Buildertrend Reviews

Buildertrend Reviews

Buildertrend

Most Widely Used Construction Management Platform

4.49/5 (831 reviews)
15,683     2,563

keith hodges

subcontractor perspective

20/04/2017

I use Buildertrend from a subcontractor perspective. I've used several similar applications. BT is the fastest and most versatile.

Pros

speed and versatility

Cons

takes a little bit to learn to navigate...but worth it

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Buildertrend

subcontractor experience depends largely on how the general contractor uses the software. this is unavoidable.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Williamson

Not bad, but a bit lacking

20/04/2017

Pros

It is an inexpensive option. I like the online based, cloud functionality. Pretty easy to learn and use.

Cons

There is not enough content. I would have liked to see some more features and better mobile app capability.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rachael Parker

Bittersweet

14/04/2017

Pros

Scheduling factor: makes it very easy to schedule. Also like the documents area, makes it easier to organize for each job specfically.

Cons

Very complicated in its options. If you don't specfically click one thing it could set back a whole project. Slightly time consuming in the fact that you must click every little thing. It is nice having all the features but some should be considered automatic things.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peder Madsen

Great Support with an Intuitive Product

14/04/2017

Pros

- Our clients, trade partners and staff all love the program - There are always additions coming to make the experience better as we go - Excellent and speedy support - Little to no bugs with the program

Cons

- There is no Tax support within the financial area and so we have some learning to go through with how to showcase this within the program nicely - The estimating portion is not very good, so we just don't use it. Which is OK as this is heavy on project management

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Denise Phillips

Much more difficulty than we were told

13/04/2017

We were told this would be a "snap" to use. Boy, have we run into issues with a lot of things - way to many to list. After all this time, still learning curve that creates headaches!

Pros

Able to communicate with clients well

Cons

Can't do sales orders with as many items as we have. Can't convert to QuickBooks, so we have to duplicate work

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephan Beachy

Great Project Management Software!

11/04/2017

BuilderTrend has been a fantastic addition to our business since we began using it last year. It has greatly enhanced our communication capabilities within our organization as well as our communications with our customers. The ability of our customers, employees and sub-contractors to have all the information they need at their fingertips has made a world of difference. I would highly recommend BuilderTrend to all construction companies seeking to take their business to the next level. I use this program everyday, whether I'm on the road or in the office. The mobile app has made it very convenient to work while on the road.

Pros

Being able to have our entire business function so well within 1 program from CRM and proposals to project management, communication and project financials this program does it all.

Cons

I know this program is designed for project management so most of the focus is on that side and it is helpful to have the CRM side to keep everything in one program. However, the CRM side is certainly the weaker side of the program. That being said, BuilderTrend is constantly improving their program and coming out with new updates so I anticipate the CRM side will continue to improve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Betty Teague

Easy to get around the app

31/03/2017

Pros

entering a lead and converting it to a job. daily log is great to enter any emails, notes, etc. To do list is great for follow up on each file.

Cons

claimant's phone number doesn't convert over to show under the address. Folder names doesn't auto populate under documents. Same with folders for photos. Sub Contractors are not sorted by state for easier look up.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Casey Officer

Installation Administrator

29/03/2017

On the job side: aside from the jobsite menu and template menu, having a sub contractor/vendor menu would also be useful. On the individual jobsite information I have created many of my own custom fields. However, some that I have created, I would think should be standard for a construction CRM. BT only provides for one permit to be listed. We often have more than one for any one job, also having a "Permit Finalized" date field standard for each permit would be nice. And while you're at it, the issued date and expiration date of the permits would be some good information to have right there. Outside of not needing some of the features because we are only AC and Heating, I LOVE THIS PROGRAM. NOTE: on the next step of this review where it is asking how frequently it is used, the choices are odd in that its Once a day or week or month, I use it ALL day everyday. I find that several of the choices within BT are odd like that, but nonetheless, I still LOVE it.

Pros

This program really helps me stay on top of tasks and everyone else's tasks as well. It helps me meet deadlines and track everything.

Cons

Because our jobs are generally short in nature being an AC and Heating contractor only, its rare that our clients log in and take advantage of the software. The creating of templates in LEADS is not as straight forward as the rest of the program and not easily mastered by someone who has basic computer knowledge. Having to clear my history every day to ensure that I can view everything is annoying. Setting time in LEAD activities is a little weird. Not being able to set activities or calendared items on a 15 minute mark is annoying, sometimes it really is that pinpoint crucial to a job.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ed LaTorre

Customer Interaction

29/03/2017

Pros

It is very customer friendly. The customer really appreciate everything being in one location, pricing, pictures, etc...

Cons

I would love to add multiple options to one change order, not a separate change order for each item.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
patricia delph

bt review

29/03/2017

Pros

ease of use, most cases.

Cons

Job Price List Summary report - great report EXCEPT AND THIS IS A BIG ONE - why are the change order #s not listed on this report. You cannot track the changes and cross reference them to a change order number which makes the report terrible for the clients to feel all information is present.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
LAURA TURNER

Great Communication Functionality

29/03/2017

I appreciate being able to contact customer service anytime and speak with someone that has knowledge to assist right away from the US.

Pros

I love the ability to communicate with our client and subcontractor in a user friendly manner. BT allows us to provide accurate and timely updates. The ability to cover multiple agents when they are out is great. Great customer Service!

Cons

The integration with Quickbooks needs some work. I'd also like to see the ability for leads to be viewed and updated the same way jobs are.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lee Fleming

Great product!

29/03/2017

We really enjoy using BuilderTrend for their software and their website service. It's very clean and simple to use and our clients and subcontractors love how organized we are.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Cook

Would not recommend

22/03/2017

After getting the full-fledged sale on how fantastic this is, I signed up for the minimum monthly plan. On the first "online demo", the internet went down for the coach, so he asked me to reschedule for the next day. He missed the next day's appointment. I called to reschedule with someone else, and when they didn't call, I was told they were no longer with the company. On the third attempt, I ended up finding out that it was not nearly as customizable as I was lead to believe, but I was told that they were going to work with their IT Dept to see what could be done. Coincidentally, my coach reached out to me a few weeks, later, literally one day outside the 30-day guarantee window, so I was charged for an additional month. When I tried to cancel, I was told it was too late, so I was charged for two full months, and got nothing from it but several wasted phone calls and confirmation that the software will not work for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris  Hawks

A one-stop place to organize your renovation business

22/03/2017

Pros

It covers the project management from the initial appointment to the warranty after the work is completed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josie Crow

Useful, but Lacking

15/03/2017

I think there's still a lot of room for improvement. Things can still be simplified and streamlined. A lot of our laborers struggle with and resist this technology because it's "too complicated." Additionally, we get frustrated in the office with the slow load time, the program's multiple windows, and the wait time for a customer's information to load. Not to mention all the different clicks necessary to add an email address, for instance. It's just very cumbersome. Other than that, we utilize this program a lot! We couldn't function without the ability to connect leads to jobs to work orders, not to mention the app is a convenient feature, albeit a little crowded (and, as I said before, "too complicated"). With a little more improvement, this program could be incredible.

Pros

I love the flow of lead to job to work order. I like the ability to create to-dos for the guys and I like that all leads and jobs are archived and can be reached at any point once filters are changed.

Cons

I don't like that there is not a feature to create AND accept multiple proposals in the same job. We often have customers who want separate bids. For example, a bathroom remodel AND a siding replacement. In our company, we have separate salesmen and crews to deal with these things. We would like to be able to create two or more proposals for one customer with the ability to accept all proposals so that we don't have to clutter up our jobs list when the customer is the exact same for both bids. Weeding through duplicate customers, waiting on the lag for it to load and then load and then load again with each click/action is just inefficient. When we should reasonably be able to separate our bids and work orders under the same customer name.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marshall Hawley

Great software

15/03/2017

Very easy to use and a very useful tool but still has room to improve as does any software in the complex construction industry

Pros

Ease of use. Lots of customization

Cons

No trash can or undo feature for accidentally deleted items (eg. deleting month or years worth of calendar items) - everyone makes mistakes sometimes. Even the admin users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cheyenne Hinshaw

Could Use Some Work

15/03/2017

Pros

Lots of great features and tools to store all your data in one place. Easy to use once you get the hang of it.

Cons

Reoccurring issues that we aren't able to have fixed when dealing with customer support. They tell us we have to call when it happens which is very inconvenient for our installers who are out in the field.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Reeder

Buildertrend Review

15/03/2017

I am a superintendent and use Buildertrend daily. I primarily use BT for Daily Logs; tracking site activity and documenting photographs for my projects. We also use BT to document Change Order's with out clients. Buildertrend is easy to use and easy to learn.

Pros

Simple to use

Cons

limited ability to store photo's on the daily log. I take multiple photograph's and want to store them in my daily logs. It could be a few (3 to 5), or easily 25 to 30. I have to save them in the add files portion of the daily log. The photo's are there, but saving the photo's in this way they are saved in my photo's portion of the project. To search and find a photograph, I have to search my daily logs and then the photos with in that one log. This one Con is huge for the construction superintedent. Our photos document so much for us and we need an easy, quick way to view them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Miller

Game changer

14/03/2017

This software is a game changer for our company. It is a huge help in office coordination.

Pros

Depth of detail that is available to have ease of accessibility.

Cons

Calendar feature needs work. Our office needs a collaborative calendar that we can set different visibility settings.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lea Anne Garner

Review

13/03/2017

We use this software to track our different projects. However, we are a commercial contractor and there are several parts that are not helpful to us and several things that are not there that would be helpful to us.

Pros

Daily reports are easy to use for the superintendents. Job set up is easy.

Cons

Cannot attach enough pictures to the daily reports. When you do attach them as "extras" you cannot download them all at once and it doesn't individually name them, so you have to download them one at a time and hope you don't get lost because they are all named the same. No section for submittals or RFI's. Cannot run reports on multiple jobs at once, i.e. jobs under the same group name.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allison Hendrix

Good program, excellent customer service

13/03/2017

I can't print/PDF save the calendar view to give to client as an alternative, wish I could.

Pros

It's great to use for active jobs and organizing the field, documents, timeclock, and calendar are great. It has really made me a more efficient PM

Cons

I want more "office management"; historical information to be used on new projects, way to store all the info on a project to ref later, hourly cost codes for each employee so I can see immediately how much labor costs for a job!!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paxton Monahan

Phenomenal software!

13/03/2017

I absolutely love builder trend it has just made doing business so much easier. I love the daily logs and being able to stay up to speed so much easier with everyone tracking there progress and updates on it. I also really like the new leads tab it really helps us keep those leads organized and detailed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy Turben

POs, VPOs & Scheduling

13/03/2017

Overall I think BuilderTrend has a solid foundation. However I struggle with some aspects of the program that I don't feel are user friendly. Creating POs & VPOs for multi-family projects is not an easy task within BuilderTrend.

Pros

Our subcontractors tell us the program is easy to use from their aspect.

Cons

For example, I would like to create one Electrical PO for each unit and mark work complete as the subcontractor completes a task, but we are unable to link more than one scheduled item to a PO. Also, I would like to copy VPOs from unit to unit. This is a vital process within a multi-family project. When a subcontractor has a change that applies to the whole building we have to break up the that cost between each unit within that building. That means for an 11 plex we have to create 11 VPOs that can't be copied. This can be a tedious process. We aren't able to add job specific trade partners agreements/insurance. We need an avenue to track if a trade partner agreement has been received. Remind the trade partner to send it back, just like a PO. Right now we are having to look at other softwares to do that for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Krystal Naylor

Great Product must be willing to grow with it

13/03/2017

Customer Service rep is awesome! He answers any questions right away and is always available for training sessions and assistance. He also listens and understands our needs. I have even seen some of our suggestions incorporated in the last few months. Nice to have a company that listens to its customers.

Pros

CUSTOMER SERVICE User Friendly with easier items Did I mention Customer Service Listens to feedback.

Cons

Matching with our current system Admin side doesn't currently offer enough customization options to match up with what we are already doing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jay Riordan

Review

06/03/2017

BuilderTrend is easy to use and makes integration much easier.

Cons

At times the program takes FOREVER to save. Often we have to log out then back in to move forward.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more