers. Also, customer service is seriously mind blowing. Fast responses, sharing of tools and resources and they don't always just give you the answer, they help discuss issues or concerns until you find the best possible solution. I'll call out Brian Fader - he helps me out almost on a weekly basis. Brian, along with Newton make my life so much easier.

Cons

Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Newton literally makes my job easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Spend time looking at the reporting and analytics features. The information available to you will allow you to "wow" internal stakeholders while also helping to keep hiring manager accountable. When evaluating these features, compare them to others - you will be impressed.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kaysey Magtibay

Simple and user friendly!

06/07/2016

Pros

I like that this system is so simple and user friendly to use. You don't need any experience or formal training to use this system as it is very intuitive.

Cons

I wish there was a way to view the job posting and resume side by side instead of flipping back and forth between web pages.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

I would recommend using the system for a minimum of 6 months before evaluating. Despite how easy it is to use, there are other neat features you tend to discover along the way for example, the analytics portion.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Semaan

HR Director

19/04/2016

Pros

Consistency of applicants and ease of use. I like that everyone can be involved in the process and reduces emails

Cons

The quality of candidates is not that great. our turnover has increased since using this product

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

finding a way to attract more qualified candidates.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katie Kerr

Great ATS Software

13/04/2016

Our organization has used Newton for 6+ years. In that time we've grown from a staff of 50-60 in 4 locations to a staff of 300+ in 12 locations nationwide (and one international). Newton has been able to accommodate that scaling and is easy to teach to hiring managers from each location. And every time we've worked with their customer service team they've been really responsive and helpful. A few pieces aren't totally intuitive, but overall it's not too hard to use. Definitely recommend this system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gisela Garcia

Great Recruiting Tool and Awesome Customer Service!

13/04/2016

Newton is a very well-thought out applicant tracking system built by former recruiters who understand the recruiting process and the things we most need to maximize our efficiency. They are continuously releasing new features and involve the user base with testing and asking for ideas. My company recently went through an implementation of a new Careers site and Newton was there every step of the way to ensure the integration with Newton was seamless and I could continue to take advantage of all the awesome benefits of Newton, such as deep-linking, analytics, and maintaining a consistent employer brand. I am most appreciative of the time Jonathan Chenard, Vice President, Services devoted to pre-implementation design and also during the launch. I would also like to thank Jimmy Li from the Newton Support team for being there through launch of the new site.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jim Caragher

We use Newton as our Applicant Tracking Software in our 3rd party sales recruiting firm

11/04/2016

Intuitive, extremely easy-to-use tool. No manuals ore user training required (though training is available and expert sessions are great). Workflows are natural and the recruiting dashboard makes it easy to manage a busy desk day-to-day. The analytics and reporting functions are top notch and enable us to keep track of key performance metrics without keeping separate spreadsheets or manually assembling data from multiple systems. Customer service is great and they keep making improvements to the software to make it even better.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Becky Littlejohn

Great Support & Continual Improvements

11/04/2016

We have been using Newton for about 3 years now, and every time we have a question or issue Newton's customer support team is very quick to respond and help us work through the problem. When we first started using Newton, we were a recruiting team of 3 (Recruiter, Manager, and Admin) and now we have doubled our recruiting team in size and Newton has helped us be nimble and adjust to the ever-growing needs of our team members and our Company. We enjoy the continual updates and enhancements to the system and have benefited from a lot of the changes over the years.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenna Johnson

Excellent ATS

08/04/2016

Newton is awesome! From posting jobs to applicant information to analytic information and reports, Newton is an easy to use time saver. The candidate breakdown is clear to follow, you always know where a candidate is in the process. The process allows HR and the hiring manager to participate in the various steps along the way. Plus, you can easily communicate with candidates. Love Newton!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Mueller

Affordable Applicant Tracking System Without Compromising Quality.

06/04/2016

Our organization needed an affordable ATS that we could implement fast without compromising quality. All of Newton's features are included in their price; what you see is what you get. We hire 30 to 40 people a year and this system allows us to manage the process from initiating and approving a position requisition through the offer approval in a paperless environment. It has brought efficiency to our process and reduced our time to hire by at least 15 days. Setup was fast and easy. The explanations within the system for set up and various actions are straight forward and easy to understand. They even alert you to the pros and cons of enabling/disabling/changing certain settings. Training managers has been a breeze. It is user intuitive - far less complicated than other ATSs I have used. Customer and Tech Support have been great and the response time is fast. Their Help section is easy to use and actually is helpful! I cannot say that there are any cons based on our needs. Overall, Newton gives us what we need to manage recruiting for our small to mid sized organization at a fair price. We are very happy with Newton.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Frank Garcia

Great customer service and intuitive ATS.

06/04/2016

I haven't done a customer review before though Newton impressed me so much I felt the need to share. Last year I was charged with researching and presenting a business case to implement an applicant tracking system. After conducting numerous interviews, going over my criteria in an ATS and product demos, Newton stood out for me as an intuitive, progressive, and most importantly customer service driven company. From my initial contact with the sales rep. to customer/tech support on the back end, the staff has been very helpful and timely to answer my questions. Newton exceeded my expectations, I have been using them for a year now and I'm happy with our decision. Pros: Very intuitive for Recruiters and Hiring Manager's Easy for Candidates to apply Great Customer Service and tech support Continuous improvement-adding new enhancements and features No hidden fees Tech support responsive in a timely manner Mobile device optimized (to fit on your screens smart phone, ipad, etc.) for both applicant and HR Cons: Not Newton itself though the add-on ChequeFit assessment tool feature. Once an applicant clicks the Submit button to apply for the position the next page comes up explaining about taking an assessment and automatically redirects you to that website. However, there isn't adequate time to read the information on that page which results in getting a high percentage of candidates that end up not taking the test.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacy Taylor

New to Newton

10/12/2015

Pros

I just started using the system and so far the system is very user friendly. I think even if you were not good with computers, it would be an easy system to use.

Cons

Again, the system is great. The implementation of the product, not so great. I felt like I was in the dark the whole time we were going through the process. I sent emails and left voice messages without any responses. When I had my training on how to use the system, the trainer spoke of all these things that I should have been informed about that I was not. I had to go and ask about those items, example how to set up google calendar in the system. Everything is working smoothly now but it was a lot of stress and not knowing the next steps.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Keep on top of your system representative and make sure they give you all the information needed.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Morgan

User of product

21/04/2015

User of product

Pros

Ease of use and service. Vendor always available for service and advice

Cons

I have not had any problems with the vendor I use for the product

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

Be sure to understand the way the product works before installing and using

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Leo Liang

Software Survey

14/04/2015

Software Survey

Pros

user friendly, easy to understand and have users familar with the UI

Cons

nothing really a matter. If they can have more Q&A, that would be perfect

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

should consider if the software is really useful for the company and worth to invest it

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cheng Zhang

hardware engineer

10/04/2015

hardware engineer

Pros

I like the vendor. I like the product. They are very creative. They are very smart. They are customer oriented.

Cons

They are too expensive. They have no sufficient customer service.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Newton

More software programmers to work on their software.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bob Duerr

Smartest Recruiting Software in the Business

01/07/2013

I have been a user of Newton Software for two years now at two different organizations. From the ease of the implementation to the simplicity of the day to day use, the Newton ATS is by far the best system on the market. The usability of the product is amazing, but one thing that continues to impress me is the feature upgrades. Newton pushes out multiple upgrades each year and these are done seamlessly without any additional cost to the users. The system knows how recruiting works, you don¿t have to customize it to best practices, it already knows. Thank you to everyone at the Newton team for making my job easier.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cade Garrett

Newton is fantastic and easy to use

25/06/2013

I was an early adopter of Newton and was always very happy with the product. I have since switched to Taleo due to being in a much larger organization and there are many days where I wish I could go back to the easy-to-use design of Newton. I gave an overall score of 4 out of 5 stars because Newton does lack some features that Taleo and other larger systems have for overall Talent Acquisition process, but nothing is as good of a recruiting tool as Newton (or as easy to use). There is no doubt I will be using it again some day.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more