Blackboard Learn Reviews

Blackboard Learn Reviews

Blackboard Learn

Online learning, learning management system, lms, course management

3.71/5 (63 reviews)
893     2,129

Alyssa Conde

It's great!

14/03/2017

It's a great product! Finding all my grades were easily accessible.

Pros

Checking my grades were easy. I could easily communicate with my teachers. All my assignments were easy to find.

Cons

I felt like blackboard had a lot of updates that would take forever. The site would be shut down for a while.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elin Rosenberg

I like it!

14/03/2017

I really liked it!

Pros

Blackboard is easy to use and I got really used to using it. It is easy to navigate around and check grades.

Cons

It doesn't have as many features as it could and it could have a more creative interface. Other than that I really liked it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lauren Ayoub

Not too bad

14/03/2017

I've used both Blackboard and Canvas in an educational environment. While Canvas has obvious strengths with many features available, Blackboard's ease of use has made Blackboard an everlasting tool at our school.

Pros

The interface is straightforward and easy to use. I could easily contact my professors and vice-versa. This was especially helpful for older professors who do not like the flashy parts of Canvas.

Cons

While the interface is easy to use, it's a bit outdated. There are not as many features as competitors such as group skyping, etc.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Frasquuieri

REVIEW ON BLACKBOARD

14/03/2017

I believe that blackboard is a good system, but it could use some improvement.

Pros

Fairly Navigable and user friendly

Cons

The student view was good but the professor side was hard toe

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kyle Craig

Decent

12/03/2017

Used it for 5 years of engineering school. For the most part it was sufficient, but there were always the occasional outages and odd issues. Sometimes things were difficult to find, or teachers refused to fully adopt the service.

Pros

Centralized location for academic needs.

Cons

No uniformity forced bewtween professors.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Reffner

Outperforms the Competition

10/02/2017

Blackboard beats the competition - hands down. I've used this software for over 10 years. They constantly improve the software. It's very fluid. Grading is a breeze. As an instructor, I can locate assignments and post grades quick and easy. I can identify students who are struggling and are at risk of not completing the course. Blackboard keeps me in touch with my students. Likewise, it keeps my students in touch with me - and each other. There are so many options for creating assignments, allowing students to view content, or interact with each other. I love using Blackboard Learn.

Pros

Easy to navigate. Simple to use. Effective learning platform

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephen Grubbs

Just OK, I would pass it up

06/02/2017

Having used Blackboard extensively, I can say that it is an unnecessarily bloated software. It is replete with links and features that you don't want and will never need. That's not to say it's bad. It can do everything you need it to. It's just not very pretty while it's doing them. It's also prone to blackouts on a monthly-ish basis.

Pros

lots of options

Cons

bloated unnecessary fluff service goes down occasionally

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathleen Schiaffino

Blackboard in an Academic Setting

31/12/2016

I have been using Blackboard for about ten years to support classroom lectures. None of these classes have involved distance learning. I primarily use "Content" to post documents, "Discussions" to exchange information with students, in the "Tools" section I post announcements, send emails, and track tasks, and I use the "Grade Center" to update the students regarding their progress. Because this is in a university setting our IT department has been responsible for customer support and software purchases. Overall my experience with Blackboard has been very positive. However, my university regularly updates the software and it is often difficult to locate features when the version changes. Small differences in the interface can make finding a particular feature difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josh D'Ambrosio

Good Software

30/12/2016

Learned about this software in a professional development course I was in and a fellow teacher showed me it. Very easy to use. lots of good features....

Pros

Offline mode.

Cons

Looks like it's from the early 2000's.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andy Ryff

A Tugboat Amongst Speedboats

14/12/2016

The Blackboard Learning Management System (LMS) for Business has the pedigree of a well-established education company behind it but, much like its Education-based software, lacks many of the bells and whistles of its competitors. Unlike its competitors, it lacks a modern interface and is largely unintuitive, if not overly complex to use. While it lacks in overall usability, it does has a number of useful tools, as well as a number of third-party extensions developed through strategic partnerships. Another strength is interoperability, making it easy to integrate with CRM management tools such as Salesforce. There are a number of other providers out there, including some that are free, that may meet the needs of those looking for entry level, non-enterprise software. I'd recommend dipping your toes in the water with one of them prior to making an investment in Blackboard to see if they better meet your needs. With a somewhat hefty price tag, it may be better than making the long term investment!

Pros

Interoperability, software extensions, and ability to build and scale coursework.

Cons

The software is somewhat unintuitive, with a cumbersome and clunky interface. The user interface and user experience is in dire need of a facelift.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Blackboard Learn

Be sure to take a test drive prior to making an investment. Don't rely solely on a sales demo to answer the questions you may have.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rene Torres

Decent product, but expensive

06/12/2016

Great product for when your company doesn't have internal tech support. The company took care of everything for us. Unfortunately there were lots of limits and everything had an extra cost.

Pros

· Diverse approaches to problem-solving. · Common language for interaction. · Efficient storage of information · Flexible representation of information. · Iterative approach to problem-solving. · Organized participation.

Cons

Expensive. Long wait times for tech support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allexis Cronmiller

Helpful portal for students

22/11/2016

Blackboard is a great portal for students where they can submit and review feedback from assignments. When information is uploaded from the professor, it is inputted into the system automatically. It is also great for class discussions and journal entries. You can view responses from students and create a dialogue between the two submissions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Abha Gosai

There are better softwares out there

14/10/2016

I used this product for a couple of classes for a year. Our university was in the process of phasing out BB. The interface is decently easy to use but you can miss some updates if you don't check it very often.

Pros

Viewing files and uploading homeworks is pretty easy.

Cons

The announcements from the TAs and the teachers don't get synced instantly. I have missed some change in deadlines because of this

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy Towell

Blackboard review

07/10/2016

Generally a great tool, user interface could be cleaner. Love the social and collaborative aspects! sometimes LMS can silo or hinder the ability to be creative with learning paths

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
bobby Cooper

great product

06/10/2016

Great product. Integrates perfectly with my education goals. I would highly recommend to anyone!!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Bond

Not user friendly enough to be efficient.

06/10/2016

We have the Lite version of Blackboard LMS and even with on site training for our teachers the product is not user friendly enough for our teachers to use it. The usage percent of the LMS portion of Blackboard in our K-12 school district is 0% and we would no longer have this portion of it if it had not been housed under our web hosting services for a priced bundle. The Lite version of the LMS is hosted under the website so the functionality of using it is quite convoluted and confusing for both our Teachers and Students. The Full version of Blackboard Learn is supposed to be much more user friendly but unfortunately for a K-12 school district with approximately 500 students is not cost efficient. However, since we have started looking at additional LMS's within the last two years, Blackboard is the only LMS that provides the full extent of what WE are requiring as an LMS for our school. We require that any LMS that we purchase will have the ability to integrate seamlessly with our SIS (Infinite Campus) and offer a CMS for our teachers to be able to house not only their content but have access to thousands of other teachers content (that the other teachers are willing to share). Our administration requires that we can use the LMS as a way to connect with the community and parents of our students via a system messenger/phone/text product (Blackboard Connect) and an app (ParentLink) that anyone in the community can download for constant up to date school information (which Blackboard offers). It also needs to be compatible with GAFE & cost attainable for our school. We have spoken with many LMS vendors and have yet to find any product that is capable of offering exactly what we need for our school, that our school could actually afford. Blackboard is the only LMS that we have found that offers all of the products and has all of the integration that we as a school district need.

Pros

All of the products and integration that our school needs with an LMS.

Cons

The lite version is not user friendly and thus is not useable.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering Blackboard Learn

I have never used the Full version of Blackboard Learn but the Lite version is not an easy system for Teachers/Students to use.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Crisp

Verified Reviewer

a Long Term User's Honest Experience

23/03/2016

Quick background, was in high tech sales and marketing for many years prior to teaching and heavily involved with custom Computer Graphics systems since Time Arts Lumena was around (predecessor to Photoshop). Check out my LinkedIn profile for more details. On to the product review -- I've been using Blackboard for *many* years, and have been teaching (and doing) Web Design and Development since 1993. I'm retiring shortly, so I can be absolutely frank and honest about my experience with this app without fear of upsetting IT folks or admins that I would have to work with in the future. Truthfully, the ONLY reason I use this app is because I have no alternative at the College where I teach and it gives the students easy access to information, but so would any LMS (Learning Management System). The UIX (User Interface Experience) is incredibly archaic and counter-intuitive. It's also painfully slow to use, as it does constant server requests (just paste the URL for a Blackboard connection into http://www.webpagetest.org/ for testing). Sometimes one single click every 15 seconds is all the system will react to when I'm using the grade book, etc. -- in the "real" world, without captive users, no one would ever return to a site with those response times. To be fair to Blackboard, part of that may (or may not) be our schools network or Blackboard interface setup. As far as usability, Blackboard needs to let the User Interface and UIX designers (if they even had any) direct the techs and coders. It's *very* obvious that it's been the reverse, . They should 'steal' some Apple UIX people and give them some *real* power to direct how the app works and what it looks like. I've just finished using Blackboard for 3 hours+ doing things that should have taken 1 hour or less had the interface been optimized and more thought out. For example, under the 'Assignments' and 'Course Documents' sections there is no easy way to reorder or batch select using something basic like check boxes or a multi-select hot keys. Also, any NEW assignment or document post goes to the BOTTOM (the absolute reverse of a Blog post) So I need to drag it back to the top (where it logically should go). However, even that is awkward, since when I drag to the top of the browser the window does not auto-scroll. I have to hold the left mouse button at the same time as I use my middle finger to roll the mouse wheel -- duh!!. There IS a small text window pop-up accessed via an archaic icon to reorder posts, however, that shows only 5 assignment titles at a time (no window resize function to show more than 5). I can reorder them there, but need to do a single mouse click each time it moves up one position, but again, with no way to see more than 5 and no way to multi-select. So, if I have 50 course documents and want to shift 5 new documents to the top (where they belong) that's almost 250 mouse clicks to re-position 5 documents to where they should be in the first place - duh!! In Gradebook it only shows 10 students listed by default. I can change the setting up to 50 but the next time I go back it's back or need to refresh something -- it's back to 10. It doesn't save defaults or give me a choice. This may seem to be nit-picking, but over the period of a 14 week semester that's a lot of wasted time time and clicks. I'm going to end my review here as I have more work to do, but when I saw a 4 star review for this LMS being the solo review I had to balance it out. Bottom line is, the concept is good -- many, many modules/tools in a LMS bundled package but the execution is absolutely awful. Just Google search 'Blackboard sucks' or 'I hate Blackboard' if you want real faculty and user opinions sans any marketing spin. Other telltale signs are when a company start to lose long-term clients. Ryerson University in Toronto just did a switch from Blackboard after "a multi-year consultation process". More on that process is here http://lms.blog.ryerson.ca/ Hopefully that last paragraph doesn't get censored, because that's the source of raw truth.

Pros

1. it's an LMS and something is better than nothing. 2. It's full of examples I can show my students on how not to do UI and UIX 3. Well established company is behind it 4. Modular front-end 5. Many bells and whistles

Cons

1. Counter intuitive, clunky, awkard UI (User Interface) - improve it by hiring UI/UIX experts and giving them actual control over the app interface and functions. 2. Slow (even when on the same network node or high speed cable connection) - needs a code rewrite/optimization. 3. Ancient aesthetics (although some design elements are now "flat design-ish") - hire UI and UIX designers and actually allow them to direct the final interface. 4. Many glitches (I've a folder full of screen-shots, if you want proof) - again a code rewrite needed, or ideally a complete start-over with newer code philosophies and methods.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nadya Primak

Needs a lot of UI improvement

08/03/2016

Pros

Automated e-mails to students in your class. This is nice so that if you make an announcement on Blackboard it will get auto-emailed to all the students. I could see this being useful though I didn't really use it myself. It's once of those features that should be front and center in Blackboard but is buried like most other things in this software.

Cons

Rather than trying to figure out what a teacher would reasonably use Blackboard for, and what they need to communicate to their students via the internet, Blackboard just decided to make every feature possible that a teacher might ever conceivably use. As a result the interface is cluttered beyond repair, it is confusing, possibly useful features are hidden and many useless features that nobody uses are all over the place. Blackboard tries to accomplish everything and as a result accomplishes nothing.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

1/10

Recommendations to others considering Blackboard Learn

Many people get stuck using Blackboard because no other major competitor has risen to challenge it. I know lots of professors who never used it because they found it too confusing, and most used it as minimally as possible, just as a quick reference to the syllabus and Powerpoints. That seems to be basically what it has been reduced to, which I guess is fine but if you are just sharing files use something else. Dropbox, anything is better than this.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Consultant (Higher Education company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Well established platform

23/02/2016

I am consulting for two institutions - the one a large higher education institution - 45 000+ Blackboard users - self hosted and the other - smaller business school - 1000+ Blackboard users - hosted. I present training and support to the faculty on how to use the LMS. Although one can discover a lot for yourself using the Blackboard help site, there are a few tips and tricks that make life a lot easier which is not always that intuitive. Problems that we are trying to solve: changing the faculty's teaching philosophy from traditional lecture based teaching to a more active learning environment. Blackboard certainly address that well - as long as you plan your activities properly, you can get excellent feedback for example let the students read or view a video on a specific concept and then let them write a pre-test before they come to the lecture. This will help you to identify where the gaps still exist which you can address then in class. Also using a flipped class room approach - Blackboard can be used to assist you in flipping your class room where you can also monitor and track which of your students engaged beforehand. I have been using WebCT and then Blackboard.

Pros

Everything is in one space - lots of tools - the sky is really the limit. I also like the Best Practice parts of the help site - it helps you to get ideas of how you can use the tools.

Cons

In terms of support from Blackboard, sometimes the person who receives the inquiry do not read properly or English is a second language because we often have to explain again and again before they understand - that is the only frustration I currently have with the support. It is unfortunately a very expensive product since the institutions are not based in the USA and therefore we are subjected to the exchange rate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alexander Lubka

Blackboard Review

17/07/2015

Had a good experience using blackboard. I liked how it was organized

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Braylyn  Yancy

Great service!

16/07/2015

I've used Blackboard both during my time at school and at my business. I have to say that it kept me very organized with helped me to find the tasks that I needed to do and complete them. If you're a student or work for a higher education facility, don't hesitate to get Blackboard.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Don Johnson

Blackboard

15/04/2015

Blackboard

Pros

ease of use - able to complete entire course and retain back semesters

Cons

sometimes gets difficult to move between modules for grading and testing

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Blackboard Learn

try loading a beta course use fictional data before going live

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathryn Michel

Review of Blackboard Learn

14/04/2015

Review of Blackboard Learn

Pros

It was easy to use and made accessible by web ports that the University offered.

Cons

The product was never the problem--the content was written in a way that made the courses sometimes difficult to follow or absorb quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Blackboard Learn

Content review for absorbability is key to getting people to finish the training in a timely manner.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alexandra Starks

Blackboard

14/04/2015

Blackboard

Pros

This product gives teachers the ability to interact with students outside of class and provide additional materials which are readily available throughout the semester.

Cons

The menus are not the most user friendly, and sometimes it takes too many clicks to find the page which I am trying to get to.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Blackboard Learn

I think that it is beneficial to weigh the pros and cons of the software and decide whether or not its benefits outweigh its weaknesses.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
HUA YANG

comment on blackboard

14/04/2015

comment on blackboard

Pros

A lot of useful functions. Interaction between instructor and students.

Cons

platform not user friendly and attractive; not easy to navigate

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Blackboard Learn

test try from both sides to gain experience of using

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more