App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

VolunteerHub Logo

Volunteer recruitment and management platform

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

VolunteerHub Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

36

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.61/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

volunteermark
volgistics
get-connected

Pros and cons

That is how good Support is. I highly recommend VolunteerHub. We were able to turn our investment into $25K+ through donations.
VolunteerHub is great for storing detailed database on our volunteers. It's easy to use on their end and easy to manage on my end.
Service tickets are handled quickly, too. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to effective manage a volunteerism department with an inexpensive, easy-to-use tool.
Some volunteers who have logged on with Apple products have problems with the website.
At VolunteerHub I promise you they do. Somehow we made a mistake with our User Groups and their order of them which affected the background checks and stuff.
Or tasks that could be done anytime- short of putting that in the description, it's confusing to volunteers.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


36 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matthew H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why you need VolunteerHub

Reviewed a year ago

For anyone considering getting a database for Volunteers, you MUST consider after purchase and after implementation, customer service. How quickly is support responding? Does support understand the issue? Does support manage accounts with the proper repair? At VolunteerHub I promise you they do! Somehow we made a mistake with our User Groups and their order of them which affected the background checks...

Pros

Best features:Landing Pages (Use for companies so they don't have to scroll through event pages to find options)User Contact (User Groups allow for better communication and easier access to Volunteers needed for specific jobs)Waiver Forms (Digital waiver forms are great for fast and easy liability forms to be signed)VolunteerHub allowed us to be able to recruit more than 1,400 volunteers in 10 months. We were also able to leverage that into fundraising, raising more than $25K. One person was able to manage all this because of how easy this system is to use and manage.

Cons

The cons to VolunteerHub are really the layouts of landing pages, main pages, etc. There is no customization to these pages and it's really because the source code is bland. Hopefully, they will update to allow widgets, more integrations, etc. so each organization can better serve their volunteers. This doesn't affect users because they don't know anything different but it does need to change and become more modern.

Vendor response

Hey Matthew, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are thrilled that your are finding so much success with VolunteerHub software.

KL
AvatarImg

Katie L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VolunteerHub Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Everything! Definitely the calendar view is helpful on the main page.

Cons

I feel like I am not using VolunteerHub to the best of it's ability. I need to take time to learn more and grow my expertise.

Vendor response

Katie, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled that you are so happy with our software.

HK
AvatarImg

Heather K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Volunteer Hub Didn't Work for Us

Reviewed 5 years ago

The person who helped me set up was nice but the program didn't work well for us. We couldn't easily copy big events that are the same each year.

Pros

We didn't have any pros. This product didn't work for us. We gave it a year but in the end we needed something different.

Cons

It seemed difficult to use and not end user friendly. Our users complained that it was much more difficult.

TB
AvatarImg

Tyler B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Saves so much time with high demand, one-off or shift-based opportunities!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall I am very pleased with my VolunteerHub experience. When I joined the organization 1.5 years ago, we had been using its most basic functionality for a few years. Since then, I have learned from webinars, help docs and extremely responsive support team emails how to use nearly every feature. We've implemented each feature successfully, which has saved time and allowed us to rely on a huge pool of volunteers in new ways. Although I think the price increases have been a bit disproportionate to the increase in the number of active users we can have, VolunteerHub is meeting all of our major needs at the moment, and most of our minor ones, too.

Pros

Perfect for empowering thousands of individuals and group leaders to claim space in our twice-daily, year-round meal service opportunities with minimal initial interaction from our very small staff Volunteers can join groups (skills, interests, corporate, etc.), on their own or automatically through a customized link, and we can email those groups to recruit in a way more targeted than emailing all...

Cons

Volunteer Hub shines with scheduling volunteers for opportunities with set start and end times. Much more attention is needed for creating irregular opportunities and scheduling volunteers/recording attendance for them. For example, opportunities with flexible start and end times, just gauging interest in internships, and volunteers who don't stick to a regular schedule but are welcome any time, can...

SM
AvatarImg

Stephanie M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use and Reporting!

Reviewed 4 years ago

VolunteerHub offers excellent customer service, and they are always open to feedback. Not only do they work directly with their clients, but they also have a fast turnaround and frequently apply client feedback to improve the site. There are also a variety of tutorials on their customer support page.

Pros

User-friendly interface, easy to modify and customize, and an excellent reporting feature. Our organization opted for the eTapestry integration, which automatically replicates volunteer data into eTapestry for efficient volunteer and donor tracking. VolunteerHub has simplified event management, volunteer tracking, and makes reporting quicker and easier than calculating numbers and formulas on a spreadsheet. The new filters on the events page also make it easier to navigate between opportunities. Staff is also able to use the kiosk feature, which allows volunteers to check-in and check-out remotely and more accurately.

Cons

The communication features such as the internal email system are helpful; however, it lacks the option to add attachments. A few of our less tech-savvy users and volunteers complain about ease of use. Still, our team is typically able to walk them through most areas of concern.

AK
AvatarImg

Amanda K.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Stop Letting the Tail Wag the Dog and Use VolunteerHub

Reviewed 10 years ago

Before VolunteerHub, each call or email that came in from interested volunteers was receiving a personal response. Then I liken the next step to "pin the tail on the donkey", because you would tell them of opportunities guessing at which ones would be a good match. Time intensive, and not highly effective. Since VH, here's an actual example- Volunteer A calls and wants to do X. We don't really...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

ES
AvatarImg

Eliza S.

Civic & Social Organization,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VolunteerHub - customizable enough, with lots of usable features

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

I like that our users can choose to view the opportunities in different formats (date, calendar, or grid) and can skip to a certain date in the future. I like that we can create a one-page user form, so our users can see all the information they're asked to provide before beginning to input information into the form. As an administrator, I like that we can choose which fields are optional and which...

Cons

It would be neat if VolunteerHub appeared to be seamlessly embedded into our website, so that it used our URL, instead of VolunteerHub's URL.

JS
AvatarImg

James S.

Sports, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

VolunteerHub Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

VolunteerHub is a very easy, yet dynamic software to use. Although there have been minor difficulties to work through, our overall experience is fantastic.

Pros

VolunteerHub is a very easy platform to use from both an administrative and user standpoint. There are several features, such as instant registration, reminders, reporting, and new user registration that is very straightforward and easy to work with.

Cons

There are only a few minor difficulties with this software. Some problems arise with user log in, duplicating emails, and user "hour" view. Additionally, our users have to create multiple VolunteerHub accounts, if a partner non-profit organization also uses the software. This creates confusion and difficulty with our staff for registration and reporting hours.

HM
AvatarImg

Heidi M.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great platform for nonprofits

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

ease of use, simple design, report functionality

Cons

some of the most useful functions are prohibitively expensive, especially for nonprofits--but you can still use the software to great effect without those features, so this is minor.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We went from paper and pencil to our first volunteer software (VolunteerHu after extensive research.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

We love how customizable it is and how we can make it match all of our other branding. We felt VolunteerHUb offered us the most options of any other available software.

Cons

Having to set up the system from scratch was very time consuming. Understanding the wording and how to set up the system isn't very intuitive at first but once you understand it set up is easy and tech support is fantastic!

CE
AvatarImg

Catie E.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VolunteerHub is an Invaluable Resource!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, our experience with VolunteerHub has been great. We have a level of functionality that we did not have before. We are able to recruit, onboard and train volunteers easily with the help of this software. If we ever have an issue or a suggestion for a new feature, VolunteerHub is quick to respond and very supportive.

Pros

VolunteerHub has taken us from paper sign in sheets and manually recording hours to an all-automated process - saving us time and increasing overall efficiency. The reports that VolunteerHub offers is AMAZING! We are able to report on exact volunteer hours, total volunteers and compare data easily. I absolutely love the communication feature. I can send an email to all 10,000+ volunteers in our database with one click! The email/SMS feature is extremely helpful when we have last minute volunteer opportunities become available and we need them filled ASAP.

Cons

This is a great software and has really transformed our volunteer program. Any concerns or suggestions we have had are attended to quickly by VolunteerHub staff. No complaints - thank you!

LR
AvatarImg

Leslie R.

Individual & Family Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great investment!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We operate a final pantry and homeless shelter and have approximately 450 active volunteers plus host about 75 volunteer groups a year. After a pretty exhaustive search, we settled on Volunteer Hub and signed on about 9 months ago. We absolutely love this platform. It's easy to use and has all the features we need. You can create templates, edit events in batches, and communicate directly with volunteers both individually and in groups from within the system. Their support team is amazing - from onboarding to regular support, they are responsive and helpful. We are very happy with the Volunteer Hub platform and team.

Cons

Volunteer Hub has a reporting function and you can download data to analyze it outside the system. We would like to be able to create custom reports which is not currently an option. The canned reports in the system don't always meet our needs.

AV
AvatarImg

Alisha V.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One stop shop for volunteers

Reviewed 3 years ago

We've had an excellent experience! This software has helped us in so many ways and the staff is very nice.

Pros

We love the points system, having your waivers in one place, e-mailing specific groups of volunteers, event sign up, handbook, it's really a one stop shop for all things volunteer!

Cons

It's not the best for at home volunteers logging hours.

KS
AvatarImg

Kate S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Challenging

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

It is a great tool for allowing individuals to sign up for events on their own, with minimal work on the part of a volunteer coordinator.

Cons

The sync tool to Raiser's Edge has been a huge threat to our data integrity. And the process that we have to use for group members to register and get signed up for events is quite complicated to explain and takes a lot of staff time.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing your concern, and we’d love the opportunity to assist with your situation. To our knowledge, none of our other clients who use this integration are experiencing the issue you are describing. Please contact us at support@volunteerhub.com at your earliest convenience. ~The VolunteerHub team

SF
AvatarImg

Sarah F.

Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Volunteer Hub is an invaluable tool for our shelter!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Our shelter wouldn’t be where it is today without Volunteer Hub. I highly recommend it!

Pros

Customer service is easy to contact and extremely helpful. Ease of volunteer application storage. Great tutorials.

Cons

Volunteer Hub is an excellent tool but it can be a bit pricey for our non profit shelter running solely on donations.

JA
AvatarImg

Jason A.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid management software

Reviewed 4 years ago

VolunteerHub has been a great tool for staying organized with volunteers and data. Thanks!

Pros

VolunteerHub is great for storing detailed database on our volunteers. It's easy to use on their end and easy to manage on my end.

Cons

VolunteerHub is great as a database and management software, however volunteers can only find it with your organization's personalized link. Don't expect anyone to stumble upon your site when looking for a way to volunteer- you have to promote the software yourself.

JB
AvatarImg

John B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software for large organization

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The support team is quick to respond when I have any issues.

Cons

Some but not much of the activity isn't traceable

CC
AvatarImg

Camellia C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Volunteer Hub is definitely one of the top volunteer management systems in the market for a reason!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Most of the entire office was able to use the system in some capacity.

Pros

The ease of use, accessibility and features for volunteers are incredible! Our office enjoyed using Volunteer Hub. The different ways each department could utilize the system was impressive!

Cons

It's so overpriced compared to other systems that do the same (if not more) as Volunteer Hub makes it unrealistic for any non-profit to invest in.

AP
AvatarImg

Anne P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Hub!

Reviewed 10 years ago

We've used VolunteerHub at Habitat Wake County for about 6 years. It was certainly vital for growing our volunteer program to manage 10,000+ volunteers per year. This includes multiple Construction sites, Deconstruction, A Brush With Kindness and now four ReStores! Pros - Support from Christine and the team is stellar. They are always willing to work with you to find a new solution or fix challenges....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JL
AvatarImg

Jan L.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Our Experience with VolunteerHub

Reviewed 10 years ago

Habitat for Humanity of Winchester-Frederick County has been using VolunteerHub since the late 1990s, primarily to manage the 300-400 volunteers per month who come to us to help build our houses. During our high build seasons, the ease of programming our ongoing construction events and specific details about each build day, and the ability to e-communicate with each volunteer who signs up online leads...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

RR
AvatarImg

Ruth R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ohio Premier Invitational Tournament Director

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and by far the simplest way to get volunteers to sign up, and as the director, a very convenient method of tracking said volunteers.

Cons

I was thoroughly satisfied and have nothing to report on the negative side.

NS
AvatarImg

Naomi S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Satisfied with VolunteerHub

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

We are able to provide all the details needed to explain and sell volunteer opportunities, and give volunteers the information they need for a successful event. It allows us to sign up every kind of volunteer we have as groups or individuals.

Cons

I wish there were more functions to post many events at once with just small changes rather than posting most events individually.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Music, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great volunteer management.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to engage volunteers and let volunteers do things they need. Group management is a breeze.

Cons

I don't make use of its fundraising capabilities at all. They're fine but I don't really see the additional value.

cl
AvatarImg

christie l.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It makes it very easy to stay organized for the volunteer hours I do monthly. You can join groups based on your interest, skill level, etc. Staff is able to clock in and out remotely.

Cons

It needs to have more flexible hours for scheduling start and stop times. The admin said initial setup was very time consuming.

JC
AvatarImg

Jan C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best Customer Service and a Great Product

Reviewed 10 years ago

At the Foodbank where I work, we have used VolunteerHub for more than 5 years and we love it! It really is a full-service tool for managing all aspects of a non-profit organization's volunteerism department. The program is flexible, with many options that work for groups of various sizes. And the customer service is the best! Christine, Mike, and everyone on their team are responsive, smart and personable. Service tickets are handled quickly, too. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to effective manage a volunteerism department with an inexpensive, easy-to-use tool. We only have two staff members managing over 6,500 volunteers - and the VolunteerHub makes it easier!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review