BuildTools Reviews

BuildTools Reviews

BuildTools

Cloud-based construction management software

3.9/5 (25 reviews)
2,235     612

jeffrey snair

Good but not for commercial g.c's

13/10/2016

We have used Buildtools for about 2 years and are finding it not a good fit for us anymore. As a commercial general contractor we struggle to use Buildtools because it lacks some detail and features we need.

Pros

Fast, streamlined and simple, good customer service. Nice style and presentation..

Cons

Too residential, limited features, no sub contract change orders, no way to resend purchase agreements or sub contracts. Most of the emails sent from Buildtools get sent to spam by vendors.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

This is a good option if you are a 1-2 company for residential construction.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
oshi hizkiya

good customer service but its extremely slow

30/08/2016

Pros

good customer service, but you will need them quiet many times.

Cons

extremely slow for people which time is an asset, many basic stuff dont exist

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

3/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

inexpensive but you get what you pay for.young software which has at least 3-5 years to consider it.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Randy Ettinger

A work in progress!

01/05/2016

Pros

The folks at Build Tools are friendly and accesible, which they need to be because they have no training manual, which is a challenge for a product that spans so many functional areas. No average team member would be able to puzzle out this rubics cube by themselves. However, the tech support always does their best to help you figure it out! The scheduling and warranty modules are the easiest to work with and once you figure out an appropriate notification regime for your company, you can get the schedules to work. Although its a bit awkward to update schedules (too many clicks to just say something is "done", the basic idea is pretty good.

Cons

After using schedules and warranty for two years, we are dying to try selections, budgets, and PO's....and integrate into Quickbooks. However....there are a lot of levels of data entry to get this set up and not a lot of guidance on what the best practice should be. A LOT of cross links and that generates nervousness. Some challenges just getting the budget to show expected profit. All must be workable, however without a clear manual, its hard to know.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Be very careful and talk to real users. The software guys don't always really know what its like out there in the field.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heather  White

The software is very slow. It is cloud based but lags.

19/01/2016

Pros

It is easy to use. Very simple structure. We load all projects into the software with ease.

Cons

The biggest issue is when we attempt to login it can take a while to pull up the site. Sometimes I just give up. This has happend numerous times. It is not efficient when you cannot access the program.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

3/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Check out the speed of the program. This is a cloud based program and we always have trouble logging on. It is not my internet provider. I have Comcast at office and ATT at home. I have also used Charter. My experience has been the same. I use Macbook pro.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacy Ginn

Lots of functionality for the price!

25/08/2015

The system is easy to use and intuitive. We were searching for a full-service, online based construction management system with client interface. Build Tools has delivered. You can see in the way it functions it was designed by a builder. We have been able to on-board quickly and put the system to work immediately. Definitely recommend Build Tools!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Grammatico

Buildtools is a good product that is still young and needs some work.

15/04/2015

Pros

I like that everything has been centralized. I helps keep everybody in the office in the "know" 24/7. I also like the customer communication aspect they can log in and check everything anytime.

Cons

The software has some bugs that need attention. The company is very good at helping however some things need to be changed by the software developers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Define what your needs are and make sure this product does what you want.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Anderson

Great tool and easy to use!

22/12/2014

Pros

We've had a great start to BuildTools. We've been with BuildTools for a month now and really feel like we know the system. It took a couple of weeks to get spooled up, but we're rolling now. The training team was great; we set up several initial training sessions with my team. Trainings were customized for the various users. The support folks were also very responsive for quick questions, both on the phone and via email.

Cons

We haven't found anything to complain about. Based on the support we've had thus far, I'm not worried.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

It's been a huge help that the people at BuildTools have a sister company that's a construction firm. Having someone on the other end of the phone that has been in our shoes and truly knows the pitfalls of our industry is huge. We tried a couple of the other software companies, and everyone says that they know/understand construction, but we found that they really didn't. BuildTools gets it!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brad Johnson

Couldn't run my company without it!

19/12/2014

Pros

BuildTools is a great product. It does everything I need and then some. The staff at BuildTools is fantastic. Their knowledge of the program, construction, and general business acumen is great. They've helped not only with setup of the software, but provided valuable insight to better help me run the business.

Cons

We had a great experience. I can't say that there's anything that we didn't like.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Take time in making your decision. A lot of the companies out there pressured me like crazy, sometimes calling multiple times a day. The guys at BuildTools did a great job showing me the software and then checked in from time to time. I knew how to get in touch with them when I was ready to buy, but I never felt hounded.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Kurber

Decent program, lacking training & customer service

13/12/2014

Pros

The interface is easy to navigate. It has a good budget and schedule.

Cons

After the initial set up/sales process, most interaction is handed off to their third party tech support. They are typically easy to get ahold of initially but did not have answers and had to get back to us. We typically did not hear back from anyone without repeated follow ups from us. There is not any type of help button or knowledge base outside of the above mentioned tech support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

4/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Dig into them as deep as possible before investing too much time and money into implementation.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Bays

BuildTools is good for multiple users in various places to share.

14/10/2014

Pros

I like BuildTools' ease of use.

Cons

Having to update pictures one by one is time-consuming. I'd like to click multiple at a time to make it much faster.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Take your time to learn the program. There are many different functions that can really help you.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tracy Gladden

Still on the fence

29/09/2014

Pros

The initial sales team was great. We felt that they understood our needs and that we were a great fit.

Cons

Some of the bugs aren't worked out, and we feel like a tester for the software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Talk to others using the software if possible to see how it is for real world applications. Not every company runs their jobs the same, so only talking to a developer about how they run jobs may not be the same as how you run your jobs.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jim  Marzullo

Powerful, but needs a better user interface to be completely useful

06/07/2014

Pros

The tool contains all the features that you are looking for in a product like this; scheduling, task list, document storage, etc.

Cons

While all the tools are there, the interface and integration of these tools needs to be more integrated. And the company needs to provide more training.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

Get a commitment on a training plan prior to purchase.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Molthan

BuildTools helps me sell more houses.

25/06/2014

Pros

They are very responsive, and it's a great tool for our customers to see and use.

Cons

The schedule software has to reload to line date up to the columns. It's not a big deal, but you have to refresh the screen on the working schedule part.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BuildTools

All softwares take time to implement. If you do not have a full commitment from the entire company to move forward with a better way of doing it, then it will be a struggle.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Terry Wardell

23/10/2013

We are a custom builder, remodeler, and service company in the San Diego area. We work in the higher end of the residential market with over 40 employees. We have been implementing BuildTools over the last two months and should be complete with implementation by Dec.1 (a four-month process). We are currently using Timberline for our accounting package and Microsoft Project for our scheduling. We plan to shift our accounting to QuickBooks Enterprise at the first of the year. We selected BuildTools because of the integrated job costing with client and design team management features. It is working out very well. There are many options and almost unlimited user group features. We are trying to maximize this flexibility and making those choices does take some time. The biggest benefit of the software from our point of view. Forcing us to use consistent best practices while still allowing us to customize the client experience. Producing billings is exceptionally easy and fast. A client actually commented on how clear and easy it was to understand their billing (this was a cost plus bill). The scheduling module is limited as compared to Microsoft Project but that is far from a bad thing. The RFP process is also easy. Project document control, photos, etc are very simple. The ease of integration in the field with iPhone and Android tablets has been great. Taking meeting minutes with a tablet microphone greatly improves accuracy and tracking. I could comment on each module, but suffice to say it does what it says it does and it does it well. They are still improving the program. We have had a very close working relationship with Chad and his team. They have been pretty responsive but our company also has a deep background in project management and that may have an impact on how they deal with us. The pricing is extremely reasonable and the database appears to be very robust. I would purchase this software again. A commitment like this is at least a five year deal to me and we selected carefully. I am very satisfied with the software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Lascelle

05/09/2013

In general we like the software but it needs improvements. We were promised last year that their leads part of the software would be updated. I started talking to representatives from the company about how to improve it back in October of 2012. I was told these improvements should be in place by February 2013. It is now September 2013, and I'm still waiting. It is very difficult to get anybody on the phone/customer service. Over the past few weeks I have left three messages and have received zero callbacks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jim Minton

18/05/2013

Minton Homes is a small custom home builder located in St. Louis, Missouri. We have been in business 25 years. We only build custom homes (no specs, no remodels). In the last 10 years, the size of the homes has ranged from 5,000sf to 25,000sf. We go to extremes to make sure we exceed expectations. In January we attended the home show in Las Vegas. One of our goals was to preview all of the companies that offered complete software systems for our industry. For years we have been interested in finding a program that would allow us to "bring most of what we do under one roof", allowing great collaboration with all parties (homeowners, subs, suppliers, etc). After sorting through a dozen or so possible companies at the home show, we decided to give BuildTools a try. While we are not fully implemented at this point, I would say we are 75%. So after 3 months of getting familiar with BuildTools and loading a couple of projects onto the system, I can tell you I am extremely impressed with the product and with the service Chad and his group has provided. Even more importantly, the feedback from our customers and subs has been good. While any new software program has a learning curve, the feedback from our partners has been very good, and implementation has been better than expected. Every day it seems like we learn about another new feature. We are in the process of sending a project out for bid now and decided to use BuildTools for that purpose. The amount of time we had in that process (as compared to how we used to do it) is reduced, and the ability to manage the process is greatly enhanced. Managing customer selections is one of our biggest challenges; has been for years. I have to say that BuildTools significantly enhances things on our side and even more importantly the customer side. I was skeptical about the BuildTools scheduling program, having used Microsoft Project for years. After two months, I am not using Project anymore. BuildTools does everything I need to do and, quick frankly, the interface is a little nicer. Very happy with that. We used to do RFI's via email. While that worked for us, it was hard to manage effectively. I love the RFI module in BuildTools. It is a very efficient way to manage information and get the answers you need. The due date and reminder dates are a great feature for those people that need reminders. In the next 30 days, we hope to be integrating the budget with Quickbooks, so more on that later. I have not used the service/warranty module yet - but looks like a very good process. In summary, great product; great service; saves us time; makes us better at what we do; helps further separate us from the competition. I highly recommend it. I'll post again in another couple of months with an update.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jef Forward

15/05/2013

We're a small design build company focusing on high-end remodeling and custom homes. We produce design in house, and then provide construction services with in-house project managers and carpenters, as well as subcontractors performing the work. Every client goes through the same process, however, since each project is unique we always have unique tasks to accomplish for each job. We chose a BuildTools primarily because of their task management feature, which is outstanding. From my perspective, it is the only option out there with a Meeting Minutes feature tied to tasks, scheduled events, users and deadlines. We had previously used two other programs that were awesome and I have nothing bad to say about them; it simply came down to the task management feature between these programs. This feature is fundamental to our productivity. The task feature is an undersold feature of the program Working Gantt Chart versus Published schedule. This means I can go in and edit a job very quickly, with drag and drop functionality; I can pull lines for dependencies, easily move items up or down, and group according to my will, with indent and outdent capability. I can play around with different scheduling scenarios, without huge save and alert times. When the schedule is firmed up, I can Publish it and send out notices and so forth. Its a great Gantt Chart and very similar to MS project. There is a Quick Book sync; Purchase Orders and Change Orders are tied to the budget, and eliminates double entry. Picture sharing is very easy and fast, and not limited to 3-4 at a time. Messaging is also very easy, where I can send an email directly from my schedule, selections, and tasks. I can then see this thread in the the aforementioned sections, or in the messaging center. This is also an undersold feature of the program, and it worked really well. Another point of interest, BuildTools operates on a unique database structure, which avoids having to open and close a window every time you want to reform task. There is a marked difference in productivity and performing tasks. The leads and prospect section is also very useful. There is also no limit on the number of projects, so I can keep all of our projects (large or small) in one place. The leads feature needs some work, but they are pursuing it. Our transition into BuildTools was very easy and fast. Customer support has been very good and steady. They are a small, but growing, company and you can see the commitment to customer service. Using this product has directly led to increased project size, as well as increased productivity from our internal team and subs/suppliers. I can't stress enough the positive effect of their task management system. I highly recommend Buildtools for remodelers and custom builders.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Gowler

14/05/2013

We have been researching our options for PM software after using another software for several years. I began speaking with BuildTools and did the online demo. The software seemed to offer many more features than what I had been using. I spoke with Chad at Buildtools and said that I'd like to try BuildTools to compare to what we were using (BuilderTrend). They set us up an account. I did an online 'training' with someone who told me that he had just started. I literally had to show him how some of the features worked because he didn't know (I only knew from watching the online tutorial!). Several of the items I wanted clarification on were related to the sync with Quickbooks. The functionality of that interface wasn't working and I was told that it's coming on the next update. After deciding that the functionality and learning curve was more than our company was willing to suffer through at the current time, I told Chad that we may be interested in the future, but we were going to continue to utilize the other software. I was told that our account would be cancelled. When I noticed (6 weeks later) that my credit card was still being billed I sent an email. Chad replied with a copy of the electronic agreement that I had to sign before we could try the software. What he didn't tell me about that several page long agreement, was that they had locked me into a contract for 12 months and that I would be locked into paying a monthly fee of $249 even though I wouldn't be using the program. So much for the trial time to 'compare'. I really have never had such lacking customer service from anyone. Bottom line - while BuildTools has some great features, I will never use or recommend them simply because of the treatment I've received by their support team.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jon Schoenheider

18/02/2013

Regency Builders is celebrating our 40th anniversary this year and will do about $20 million in 2013. We build high end custom homes in the Milwaukee area. We have been using BuildTools since its inception and watched how the product has continually evolved and changed with input from various customers as well as the team at BuildTools. This software has significantly improved our systems and ability to communicate with our clients, subs, and team. We no longer print plans for the subs to bid on which saves us significant dollars. More importantly, we don't have to waste time calling subs for a bid. They bid off Build Tools; it's significantly more efficient. The clients love it because we are able to store all selections, communicate with them more timely, schedule the home, handle change order and in general keep them up to date more efficiently. I would guess that this is saving us at east 100 man hours per home. We do use this as a sales tool and it is a significant differentiator.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lain Chappell

29/01/2013

BuildTools has been an excellent addition to our business! We have been a client for several years now and have enjoyed the fantastic feedback from our clients to keep them up to date on their jobs, especially our out of town clients. We were using several out of date products in the past that were not centralized into one complete system. BuildTools now gives us the ability to track job schedules, communicate to clients immediately of any changes, show current status of the jobsite (upload photos from our smart phones from the jobsite), and keeping track of all the job specific information that goes on behind the scene that the customer does not see. I would highly recommend the software and the team at BuildTools!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carl Bast

28/01/2013

We wanted software flexibility enough to process production building, custom homes, and remodeling alike. Buildtools has the flexibility to perform. Before Buildtools, Icon used paper processing. I custom designed and built a complete back end and customer friendly Web based system. Complete with all customer colors, selection, change orders, contracts, dynamic lot selection, and a flash drag and drop floor plan interface. Implementation is still underway, we started with service and plan to load some clients in selection next month without adding there email address yet but extending them a logon. I was disappointed to have no training literature. I am underway building videos for individual process and workflow, but it is tedious. Benefits so far are a more organized and full understanding of company warranty. Oh, and Scott has been great.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Craig Modisher

16/01/2013

My company builds custom homes in upstate New York. We were looking for a software program to primarily do our scheduling for projects. Once I saw what was out there, I became interested in using a more robust program to organize the budget and selections besides the scheduling. There are many similar software setups out there that do many of the same things. Software Advice was great as far as directing us to four companies that offer what I was looking for. I chose BuildTools because they were claiming to have QuickBooks integration almost ready. Where QuickBooks would sync in each direction, with the budget tracking feature of the software. This was great, because I could see labor savings in this feature by entering costs of materials and labor on my own time and having it sync up with our QuickBooks file and all of our bookkeeping and tax prep. After four months of waiting for this feature, it still isn't up and running. There are other features to the interface that are not intuitive. I was hoping to use this software on site with my Ipad, but the processing is so slow that I gave that up. Maybe this is perfect for a smaller, one man operation, contractor. One of the other features that is nice about BuildTools is the selections entering and approval. Our current client logged in once and said it was too confusing for her, so she doesn't use it at all. If we are building a whole house, and the client doesn't want to use this software because it isn't intuitive enough for her, then this doesn't save me any time whatsoever. The scheduling feature of the program is actually very nice. It works great and is easy to use. But I don't want pay each month for a scheduling program. I have found other scheduling software for much, much cheaper. The tech support was actually very helpful as well, but it would save them (and us) a bunch of time if they just give you a manual to go over all of the basics and be able to refer back to.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Daly

Buildtools delivers! We love this product.

24/06/2011

Compared to all of the other products we reviewed, nothing came close to the features and ease of use that BuildTools offers.

Pros

We've been using BuildTools for just under two years. I can say without question that it is one of the best decisions that I've made for my remodeling business. We looked at several different competitive products, and were amazed at the differences we found in BuildTools. The Schedule module is really second to none. We actually now schedule projects without ever speaking with subcontractors. We publish the schedule and update as things change. We send messages and documents to the contractors electronically. We track all of our project selections and change orders using BuildTools. I'm sure we been saved from countless mistakes because of the level of organization BuildTools has added to our building process. I highly recommend this product! I could not run my business without it.

Cons

None. The buildtools team has been quick to respond to our requests for new features, and training was very simple.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jon Schoenheider

01/06/2011

Regency Builders is a significant custom home builder in the Milwaukee marketplace. Our homes average $1.2 million and we typically build or remodel 20 homes a year. We have been in business since 1973. We are a systems-based, customer-focused, and family-owned company that has gained significant market share in the recession due in a large part to our reputation, quality, value, innovation and customer communication/satisfaction. We have used BuildTools since January and it has been everything that we were looking for in a online management system. This is a part of our sales process and it has been an easy tool for our team and customers to implement The BuildTools team responds quickly and fluidly to ideas and complications.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Molthan

01/06/2011

This program has exceeded my expectations greatly and it is the first program that I have used succesfully in the building industry.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more