This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SumTotal Learn

LMS solution for staff traning in small & medium businesses

see alternatives

SumTotal Learn Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


8 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have used many providers. SumTotal Learn is the most robust when it comes to functionality.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am able to focus on larger training projects because the system simplifies my job. It offers me flexibility in multiple ways.

Pros

- Reporting is extremely powerful. It's extremely flexible and I like the many options for sending automated reports. - An easy to use course catalog. It can be overwhelming for learners when you have hundreds of learners. SumTotal's ILT specific features make it easy for learners. - Automation is very easy in SumTotal. You just need to know how you want things to operate and the system will do your...

Cons

- Its not a dealbreaker for me but the interface reminds me of Peoplesoft. I think SumTotal could overhaul the site to make it more tablet-friendly. - They do not offer a built-in video player. However, when working with my implementation specialist, I learned its better to publish videos in SCORM files for tracking purposes. - I wish SumTotal built of the bulk import features for online classes. They are releasing new features, just want more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Paradigm Shift in the eLearning Era!

Reviewed 2 years ago

- SumTotal is the most suitable solution for medium and large organizations. - It serves as a compliance-friendly application for banking, insurance and life science industries. - Return on Investment is high and have positive impact on the organizational learning needs. - It has Learning Experience Platform (LEP) services for the clients through their strategic partnerships which is the demanding...

Pros

SumTotal has lot of unique features and in compliance with many industries. - Global Search: From Global Search, all entities can be searched including the navigation link, people, training objects, communities etc. - Extended Enterprise Learning: This is for eCommerce and works well for the large organizations when they want to sell their courses to their external stakeholders or to the public. - Learning Administration: It has complete front-end administration/configuration capability hence it can be managed internally post implementation. This will save lot of AMC for the organization.

Cons

There are few features which are evolving over a period of time. Once these features are improvised, it will be moved to the most likable feature. - SumTotal has Content Library which has all the courses available for the users. Many times, as a user, I get lost in the Library. One should know the exact course category to be able to utilize this feature. - Reports need to be improved further and should be user-friendly for customizing the reports. These are definitely not drawbacks but the features are in-progress.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Worst customer support

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have improved in my ability to deal with difficult and unintelligent people.

Pros

It has the capability to do many useful things, such as coordinate in person trainings, offer online courses, and report on a number of different items. The advanced reporting feature, while difficult to use at first, is invaluable for a larger organization with many different courses being taken at any given time.

Cons

It is incredibly difficult to use and administer and the customer support is just dreadful. I cannot emphasize that enough. I have to follow up many times to get resolution on any support ticket opened... usually it takes at the very least 2.5 weeks to close the most simple ticket, and that only comes when I remind them to respond every few days. It is frustrating because I know the system has pretty good features and capabilities, but without an intuitive design and satisfactory support, it becomes quite a burden to administer and use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great potential for the future of SumTotal Learning

Reviewed 2 years ago

This product still requires a lot of work, but it has great potential. It can be easily used by inexperienced users, as it has an intuitive design, and it has all essential functions to make the education process as painless and convenient, as possible.

Pros

What I like the most about this app is its clean, intuitive and almost minimalistic front-end interface, which makes the user experience so much better. Also, I really appreciate the high level of customization, so that each student or teacher can adjust this app to their need without a problem. Plus, the cost of this app is noticeably lower, that the costs of similar apps. I am familiar with SumTotal Learning, as we use it as LMS program in the university. The process to get everything up in the running in this app was slow, but we loved the result. It is not as easy to use, as we would like, but it is still a great software.

Cons

Sadly, this app is not perfect and requires a lot of improvement. Navigation isn't the best one, which is why you spend a lot of time clicking on different pop-ups. A reporting system is undeveloped and useless for now. Some other features also don’t work as they should, which can lead to miscommunication between professors and students. Plus, the tech support is not helpful and non-responsive, so most of the time you are alone with software problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Meet the most robust LMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

I fell in love with this LMS. Stable, reliable and robust.

Pros

If you are dealing with a big organization, SumTotal is the way to go. I worked for GE as a LMS Adminstrator migrating all courses from their existing Plateau LMS to SumTotal LMS and this is one of the most robust LMS, I have ever seen. It is easy to use (will get some time getting used to it), and it has a plethora of functionalities to cover all your training activities. Just go for it, if you don't mind the licence cost. Customer support is too good .

Cons

Licence cost is too high. It will kill you. Only few organizations will be able to manage it. Sometimes, tickets will take to close, but you got to understand that there are multiple business units working with one ticketing system available. Imagine the crowd.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy and Simple LMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Depending on the week, I use this software every other day, and I've never found any major problem with it.

Pros

Customization of the LMS page for my company looks great, and everything is presented nicely in an easy to use format.

Cons

Every time I open a document in the program, it opens in a new window and redirects me 2 to 3 times. Tedious, but not broken.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Old database style LMS, not use friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is stable and offers the basic LMS hosting options. There is a lot of configurable options to customize the learning experience.

Cons

This is based on the old school database LMS system, and is my option clunky and would need an LMS admin to use. Not turn key and easy like some others.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Proceed with Caution

Reviewed 4 years ago

Features do not work as expected the first time around. It takes at least three tries to get it right and until they get it right, they will do their best to convince you that it's your course; not their portal.

Pros

Assignment Automation

Cons

Bugs, glitches and downtime