This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Totara Learn

An open LMS for workforce and extended enterprise learning.

see alternatives

Totara Learn Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


47 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very good option for elearning implementation

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are currently considering use Totara LMS for both commercial and individual clients. Totara LMS is adaptable as we consider enough to be implemented in the academic sector as well as for team members training

Pros

We work on the instructional design for a micro master on leadership and excellence, and Totara LMS has wonderfull features that means we can take the elearning product even further, in considerably less time than starting from scratch

Cons

It can be difficult for us to get to grips with the LMS. Our administration team will need some class of training. Of course, the good news is that Totara LMS spend a great deal of time training and supporting their partners

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good features, but difficult setup

Reviewed 5 years ago

Functionality of the product is good, but some features are very cumbersome to set up. This is improving continuously improving from one version to the next, but some areas eg. Learning Plans still have lot to be desired.

Pros

Features, support

Cons

Configuration of the features, unstable roadmap and release of new versions / features is taking a long tome

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent LMS, cost effective and full of features

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- All in one learning platform, customizable and it has some great features to manage teams and programs.

Cons

- Need some technical skills to fully exploit it. It can be hard at first but once it's up and running it will give you all the tools you need to manage learning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Totara the Best

Reviewed 5 years ago

Totara is easy to use for end users as well as the admin. Flexible and it saves lot hectic works and time. Great to use such a product.

Pros

User friendly and core functionalities.

Cons

about the reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Moodle supercharged!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have found Totara LMS to be as administrator focused as Moodle but is like Moodle on steroids! The feature set and reporting capabilities were very noticeable and welcome addition to my prior use of Moodle.

Pros

Feature set, flexibility, ability to host locally vs cloud, cost effective

Cons

The UI and general look and feel still feel very outdated compared to the latest web sites, technologies, and UI you expect today

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A standard LMS that is decent

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

There wasn't a huge learning curve to this software which is always ideal in a workplace where disruption is the last thing that new software should bring. The tech stack seems pretty modern and the load times for the software were pretty good. The layout and UX is decent, perhaps slightly better than the run-of-the-mill LMS

Cons

Integrations and supported activities are lacking. It would be good if this were fully responsive (it seems like most is but some stuff still renders poorly). The price point is high for the value delivered; I think that it will be a tough sell if they try to increase rates upon renewal

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Used dozens of LMS systems and this is the best by a country mile.

Reviewed 6 years ago

There are many LMS choices on the market and deciding which system to select is never easy, but we couldn't have made a better choice when we selected Totara LMS. Totara LMS stood out for its ease of use and reporting features. Navigating in the system is intuitive at all levels. The system is reliable, very flexible, innovative, open and convenient. The customer service has been fantastic and they have gone out of their way to problem solve on issues that have arisen during our setup. Highly recommended Totara LMS. Intuitive and affordable, with a great team behind it.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Very complicated, Nice reports

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am the creative director for a learning group that deals with several international brands. We have had several challenges with the Totora software, as implementation takes a significant effort. When it comes to true customization we have found it a bit bulky. In addition, we have had to go into the code to turn off several "calls" just to boost performance, that seem fairly unnecessary. The reports can be beautiful, but the cost so-efficient doesn't justify the work often.

Pros

Great reporting engine

Cons

Cost of deployment on already complex systems can be difficult and expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Totara LMS is awesome!

Reviewed 5 years ago

The best part of Totara LMS is that it is open source and a lot of feature/functionalities come straight out of the box. Configurations are also pretty easy and can be easily configured without coding knowledge. An hour or two spent on the application can help you modify the entire UI, look and feel, and other configurations enabling you to have the desired visual appeal. The support and users community is very good and always active with new suggestions and improvements.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great learning lms

Reviewed 5 years ago

Have worked on many major lms and lcms in my professional experience. Working with Totara lms was really wonderful. Its features are helpful, and usability is very good.

Pros

Reports section, hr integration...

Cons

Nope...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid LMS that needs some work

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a Totara Partner, our company deals with Totara on a daily basis. We see some improvements in functionality and stability in Totara 2.9 and 9, compared to previous versions. It has a lot of features and gets a lot done. It's catching up with the latest infrastructure level updates, like php7, but we would like to see many more updates sooner. Also the forking from Moodle is a bit of a concern in terms of plugin compatibility, as Moodle community plugins repository is very diverse and having them become obsolete is not ideal, unless an alternative can be presented in a timely fashion. Overall, I'm satisfied with the product and we definitely recommend it to all our prospective and existing clients that fit the need.

Pros

Learning plans, audience-based learning, hierarchies, dashboard

Cons

Bugs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Meet customer expectations

Reviewed 5 years ago

Good product, but it get more difficult to setup. Functionality of this product is awesome. Also Some futures are very nice.

Pros

Support

Cons

Need clear roadmap

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Totara LMS is great

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using Totara since the first release and I have found it's flexibility and it's open source code to be very useful. The standard options and extensive feature set has allowed me to meet most requirements through configuration only, but when necessary the ability to add to, or edit the code to achieve non standard functionality has allowed us to tailor Totara to any need.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very user friendly webiste

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is an interesting tool which has helped me train and form networks

Pros

This is a great learning platform & is easy to navigate as well. Very good technology & over all an amazing platform to quickly learn

Cons

I would rate the over all experience as great and did not have any issues.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Totara

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is relatively easy to use if you understand the concept behind a learning management system.

Cons

To simple. There software is not very robust and is limited in its features and capabilities.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Amazing experience

Reviewed 5 years ago

Featured could be enhanced but overall good. Flexibility could be enhanced and also more resource management would be good for face to face learning and enhanced reporting. Customizable certificates would also be appreciated

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use with lots of standard features to use!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Value for money. Standard features you'll only find in the big expensive LMS's. Easy to use for the learners. Clear overviews and reports. Lot's of possibilities.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Totara is an awesome LMS

Reviewed 5 years ago

Totara is easy to use and offers all of the reporting options that we need. Easily tracks information for both large and small projects and multiple clients.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great LMS

Reviewed 5 years ago

i have been working with TOTARA for the last 6 years and they keep on improving it with every version

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good stuff

Reviewed 5 years ago

Good product, but it get more difficult to setup. Functionality of this product is awesome. Also Some futures are very nice.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Totara course creator

Reviewed 5 years ago

I really like the type of the course with the videos and helpful teachers. This course help me a lot to learn the basics of totara.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review