App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TestGorilla Logo

TestGorilla

Pre-employment testing software for HR professionals

see alternatives

(11)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

TestGorilla Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


237 reviews

Recommended

TP
AvatarImg

Teun P.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very helpful tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

What we noticed was that we now sometimes hire candidates that we wouldn't even have invited to an interview on the basis of their CV. It really made us realize how flawed CV screening is.

Pros

This product is incredibly helpful in assessing applicants before we interview them. We attract a lot of candidates for our positions and the screening tests from TestGorilla help us in filtering those applications and avoid time consuming interviews for candidates who do not possess the necessary skills.

Cons

A quality engineering test that is not about software would be helpful.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind review, Teun! We're happy to hear that TestGorilla is helping you focus your interviews on the top candidates. Our test library is always growing. I'll submit your request to our team!

DB
AvatarImg

Denis B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

In general easy to use and very straight forward solution for my hiring process

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good in general, but I need Ruby on Rails tests, actually you don´t have one.

Pros

Easy to use, friendly UX/UI, good level of difficulty in the tech tests

Cons

Not enough tech tests, I will strongly ask you for Ruby on Rails tech tests

AZ
AvatarImg

Azrulsani Z.

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive anti cheating online assessment

Reviewed 3 years ago

This platform definitely came in handy for technical assessment required for large group of candidates.

Pros

Anti cheating features make it easy for remote assessment for huge number of candidates.

Cons

Login keeps prompting for password reset

DT
AvatarImg

Dorka T.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

TestGorilla review by BitNinja

Reviewed 2 years ago

TestGorilla helps a lot in our selection process.

Pros

The product is pretty useful for the purpose we use it for - mostly in the recruitment process. Integration to our process was easy enough, which is a great plus. More ATS integrations would help significantly, for now we use it separately.

Cons

Number of tests and more customisable questions, along with more ATS integrations would be highly useful.

Vendor response

Hi Dorka! Thanks for taking time to leave us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our product useful for your recruitment process :) We are currently expanding our ATS integrations, and have recently released integrations with Lever, JazzHR and Recruitee. A lot more are in the pipeline for 2022, so watch this space!

SS
AvatarImg

Sridhar S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for screening out large volume of applicants

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good - too many candidates claim to have good programming knowledge. TestGorilla is a simple way to ensure that they are walking the talk

Pros

Easy to use and operates in self-serve model for candidates

Cons

Should randomize questions over a small set Better control over sending tests to candidates - link should go to candidates who should then ask for permission to schedule a test at a fixed time only. (Permission and Scheduled slot)

Vendor response

Hi Sridhar, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Glad to hear that TG is helping you to screen out unqualified candidates, and making your hiring process more effective. And thank you for the suggestion about timed slots for taking assessments, an interesting idea!

AL
AvatarImg

Annquenetta L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Makes screening candidates easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it is a helpful tool to wean out the good candidates.

Pros

I like that you can customize the test for your specific needs.

Cons

I would like to view the content of the test., i.e., what questions does it ask?, are they multiple choice?, Essay?, etc. It would also be nice to know what the pie charts actually indicate. Does have a pie chart mean they only answered have the questions or they only got have the questions correct? Or, they didn't complete the test before the time was up. It would also be helpful to see the candidates actual responses to the test to get a clearer picture of their knowledge and experience.

Vendor response

Thanks, Annquenetta! Her'es an explanation of the Harvey balls: https://help.testgorilla.com/how-can-i-see-in-detail-how-candidates-scored-on-a-test

SQ
AvatarImg

SABRINA Q.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Andalin Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Its a good price and quality its a shame for errors, i hope test gorilla team can fix it

Pros

I like how there are a lot of test, and the difficulty is good.

Cons

What I least like about Test Gorilla is their errors, often the error is on the user side when doing the test, and also we have difficulty paying the billing, but its all resolved now.

RS
AvatarImg

Rob S.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Taking our recruitment to another level

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

TestGorilla is an excellent way to assess candidates prior to interviewing. This initial screening makes the interview far more productive which saves us time and allows us to find the gems amongst a pile of CVs.

Cons

I find the pricing plan structure a little strange. In some ways, the free plan is preferable to the Pay as You go plan, in that it has unlimited assessment and candidate credits for the free tests.Based on this, The Pay as You Go plan, should also also have unlimited assessment and candidate credits for the free tests.I would also like to have the ability to completely delete an assessment rather than just archiving it.

Vendor response

Hi Rob, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback :) Glad to hear that we are helping you become more efficient and productive! Thanks for the suggestion to delete assessments, this will be passed to our Product team. Regarding the Free version of the platform, the tests in that version have a limited question bank, compared to the paid version of those tests...so there is quite a difference between the free content and the paid. Welcome to TG!

KJ
AvatarImg

Keshena J.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Get it Now!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Been good so far!

Pros

As a recruiter, this software is of great help with tracking applicants and issuing assessments

Cons

The user interface- could've been better

Vendor response

Hi Keshena, Thanks a lot for your feedback :) Glad to read about your positive experience so far, and happy to hear that we are improving your recruiter experience.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yogesh J.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Benefits of test gorilla

Reviewed 3 years ago

First of all, great support from the BD team at Testgorilla during pilot run and then helping us with right pricing plan. To talk about the tool, I think this is one of the best tool that I have used till now, as I was giving tests previously even the candidate experience is good on the platform.

Pros

Testgorilla assessments helped me close a position in just a weeks time. So if you have a proper sourcing channel test gorilla can help you reduce the decision making cycle.

Cons

the pricing model docent really favours small scale organisations especially in India, since the no of applications per job are very high so it limits us to use testgorilla tests as funnel for filtering out candidates. Qualifying questions are not good enough to filter out candidates.

RD
AvatarImg

Ricardo D.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Candidate evaluation platform

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Library with predefined questions. Create custom questions such as: Coding, Multiple Choice, Free-text, Video and File Upload. Allows candidates webcam snapshots. Candidates evaluation dashboard which also includes our own evaluation and comments.

Cons

Coding Limited to Supported Languages. Lacks sentence completion and Diagrams questions.

Vendor response

Hi Ricardo, thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear that you are happy with our Custom Questions feature. And regarding Coding tests, we are continuously updating our Test Library, and recently released a number of new coding tests, and there are also a number of coding tests in development, to be released in the coming months. You can see the latest releases in our monthly newsletter!

AC
AvatarImg

Amy C.

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great system

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I would say that I like the variety of test options the most. We have an array of positions that utilize many different skill sets and the tests cover them all. I also like the fact that the site is accessible everywhere therefore the tests can be taken remotely.

Cons

I do not like the fact that there are not training tests, such as Microsoft Office.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback, Amy! Glad TestGorilla is helping you make better hiring decisions faster. We're always growing our Test Library, and we do have a Microsoft Office test now!

sa
AvatarImg

salma a.

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pros/cons

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good experience so far

Pros

The software is easy to use and like how we can customize our own test

Cons

when customizing tests, i wanted to add more than 10 questions accordingly had to upgrade, also there is no deadline for the test it is always open unless i archive it. i also used the video option but wasnt successful and couldnt see any video

Vendor response

Hi Salma, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to hear we are able to help your company with the hiring process, and that you are happy with the feature to create and use your own custom tests. Your suggestion of a test deadline is great, and I have forwarded to the relevant team in TG!

EL
AvatarImg

Eric L.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The 3rd Interviewer

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ease of building assessments is what we enjoy most. Customization of the exams is quite flexible.

Cons

The constant, upgrade to use this feature feels spammy. We are hiring candidates, not playing a game on the phone, everything we need to do should not require multiple upgrades. Secondly, I would like there to be a larger question base for each exam, I would like to pick the specific question(s) that go into the exam.

Vendor response

Hi Eric, thanks a lot for your feedback. Glad to hear that you appreciated the ease of building assessments and that you enjoyed our UI/UX experience :) Welcome to the TG team

VK
AvatarImg

Vinod Kr B.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Test gurila use case

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's,good

Pros

Easy to shortlist skilled candidates Easy to create the test

Cons

Filter on test report , test report analysis

RL
AvatarImg

Raul L.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Applica Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good. We have added a valuable resource to our vetting process.

Pros

The tests are well designed and focused on different profiles, with different levels of complexity. The platform in general is very intuitive and user-oriented. It integrates very well with our recruitment process, I would add the opportunity to edit the tests if no one is taking them.

Cons

that nothing can be changed in the tests after have been assigned.

Vendor response

Hi Raul, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy that your experience with TestGorilla has been a positive one so far, and we look forward to helping you continue to find top talent for your job roles!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dina M.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Time Saver

Reviewed 2 years ago

It served it purposes and definitely helped me make two critical job placements in 2021.

Pros

In a small company I wear many hats and do not have time to set up assessments and tests to get proper review of candidates. This allowed me to set up what I needed to sift through candidates to ensure I was bringing in the proper person for the job.

Cons

I'd like to see the questions the candidates answered.

Vendor response

Hi Dina! Thanks a lot for leaving us your thoughts on TestGorilla :) So glad to hear we were able to help you make 2 important hires in this past year, that's great!

JC
AvatarImg

James C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use candidate screening software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The pre-defined assessment groups make setting up new screenings quick and easy - the biggest reason to use TestGorilla, as does grouping and presenting these to candidates in a controlled environment.

Cons

Better visibility on the assessment questions (not just a preview) would be beneficial over having to run the assessment yourself.

Vendor response

Hi James! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Happy to hear that you are finding it quick and easy to set up your assessments and screen your candidates!

AO
AvatarImg

Andrea O.

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helpful Product!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive! Will being use this for hiring of all candidates.

Pros

Easy to set-up and use; non-biased screening of candidates.

Cons

Only negative was one of the tests - the Enneagram - the test results were not what we expected. Our organization follows the Enneagram and we do a lot of professional development around it. The results delivered did not match any of he styles we are familiar with.

Vendor response

Hi Andrea! Great to hear you have had a positive experience with TestGorilla so far! Regarding the Enneagram results, we have a blog post dedicated to how to interpret the results - https://www.testgorilla.com/blog/enneagram-types/#type-1-the-perfectionist This might help you in the future!! And if you need any more clarification, you can reach us at help@testgorilla.com :)

ME
AvatarImg

Michelle E.

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes it so easy to vet potential employees

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use it all the time and love them!

Pros

I love that I can set up tests to really deep dive test them in the skill they say they are good at. I also love the video questions at the end... it saves me so much time interviewing because I can preframe.

Cons

I wish you could add 1 more test and it would be nice to be able to see what questions they got wrong so I know what areas to focus training on. You also can't take the test yourself without using a credit... it would be really nice to see how hard the tests are. There isn't a way to do that.

EP
AvatarImg

Emelene P.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Upskilling Company

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The product was easy to navigate and intuitive.

Cons

There could be more account creation features.

Vendor response

Hi Emelene, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review :) Glad to hear that you found the platform easy to use and navigate. We're delighted to have you as part of the TG community

SG
AvatarImg

Shahzaib G.

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall test experience

Reviewed 3 years ago

The customer experience and interface is simply amazing.

Pros

It is easy to use and the customising part is amazing.

Cons

Everything is perfect. However more test can be added.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Shahzaib! Glad you like the TestGorilla experience, and we're definitely adding more tests all the time. Any specific requests?

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Worst customer service I've seen

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It's just impossible to communicate with this company and they are unable to solve problems

Cons

We've been trying to cancel our subscription from the very beginning when we realized that the service was not right for our needs. Their customer service provides only template responses and no solutions. We keep getting charged for it even though we have stated clearly that we want to cancel our account. There's just no way to get out of it.

MS
AvatarImg

Monica S.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TestGorilla help to save our team time

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are super pleased with the product. We found that is helps in saving time by not conducting unnecessary interviews when a candidate does not have the technical ability.

Pros

The pre-made tests that you can choose from. The ease of use - user friendly. The whole team can work on the platform to identify good talent. It saves us time. We do not have to create tests or grade/score them. That is all done by TestGorilla.

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about the software.

Vendor response

Hi Monica, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on the platform. We are delighted to be able to help you save time in the hiring process. Welcome to our TG community!

LB
AvatarImg

Leonardo B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Test Gorilla for SMEs Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are a SME without a HR department and infrastructure . We have been facing many problems with the candidates we've been hiring , most candidates seem very good on paper and interview but failed after being incorprated . As we are working in a multi cultural environment TestGorilla help us to better understand the potential (qualities and risks) of the candidates we are interviewing.

Pros

The opportunity to test candidates , as small company we do not have structure in place before test Gorilla

Cons

although there are many tests, I felt that others could be added .

Vendor response

Thanks, Leonardo! Happy to hear that we're helping your company test candidates in a way you weren't able to before. We're always adding new tests (we're at over 125 as of 3/23/21) so let me know if you have any requests.