People Reviews

People

Cloud-based human resource management solution for SMBs

People

Review Summary

Pros

Most recently, the updated features of the logbook designer, which are fantastic from the perspective of helping to automate processes and create a better audit trail for HR/Line Managers.

Kristy K.

I was helped very swiftly and had both of my queries answered in a concise and effective way. The person was polite and offered even more help than I needed.

James F.

Lots of features, calendar integration, quick and helpful customer support, great reporting feature, ability to customise all of the various permissions, useful mobile app.

Rob K.

Cons

None off my Cons are show stoppers they are more annoying than anything, but loads of annoying niggles can add up.

Iain K.

Recording annual leave when an employee is off sick.

Claudine A.

Queries can be very confusing and you can't order the columns of information. We can't use all the functions because they don't work for our structure.

Sarah P.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

172

143

24

2

2

92%
positive reviews
98%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


343 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great HR software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use the basic functions for a HR novice

Cons

The expenses module isn't as good as other providers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, affordable HR software

Reviewed a year ago

- Applicant tracking - Performance management - Housing policies - Basic reporting - Holiday requests - Salary information

Pros

PeopleHR offers so many more features than most comparable software. I've been really impressed by the applicant tracking system, we've made many new hires through it and it has saved us a lot of money. Everything is in one place and it's user-friendly.

Cons

There are a couple of bits that need refining, e.g. you can award someone half a day of TOIL but they can't enter it into the system on the same day as half a day of holiday. The performance management is good but it would be better if it were a little more customisable in format, Managers are required to enter something in every box in order to close the review, which can be a menial task if they have no comment on that particular question.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Shocking privacy risks

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Easy to use, easy to set up. Fine for a company which wants unbridled access for all staff, but serious concerns around internal company privacy and security with some of the new features. Good for small, single office companies where everything is open.

Cons

The product was looking good and then they released an app which allows the entire company to join a group chat. As a company with very careful data handling controls and locked down teams we were absolutely shocked they would roll this out. This means self service has to be disabled and renders the product almost useless. Very unsettling that a company would just role these features out without thinking...

Vendor response

Thanks for reviewing People HR. We appreciate your wish to disable chat in certain scenarios, but we have decided against developing this option. This is partly influenced by our research around engagement during the COVID-19 pandemic. But fundamentally, we believe communication is key in most organisations, and we don't want to put barriers in the way of that. Instead of building limitations,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very happy customer!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

That they take on board the feedback from users and are pushing out really good updates. Most recently, the updated features of the logbook designer, which are fantastic from the perspective of helping to automate processes and create a better audit trail for HR/Line Managers. I can't fault the customer service, who have always come back to me whenever I have had an issue.

Cons

The performance module is a bit clunky and isn't as customisable as other areas of the system, and could do with having the ability to reword the manager's sections. That being said we have adapted the logbook function with something simpler as this better suits the needs of our business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for this SME

Reviewed a year ago

People HR Saves me valuable time, it generates reports easily and gives me the confidence my records are secure and GDPR compliant.

Pros

The cost and scale-ability was our immediate reason for shortlisting People HR. It was very important the employees could correct their own data. We like the mobile app for the team so that employee can upload expenses on the go or book a holiday at any time. As the Administrator I find the software very user friendly and bulk uploads save me many hours of work. When we first uploaded our data it was a really simple process. I use this for 3 companies with different account levels and it works perfectly for each company.

Cons

I would like to be able to use the recruiter tools and the performance management but the permanent cost to upgrade outweigh the time they can save me when operating a small company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PeopleHR Review

Reviewed a year ago

The real strength of people is its people! It's refreshing to find a company that walks its talk on culture and employee brand. They are all extremely helpful, knowledgeable and VERY long suffering and patient with non-technical customers! From the sales team to the help desk team - I cannot praise them high enough.

Pros

The features are very good - wide range and very good value for money

Cons

Very little really . The only criticism is that some of the administrative features are accessed direct from employee records instead of in background settings like you would expect. An example of this is adding a new document - you have to open an employee record, and go to the add documents - and you are then given an option to create a new template. This is not very intuitive. There is an excellent logbooks facility in which you can create custom logbooks for every conceivable record you might want - this also was accessed from an employees record but they have just moved this to its own section in admin settings. They need to do the same for the other areas as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

People HR Review

Reviewed a year ago

No HR system in place so needed something that would easy to upload data from spreadsheets. Implementation was excellent and training very good with a great library of videos, helpsheets etc that covered all our needs. Highly recommended.

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use and captures all that we need and very good price compared to competitors

Cons

just minor things - letter templates could be easier to use but better than previous systems used.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

People HR- The best HR system I have used!

Reviewed a year ago

People HR has helped drive efficiencies across the business and as a stand alone HR role, it has definitely helped me keep on top of admin as well as ensuring Management are accountable for the HR actions in their teams. I would recommend this system to any HR professional!

Pros

The training we received from People HR on site was really informative and engaging. It has streamlined Management admin- previously manual timesheets were being completed by all Managers across the business. I love the fact that People HR are constantly updating the system for the better- at no additional cost! The 'Thanks' section of the system has proved very popular and it is great to see not just Management but other employees thanking each other, which in turn has increased our recognition score on our employee engagement survey.

Cons

It would have been ideal to have a rota system built into People HR as we are a retailing industry, but we had to purchase a separate system software for this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent customer service and a great system

Reviewed 3 years ago

Thanks again for all your help and support! We cant wait to fully start making the most of the system!

Pros

The customer service is outstanding. We are a small company so implementing a system like this is a big deal for us- we were looking at simplifying operations as we currently use different systems for holiday booking, employee praise and expenses. I therefore had hundreds of questions to ensure that we were making the right decisions. The chat feature is extremely useful as you get a quick response...

Cons

Some of the settings are complicated to find and change- would be better if they were all in a centralized location- however once all set up this is a minor inconvenience. The pulse surveys are a great addition- however it would be good if you could access this from the desktop site and also could have the option of making these anonymous. The expenses section- we use Expensify currently- would be useful if you could scan receipts for information so the form auto fills as this is how it worked in Expensify but just a minor con. Finally, we allow our employees to Swap their normal working days- would be good if there was a specific capability for this rather than adding as an event as this allows you to swap out and not guarantee that the employee has swapped out also.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

People is a straight-forward and inexpensive service for managing HR needs in your business.

Reviewed 3 years ago

People HR pulled our disparate HR tools from an intranet, spreadsheets and various folders into a single location. As a SaaS, the value for money is great. The team were very helpful in getting the software set up and it supports most aspects of the business that we run. There are REST APIs that we are starting to use to allow for anything "non-standard" and these are starting to be used in our organisation. All in all, it really has helped our business.

Pros

It will cover almost all aspects of HR requirements including timekeeping, holidays, reviews, contracts. There are some use and "fun" metrics that you can take away about your company from the dashboard. Line managers receive regular alerts about their teams. It's a fantastic price for the product.

Cons

Although there is a mobile app, it does need some work. Timekeeping for employees is flexible, but actually recording time is long-winded. The UI is simple and straightforward in some areas, but feels a little awkward in others

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good HR system with great potential

Reviewed 2 years ago

Although I've listed more Cons than Pros the system is good and I'm enjoying using it, but its by no means perfect. As long as you go into the PeopleHR experience with your eyes open and a realistic expectations you will find the system easy to use functional and it will add value to your business. None off my Cons are show stoppers they are more annoying than anything, but loads of annoying niggles can add up. Having used many HR systems over the years they all have quirks and limitations, PeopleHR are very proactive and I'm sure these will all be addressed in the future

Pros

The People HR platform is a easy to use and relativity simple HR platform that gives small / medium sized businesses a flexible HR solution. We've been able to get up and running in a few weeks with little intervention from the People team, which is a testament to the usability of the system. Out of the 11 platforms we looked at People gave us the best value and of offered the widest amount of functionality....

Cons

The custom logbook forms are good but are also very limited, and working with them can be frustrating . It can take some very creative thinking to get them to behave in the way you want, this can be very frustrating. (this feature has so much potential and more development would greatly enhance the functionality and impact the system has) The ripple workflow engine is very "unique" and does require...

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

PeopleHR Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Good UX - Link from recruitment to staff - Ability to include a multitude of HR functions on Logbook - i.e. 360 reviews

Cons

Areas for development: • With GDPR coming in, it would be extremely useful for PeopleHR to have retention dates on documents (this would show under the GDPR when we were required to dispose of the data) • A automated chase for feedback. For example, if we could input the date of an event (i.e. appraisal) onto the individuals calendar, we could then set up automatic chases at specific time periods...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Intuitive, clean and simple

Reviewed 3 years ago

For SMEs who have the infrastructure to run a cloud-based system, it is great value and is deceptively powerful. Like all subscription based products, it is constantly evolving and growing and they are very willing to listen to feedback and feature requests. Customer service is friendly, effective and second to none. It is much cheaper than competitors that don't offer a great deal more in functionality and if you are shifting from paper and Excel spreadsheets, you won't to be sorry you made the move.

Pros

It is easy to use even for non-technical staff, so it is relatively easy to implement even with a workforce that has predominantly not grown up in the digital age. It is simple yet sufficiently customizable to enable it to be shaped to many if not all of the idiosyncrasies of your own organisation. It is modular, so you can take (and pay for) only as much functionality as us useful to you or that your organisation can cope with. The customer service is excellent. Queries are dealt with quickly and satisfactorily, which is important with an evolving product like this which is constantly in improving development.

Cons

There are times when I've felt I'd like a tiny bit more ability to alter things or building upon them. An example is the 'return to work' functionality, in which I would like the ability to add a few more questions or to alter the tone of the existing questions. There are ways to work around this but I'd like to be able to do it within the native functionality of that area of the software. But as I say, if I feel that strongly about this there are workarounds available so this is more about the ability to tweak to the nth degree of personal Al taste, and of course they have to stop someone...but the ability to add custom fields to any area of the programme (or even just to forms that already exist) would be a big plus in my view.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The good people at PeopleHR have created a feature rich and versatile Human Resources Software Suite .

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are extremely happy with People HR 's feature rich software and easy to understand , intuitive implementation . From stem to stern this amazing software offers summary integration of so many formally disparate Human Resource functions . We highly recommend it's use.

Pros

From an introductory and initial stand point , we most loved the ability to effectively group and to communicate directly with top and the most competitive candidates for open positions at our company . The ATS tracking system from People HR makes this tasks quite manageable. The ATS feature has streamlined and consolidated our approach to posting new information on available positions and allows consistent...

Cons

We did find that our experience with customer service during the initial installation stages was not as reactive as we would like , but this is easily navigated through the use online tutorials and plentiful support groups to answer fundamental questions and install issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

If you're looking for a staff management system, you can't go for wrong with People HR.

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, the software is good and I would recommend it to a small to medium sized company. The customer support is for the most part great and they do get back to you when you have a problem within an hour. The major technical difficulties we have encountered are frustrating as it creates extra work , however, they do their best to fix things as quickly as possible and keep you up to date with progress. For us it has helped when the company expanded and we needed to be able to monitor more staff and this is where the reports and planner functions have been invaluable.

Pros

It is easy and simple to use and navigate so any staff with basic IT experience can use it. It has some great features for pulling reports on basically anything within the database and you can customise them extensively if you want to. It has space for inputting lot of information for staff members and is great for time sheets and recording. Other features like the planner are great for giving you an overview of the months/weeks/days ahead and you can set yourself tasks which send reminders to your email if needed.

Cons

For the most part, it works fine, however, we have been using the software for a couple of years now and every time they do a big system update, something seems to go wrong somewhere else in the software. Namely for us, it's time sheets, which can (and has!) cause a huge problem, as we rely on this for a lot of day to day things, from pay roll to budgeting and costs, so when this element glitches, it can be a bit frustrating!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

HR in a nutshell

Reviewed a year ago

IT's made holiday maintenance and training recordkeeping much easier. All HR basic tasks are in one place and we have scanned all documents and attached to individuals, doing away with most of the paper files we used to have which is an obvious space saver and going forward is more ecologically friendly.

Pros

This is an excellent, all-in-one-place, HR package for a small company. It has restrictions, but on the whole it's easy to use with good support both in on-line guides and the support team. The structure is very straightforward, menus easy to navigate and covers everything a HR department will need from on-boarding, through induction, training, timekeeping, holidays, disciplinary proceedings etc to leaving.

Cons

Expenses section is an additional extra and is a no-go area. I spent more time on to the helpdesk to it than anything and ended up having to stop using it. I dislike the fact that you can't order your employees to your choice and maintain that order - or go into that employee and then come back out to go back into the next one, you have to start at the top again and scroll down which is very time consuming if you are working through a number of employees.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great multifeature product but needs some time to learn to navigate

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Variety of features, system works quickly and efficiently, great design Different access levels is useful to manage multi teams and locations Clear and comprehensive planner, good there is an option to auto carry over the remaining holidays Task feature handy and easy to use Very comprehensive reports/queries feature Detailed employee profiles, ability to set personalised work patterns Great service and help from the People team plus and great online training material provided

Cons

Cannot re-route timesheets authorisations to the additional reporting line (holidays only) Would be handy to approve expenses from the email or a least to have a link ''Please log in to People to see the details'' Would be quicker to have direct link from the email into the area within PeopleHR system (e.g. to people profiles when clicking on the name) News could have a ''like'' button Notification...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Non-flashy well-provisioned HR IS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having been using the system for only a month I am already finding it very useful, and think that going forward and finding my way better around the system will only improve it further!

Pros

The employee screens are useful, and a far better way of storing data than in Word docs (as we were previously). I also like the way icons for different leave types/ absences show up for staff who are away when viewing the full staff list. We have recently undertaken our annual reviews in People for the first time and after some teething problems this also appears to be working well. The 360 form completions is again much better than emailing different reviewers and compiling feedback in Word. Finally, I would like to give credit to some of the automatic features which make the HR Manager's job easier - for example, on return to work from sick leave a member of staff is automatically emailed and reminded to complete a Return to Work form. This is great!

Cons

The system has a lot of functionality and it can sometimes take a while to find what you are looking for. The UX is a bit clunky and there could be more ability to customise - i.e. I do not use a lot of the default items in the lefthand toolbar (e.g. training/ news/ notification) and if I could remove these it would mean I didn't have to scroll to the things I DID use. Furthermore, the fact that in reviews it is possible for the Manager to write over the Employee feedback seems very strange - 1) it creates the possibility of erroneously deleting comments, and 2) it would potentially allow a manager to edit or remove negative or unwanted feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Having used a number of HR Platforms, People HR is by far the best

Reviewed 3 years ago

Think you can tell I really love People HR, it makes my job as a HR Consultant so much easier having everything in one place. I particularly like the queries facility, and probably use it everyday for something. Also if I have a question I usually try the 'get help' tab but if I struggle the help desk guys are great too.

Pros

People HR is a very intuitive piece of software, its just so easy to operate. We've watched it grow as our business needs change, not only can you use it for basic tasks like monitoring holidays and absence. It is possible to run the full employee life cycle of an employee from recruitment via the ATS tab to monitoring the employee's progress via the progress tab. We've recently used the facility to upload payslips to our system which will be a huge saving in stamps and stuffing envelopes!

Cons

Sometimes the queries facility baffles me, there are so many options, not really a con just a comment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good software that covers a wide range of functions.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have booked for a trainer to come in and help us to understand the system fully so we can start using its full capacity, so I am sure I will be able to give more detail after this when we start using it properly, but at the moment I am impressed with what it can and will do for us as a business.

Pros

The software and functionality is great, the support when you click the help button to chat with Advisors is always very helpful and they are great in answering with any queries and offering fantastic customer service.

Cons

This was implemented into the business before I joined, and the person that did this did not train anyone on the system. From what I have been able to use so far it has been good, and looking at the functionality and capacity for what we can do I am quite excited for as I think utilising this properly will slick up a lot of current processes we have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent system which makes transactional HR activity so easy to use for administrators, managers and staff

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have worked with many HR systems over the years which have been restrictive, cumbersome, difficult to use. PeopleHR is none of these. It is an easy to use , flexible, reliable system which continues to improve month on month. The support function is second to none. They always resolve any queries or problems quickly and efficiently and the' how to' guides are very helpful in both written and video format. Highly recommended.

Pros

Cloud based so easy to access from anywhere including mobile access Easy to use and navigate with great support centre and advice readily available either online or by phone Supports all transactional activity and much much more including performance management, recruitment (end to end), training Templates provided which can be adapted to suit the indidvidal business Easy to run and export queries and reports Continually being improved with end user feedback taken on board Great value for money

Cons

Expenses module currently only available by mobile App. Bulk upload functionality limited at present

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great System and Very USer Friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

>Query Builder - Easy to use report builder to extract information from the system, I use this feature for the bulk of our payroll data. You can customise each query and save it so you can use again. It also has a filter feature so you can filter your data for a specific period, location or company. You can extract most data from the system using this feature. > Employee Planner - Very easy and user...

Cons

the only con I have is probably the dashboard could probably be updated and be more interactive. Also the data when you export into excel (especially sickness/absence) comes out in a custom format which when doesn't work from a payroll point of view when using for deductions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our managers love it, and our staff love it.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very friendly customer support team. Very user friendly. The start-up key is that administrators get familiar with the access level and such very well after understanding the feathers and functions via introductory sessions. Place for general company information and forms; onboarding of new employees that are off-site; automated time off requests/approval; data and set or custom reports at your fingertips and will convert to excel with click of a button! Track turnover; very easy to give access to certain people or give people only access to certain documents. Easy to use and the help online is extraordinary! The on line videos and information is great and if you cant find what you need its easy to send an email and their response has always been within 2 hours and spot on!

Cons

This is a tough one, since it's difficult to come up with something that doesn't work, or doesn't have a solution in the works. Maybe the mobile capability could be improved may be an app would be a good idea :) Overall, is this a very minor, infrequent problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

From Paper to electronic

Reviewed 3 years ago

Make sure you have a team to implement the software!

Pros

Great to track holidays, absence and employee details. We've gone from paper to electronic with these aspects and also personal development reviews. It has been a transformation for our managers to find everything in one place and it has reduced our administration - also stopped us killing lots of trees! Eco. We can process accurate reports very quickly which helps with reporting to the Board. The ATS tracks candidates in one place, with full visibility as to where they are in the process for managers. When a candidate is successful, you can create them as a new starter in seconds.

Cons

We also bolted on the recruitment ATS module but we cannot report on the data from this which can be frustrating. It took us a long time to get our jobs boards to feed in to our careers page which then fed in to PeopleHR to have candidates all in one place.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product which is great for small to medium size firms

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

There were a number of key areas that I like (as an HR Consultant) about PeopleHR, they are: The ease of set up. You can from sign up to engaging with the system in around 24 hours. They give you some handy Excel sheets to aid with bulk upload and they manage this for you. The ability to test the system for 30 days. A lot of HR information systems give you 14 days which is too short to get...

Cons

Not that much really apart from the odd occasion when the response from support has been a little less than helpful. It's felt like the responder hasn't properly read my query and just responded with a very generic response

page 1 of 14