This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Opfin

Automated payroll solution for small to mid-size businesses

see alternatives

Opfin Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Very supportive team and all requirements are taken care of immediately with any delays regardless of the size of our company. Hope that we continue the relationship with Opfin on a long term.

Thiru V.

The team behind Opfin is super responsive, adding multiple features within a day of requesting, with a crystal focus on making the software as easy to use and manage as possible.

Shyam S.

The software is fantastic for a startup domain and for big companies as well.

Rajneesh N.

Cons

Having no prior experience with payroll, I was a little confused with all the options available and how to get started.

Abhideep S.

The page layouts are a little confusing. While almost all info one would need is available, it could be made more intuitive with some effort.

Subhash C.

I didn't see much improvement on the product side in the last 6 months. I felt that development stalled.

Raja K.

Overall rating

4.7

5

4

3

2

1

14

6

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


20 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use payroll mgmt software for small-mid sized companies

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

- Covers all the basic features of payroll management, including all the Indian tax filing related nuances - Self-serve and very easy to use; in case of any doubts, the support team is quick to reply

Cons

- Integration with Slack and/or WhatsApp could be pretty useful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best and automated payroll solution

Reviewed 8 months ago

It has been an excellent journey.

Pros

We don’t need a Cpa anymore except for filing taxes. Opfin takes care of everything. Has awesome api’s. Can make employees and contractors payment from single page. Contractors payment is free. opfin takes care of tds, pt, esi, pf payments and quarterly filings. Has quickbooks integration too.

Cons

Need to drill into to get more details and employees and contractors details look alike. No ios/android apps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good, can be better

Reviewed 8 months ago

Good

Pros

Easy to generate payslips, the tax calculation is easy

Cons

Pre enabled salary structures, reimbursements need to upload different for every invoice

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Underpromises and Overdelivers - By a huge margin.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Every founder needs to be on top of the finances for as long as possible (before hiring an accounts guy). Opfin can help do the same without taking hours and hours of efforts in reviewing and approving. Over 5 years we have experimented with multiple softwares and processes to make things easy for our team (to execute things) AND for us (to keep a tab). Opfin has solved this by making it faster and...

Pros

a) Automated filing of TDS, ESIC and PF (India specific) - they were a pain to do when I had to do them. b) Fast loading of reimbursements helps run through them without an additional resource monitoring it. c) GPS tags in attendance are perfect for passive monitoring. Haven't used their attendance machines yet. d) Payroll is super-simplified

Cons

a) For a new user, the simplified nature of the product as compared to other payroll products might take some getting used to - apprehensions being "if it is this simple, they must be missing some (compliances)" Needs to be sorted with a good Self Help section. b) You need to transfer money to their account for reimbursements and payroll. Again, a concern that goes away with time but will be a point of concern, especially for bigger payrolls.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great help from the experts in HR/Accounts department

Reviewed 2 years ago

HR related tasks like - Payroll payments, TDS Payments, Contractor payments. Along with employee attendance management and salary slip computation.

Pros

The software is fantastic for a startup domain and for big companies as well. Our company is a startup for Software solutions and experts in Construction CRM and integration and have a good handle on technology, finding a solution that perfectly caters to all our needs was next to impossible, but luckily we found Opfin. Their solution takes all the complexity out and makes all HR/TDS related tasks a breeze. Their auto-pilot for payroll execution is fantastic. Their product support is extremely knowledgeable and their head, himself makes sure all questions are answered to our content.

Cons

Does not have any native apps for iOS, which will make it easier to keep a tap on the attendance of the employees on the go.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and Effective

Reviewed 2 years ago

Payroll processing has become quite easy. Reimbursements are more accountable and takes far less time to process and track. Attendance marking system is an advantage for a team like us which is located in multiple cities and have field work.

Pros

Opfin has just enough features to make accounting and people management easy. Attendance and reimbursement sections are the ones we use most frequently. Earlier, we used to handle reimbursements through excel sheets or emails, which made the whole process messy. With opfin, the work is far easier for admins and for employees, they know exactly what to track and when they get their reimbursements done. Also, PF + ESI filing is done quite easily in Opfin, which is quite useful for a business like us, which engages tradesmen.

Cons

An app would be quite useful to mark daily attendance without having to login every time we want to use it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A boon to any business, making payroll trivial and automated

Reviewed 2 years ago

For ReStok, we needed something that would reduce the amount of time I or someone else would spend processing payroll, calculating tax and regulatory compliance, making the actual filings with the government, disbursing salaries and more. Opfin solves all of these

Pros

* Opfin is super easy to setup, just needing a csv to get started * Allows users and employees to manage and update their own profiles, documents, tax standards * The team behind Opfin is super responsive, adding multiple features within a day of requesting, with a crystal focus on making the software as easy to use and manage as possible * Works without fail and errors, which is super important for something dealing with money & accounts. * Solves all the most painful part of payroll, from attendance, leave to disbursement, regulatory filings (TDS, Professional Tax, etc).

Cons

* UI can be slightly complex * Terminology, and getting started figuring out how to setup your company and accounts will require some exploration, or talking with the super helpful customer support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect Payroll Solution for our business

Reviewed 2 years ago

We was a startup company back in October 2018 whereas we were searching for someone who can assist us on the Payroll Handling. Opfin came in at the right time to solve all the needs and really made our life easy. Very supportive team and all requirements are taken care of immediately with any delays regardless of the size of our company. Hope that we continue the relationship with Opfin on a long term.!!!

Pros

Ease of Navigation, Simple UI that everyone can easily understand and much more...

Cons

Nothing we would dislike as of now. All good

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

good product with few improvements required.

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

easy to process payroll for all our employees

Cons

It would be great if you can improve reimbursement process. A mobile app for submitting reimbursements will be helpful. I didn't see much improvement on the product side in the last 6 months. I felt that development stalled.

Vendor response

Hello Raja, Thank you so much for your review and the feedback on Reimbursements. We are surely going to pick this up. I'm reaching out to you on email to gather more information. Have a great day! Thanks, Rohit

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Payroll service that I was looking for

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a startup, I started using Opfin nearly 2 years back and that time I was struggling with issues like salary structures, how much tax to be deducted on each payment I make to employees/contractors, how to deposit the collected tax and when. All these issues have been addressed by Opfin and it is one of the few software that I recommend to my friends in startup fraternity as it solves a real problem for us and saves a lot of time.

Pros

1) It takes care of tax deductions and filing while making payments to employees and contractors. 2) You do not need to manually onboard everyone who you want to pay 3) Automatic salary structuring for employees

Cons

1) Automatic salary structure does not specify HRA until the employee enters rent details and it might result in higher taxes for employees.

Vendor response

Hello Abhinav, Thank you so much for the review! Regarding HRA allowance, from the current financial year (2019-20), Opfin has changed how HRA is granted and exemption calculated. Now all employees get a default HRA amount (as a percentage of their CTC), and that is used to calculate their tax exemption for the year.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Wonderful!! Opfin makes it easy & quick to manage our India employee's payroll.

Pros

While residing in the US but managing 2 offices in India, Opfin could not be easier for helping me with payroll! The system is extremely user friendly, offers all the features I need and is simple to use! Nothing is too complicated, it's easy to add employees, pull reports, run payroll, etc. Also, working with the reps have been a highlight with our Opfin partnership. He's amazing at providing guidance, answering questions & being friendly!

Cons

Nothing! Opfin is easy & helpful. They are so quick to respond with any questions I may have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best HR and Payroll software

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are maintaining the records of our employees, their attendance and leave, payroll. It send automatic emails on payroll finalization, leave approval, invoices etc.

Pros

Easy to manage records, fast payroll processing, easy to learn.

Cons

The UI can be more clean and eye soothing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Opfin- An easu Employee Mgmt Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

For a medium sized opfin takes care of all your employee related tasks such as salaries, leaves, holidays. They have made it a lot easier for us to do these tasks with least manual intervention, which is great, we can focus on the things that matter more

Pros

If you arent too bog a company and need technology to manage your financial tasks. Opfin is great, pretty much takes care of everything.

Cons

They are still developing the software, but they could do better in terms of user experience of the product

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Convenience for SMEs

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

As a small team, we do not have a HR or Accounts Team. Opfin has allowed the senior management to perform HR and a bulk of the payroll, reimbursements, contractor payment functions with ease. The support has been excellent.

Cons

Though the software does not claim to have this feature, the leave management can be a little more flexible and include handling compensatory leaves.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Payroll sorted

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our experience with Opfin for handling monthly payroll has been seamless and simple. The on-boarding process is also fuss-free, and new users are able to get on and get started without assistance.

Pros

Simple, clear functionality. Ease of Use. Timely reminders and notifications. Easy access to salary slips, updating details for employees.

Cons

Vendor and one-time payments get bundled in total payroll amount—this makes it impossible for accountant to track it for records via monthly bank statements. Therefore do not use this for anything except regular, monthly salary payments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick Support, Best value for Money

Reviewed 2 years ago

It helped resolved our salary management process & attendance system for all employees.

Pros

Very easy yo use by anyone. Oneplace stop for all salary related controls. Support team is very cordial and implements your enhancement request very fast. Pricing is economical.

Cons

I didnt find any complaining point about the software for now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Opfin is great to automate Payroll for your team!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Opfin is a very easy to use payroll solution, that can be implemented without significant domain knowledge, coupled with great service, it is a must try for companies who are not very large and want to consolidate all outgoing payments from a single platform.

Pros

Ease of Use of Adoption, with very simple employee Onboarding. Speed & UX , the platform is very responsive. Service Support, all queries answered very promptly. Capacity to set policies at individual employee level.

Cons

An Employee Forum capability would be great to have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A huge enabler!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am a US-based entrepreneur. When I decided to participate in a small venture in India focussing on hyperlocal e-commerce, running the payroll in India was one of my concern as our team was not sure about how to handle the tax deductions, filings, etc. in a cost-effective way. I researched and looked at a few companies that provide payroll services. After talking to a couple of companies (looking at the demo etc.), I decided to give Opfin a try for its easy to use platform and no-catch flat fee. Then their excellent customer service made us stay! We are very happy that we made this decision. Of the million issues a startup entrepreneur has to deal with, payroll is the last thing I worry about - thanks to Opfin!

Pros

The platform is very easy to use with all essential features. The onboarding part was well thought out and extremely helpful. I also like the flat pricing model.

Cons

No majors Cons at this point. It gets the job done for what I wanted.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to setup and work with but could use better UXX

Reviewed 2 years ago

Opfin replaced my spreadsheet based payroll management. The time saved alone is worth more than the fee they are charging. Add the peace of mind regarding the compliance requirements, it's a no contest. Unlike other payroll software I considered Opfin doesn't charge any setup fee. This alone proves their confidence in the ease of getting started with their product.

Pros

It's easy to setup and it takes care of most of my compliance worries.

Cons

The page layouts are a little confusing. While almost all info one would need is available, it could be made more intuitive with some effort. The practice of sending money to opfin on promise that they would pay recipients later is a little concerning to a new user. It would be great if they can integrate with banks and initiate transfers directly. That being said, I never had any issues relating to money so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Payroll on autopilot

Reviewed 2 years ago

System works like a charm and support is quick and helpful. Can't ask for more.

Pros

I don't have to think about payroll, ever. I can focus on my business rather than spend cycles on payroll. It just happens automatically for us with any intervention for us.

Cons

Having no prior experience with payroll, I was a little confused with all the options available and how to get started. Thankfully the OpFin team was super helpful, the support very responsive and got us setup really quickly.