App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TestGorilla Logo

TestGorilla

Pre-employment testing software for HR professionals

see alternatives

(11)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

TestGorilla Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


238 reviews

Recommended

FD
AvatarImg

Felice D.

Food & Beverages, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ci troviamo molto bene per la selezione del personale

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Il più grande vantaggio di Test Gorilla è la possibilità di fare screening attraverso test valutativi delle competenze soft e di quelle hard. Con queste funzionalità è difficile sbagliarsi.

Cons

Il sito web non è così facile da navigare, occorre un pò di tempo di training per riuscire ad orientarsi correttamente

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

Vendor response

Ciao Felice! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy that you are finding TestGorilla useful in your screening process. We are already doing some work on the website to enable easier navigation for everyone.

LF
AvatarImg

Lana F.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Its a great tool to assess candidates

Reviewed 2 years ago

Benefits of using test gorilla, would be a much smoother screening process.

Pros

Its a good tool to assess candidates before interviewing. It has saved the company I work for a lot of time during the screening phase of recruitment. You get a lot more information from your candidates.

Cons

Based on feedback from candidates, they have complained about not being able to complete an assessment due to the time constraint, I think granting an additional five minutes to candidates for certain assessments (not all), would be beneficial to us the employer as the data of a persons results would be more accurate. Could also be cheaper for returning customer!

Vendor response

Hi Lana. Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us your feedback on the platform. We're so happy to hear that you have been able to save time and have a smoother hiring process with the use of our tool :) Thanks for the feedback on timing. We have a function whereby the customer can indeed grant additional time to candidates, in the configuration of the assessment at set-up stage! Thanks for being part of the TG community Lana

AR
AvatarImg

Ap R.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Review after extensive use

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have already raised concern about server avilibility issue at the time of test. Also question bank is not enough for software tests.

Pros

Ease of use. Test Science has good sections and good question bank.

Cons

Question bank of the software language test. I have included test of C and C++ in our assessment. All candidates got same question to solve. This way the whole section was wasted.

Vendor response

Hello Ap, thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found the platform easy to use! However, there seems to be a misunderstanding there regarding our question banks. All candidates who are invited for a particular assessment will receive the same questions from the question bank for the tests in question. That's how we ensure fairness for candidates! If the questions were different for each candidate it would be impossible to compare the results fairly :) hope you will continue to find great talent for your company using our platform!

OA
AvatarImg

Ollah A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TestGorilla Platform Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and has a big number of tests.

Cons

That there are no levels for technical tests.

Vendor response

Hi Ollah! Thank you for your review. We're so glad to have you as a member of team TestGorilla. Thank you for the feedback on levels for technical tests. We are constantly working to create new tests and improve on the tests we already have, and appreciate your insight.

CY
AvatarImg

Chun Yong T.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good enough for now

Reviewed a year ago

Need for online assessment before interviewing candidates pushed me to use test gorilla. Good enough for my current needs

Pros

The question bank and proctoring function.

Cons

The automatic grading function can be improved. Feel quite hard to reach out to the support

Vendor response

Hi Chun! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Happy to hear that you are satisfied with your experience of the platform so far, but I would love to know why you had problems with our support function, and do my best to assist you. You can reach me directly on siobhan@testgorilla.com

LS
AvatarImg

Liohn S.

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Poor results analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

Customer support was slow to respond, unhelpful, and ultimately refused a to issue a refund.

Pros

It's easy to use. The UI is comfortable and modern, and there are many tests to choose from.

Cons

I used it to test candidates' familiarity with SQL. I am not personally familiar with SQL, so I relied on the test results. The results are analyzed on a binary basis: Either the candidate's code on each question was perfect, or it was a 0. Most of my candidates failed the tests spectacularly despite writing queries that were in some cases 99% accurate. Effectively the test results were less than useless, they were misleading.

Vendor response

Hi Liohn, thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. It's true that if a candidate doesn't ultimately get the correct answer in a coding porblem, that they will return a 0. This is why we allow candidates to run their code during the test process - to check. Candidates can run the code at any point during the test so that they can see if their code successfully performs the tasks required. Once the console returns errors, it is up to the engineer to look for and fix these errors just like they would outside of a testing environment. The ability to do so in a timely manner is a good reflection of the candidate's skills. So we feel that this a very good reflection of the skills of the candidate, and not a misleading result.

AM
AvatarImg

Adam M.

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We Needed This

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

TestGorilla is easy to use and has a huge test library. The people we hire for customer support positions are better suited to the position based on the assessments scores I receive from candidates. It's difficult to evaluate someone's proficiency with technology but TestGorilla gives us the ability to hire people who are comfortable working remotely with technology.

Cons

I wish I was able to send a hiring manager a group of tests I believe will fir the position we're hiring for before sending it to candidates. Currently, I have to copy the assessment to make edits, if I've already sent it to candidates.

Vendor response

hi Adam! Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to hear that you are now finding more suitable customer support hires, as a result of incorporating TG into your hiring process :) Best of luck for your future hires!

MM
AvatarImg

Melih M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Affordable and fair product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Successfully targets different kinds of developer positions.

Pros

-Pay as you go option -Not expensive -Huge amount of exam types

Cons

-Can't pick questions from the question pool

Vendor response

Hi Melih! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback. We're happy to hear you have had a positive experience with our product so far, and you appreciate the number and variety of tests in our library - over 150 and counting!

JH
AvatarImg

Javier H.

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pre-employment assessments

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It was very easy to setup assessments. I started with the trial and had good experience with the first 3 assessments, my company purchased a plan to help me assess a pool of candidates for different software developer positions.

Cons

Many of the candidates had issues when compiling the test cases.

Vendor response

Hi Javier! Thanks for the review, we appreciate all comments from our customers. I have passed your feedback on to the relevant team for review and we are very glad to hear you've had success with recruiting talent for your company!

AS
AvatarImg

ABHISHEK S.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Experience.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good

Pros

Very friendly for recruitment, covers tests for all positions.

Cons

Better filtering optimization to scan old tests

PD
AvatarImg

Polina D.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ease of use and variety of assessments

Cons

Main problem is the assessments finish is 60 days which is very inconvenient because we have to bother creating new ones and follow up with how many days are left for each and every one of them. Another problem is that most candidates think it's spam ( even with the customized e-mail from us), there are problems when using with a mobile phone as well ( complaints are coming from the candidates to us).

Km
AvatarImg

Kennedy m.

Fishery, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

good

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good application for pre-employment test.

Pros

Cobinations with other applications good.

Cons

Some questions are not based on the job in discussion.

Vendor response

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Very glad to hear that you have had a good experience with TestGorilla so far in your hiring process. Our test library currently contains over 150 tests, for a variety of job roles. Customers also have the option to add Custom Questions to assessments, so this is often where customers ask questions that relate directly to the specific job role at their company. welcome to the TG community!

RR
AvatarImg

Rob R.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool for assessing candidates

Reviewed 3 years ago

generally very positive

Pros

Tests are fantastic -- we are a web development firm, and the ability to assess a candidate across disciplines (soft skills, technical skills, even coding!)

Cons

The system doesn't notify us when someone has taken an assessment, so we have to keep an eye on it when we've invited someone to partake. This prevents us from fully automating this process.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Serena G.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

TestGorilla boost the recruitment process

Reviewed 3 years ago

TestGorilla makes an important impact on boosting the recruitment process, avoiding time wasting tasks.

Pros

It is a very intuitive tool Internal communication and coordination among the people involved is improved It gives a more realistic idea of candidates skills in a professional way

Cons

Built-in Integrations with HR programs like Homerun

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Serena! We're always adding new integrations (integrations for JazzHR, Personio, and Recruitee are coming out next month), I'll pass your feedback on to the team.

MC
AvatarImg

Mario C.

Medical Devices, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good but not great

Reviewed 2 years ago

The software allowed us to gain some valuable time and insight in some instances but it has set us back in others where we had to run an alternative to get to the desired results.

Pros

The software is fairly easy to use and implement, especially if resources are limited.

Cons

Many of the assessments turned out to be misleading in the way they are constructed. As a result, the candidate ranking (or scores) can often turn out to be much lower than anticipated. We ran several of those assessments internally in order to compare them and we came out with the same conclusion.

Vendor response

Hi Mario, thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Glad to hear we were able to help you in some ways, but I'd be interested to hear a little more detail on what you described hear. I would be very grateful if you could reach out to me on the email provided, so I can learn more about your experience.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Geert-Jan W.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Used TestGorilla to hire external developers

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall very good, we found the right developers who we hired for certain projects. It made it much easier and for sure quicker when you have many candidates who are applying for one job add.

Pros

Easy to use and ability to choose the right tests from a wide verarity. With the ability to invite candidates in just a few clicks. Once the candidates invited, it was super easy to track in which part of the process each individual was. Not to forget to mention, the software makes it possible to request a video presentation from the candidates to fulfill where I could ask for a question or topic they can present themselves.

Cons

It would be good if we could benchmark the scores with an average done overall to better compare the results.

Vendor response

Thanks, Geert-Jan! Glad to hear you've found TestGorilla so easy to use. Benchmarks are on the way!

JN
AvatarImg

Janneke N.

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 1-10 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Love it!

Pros

I love that you can truly assess somebody's skills. A CV only tells you so much. Especially in VC if you want to hire people that come from different industries and backgrounds testing their skills is key.

Cons

Would love to see how candidates do compared to similar roles.

SD
AvatarImg

Simon D.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good platform, but tests goes to spam

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good, still need more predefined tests on some areas like quality assurance and software testing, for example.

Pros

The main advantage for us is that it speeds our recruitment flow

Cons

Many of the tests go to the spam folder of the applicants, this is a BIG problem

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Estelle E.

Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Plateforme d’évaluation des compétences

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Ce logiciel facilite les sélections des meilleurs partir une grande partie (RH) avec les bons critères de notation.

Cons

Avec ces meilleurs qualités, certains candidats se plaignent du mode de fonctionnement de la plateforme.

Showing original review in French. See translation

Vendor response

Hello Estelle, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are working on improving the candidate experience, and we are receiving very positive feedback from both companies and test-takers. I'm very happy to hear you are having a positive product experience so far. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with our Customer Success team if you need any help.

sa
AvatarImg

shlomi a.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

hr

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

easy to use and show a lot about the person

Cons

Need more languages, the tests only in English

Vendor response

Hi Shlomi, thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on our product. Glad to hear that you have found it easy to use! You'll also be happy to know that our localisation process has begun and we are currently in the process of translating the platform into the first few major world languages! Keep an eye on our website for more updates throughout 2022 :)

AA
AvatarImg

Ab A.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Horrible results the last time

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that you can create and customise a test by choosing assesments and adding your own questions. Its very user friendly. Also you can easily create a test.

Cons

If users fail to do a test because of bugs or downtime there is no live support. It takes them 24-48 hours to respond to problems. Also you dont get any compensation for the failed working of tests.

AP
AvatarImg

Athene P.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Product - Easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use this product, allowing me to set up appropriate technical assessments for key positions. Helped reduce the amount of time spent doing one-on-one interviews with numerous candidates, helped us narrow down the candidates we really wanted to spend time with in order to make a better informed decision regarding hiring.

Cons

No real cons, other than a couple of candidates did not receive invitation emails. There is no way for us to know whether these statements were true and we did end up spending time chasing candidates that had not responded. Would be good to have an option for candidates to accept or reject participation in assessment so that we did not have to chase unnecessarily if candidate had decided to opt-out.

EL
AvatarImg

Edward L.

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed 2 years ago

The candidates that we hired so far are successful and deliver best

Pros

Easy approach to shortlist candidates by evaluating their aptitude upon decsion making abilities

Cons

Less choices of tests available, involving Automotive trade

Vendor response

Hi Edward! Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us a review, and glad to hear you are having a positive experience with TestGorilla so far.

PS
AvatarImg

Paul S.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly and highly effective tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent - I would highly recommend TestGorilla to anyone hiring. Off the back of the skills assessment, I declined to offer roles to 5 candidates who reached the final stages due to very low scores in certain areas important to their role (excel, working with data, communication etc). Undoubtedly, saved me time and money recruiting people below the standard I required. Really useful tool.

Pros

I needed to recruit a high volume of sales people within a start-up business and needed an 'off the shelf' assessment to test skills further. It was super easy to use, building the assessments was intuitive, and I liked the fact I could add my logo and brand colors, and the assessment looked like it came from our company. Awesome!

Cons

I really can't think of anything to be honest.

CD
AvatarImg

Christopher D.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is a game changer for hiring people!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Now that we are aware of TestGorilla, we won't be going through the traditional process of gathering and evaluating CVs ever again. Everything is easier, faster, well organized, and we have access to tests that can help us select the best applicant for each position. Very impressed with the overall quality!

Pros

I absolutely loved the simplicity of the whole process. Everything is clearly explained and it's so easy to set up. I especially loved the fact that it not only offers various evaluations we can use depending on the position, but it also takes into consideration the values that matter most to our company, therefore ensuring we get to hire people that fit well with our work environment and culture. Honestly, TestGorilla has forever changed our hiring process and we will be using it for all our future hirings.

Cons

We have not encounted any cons so far. If anything we have learned a lot from using TestGorilla for all our hirings.

Vendor response

So happy to hear that you've been able to stop screening resumes! We've worked hard to make sure TestGorilla is easy to use for employers and candidates so that CV screening can be a thing of the past!