This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

ANSYS SpaceClaim

Cloud-based tool for engineering simulation and 3D designing

see alternatives

ANSYS SpaceClaim Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


120 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Run Analysis Run

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've been using this program since university. Best way to run analysis based on FEM.

Pros

Ansys has so many module to run analysis what do you need.

Cons

You must be careful when preparation of analysis. You will forgot the tools and details If you don't use this program continuously.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ANSYS mechanical review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall good, it's the software I learned finite element analysis on and still my platform of choice for that type of work. It's not my preferred software for 3D modeling, but if I'm doing modeling in conjunction with analysis, then I do prefer ANSYS mechanical.

Pros

I like that there is varied functionality built into the same interface. I like being able to build a model in the workbench and then perform finite element analysis on it in the same software package rather than transferring the model to some other software. The FEA simulations are pretty straightforward to set up and get running.

Cons

It can be a little buggy. A coworker and I could run the exact same simulation on the exact same model and end up with different results. Not always sure what the issues are, but could potentially be improved with more user testing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely usefully analysis software for every type of analysis

Reviewed 3 years ago

Extremely accurate simulation results

Pros

Contains multiple analysis suite packages for all types of analysis; static, dynamic, structural, thermal, model, flow, etc..

Cons

Not easy to use at first. Need to understand the setup and process of the analysis to actually run a creditable study

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for simulation and analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This gives you the opportunity to program and simulate complex problems. It reduces expensive experimental setup and gives you the ability to outline projects.

Cons

Tough to learn and expertise. User interface is not very friendly for initial learning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An app with Cad modelling, CFD, testing etc

Reviewed 2 years ago

I do like the software more than solidworks but not better than creo, but it's a good software for the working you need to do with lots of functions in it.

Pros

One of the most sophisticated Cad software I had used in time, almost everything from scrap to prototype to final product can be made on this software and made to go for at test run which helps in understandings defects or efficiency of the product. It's easy to use once you study it It is made for professionals but beginners too can find fun with it

Cons

I didn't like the way of using it as it was a bit difficult to use it for a beginner as the instructions for how to use a tool is difficult to understand It doesn't work on low end computers So many command given at once might crash the software

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Get simulation data quickly

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It is easy to use and the Ansys customer support is very helpful and responsive.

Cons

Some functionality isn't obvious. It is hard to troubleshoot what isn't working in a simulation sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ANSYS for Engineers

Reviewed 2 years ago

-A must-have for Engineers.

Pros

-You can perform tons of simulation using ANSYS including thermal, static, etc.

Cons

-Sometimes it takes a lot of time for a solution to converge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

good software for Fluid Simulation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Ansys has helped me many aspects. The project I did in my undergraduate was done with the help of ansys.

Pros

Ansys is free to use. This is the best software for students in learning phase to practice simulation about fluid.

Cons

Ansys needs a proper guidance before using it. And it requires a powerful computer for fast and accurate simulation.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

excellent software for fluid dynamics

Reviewed 2 years ago

excellent software would recommend it other others and businesses.

Pros

what I liked the most about the software is the end result once you have proceed your design and want to check how the fluid dynamic works on it example in a car park how the smoke extract will work and remove smoke and fumes. this is the best part seeing that your design works and this can be used as evidence that in the real world it should work.

Cons

it is very complicated and time consuming, if you don't have a super computer it can take ours to run the program .

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust FEA software for modeling and experimental verification

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

ANSYS provides a wide array of tools to help model complex systems. Whether it be structural analysis for loaded parts (ANSYS mechanical , or computational fluid dynamics simulations (ANSYS Fluent), ANSYS gives users confidence that they can verify their designs quite accurately. ANSYS also provides many examples and documentation online to help learn the basics of the software, as well as more advanced modeling techniques.

Cons

As is expected with such a robust software, the learning curve for any new user is quite steep. Navigating the multitude of menu layers is not intuitive at first. The built in CAD modeling package in ANSYS is also not nearly as useful as more dedicated CAD softwares, such as Solidworks or Creo. It would be nice to not always have to import a model into ANSYS when the design gets a bit too complex.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

High End dedicated simulation software for greater presentations

Reviewed 2 years ago

Ansys is used for high definition details regarding sensitive applications of the structural work. With it's small scale simulations every detail can be detailed perfectly.

Pros

Ansys is one of the best softwares to carryout small scale modeling work which are related to structural works. It has a great simulation ability to demonstrate results with perfect outcomes. Software is not only limited for structural works but can be used for other engineering aspects effectively.

Cons

If you are interested in working with ansys you definitely have to follow a course related to the software. Otherwise you won't be able to get the full use of available functions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for Non linear structural analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

I liked this software

Pros

Non linear Structural Analysis, Wear Analysis

Cons

XFEM capability. Thermo mechanical capabilty can be improved

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ansys Fluent

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and wide capabilities in industrial application

Cons

Less of source file availability and cost of ownership

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good job, ANSYS!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I've always used ANSYS Workbench and APDL (up to some extent) in the past and what I really like about these two is that it gives the user to define and model the elements in a FEA problem in great detail. This in turn leads to higher reliability of the results.

Cons

The geometric modeling of the ANSYS Workbench isn't that great as it does not offer the flexibility in modeling the part, thus rendering ANSYS Workbench a fairly good analysis tool.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Promising technology for all engineering field

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

ANSYS is one of the best software to validate the material model proposed for the simulation of any material. I used ANSYS to model a new type of concrete material that has a complex nonlinear behavior and compared with the experimental data. I got a pretty good agreement between experimental and ANSYS results.

Cons

I have used both ANSYS and ABAQUS for my doctoral research and I think ANSYS is better to be used in industries and ABAQUS could be better in academics. ANSYS has limited option in comparison to ABAQUS for structural analysis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

EASY USE

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It has so many option for simulation. Lots of tutorial available

Cons

Sometimes some simulations are not run for boundary condition error.But it does not say exactly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Using Ansys as a student user

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

A superb tool to fulfill one's analysis needs. Easy transfer of models into the arena makes it the optimum choice for simulations.

Cons

I wish the user interface was worked on a bit, in order to make it a bit user-friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great tool for engineers

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Users can combine multiple workbenches to carry out complex simulations.

Cons

By default, ANSYS can only use one core on an AMD CPU as opposed to four on Intel CPU.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ANSYS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

excellent simulation softwares covers all the aspects of fluid dynamics, structutal and electromagnetism

Cons

very expensive, need excellent skill and knowledge,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has a lot of features. You can design a part, analyze it for fatigue, heat&fluid, modal, displacements, stress values whatever you want. I suggest every mechanical engineer to use this program for your problems.

Pros

It provides you results in a very good shape. You can see the graphs, animations on analyzed part, numbers etc.

Cons

Some features could be very detailed and hard to figure out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intiutive and Strong Multi-Physics Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used ANSYS to simulate deformation and thermal protrusion in nanometer scale in the presence of an embedded micro-heater elements. The simulation results show good agreement with experimental results.

Pros

The software allows to solve multi-Physics problems from mechanical deformation, heat transfer, to computational fluid dynamics. ANSYS Workbenchs is a great platform for pre-processing, meshing, and post-processing procedure that makes the software very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

Too expensive and it has limited number of nodes/elements for students.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best and more innovative simulation suite. A lot of possibilities and tools

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The Ansys mechanical Suite allow to analyze complex systems in a easy way, with a lot of possibilities and materials library. Is powerful, easy to use, and easy to integrate with other solutions in and ouside of the suite

Cons

Maybe the price, and web or mobile app for sharing data and export data results. Also if you need to use muti core solver you need to paid for it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great experience using ANSYS

Reviewed 2 years ago

ANSYS is a great software that can be useful for simulations

Pros

- Great software for simulations that shows visualisations for the user - Easy to use functionality and tools for multiple industries

Cons

- UI needs improvement to navigate between tools easily - System comparability issues when suing different platforms

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Average analysis tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

User friendly interface compared to other tools. Visualisation options are enough.

Cons

Difficult to entegrate it with a PLM program. Ergo, file management is bad

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It allowed me to simulate different conditions to understand the mechanical behaviour of materials.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It allowed me to develop an important part of my university thesis, serving as a professional tool to study the mechanical behavior of the material studied and validate my previous simulations.

Pros

It forms part of the workbench interface, which allows this module to be linked with another tools without problems. It offers the possibility of evaluating stresses and deformations under static and dynamic loads that can present both linear and non-linear effects.

Cons

It has an outdated graphical interface that does not facilitate the use of the program. The complexity of the problems studied in this program requires that the user dedicate some time to learn how to use the software well.

page 3 of 5

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetApp® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.