App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

FocalPoint Software Logo

Equipment rental software for businesses of all sizes

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

FocalPoint Software Reviews

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


17 reviews

Recommended

AH
AvatarImg

Annie H.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 4 years ago

The Focal point team is great. They always work hard to provide fixes for any issues and listen to any suggestions you have to make the product more user friendly or provide added features. This product has helped our business be able to grow our fleet, and manage our rental customers, contracts, inventory and more. We highly recommend the product to our fellow rental businesses.

Pros

Great software to help us manage our rental reservations, rental fleet, and invoicing. Helped us be able to grow our business by taking the stress of keeping track of equipment and reservations, and saved us time in the back office with invoicing.

Cons

Some functions seem to take too many "clicks" to get to desired end product.

Vendor response

Thanks Annie!

JB
AvatarImg

Justin B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Focal Point Rental Software Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall I have been extremely happy with Focal Point. If I ever have any issues they are just a phone call away and are very prompt. The main problems I've had wasn't because of them, it's usually due to Microsoft doing an update without warning. Of course you don't find out about this until early the next morning and any time this has happened Visum's after hours service has been in touch right away and take care of it.

Pros

Focal Point is a very user friendly software that offers a lot. It is set up to handle most any rental store ranging from party, general to heavier pieces. It handles daily, weekly and monthly rentals with ease and has an abundance of different reports that help with upper management.

Cons

There are a few tweaks to some of the reports I'd like to see made. Although Visum does have an online portal where you can request changes you'd like to see in future builds.

SD
AvatarImg

Steve D.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Using Focal Point and the Visum Customer Service

Reviewed 9 years ago

Aero Equipment has been using Focal Point for several years. We are an equipment rental, sales and service company. We have found the Focal Point program to be very useful in our business. All though we are probably not utilizing the program completely, the areas that we are using have been very helpful to us. We have had a few problems come up but support from Visum has been very good. They have been able to take care of any issues that have come up with the program in a timely manner. Upgrades and installation have been very smooth. I would recommend this program to any companies that are in the rental business.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JC
AvatarImg

JAN C.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DAILY SOFTWARE USE

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good working relationship with them. They are always ready to help in any way we need. The response time is great. they listen to your needs and try to improve the software continually

Pros

IT INTEGRATES RETAIL SALES WITH RENTAL SALES

Cons

Not having the ability to make notes/reminders etc Bold, or larger print where it will stand out

Vendor response

Thanks Jan!

BH
AvatarImg

Benjamin H.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Focal Point Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very positive. Easy enough to have new employees learn quickly.

Pros

Great support staff. High functionality, ease of use.

Cons

Finding reports and trusting them to be accurate do to inaccuracies/incompleteness of data when rental items were created.

Vendor response

Thanks! We enjoy working with you.

JS
AvatarImg

JOEY S.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VERY SATISFIED

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

EASY TO LEARN AND USE. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS EXCELLENT.

Cons

I CAN'T THINK OF ANY. WE HAVE NO COMPLAINTS.

Vendor response

Thanks Joey! We enjoy working with Big D's.

NM
AvatarImg

Nicole M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Software

Reviewed 9 years ago

FocalPoint helps us provide service to our customers in a timely manner. It is very helpful to see what in available in our inventory at a glance without having to leave the desk. The customer service we receive when we have any questions is prompt and courteous. The support staff is excellent and makes sure we are satisfied with the outcome. If we have suggestions on features we would like to see added to FocalPoint, they take these suggestions into consideration and implement them as they see fit. Reports in FocalPoint help us track trends in our business, track customers and revenue among other things. Overall, FocalPoint is a positive experience for our company and helps us serve our customers to the best of our ability.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JA
AvatarImg

Judith A.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great service since 2009.

Reviewed 9 years ago

One of the main pros of Focalpoint is definitely the customer service. They are friendly, down-to-earth, quick to respond, professional and know the software well. Another pro on the list would be the cost. For the price, the product is excellent. Some cons would be the number of user glitches, most which are quickly fixed, but some take some time. I would also update the menus, as they are not particularly user friendly at times. The help file is also out of date. Overall, we are pleased with the product and especially the service; and would recommend it to other businesses.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

HM
AvatarImg

Helen M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

FocalPoint is easy to use and support is a call or e-mail away.

Reviewed 9 years ago

We have been using FocalPoint for a few years now. We switched from another well known company that made promises and did not deliver. We have been very happy with our choice to go with Focal Point. It did take time to learn how to use but the tutorials and personal support made the transition easy. Updates are fairly regular which indicates that the staff at Visum take their customers concerns, suggestions and small glitches very seriously. The Visum staff are quick to reply and always helpful to walk one through each situation.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

BP
AvatarImg

Bob P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Product with Outstanding Support

Reviewed 9 years ago

Focal Point and the folks at Visum are a wonderful company to partner with. They have a great product and they are always focused on their customers. This was our first system and our company has grown dramaticly over the last few years. This would not have been possible without a system. They have great Mid-America values and they listen to their customers. The product is always improving and evolving. There are more features in their program than other Rental Software costing three times more. I recommend them highly.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SC
AvatarImg

Scott C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I have been using Focal Point since 2006

Reviewed 9 years ago

The primary reason that I would recommend "Focal Point" Software and Visum Corp. is the quality of the people employed there. Everyone from sales, support and programming are accessible, friendly and knowledgeable. They are also very receptive to customer input. What I like most about the software is that it is very "customizable", I do not feel like I am forced to run my business to match the software. I was one of the first users of this software and can think of no reason why I would ever want to change.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JM
AvatarImg

Jordan M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Focal Point is one of a kind!

Reviewed 7 years ago

We signed on with Focal Point with a start date of April 1, 2016. Most people would think we are crazy to start a new system in the beginning of busy season, but the team at Focal Point made it such a smooth transition that I couldn't imagine doing anything else! Since we signed up we have referred 3 other rental companies, and they are all happy with the system as well. I would highly recommend them to anyone!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your business!

CC
AvatarImg

Chris C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Software for Construction Equipment Rental Business

Reviewed 9 years ago

Logical, user friendly, forward thinking software with exceptional customer service. John and Nick have helped our company from start up to now, 2+ years, they have consistently resolved all issues encountered in short order (some user generated issues). Owner has had more than 25 years in the equipment rental industry and has used a variety of software programs. FocalPoint, by far, has exceeded our expectations and has tremendous capabilities that we had not thought of needing.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

RK
AvatarImg

Rick K.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellant Software, Excellant People

Reviewed 9 years ago

As a new rental store owner I have found the software to be extremely easy to operate and manage. Everybody from the owners to the customer service people have been VERY helpful and have great understanding of the software that they sell. Very good response time (if there is a problem) and they quickly get if resolved. I would highly recommend Focal Point to anybody.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SS
AvatarImg

Scott S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Review of FocalPoint

Reviewed 9 years ago

Focalpoint is a company that has kind and professional employees and you can even talk to the owner if you want to. They have bent over backwards to help me learn the software. You wont get some automated help when you call you get a real person. You owe it to yourself to call them and talk and try the free 30 day trial. Guy,John,and Nick are real easy to talk to.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

DH
AvatarImg

Daniel H.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great rental software

Reviewed 9 years ago

We had a server crash one day and the visum team hopped right on it and took care of it. They are always available to help with questions, great support.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

CT
AvatarImg

Carlton T.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Rental Software

Reviewed 9 years ago

We've had great results with this software along with great customer service

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review