App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Altium Designer Logo

Altium Designer

Cloud-based printed circuit board (PCB) design software

see alternatives

(6)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Altium Designer Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


85 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Thushara S.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Altium Designer is advanced PCB designing tool.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall Altium is one of best PCB design software I've ever used.

Pros

Altium Designer has thousand of advanced features to design PCBs. I really like the ability to make files of the PCB to send online PCB manufacturing service . Altium supports 3D view and we can clearly see how to fit PCB on my CAD design. Altium has thousands of flexible design rules and auto routing options.

Cons

Altium has few bugs when exporting designs. instead of that default components library has only very few essential components. Even I find component footprints or library from internet I have to go through number of steps to add them to Altium every time.

KG
AvatarImg

Kris G.

Industrial Automation, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Altium Designer Value

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

It includes quite a few tools in the package and so far has been meeting our needs for schematic and layout design.

Cons

The third party simulation tools do not pickup the Altium constraints. They have to be redone in these tools and it is very time consuming.

JT
AvatarImg

Jonathan T.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Altium - many pros and few cons

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The software is very easy to use and quick to learn the basics. The most useful feature is the manufacture part search. You can find components with footprints and their stock on sellers very easily. Also, keyboard shortcuts are very useful, especially when you start to get the hang of things, they can save you a lot of time

Cons

Some of the features that I use most often (cross probe) does not have easy to use keyboard shortcuts. The price for the license is somewhat steep, but the user experience is better than other software

JG
AvatarImg

Janith G.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Almost Perfect Tool for Industrial PCB Design

Reviewed 4 years ago

As an Electronics Engineering undergraduate, overall design experience with Altium Designer is great. I have used this software to develop many PCBs throughout my academic carrer. Also, it provides more flexible tools for PCB design which helps beginners to learn the software quickly. I recommend Altium designer for anyone who is interested in electronic circuit design.

Pros

Altium designer is the best PCB designer for beginners as the learning process of this software is pretty much straightforward. Both schematic and PCB design interfaces are easy to handle. Component selection and library management are very well organized. PCB routing is simplified with auto routing feature. Different colors are efficiently used to differentiate layers. Double sided designs can be easily developed very quickly. Overall this software is a great tool for PCB designs.

Cons

Altium designer is not at the best level for the designs of multi layer PCBs because multi-layer management is bit tricky in Altium. Also I prefer a better UI design with ribbon style menu than current list style menu UI. More support for 3d preview is also necessary. Other than these overall experience is good.

EM
AvatarImg

Edouard M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Altium Designer Review

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Tons of features and quality of life features that makes design a little bit more enjoyable. 3D view is fantastic for a variety of reasons. Overall great product, but not without it's quirks

Cons

BoM management can be a real pain, I understand how libraries should be managed, but I would like to have the ability to easily have generic parts and just fill in the fields required (Manufactuer, Part No, etc). Can be overall very quirky, but usually able to get by.

JT
AvatarImg

Jaakko T.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Impressions after 4 months of using Altium after PADS

Reviewed 10 months ago

It does seem to give more than PADS even that I miss some functions in PADS.

Pros

Components can be imported directly from cloud and internet with loader. It has many configurations to adjust basically everything, but sometimes can be a bit confusing.

Cons

I have not been able to find how to highlight a net, so that it would be visible in both schematics and layout.Also when selecting a component in layout, it does not automatically go to correct schematic page, but I need to browse thru the pages to see, where the selected component is.

MS
AvatarImg

Murugesha S.

Design, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A user-friendly PCB design tool

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

It has a simple UI and environment which allows engineers to design the schematic to gerber, also easy to learn PCB design tool for freshers

Cons

The hardware requirements for the Altium designer is at higher end as it requires more memory and process speed for it 3D operations

EH
AvatarImg

Erik H.

Industrial Automation, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Altium Designer

Reviewed a year ago

Good, fast and easy to use ones you get the hang of it.

Pros

All the features i need is integrated in the same software which make my work easier.Easy to do nice looking designs.

Cons

A bit of a threshold to get over when first starting to use it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rahat R.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easier to use and just as full featured as other PCB Layout tools

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would recommend it for both simple designs and also more complex multi layered board designs, it handles everything well and is also very easy to use.

Pros

Extremely smooth and easy to use. Very customizable traces and the cornering on the traces is just as I prefer them, not a 90 degree angle but rather two 45 degree angles by default.

Cons

Does not have the simulation options that other tools often do and also is less customizable, both in terms of interface and components used.

JS
AvatarImg

John S.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Altium 365 Makes Collaboration Easy

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Altium 365 makes storing, managing, and sharing our PCB designs easy and efficient.

Cons

License management with multiple users requires coordination between users to make sure licenses are released when not in use.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Blows the competition away

Reviewed 5 years ago

I went through University learning Altium, as it was the software that had been licensed by our department for Electronics Engineers. It's a feature rich, fully fledged EDA that makes difficult tasks easier. Although I've since moved away as I can't justify the cost against the small output we have, its certainly worth the money.

Pros

Has more features than any other EDA out there, and is continuing to push the boundaries with every yearly release

Cons

The price, its incredibly expensive. However when compared to other EDA you can understand why this is the case.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew B.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Altium Review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Altium Designer is a great way to design circuit boards. It generates Gerber files, Pick and Place and Test Points for you. Great software!

Cons

The only downside is disconnecting with the server a couple of times a week in the middle of projects.

hh
AvatarImg

hussein h.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

so powerful software to design a product from models to PCB...

Cons

expensive prices but for the feature provided it's so good

FR
AvatarImg

Faizan R.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very User-Friendly Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience was very nice for me. This is a great tool if you are looking to design PCBs, its very user-friendly and very easy to learn even if you are a beginner. I would recommend this to people who are also starting to learn PCB-Designing.

Pros

The thing I liked most about this software is it allows you to design and model PCBs and its very user friendly and easy to learn. Compared to other products out there in the market this is a great tool and the price is also reasonable.

Cons

Sometimes when you are trying to make your own components it's kind of hard to find 3D-Models for some components and also sometimes it has an error for placing components.

AG
AvatarImg

Anand G.

Automotive, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best PCB Design Software Available

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is always a good experience to start your day with Altium interface and design some exciting technology

Pros

The availability of the latest footprints along with its lifecycle data is very useful while designing a product and the 3D cad, the UI, the collaborative Altium 365 all comes in handy

Cons

Nothing specific... Some shortcuts and a bit of ease of UI for beginners would be good

BG
AvatarImg

Brian G.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Does the job and then some...

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been good.

Pros

Easy integration with desktop application and online viewer.

Cons

Appears to treat net names strangely, making it possible to label a net with two names at different places in the same schematic sheet.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy,

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Top ECAD tool for PCB design

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Works well with Solidworks suites and now with Solidworks PCB and Connector. General purpose ECAD tool for single and multi-layer board design.

Cons

While there is a vault system available, the cost is prohibitively high for a small group. Integrations are available to other PLM applications as well as a basic CSV or SVN system.

BB
AvatarImg

Bobby B.

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Altium Designer Review

Reviewed 4 months ago

Very positive and user friendly with an adequate online community and support to find specific options and features for users who do not use Altium daily.

Pros

All in one PCB development suite that meets financial, documentation, and development needs with adequate customer support.

Cons

Complexity with managing parts, configurations, assembly/fabrication drawings.

KP
AvatarImg

Kyle P.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly powerful software that is eady to understand

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease of use and powerfulness. It is very easy to design a board.

Cons

Nothing. Its great. Cant complain about anything

YT
AvatarImg

Yathisha T.

Defense & Space, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best tool for the buyers and designers having complex and mid complex designs.

Reviewed 9 months ago

One of the best tool which is available for the easy of use and good customer support.

Pros

Flow and the easy of use for the beginners as well as the designers.

Cons

Documentations to be imported and events to be made for the updates or improvements released for the product.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Akshay A.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy way for PCB Designing

Reviewed 4 years ago

I really most like this software because we get 3D view of PCB. It's provides prior idea about how PCB look after designed. We can easily find bugs also.

Pros

In ALTIUM we get the 3D view of PCB. It is very easy to use for new peoples also. We can create our own symbol also in ALTIUM and by using that we draw schematic.

Cons

ALTIUM is not used for simulation and synthesis purpose.

AH
AvatarImg

Ali H.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Altium Designer

Reviewed 5 years ago

Good and it helps me more compare similar software however it can be more user-friendly

Pros

It gives a good opportunity to design the schematic and PCB for desired circuit at one software which linked together good enough.

Cons

Some tools does not have proper document to guide user to use them. If you did not learn some tricks and skills from another expert person, you will not learn anyway from document.

AH
AvatarImg

Abdulbasit H.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Altium for the best designs

Reviewed 10 months ago

It’s been quite nice. At first it looked daunting but Altium also have ready made tutorials that explain everything that’s needed. I don’t regret using Altium.

Pros

As an electronic engineer, I appreciate how Altium gives me easy access to components from so many companies and then helps my check my design for mistakes, as well as making it easy to create those designs.

Cons

It can be a bit complicated, but once you get used to it, it’s fine.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Research, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Real tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using it since it was called Protel, and I used to it a lot. now when I prototype, and I need PCB I could not use anything else.

Pros

Fully fletched suite for electronic engineer, for schematics and printed circuit board developing

Cons

its expensive for hobbyist, and it takes a lot of space on drive.

MF
AvatarImg

Mohammad F.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Altium Designer

Reviewed 2 years ago

Altium made my work easier and I have learnt a lot of ways and about features that can ease the work.

Pros

Huge range of features, manage multiple projects at once, supports various plugins.

Cons

Heavy usage of processor, require good graphics