This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

River Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It is very user friendly, fun to browse around look at people's profiles and excellent customer service.

PETER S.

It is great - algorithms for matching is good with high relevance of mentor and mentee match. Reporting tools were also helpful but needed time to understand what the structure is.

Aaron N.

Very easy to use and I highly recommend. Great support, tools, and ideas towards strengthening our mentorship program.

Chris W.

Cons

There are a number of options in reporting which are sometimes difficult to find.

Tammy R.

Inability to integrate other collborative tools like WebEx and no translatability on outlook calendar when needed to change the schedulies of meeting in outlook.

Aaron N.

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

10

6

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


16 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product! Fantastic Service! Cost Effective! Time Saver!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We spent a lot of time and effort into researching the best Mentoring Software company to partner with. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the whole team generously answered all of our questions and even took the time to schedule multiple demos as we were making the decision. The teams expertise and guidance were a valuable part of the successful launch of our Mentor Connect program. River is more than just a software company-they offer a truly unique experience for any company looking to utilize mentoring as a part of their teams development.

Pros

The software is very easy to use. The matching eliminated hours of time that would have otherwise been spent in matching Mentors and Mentees. We were able to customize the site, allowing us to choose what message we wanted to send to our users. Sign up was fast and easy and if I did have a questions, the River Team was always available to help. Highly recommend this partnership!

Cons

There are a number of options in reporting which are sometimes difficult to find. River did however, provide a manual that is easy to use and filled with detailed instructions so I was able to access the information I wanted.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Full featured mentoring platform with personalized support

Reviewed 3 years ago

The benefits of having a dedicated mentoring platform are flexibility, a strong end user experience especially for mentor circles (though I think it leans heavily in that direction and not as much for 1:1) and world class customer service from the top down

Pros

I love the support I get from the team at River. My company has a number of unique mentoring programs and I'm able to incorporate my account specialist into every aspect of the design and implementation process.

Cons

With more companies trying to quantify the value of mentoring, I think it's important that River work on both their reporting and survey tools to be more competitive with other companies that are in the same technology space. I've seen demos recently where their reporting capability makes it very easy to "tell the story" of mentoring, and that's not something I have at River right now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

River_Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

That this system matches mentors with mentees.

Cons

When mentors/advisors are emailed by mentees for a possible match, I think it should alert the administrators and send reminders.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review and feedback. We appreciate hearing from you. We have a report where you can gather this type of data. We will reach out with specifics on that so you can find the information you need. Thanks for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We use it to develop mentoring relationships in a business environment to improve specific skills.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Developed mentoring relationships that are designed to improve specific skills such as becoming a team leader for example. I work for a company that employs over 35000 around the globe, and I have been able to create and maintain great relationships thanks directly to this software. This fact, in the end, improves productivity by maintaining a healthy work environment.

Pros

It is very user friendly, fun to browse around look at people's profiles and excellent customer service!

Cons

It is not cheap but the cost is absorbed by our company and it allows up to 1000 users. I can't think of anything negative to say and if your company decides to buy it, it is a great tool to connect workers in a big company and maintain a high level or morale.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

River Software - a great company to partner with

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our experience with River software was one of working with a trusted partner. They were great to work with and delivered on every promise that they made. They also went out of their way to help our program succeed by investing in software development that enabled us to track real-time user experience (xAPI). Their depth of knowledge in mentoring -- both formal and peer, is unmatched and this evident in the configuration of the River platform. Anyone interested in developing a social learning program could do no better than to engage River Software.

Pros

Smart recommendations of content, people and groups based on competencies selected by the user.

Cons

Like any fully featured software program it can be a bit of challenge for end users to master.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review by Janice

Reviewed 5 years ago

The Community Manager Certification Program uses River for collaboration opportunities within our learning groups. They are able to share comments, references, polling, and other learning experiences with ease. The platform provides the social learning aspect of the program that we could not use on other platforms. Collaboration is the highest goal set for the program. Using River as our platform allowed us the opportunity to win Silver from the Brandon Hall Awards in "Best in Collaborative Learning" category.

Pros

The interface and all its features for collaboration.

Cons

Scrolling when we try to find someone's post.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

River Mentoring Software is more than just a mentoring system!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've been using River's various versions of mentoring software since 2008; their workflow has streamlined with simple but elegant features for our users; with state of the industry mentoring operational excellence processes and support.

Pros

Simple to use, excellent product and process support from the River team

Cons

Although it is excellent software; don't think it totally runs by itself; there still is a need to set strategy, and support the process internally.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

River Feedback and Improvement

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is great - algorithms for matching is good with high relevance of mentor and mentee match. Reporting tools were also helpful but needed time to understand what the structure is.

Pros

Some early configrations necessary for production was easily set up. Superb customer and technical support

Cons

Inability to integrate other collborative tools like WebEx and no translatability on outlook calendar when needed to change the schedulies of meeting in outlook

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mentoring Made Easy

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and I highly recommend. Great support, tools, and ideas towards strengthening our mentorship program.

Cons

Nothing bad to say. This is a good get. The only thing is there may be an initial learning curve before a user feels comfortable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

River - mentoring web platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

The river has been an excellent partner for Sodexo since 2008. They make it possible to reach thousands of people who otherwise would not be able to connect in our large, decentralized organization in both 1:1 and virtual community relationships. They have consistently provided high levels of client satisfaction and their thought leadership has helped shape and evolve our mentoring strategy over the years. I recommend River if you are implementing, sustaining or evolving a mentoring program in your organization.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Innovative Partners

Reviewed 5 years ago

As our organization continues to use River in new ways, the River team works along side us to create the right experiences for our users. I value the partnership and innovative collaboration.

Pros

Matching people into mentoring partnerships with ease in a large organization.

Cons

Updating system for active and inactive employees

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A great tool that continues to evolve

Reviewed 5 years ago

River has been amazing to work with as a partner. Every encounter has left me feeling like they are invested in helping us find the right solution for us and are not just interested in selling us any solution. Their team is collaborative, flexible and very responsive.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Many Years of Positive Experiences with River Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

The River software has made getting involved in mentoring, as a Learner and Advisor, very easy in my organization. River offers support and ideas that allows us to continually improve our social learning/mentoring process.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We Made it Ours

Reviewed 2 years ago

The River team has been fabulous to work with over the last several months. Not only were they willing to work with and/or incorporate some of our ideas...they provided in house tools/resources to enhance the final product.

Pros

The software was capable of being configured to meet our organizations specific needs.

Cons

As of today, I can not think of any cons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Early on in the process but very impressed!!

Reviewed 3 years ago

see above

Pros

The ease of utilizing the River software is great. The service is outstanding. While we are early on in the process we've been very pleased with all that River has provided us to date.

Cons

Nothing yet. We are launching soon which will be the real test.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very easy to navigate

Reviewed 4 years ago

This is a wonderful program. The company is constantly updating and making improvements. It is very easy to navigate and easy to understand.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review