Escapia Reviews

Escapia Reviews

Escapia

Vacation rental software and guest management system

4.68/5 (38 reviews)
12,162     2,701

Dana Rudy

Good Software

19/01/2017

I've had a good experience working with Escapia for the past 3 years. It works well for our company, owners and partners. It is a little complicated and un-intuitive, however, the Customer Service team is exemplary. They are quick to respond to questions and very knowledgeable and helpful. I'm comfortable using it and appreciate the flexibility of features.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bradley den Dulk

Escapia review

16/01/2017

We have been using Escapia for several years now and the best part about it is that it is integrated to a full accounting suite and is part of Glad-To-Have-You which automatically sends information to guests along with a cool app. It does feel cobbled together at times and really needs some upgrades in regards to cleaning app and maintenance management. Also lead tracking of inquires is pretty basic.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bethany Siu

A Big Complicated Software.

05/01/2017

Escape has a lot of features, and potentially a lot of power, but it's so complicated that it's easy to miss a step and mess something up badly. Almost nothing about the software is user-friendly or intuitive, everything is convoluted and complicated, and requires many steps and a lot of double-checking. This also applies to EscapiaNET, which is also not as straightforward as one would hope since property information shows up differently on different platforms. I would count this one of the most useful features of Escapia. We have enjoyed being able to integrate with Glad To Have You and use that for guest communication and contracts, and we also push our properties out to other platforms. EscapiaNET is not without flaws and we have had issues even integrating with VRBO (which is also owned by HomeAway so you would think that would be easy), mostly because of the number of complicated, easy-to-forget steps to make sure everything is perfect in Escape. However, to be fair, I don't know if integration through any other property management software would provide better integration. As it does seem like a very challenging thing to do well.

Pros

Escape customer support has done a good job troubleshooting and explaining how things work when I contact them. There are also lots of training resources, self-help articles, explanatory videos, etc, available. I have also heard that the Escape accounting features are useful and thorough. I have not had any experience with the accounting side of Escapia.

Cons

One of the things that have been most frustrating about Escapia is the Owner web feature, which is supposed to provide an owner portal where our property owners can log in and see property details, upcoming reservations, owner documents, etc. Owner web itself is pretty limited, which is fine if that's what you want. One problem is that as of now owners cannot reset their password, and so they always have to contact us if they forget it so that we can change it for them. Another challenge has been that many of our owners own more than one property and that for accounting purposes each of these units has to be set up with different owners. That means that when one of those owners logs into the owner portal they can only see one of their properties unless they set up separate logins for each property, which includes separate email addresses. But then those email addresses will automatically be where their owner statements are sent, so if they want all the owner's statements to go to one email, they will have to forward them. We do not want to make our owners jump through hoops like this. We want their experience to be as simple and streamlined as possible. Escapia also lacks some features (such as automated emails, simpler reports, better filters for sending a guest communication, and the ability to add attachments to that communication) that would make the software more functional. I have also heard from our maintenance and housekeeping teams that Escapia is challenging for them to understand and use as they would like to. Basically, we've ended up using other software and strategies to fill in the gaps and give us the features we want, which is a little disappointing considering the seeming hugeness and complexity of Escapia.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Recommendations to others considering Escapia

Overall, if you've done your research about property management software and discovered that only Escapia has the features you want - well, we have been using it for a while. It is possible to use it. And if you don't mind doing a lot of work to figure it all out, messing up a lot, and talking to support frequently, then you might be okay. Make sure that all of your staff are thoroughly trained, as Escapia is not easy to figure out on your own. I would especially not recommend this software for people who are not comfortable with computers, software, etc in general.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Clayton

Functional tool that we could not do without

14/11/2016

The Escapia software is a priceless tool that we've built our business around. We've been in business almost 4 years and grown to 170 properties, without Escapia we wouldn't have seen such tremendous growth. I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars on Ease of Use only because it does take sometime to properly learn all the features of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
thomas lane

Great support & value. Could update some functionalities

10/11/2016

The flat rate per property is very fair and much cheaper than other PM softwares that charge a percentage per booking (LiveRez). The system is relatively easy to use but could really benefit users and increase efficiency if they updated some functionalities such as custom filtering for reports (rather than having a set amount of pre-made reports and switching the photo function to drag placement ordering rather than drop-down box number ordering. Escapia is very receptive to new ideas which you can submit through User voice. Their support staff is exceptional.

Pros

Lots of functionalities and seamless integration with crucial partner sites such as homeaway, vrbo, GTHY and point central

Cons

some parts of it could use updating

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emily Vandall

If we leave Escapia, I quit.

09/11/2016

The software is incredible. Support is a-ma-zing. Our Client Solutions Manager is possibly the most responsive person I've met in my whole life. Hands-down, my favorite thing about Escapia is that THEY are never satisfied with where they are. Any question I have or suggestion for improving functionality is taken seriously. I have never worked with any software (in this industry or any other) that is so in tune to what their clients want. I've told our business owner, "If we change software, I quit."

Pros

Escapia is never happy with the status quo. They listen to clients and make sure the software grows with our needs.

Cons

Check in! It's not functional. We go off-book and use a Google Spreadsheet. It has a long way to go.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bertha (Kiki)  Nobriga

I appreciate the prompt service when I need it.

08/11/2016

I came in not understanding the program well with no one to assist me. Help centers and their representatives were so helpful to walk me through and issues and training. Thanks!

Pros

User friendly

Cons

always room for improvement

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hayley Pletcher

Great Software

08/11/2016

Like the new features that are constantly being added to the software, constantly making each function more efficient. Another great things is that it directly feeds into other 3rd party websites so rates are photos are always up to date. The visual planner is perfect for managing many homes all at once with a quick scroll. I definitely recommend Escapia if you are looking for a user friendly easy to use software.

Pros

It is very secure with passwords needing to be changed often and security questions. The new automatic payments tool is a great feature. Very user friendly and make it easy to navigate. Great for managing many homes and never having a double book problem.

Cons

Having to custom build some reports to be run

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karrie Lasater

Escapia is by far the best software I have ever used!!

08/11/2016

I have nothing but positive things to say about Escapia software. It is the best!! They are constantly making it better by doing upgrades and adding features to an already great platform! This software has great functionality and is easy to use. It integrates with our website so our guests can see live availability calendars. The automatic payment processing along with some many other features are huge time savers. The customer support is phananominal! I always get a live person who is knowledgeable and can quickly help me solve what ever challenge I am having! They always follow-up to make sure everything is working correctly and to be sure the resolution is working. I highly recommend Escapia! You will be happy you converted to it! I know we are!!

Pros

Easy of use and Customer Support

Cons

I can'tell think of anything I don't like.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Escapia

Buy it! It is a great value for the cost!!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan Goodman

Great functionality but question charges through Escapia Net

08/11/2016

All the features and functionality of the software are great however I recently had an experience getting charged $2500 for a commission on a booking through escapia net. When looking into this larger than average charge I found that it was not correct and false. Not really sure what to think about this but seems like my res data is being shared with OTAs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carole Sharoff

Comments from one of Escapia's earliest customers

08/11/2016

Over the 15 years that we have used Escapia, we've tried to keep up with the many beneficial changes that the software offered. It's really a different product now and in related growth, we are a different company. But we are the ones with the boots on the ground in the community and have the relationship with the guests that is so vital to our success. We welcome opportunities provide feedback to keep the software relevant to all partners.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David  Wilcox

The only PM software for me.

08/11/2016

Escapia has the tools and support that makes our company successful. It is easy to use and offers the cross organizational reporting needed to track everything from housekeeping to service orders to revenue and beyond.

Pros

Ease of use. Support team. Constant updates.

Cons

Some reporting can be tricky to understand and/or lacking in key components.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kate Danner

Escapia software user

08/11/2016

The staff is great to deal with and is always available for recommendation. The backside of the software is daunting, but once you get use to it easy to maneuver.

Pros

The accounting part is great. Easy to use and offers comprehensible data.

Cons

It's complected to set up properties, especially the rents.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Escapia

I really like the fact that you take Feedback seriously. It's nice when something I'm interested in seeing comes to fruition.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shawn Spiezio

Escapia Keeps Getting Better

08/11/2016

The Escapia/HomeAway team has a great group of individuals that I believe truly care for the future and well being of our company as well as other property management companies. Escapia offers a great training program for new employees as well as ongoing support and training for existing users. Every facet of the software is being constantly improved. Reservationists enjoy the grid's flexibility and functionality. Housekeepers love the Housekeeping dashboard. The use of automatic payments and contracts have been gamechangers in saving time and improving efficiency. Overall, I'm not sure if you will find a better rental management software and team behind it for the money. We love it.

Pros

Yield managment, training, uservoice, automatic payments

Cons

Still think there's room for improvement on the service order side.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karen Bobe

Rental Software that allows me to grow my business

08/11/2016

I have been in the vacation rental industry for over 15 years and have been using Escapia for the last four years. A few of the reasons I am pleased with Escapia are: it is cloud based, extremely user friendly, integrates well with 3rd party channels, has built in auto responder to inquiries & auto sign contract capability, has great maintenance and housekeeping portals, and most importantly fantastic support. Another huge item to me is Escapia continually develops new ways to not only improve the product, but it truly focuses on ways their product can help my business grow. Hands down, best rental software I have ever used!

Pros

Ease of use, housekeeping and maintenance portals

Cons

A few minor glitches occasionally, but they are always on top of it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chuck Mehner

Excellent Software - Superior Support

08/11/2016

We have been using Escapia for almost six years and have watched it grow in both efficiency and responsiveness to client needs. Each year Escapia adds new functionality and tweaks existing features to better serve the needs of their clients. Using the Submit Feedback function we have seen a number of our suggestions come to fruition. This is a unique feature allows users to make suggestions about changes to the existing functions as well as offer a "wish list" of desired features for the future. Whenever called upon, the support team is fast to respond and quick to find solutions. A Five Star product and staff.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Conny Rehme

Great product for our business and customers

22/10/2014

We moved from a server based software to Escapia in 2010 . We find the software to be very user friendly and it is constantly improved and updated by the Homeaway team. Customer Service and Support are great to work with and we feel that any kind of feedback is appreciated. We don't regret going this route and would certainly recommend the software to others.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Annette Becker

Escapia

22/10/2014

We are veterans when it come to Escapia being one of the first clients (I believe we signed up in 2005!) and we are always pleased to see how they are constantly striving to improve the system. The database simplifies our daily tasks by being quick and responsive. Sincerely grateful that there is very a rarely an issue where our site or database is down , which in this business is very important!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Morgan

Escapia Software Review

22/10/2014

I have used Escapia now for more than 2 years. The program is robust, processes all my reservation needs. I also have an Escapia web based web site which tightly integrates into Escapia, HomeAway.com, VRBO.com and numerous websites worldwide. The single most important reason I chose Escapia was the proposed integration to the industry leading marketing websites VRBO and HomeAway. Between my Escapia website and the BOOKNOW buttons that have enabled on the VRBO and HomeAway ads, I now sometimes experience several online bookings daily direct from these websites into my Escapia system, flawlessly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jaimie  Widmaier

Love Escapia!

22/10/2014

I have 80 Long term rentals and 50 short term (vacation rentals) and could not find a decent software that would handle all of them efficiently. Until Escapia! So please with the software after 1.5 years so far!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Diane Blanford

I Love my Escapia Software!

21/10/2014

Escapia software provides comprehension vacation rental software covering all aspects of accounting needed to properly run a property management software company. Any problems with the software I have are user error and the tech support people are wonderful to work with and never fail to help me find a perfect solution for any issues. Escapia is easy to use, the web integration is perfect and reports are complete and professional looking. I have tried other vacation softwares and nothing compares!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Orgill

Great Investment!

21/10/2014

We've been using Escapia since January 2012 and have been very pleased with its positive impact on our operation, especially in streamlining our booking and schedule management and payment processes. We also appreciate the reporting capabilities and management tools that have given us more and better insight into our vacation rental operations. We do not use the embedded accounting system and can't speak to that . We do take advantage of Escapia.net and have recently integrated online booking capabilities with HomeAway and so far, so good. Our rating reflects our satisfaction with the functionality that we use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jim DeVos

Top of the line

21/10/2014

We've used Escapia since 2010. I can tell you unequivocally that the system is the best in the business. And the level of service has consistently increased every year. Plus, it's so easy to use that it takes very little training for a reservation to begin using the system and make bookings. One thing we know for sure - there's more to Escapia than we use today. We're constantly finding new things that make our business better.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonah  Mechanic

I would be lost without them

21/10/2014

This is by far the best software company out there for vacation rental management. Looking back, I honestly have no idea how I ran my business without them. Every aspect of Escapia from reservations, accounting, marketing partners, rate management, (the list goes on and on) has helped to grown my business and make me and my employees more efficient and more productive. I can not recommend this enough and would tell anyone that is involved in the vacation rental management that they absolutely need this software if they want to stay competitive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Kelly

Automation Great! Invoicing Confusing.

20/10/2014

Overall, we have been very pleased with the our Escapia experience. The system really does automate a number of important reporting elements and combine them into one, relatively easy report to mass distribute to owners and clients. It also provides one point of entry for marketing and advertising information and feeds that information pretty seamlessly to the various web-based advertising partners so our leads and rentals have increased substantially since we started using the product. If we have one concern regarding the product, it is understanding the invoicing of the advertising charges billed by those web based carriers. We find that the invoicing does not always tie out to the reports we are told to generate as backup from the system and we have to watch closely to be sure we are not billed for repeat customers, or customers that were not actually referred through one of the partner channels. The people we have worked with have been great and are always very helpful and overall, our experience with Escapia has been a very positive one!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more