Buildertrend Reviews

Buildertrend Reviews

Buildertrend

Most Widely Used Construction Management Platform

4.5/5 (820 reviews)
15,404     2,524

Tim Cook

Would not recommend

22/03/2017

After getting the full-fledged sale on how fantastic this is, I signed up for the minimum monthly plan. On the first "online demo", the internet went down for the coach, so he asked me to reschedule for the next day. He missed the next day's appointment. I called to reschedule with someone else, and when they didn't call, I was told they were no longer with the company. On the third attempt, I ended up finding out that it was not nearly as customizable as I was lead to believe, but I was told that they were going to work with their IT Dept to see what could be done. Coincidentally, my coach reached out to me a few weeks, later, literally one day outside the 30-day guarantee window, so I was charged for an additional month. When I tried to cancel, I was told it was too late, so I was charged for two full months, and got nothing from it but several wasted phone calls and confirmation that the software will not work for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris  Hawks

A one-stop place to organize your renovation business

22/03/2017

Pros

It covers the project management from the initial appointment to the warranty after the work is completed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josie Crow

Useful, but Lacking

15/03/2017

I think there's still a lot of room for improvement. Things can still be simplified and streamlined. A lot of our laborers struggle with and resist this technology because it's "too complicated." Additionally, we get frustrated in the office with the slow load time, the program's multiple windows, and the wait time for a customer's information to load. Not to mention all the different clicks necessary to add an email address, for instance. It's just very cumbersome. Other than that, we utilize this program a lot! We couldn't function without the ability to connect leads to jobs to work orders, not to mention the app is a convenient feature, albeit a little crowded (and, as I said before, "too complicated"). With a little more improvement, this program could be incredible.

Pros

I love the flow of lead to job to work order. I like the ability to create to-dos for the guys and I like that all leads and jobs are archived and can be reached at any point once filters are changed.

Cons

I don't like that there is not a feature to create AND accept multiple proposals in the same job. We often have customers who want separate bids. For example, a bathroom remodel AND a siding replacement. In our company, we have separate salesmen and crews to deal with these things. We would like to be able to create two or more proposals for one customer with the ability to accept all proposals so that we don't have to clutter up our jobs list when the customer is the exact same for both bids. Weeding through duplicate customers, waiting on the lag for it to load and then load and then load again with each click/action is just inefficient. When we should reasonably be able to separate our bids and work orders under the same customer name.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marshall Hawley

Great software

15/03/2017

Very easy to use and a very useful tool but still has room to improve as does any software in the complex construction industry

Pros

Ease of use. Lots of customization

Cons

No trash can or undo feature for accidentally deleted items (eg. deleting month or years worth of calendar items) - everyone makes mistakes sometimes. Even the admin users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cheyenne Hinshaw

Could Use Some Work

15/03/2017

Pros

Lots of great features and tools to store all your data in one place. Easy to use once you get the hang of it.

Cons

Reoccurring issues that we aren't able to have fixed when dealing with customer support. They tell us we have to call when it happens which is very inconvenient for our installers who are out in the field.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Reeder

Buildertrend Review

15/03/2017

I am a superintendent and use Buildertrend daily. I primarily use BT for Daily Logs; tracking site activity and documenting photographs for my projects. We also use BT to document Change Order's with out clients. Buildertrend is easy to use and easy to learn.

Pros

Simple to use

Cons

limited ability to store photo's on the daily log. I take multiple photograph's and want to store them in my daily logs. It could be a few (3 to 5), or easily 25 to 30. I have to save them in the add files portion of the daily log. The photo's are there, but saving the photo's in this way they are saved in my photo's portion of the project. To search and find a photograph, I have to search my daily logs and then the photos with in that one log. This one Con is huge for the construction superintedent. Our photos document so much for us and we need an easy, quick way to view them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Miller

Game changer

14/03/2017

This software is a game changer for our company. It is a huge help in office coordination.

Pros

Depth of detail that is available to have ease of accessibility.

Cons

Calendar feature needs work. Our office needs a collaborative calendar that we can set different visibility settings.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Trey  Strock

I really want to rate B/T as 5 stars!!!!

13/03/2017

Buildertrend is a good product. Problem is that I don't know how to use it. And, my team doesn't use it to its potential. And, vendors..... well, lets just forget vendors for now. Biggest complaint of mine is that my phone calls to customer service are NEVER returned even though I have left multiple messages. 2nd biggest complaint is that it seems overwhelming and cumbersome. Third complaint is that I would like to know how to use it during the sales process. And, I would like to be able to convert to a sale that doesn't end up as a project. (for example; we may repair a roof today for someone that leads to an addition down the road. I need to be able to track the lead and sales cycle but I don't need to set up and pay for a project for a roof repair. Also, we frequently have multiple projects for one customer (ie; the local airport is a client and we may have 5 projects going at any one time with them). And, there should be better training so that I can use it.

Pros

Robust and flexible

Cons

Very expensive for multiple jobs. Very difficult to use. Customer service doesn't call you back. Doesn't allow you to have a sale without also creating a project. Small maintenance and repairs dont need to be classified as a project. But, we do need to capture that there was a lead, a sales process, and acceptance of contract. Mobile platform is difficult to use, small icons and lots of icons (I spend 5 minutes just trying to figure out which icon is the correct one.) Also, I dont like how the BT search screen (IE LEAD OPPORTUNITIES) on my PC opens up completely then just about the time you want to click on something is rolls up and closes FILTER YOUR RESULTS area. We would like and thought you would offer it by now the ability to do automatic Schedule of Value billings and Requests for Payments. BuildTools had an awesome and simple way to do this. Please consider it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lea Anne Garner

Review

13/03/2017

We use this software to track our different projects. However, we are a commercial contractor and there are several parts that are not helpful to us and several things that are not there that would be helpful to us.

Pros

Daily reports are easy to use for the superintendents. Job set up is easy.

Cons

Cannot attach enough pictures to the daily reports. When you do attach them as "extras" you cannot download them all at once and it doesn't individually name them, so you have to download them one at a time and hope you don't get lost because they are all named the same. No section for submittals or RFI's. Cannot run reports on multiple jobs at once, i.e. jobs under the same group name.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allison Hendrix

Good program, excellent customer service

13/03/2017

I can't print/PDF save the calendar view to give to client as an alternative, wish I could.

Pros

It's great to use for active jobs and organizing the field, documents, timeclock, and calendar are great. It has really made me a more efficient PM

Cons

I want more "office management"; historical information to be used on new projects, way to store all the info on a project to ref later, hourly cost codes for each employee so I can see immediately how much labor costs for a job!!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paxton Monahan

Phenomenal software!

13/03/2017

I absolutely love builder trend it has just made doing business so much easier. I love the daily logs and being able to stay up to speed so much easier with everyone tracking there progress and updates on it. I also really like the new leads tab it really helps us keep those leads organized and detailed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy Turben

POs, VPOs & Scheduling

13/03/2017

Overall I think BuilderTrend has a solid foundation. However I struggle with some aspects of the program that I don't feel are user friendly. Creating POs & VPOs for multi-family projects is not an easy task within BuilderTrend.

Pros

Our subcontractors tell us the program is easy to use from their aspect.

Cons

For example, I would like to create one Electrical PO for each unit and mark work complete as the subcontractor completes a task, but we are unable to link more than one scheduled item to a PO. Also, I would like to copy VPOs from unit to unit. This is a vital process within a multi-family project. When a subcontractor has a change that applies to the whole building we have to break up the that cost between each unit within that building. That means for an 11 plex we have to create 11 VPOs that can't be copied. This can be a tedious process. We aren't able to add job specific trade partners agreements/insurance. We need an avenue to track if a trade partner agreement has been received. Remind the trade partner to send it back, just like a PO. Right now we are having to look at other softwares to do that for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Krystal Naylor

Great Product must be willing to grow with it

13/03/2017

Customer Service rep is awesome! He answers any questions right away and is always available for training sessions and assistance. He also listens and understands our needs. I have even seen some of our suggestions incorporated in the last few months. Nice to have a company that listens to its customers.

Pros

CUSTOMER SERVICE User Friendly with easier items Did I mention Customer Service Listens to feedback.

Cons

Matching with our current system Admin side doesn't currently offer enough customization options to match up with what we are already doing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jay Riordan

Review

06/03/2017

BuilderTrend is easy to use and makes integration much easier.

Cons

At times the program takes FOREVER to save. Often we have to log out then back in to move forward.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nancy O'Donnell

Pleasant

02/03/2017

Pros

I do think the tutorials if you have a question but if that doesn't answer someone is willing to help.

Cons

Wish the time clock information flowed to the jobs so that I didn't have to post job labor. This would help.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin  Wallace

Good for sales

02/03/2017

Owners like it and getting Change Orders approved is easy.

Pros

Communication with owners

Cons

Doesn't have estimating or real scheduling.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kent Stromberg

Very good product

01/03/2017

User of almost 5 years. Custom Home Builder 10-15 Employees Very Good system for managing selections, change orders, documents (plans, permits, spec sheets, etc) and a schedule.

Pros

Change Orders and Selections are excellent. Enjoy the photo upload features. Continual updates of product.

Cons

Scheduling system is not as strong as we like it to be. Entering To-Do items is time consuming - needs simplification The "Open Assigned Items Report" in the Vendor section needs work - grabs old, outdated information.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Dubach

Critical to our business

01/03/2017

Builder Trend is an indispensable service for our company and a valued partner. Our clients love the access they have to project details, schedules, costs, and photos! Our trades rely on the Builder Trend for pertinent project information. Builder Trend helps us execute our quality control checklists, generate punch lists, and is the perfect cloud solution for field access to critical construction prints and material specifications.

Cons

Lack of accounting integration for job cost control.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marty Shelburne

Builder Trend has contributed positvely to our business plan

01/03/2017

Trent has been a good support for our team, thanks.

Pros

Able to access on my desktop and phone. Our team has a Central repository for internal and customer facing information

Cons

Phone app seems to have to be re-loaded every so often The proposal application is to inflexible to really address our business needs. We would like to simplify our proposals, with BT it is a lot harder.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Burdette

Review

01/03/2017

I use the program everyday and with the updates it gets better every time.

Pros

Constant updates to make program better for iphones and ipads

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Myrick

For the most part it's been very positive experience

01/03/2017

I'd like to be notified of future significant changes before they occur, so I'm not caught off guard and understand the benefit of the changes.

Pros

Easy to use and locate information. For the customers who so use the web portal, most see it as a benefit. We like having all the documents and images in one spot too.

Cons

Import functionality is inadequate, causes us to take extra steps and lose time in the process. Also, still no CRM capability, which forces us to use an additional software program for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Gardiner

All in all this is a great way to stay organized

01/03/2017

Pros

I like that everything is bundled into one easy to use program. It is nice to have my schedule and daily log all in one place

Cons

What I liked least about this product was the location of the notify option all the way at the bottom of the screen. I would often forget to click it when I needed to

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brent Beecham

BuilderTrend center of business

01/03/2017

We have over time integrated most of the BT functionality into our business. It has forced us to move to PO system, which in turn has given us better predictability and cost controls.

Pros

Love the scheduling and PO functions

Cons

Entering templates a little cumbersome.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michelle Chung

Easy to Use

01/03/2017

Pros

User Friendly for both internal staff and clients Good log overview Clear and simple interface, good colors

Cons

Schedule can still move around if something before it is changed. activities are not locked in after completion. difficult to use to one off jobs with a template.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tony Bredin

Great product for the small-midsize builder!

24/02/2017

The construction company I'm involved with uses the sub-contractor management piece a lot! It allows us to easily communicate with our sub-contractors and put projects out to bid easily and collect and compare bids seamlessly. We are trying to dive deeper into the customer communication piece, especially for change orders, it will save us/ make us more money. I Love the selections aspect. It takes a lot of upfront work and staying on top of selections. Once we got it all figured out it has been great. Lastly, we rely on the calendar aspect and how it works/ties into the other sections we use the software.

Pros

Overall ease of use and completeness of solution, pricing model, mobile application. I also liked the ability to include subcontractors and homeowners in the project communications - where desired - this can be controlled. Training materials are excellent (videos, live training), the Buildertrend support staff were knowledgeable of the building industry, the home building process and very helpful.

Cons

The estimating component changed and it is more difficult for us to build out budgets than it used to be. Maybe we are making it harder on ourselves but the changes were not well received from the estimating side of the house.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more