App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Current RMS Logo

Rental management for the AV, Events and Production industry

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Current RMS Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

80

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.05/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

booqable
rentman
goodshuffle-pro

Pros and cons

It's great fro scheduling our team and also keeping track of equipment in multiple locations. All in all it's been a good asset since we moved from our previous software.
The inventory tracking is great. And the portability of the software being in the cloud is just awesome.
It looks good, it operates even better, it's cloud based, integrates straight with our accounting package, AND the creators are forever after your feedback to improve the package.
It really seems badly designed on purpose. Maybe if you move from using a whiteboard based rental system this could seem revolutionary but it's just not.
It can be difficult to make it work to your own business rather than as per the original.
No you're going to spend hours on these quotes navigating around the site adding all three to the separate lists, then link them.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


80 reviews

Recommended

BH
AvatarImg

Brad H.

1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Current is the extra person we can actually afford...

Reviewed 8 years ago

Current has totally revolutionised our business and been with us right from starting as a one man business all the way to where we are now. I always get asked, is this software just for big businesses OR is this business just for small businesses. Truth is Current RMS is both, and everything in between. I strongly believe that Current has enabled us to grow from a small business to a larger business...

Pros

This software is absolutely sensational. It looks good, it operates even better, it's cloud based, integrates straight with our accounting package, AND the creators are forever after your feedback to improve the package. Unlike most provider's they actually listen to what the consumer wants and then they deliver it. Never have I found a software package that makes me actually enjoy managing a business, until now.

Cons

Every time I find a con, shortly after Current RMS brings out an update that fixes the con. So I'm going to leave this box blank, because If I fill it, chances are by next week it will be irrelevant!

Vendor response

Hi Brad, We love having you and the whole team at PCC Productions on board. Thanks so much for taking the time to review Current RMS. Take care

YE
AvatarImg

Yke E.

Broadcast Media, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keep up the development.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall I am happy with Current-RMS. Stability is good. Support is

Pros

I like Current-RMS for rental, but what they do good is to make use of strong integration partners and not try to invent everything themselves.

Cons

There has been a long period of no development and new features. It seems to be picking up now. Some obvious functions are still not in there. They are on the 'under consideration' list but would love to see them released.

bb
AvatarImg

ben b.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Only just about worth having - I'm sure there are better on the market - development is slow

Reviewed 3 months ago

We've had current RMS since 2017. We've used it because at the time everyone was raving about it compared to hiretrack and rentalpoint. Fundamentally it's a good idea but it's been bolted and added onto so much now that it really does need an overhaul. We considered getting rid of it and going back to our old system but decided it's (only just) worth having. With recent price increases we may revisit that though...

Pros

That it tries to bring all elements of rental management in to one platform

Cons

That it tries to appeal to too many markets. It is never set up how you want it. There are constant workarounds which need to be in place. Development of ideas is slow and cumbersome.

WH
AvatarImg

Will H.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After months of researching and trailing different products RMS ticks EVERY BOX!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Better customer service, Staff time savings, More efficient use of staff time,

Pros

I love the ease of use of Current RMS, I was worried that cloud based software and rural Yorkshire internet just wouldn't mix but the responsiveness is as if the software is hosted on the machine I'm using. Every time a new update is released it ticks boxes that I didn't even have. The discussions feature is great, I'd happily pay £35/month for a email client that shows when recipients have read my emails and that is included with RMS!

Cons

I'd love to have an iOS app, I appreciate that the mobile version of the standard web GUI is available but it is a bit clunky on iOS (even on a plus sized phone). The wish list is great but now it is to over 500 wishes it is getting a little out of hand, many repeat requests (each with maybe 20 votes but potentially 100 across the 5 requests?) Perhaps the wishlist should send out an email every week/month of 'new ideas' which may prompt users with spare votes to vote on an idea that they didn't even think was missing?

Vendor response

Hi Will, Thanks for the fantastic review, delighted to hear the system is ticking all the right boxes for you. I'm pleased to let you know that a native app for Current RMS is on the Wishlist as we appreciate areas of the system may not be as easy to view on a mobile device, even if this is fully responsive. In regards to the amount of requests on the Wishlist, we frequently try to clean...

MK
AvatarImg

Mark K.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ever evolving software solution.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Current is a great product that has been working really well for us. Since we started with Current over 2 years ago we have seen it evolve. As a result of this when a new feature is released it needs to be managed within your organisation as some will use it in a different way than you might. Any process you may have developed before any new feature release that carries out the same function may need to have its migration managed. It is a moving feast and as such needs to be managed for this reason only I give it 4 for ease of use.

Pros

Cloud based and evolving. Excellent Support.

Cons

Because it evolves your processes need to as well. Sometimes there is just not the time to do this and it can lead to different work practices within the organisation.

Vendor response

Hi Mark, Thanks for your review and advice - we love the title, Current is indeed ever evolving. A lot has been added into Current since launch back in September 2014, which is close to when you came onboard. However all new features added into Current are carefully considered so that they don't disrupt existing processes if companies are not ready to take advantage of new updates. As we appreciate...

SW
AvatarImg

Sean W.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome for Gear, Light on Crew

Reviewed 3 months ago

Very good! The team is wonderful and the platform works well for what the designers intended it to do. We are just looking for a little more complete ecosystem, and I’ve been asking them to make additional developments to make our lives easier.

Pros

The inventory, rental management part of it is excellent!

Cons

The crew scheduling needs quite a bit of love. Also, the ability to get all of the information that has been put into current out of it needs significant help. Like a crew app with all the details and docs would be life changing!

BR
AvatarImg

Brandon R.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Customizable User Friendly System

Reviewed 3 months ago

We keep integrating more and more of what RMS has to offer as we grow and as our knowledge of RMS and how it can help us grows. It is the little things that you see later within your procedures that will allow you to fully see how much time and potentially money RMS can save you.

Pros

One can customize it anyway they want to fit their company's needs. We started off using it as a inventory management tool and are slowly integrating it into our QuickBooks (even a plug in for that to synch) and vice versa for our rates. You put the time in in the beginning and get all your info entered and it is a very user-friendly program with great customer service.

Cons

Some of the barcode printouts can be hard to edit and mess around with in the beginning but customer service is always a chat away to help with most problems.

Vendor response

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Brandon, we really appreciate the feedback! As you say, each business can have different requirements around their processes and document layouts, but our team are always to have a chat and advise what's possible. If you'd like to sit down with a specialist to talk through anything further, please email help@current-rms.com and we'll be happy to speak!

JC
AvatarImg

Jonathan C.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Our whole process has been greatly streamlined by this great bit of software

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

SO easy to use - very little training required Easily customisable to suit most of our needs Great customer service (we had one glitch where one of the developers spent about three weeks working on something for us but then swore blind it couldn't be done - then spoke to someone else who had it fixed exactly how we needed and took him only 5 minutes!) New features constantly added - forever evolving for the better Asset tracking and management is a breeze They attend all the industry shows so it's always easy to meet face-to-face to discuss things - everyone is so friendly - you feel like you are dealing with people who properly understand your needs

Cons

These are only very minor points and should in no way detract from how great this software is: Some features take a lot longer to materialise than others - the reason for this is completely understandable but that doesn't make it any less annoying Data import/export is a bit clunky - it would be great to be able to make edits to databases without having to download them and upload them Access/permission levels are set by user level and not individually by login Outlook integration could be better

Vendor response

Thanks for your brilliant review Jonathan and great to hear you're enjoying the new updates we've been working hard on. We look forward to catching up at Plasa London later this year :-)

RG
AvatarImg

Ross G.

Events Services,

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Modern, Delightful Rental Management System

Reviewed 7 years ago

After years (years!) of researching and being disappointed by many other rental management tools on the market, finding Current RMS felt like a breath of fresh air. Current RMS is a modern, beautiful system that has streamlined our business. We spend much of the year traveling, so a cloud-based system is key for us, and Current delivers on this front. Any Internet-connected device (computer, tablet,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

It's safe to say, all the team at Event Wave Productions are an absolute pleasure to work with! Thanks for a great review, Ross :-)

CG
AvatarImg

Christopher G.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Valuable Asset

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Current RMS has a clean modern layout with easy to use interfaces and functions that allow me to track, rent, and sell equipment easily. The customer service is quick and responsive and always a pleasure to deal with. I don't know how we ran the business without it.

Cons

A couple of small QoL things. They are so small that I can't think of them at the moment.

Rd
AvatarImg

Rupert d.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Massive leap forward in rental management but some flaws still taking a long time to iron out

Reviewed 6 years ago

It works well, and whilst not being 100% intuitive, is way easier to pick up than any of the alternatives we looked at.

Pros

Great features and clean interface, online chat support and feature request function. Decent pricing.

Cons

Some sections could still be a lot more advanced (I'm thinking of the costings and reports sections) and there are some small but constant niggles that could be really easy to iron out (like having to click onto another page from the Opportunity page to find a client's phone number). Updates do come and are prioritised based on a customer voting system but they take a looooong time compared to how often most phone apps are updated.

Vendor response

Hey Rupert, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We understand that there may still be some features in Current that you would like to see, and our developers are working hard to constantly implement ideas that the industry want. Every business is different, so we find that our Wishlist is the best way to see what each of our customers want the most and implement the ideas with the highest...

SL
AvatarImg

Sean L.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most modern, flexible solution by far.

Reviewed 7 years ago

An absolutely brilliant product! We really don't have enough good things to say about it. Coming from the old finicky locally hosted hire tracking system that was industry standard for a while and having tried other modern web-based solutions, we have settled in with Current and their team and have absolutely no intentions of going anywhere else. The flow of the system is fresh and takes into account...

Pros

- Flexibility - Powerful - Ease of use - API Integration - Accounting Integration

Cons

- null

Vendor response

Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to write this brilliant review, Sean! You're an absolute pleasure to have on board!

TG
AvatarImg

Tom G.

Motion Pictures and Film, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Current has a lot of potential but is lacking in certain critical areas.

Reviewed 3 months ago

I am reasonably happy with Current, but wish we could address all the items I mentioned above.

Pros

I love the ease of working on Current using any device, from anywhere. It makes remote management of my rental business possible when I can’t be in the office, or am traveling.

Cons

My least favorite aspects of Current are: - lack of payment processing within Current - inability to customize Current screen data to match our internal process/terminology - inability to track vital customer data like insurance status - inability to completely customize forms without extensive coding knowledge - inability to give inventory items “permanent” subrental status - Complexity of making “packages”

JM
AvatarImg

James M.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SImple setup and easy to implement with no upfront cost

Reviewed 8 years ago

Before we started using Current-RMS most rental systems wanted a site license and server with a large initial outlay. Current-RMS enabled us to get a better system going without that up front cost and a simple per user pricing model. Easy to use, links into our Xero accounts system easily and now with an API so we can start integrating with our website. Great support from the team.

Pros

Ease of implementation and use.

Cons

Availability calendar not currently possible to embed in client facing website but new API may now allow customisation.

Vendor response

Thanks for your great feedback James. You can indeed access product availability information in client facing websites using our new API. We¿ve dropped you a quick message about how to do this. If you do have any more questions, please don't hesitate to contact the support team. They are more than happy to help :)

PB
AvatarImg

Paul B.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's a great piece of software that has enable our margins to grow

Reviewed 7 years ago

It's brilliant for making a business efficient and smooth in running

Pros

The fact it makes us more efficient in the warehouse and the prepping and shipping of new work. The system also allows you to see not only your equipment but your staff and vehicles whereabouts too this enables us to plan efficiently for future work

Cons

No internet no system this can cause an issue of working on the cloud however touch wood it hasn't happened yet :-)

Vendor response

Hey Paul, Thanks for your great review :-) It's such a pleasure having EWPSL on board. Great to hear how you're able to plan more efficiently for future jobs with the help of Current RMS.

GH
AvatarImg

Gerard H.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent bang for buck.

Reviewed 7 years ago

I moved my small rental business to current from a much older legacy platform that required me to maintain a local server. Cloud access was not an option. Having moved to current, I can now maintain my assets much better, and with the new API I have been able to create custom tools to further improve my workflow.

Pros

Flexibility, constant updating and improvements.

Cons

Lacking a couple of core feature sets (overall job pricing, test and tag) that most other platforms support.

Vendor response

Hey Gerard, thanks so much for taking the time to review Current. In terms of the "overall job pricing" - I wonder whether you're referring to the following idea on our Wishlist: https://goo.gl/zXXQXB ...If so, this idea is currently in planning stages, and is in the pipeline to be released in the not so distant future. Also, in terms of testing (which I assume is PAT testing), we will be more than happy to share a document on how to use custom fields to store the info. We'll send you over an email shortly with a bit more information.

NL
AvatarImg

Natasha L.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Seamless!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Current allows us to work from one central point no matter wether we are on site or in the warehouse. It allows us to plan the use of our resources better and the acquisition of external sources in a cost effective and timely manner. The CRM means that project managers can easily transfer parts or or entire projects to better suit work patterns or account for staff illness. Mistakes are easy to spot.

Cons

We're still getting to grips with picking and pricing non standard items, but we'll get there. The organisations import is simpler, but so far removed from the export that our current software will do, that I'm having to go through our current database one entry at a time in order to import it... But that says more about me and my way of working. We could just add new organisations, venues and contacts as we go.

Vendor response

Hey Natasha, thanks so much for the great review. There is often a bit of a learning curve when moving from one system to another, especially when data is stored in different ways in both systems. We're always on hand to give you any support you need, so let us know if there's anything you need help with :-) Great to have you on board!

LB
AvatarImg

Lez B.

1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everything you want

Reviewed 8 years ago

We provide audio-visual installations in Galleries & Museums around the world so need rental software we can rely on. Where ever we are - from New York to London, Current RMS helps us keep track of our equipment and projects perfectly

Pros

Customer service, this is a huge Pro. From help to software changes, nothing is ever a problem.

Cons

...don't think I have found any yet...

Vendor response

Hi Lez, Thanks for the continued support and brilliant feedback. We love having you on board! Best wishes

TA
AvatarImg

Tristan A.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great, customizable product administered by friendly people!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ease of which quotes, availability and documents are produced plus it is linked to Xero!

Cons

The Calendar functionality and display isn't the best and having to create Organisations instead of private contacts to create a quote is a bit strange.

Vendor response

Hi Tristan, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

RS
AvatarImg

Robin S.

1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy & reliable

Reviewed 8 years ago

The team at Current have always been very helpful - the cloud based platform has been really easy to use for all members of the team to use. We use Current for both hire and sales, it's been great to see the features develop and is really encouraging to see the updates released regularly with functions that are really useful. We've also just integrated with Xero so are hoping to continue the easy-to-use systems of work that Current has given us.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Robin, Thanks for the awesome review! We love having you on board and keep an eye out for future updates! :) Take care

JS
AvatarImg

Josh S.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Pretty Much Sorted

Reviewed 7 years ago

Rock solid system which gets good and rapid support and upgrades. Great team who listen and care about their customers.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

We certainly do care about our customers :-) Thank you for your great review, Josh.

TS
AvatarImg

Tom S.

1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have been using current for two season now on a daily basis and we have been incredibly impressed with the simplicity, but at the same time usability. We also really appreciate that they are always keen to do bespoke forms, answer any questions and help us out where needed, usually very quickly.

Pros

it's useability

Cons

I can't search for opportunities via venue unless they're programmed in as a venue in themselves

Vendor response

Hey Tom, thanks for the brilliant review. In regards to searching for an Opportunity via a venue, I will bring this idea up with the developers and get back to you ASAP.

JW
AvatarImg

Josh W.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software that is going places

Reviewed 9 years ago

Current RMS is terrific rental software that is practical, easy to use and looks great. Customer service is second to none with free initial training (not that it's needed). Over the past 12 months of use I've seen current actively engaging with customers to find out the next features to be released and have already seen great improvements from what was already a good product.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hey Josh, Thanks for the review - it's fantastic to hear that you've had a great customer experience with us so far. We strive to stay connected with all our users as much as possible and provide updates on new features and development plans as soon as we have them available. We look forward to releasing some exciting new features to you again in the next 12 months. Keep your feedback and suggestions coming, we really appreciate it. Many thanks Current RMS

BM
AvatarImg

Ben M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We have been using Current for the last 12 months now and it has revolutionised the way that we work

Reviewed 9 years ago

Current has transformed nearly all areas of our business for the better. From the initial quote all the way through the process including the confirmations, invoices, prep, dispatch and return of equipment. Being cloud based allows us to access the system wherever we are in the country including on events which is very useful. We now scan in and out of our warehouse each item ensuring that our stock control is much better. The integration with Xero saves our accountant many hours also! Overall - we LOVE it and can't recommend it highly enough.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the fantastic feedback Ben, it's great to have such a forward thinking rental company onboard. We look forward to delivering other exciting new features to you all over the next 12 months.

BB
AvatarImg

Ben B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Rental Software

Reviewed 9 years ago

Fantastic rental software, specifically designed for the AV industry and comes with excellent customer service. The team at Current will not stop at anything to help us out with any queries, and are always on hand to take our feedback and improve the product.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hey Ben, Many thanks for the Current RMS review. Your feedback is vital to our product development so keep the brilliant suggestions coming. Speak soon. Current RMS