Gingr Features

Gingr

Pet daycare, boarding, kennel & grooming business software

4.72/5 (170 reviews)

Gingr Feature Summary

  • Photo management
  • Email confirmation
  • Customer management
  • Pet birthday tracking
  • Veterinarian list maintenance
  • Pet grooming
  • Facility management
  • Real time online appointments
  • eReceipts
  • Vaccination reminders
  • Accounting management
  • Activity logging
  • Automatic backup
  • Automatic reminders
  • Barcode scanning
  • Client portal
  • Credit card processing
  • Custom forms
  • Client database
  • Customizable templates
  • Digital signature
  • Document storage
  • Electronic payments
  • Employee management
  • Event calendar
  • Image library
  • POS
  • Recurring tasks
  • Security & encryption
  • Continuous backup
  • Employee time clock
  • Availability management
  • Call reporting
  • Automated scheduling
  • Order approval
  • Feedback collection
  • Billing & invoicing
  • Drag & drop interface
  • PCI DSS compliance
  • Custom landing pages
  • Barcode support
  • API availability
  • Landing page templates
  • SMS marketing
  • Surveys & feedback
  • Team calendars
  • Event triggered email
  • Electronic signature capture
  • Filtered views
  • Gift card system
  • Route management
  • Time clock integration
  • Online booking integration
  • Availability indicator
  • Customer activity reporting
  • Access control
  • Remote access
  • Tagging
  • Booking management
  • Behavior tracking
  • Inventory control
  • Email marketing
  • Email alerts

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Management
Appointment Scheduling
Automated Scheduling
Automatic Backup
Availability Indicator
Availability Management
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Behavior Tracking
Billing & Invoicing
Booking Management
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Call Reporting
Client Management
Client Portal
Commission Management
Confirmation/Reminders
Credit Card Processing
Customer Activity Tracking
Customer Database
Customer Management
Customizable Branding
Customizable Forms
Customizable Templates
Customization
Digital Signature
Document Storage
Drag & Drop
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Alerts
Email Marketing
Employee Management
Event Calendar
Facility Scheduling
Feedback Management
Gift Card Management
Image Library
Inventory Management
Landing Pages/Web Forms
Mobile Grooming
Multi-Location
Online Booking
Order Processing
PCI Compliance
Pet Birthday Tracking
Pet Grooming
Photo Management
Point of Sale (POS)
Recurring Appointments
Recurring Tasks
Reminders
Remote Access/Control
Route Management
SMS Marketing Managment
SMS Messaging
SSL Security
Search/Filter
Service Catalog
Staff Management
Surveys & Feedback
Tagging
Team Calendars
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Management
Appointment Scheduling
Automated Scheduling
Automatic Backup
Availability Indicator
Availability Management
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Behavior Tracking
Billing & Invoicing
Booking Management
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Call Reporting
Client Management
Client Portal
Commission Management
Confirmation/Reminders
Credit Card Processing
Customer Activity Tracking
Customer Database
Customer Management
Customizable Branding
Customizable Forms
Customizable Templates
Customization
Digital Signature
Document Storage
Drag & Drop
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Alerts
Email Marketing
Employee Management
Event Calendar
Facility Scheduling
Feedback Management
Gift Card Management
Image Library
Inventory Management
Landing Pages/Web Forms
Mobile Grooming
Multi-Location
Online Booking
Order Processing
PCI Compliance
Pet Birthday Tracking
Pet Grooming
Photo Management
Point of Sale (POS)
Recurring Appointments
Recurring Tasks
Reminders
Remote Access/Control
Route Management
SMS Marketing Managment
SMS Messaging
SSL Security
Search/Filter
Service Catalog
Staff Management
Surveys & Feedback
Tagging
Team Calendars
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Management
Appointment Scheduling
Automated Scheduling
Automatic Backup
Availability Indicator
Availability Management
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Behavior Tracking
Billing & Invoicing
Booking Management
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Call Reporting
Client Management
Client Portal
Commission Management
Confirmation/Reminders
Credit Card Processing
Customer Activity Tracking
Customer Database
Customer Management
Customizable Branding
Customizable Forms
Customizable Templates
Customization
Digital Signature
Document Storage
Drag & Drop
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Alerts
Email Marketing
Employee Management
Event Calendar
Facility Scheduling
Feedback Management
Gift Card Management
Image Library
Inventory Management
Landing Pages/Web Forms
Mobile Grooming
Multi-Location
Online Booking
Order Processing
PCI Compliance
Pet Birthday Tracking
Pet Grooming
Photo Management
Point of Sale (POS)
Recurring Appointments
Recurring Tasks
Reminders
Remote Access/Control
Route Management
SMS Marketing Managment
SMS Messaging
SSL Security
Search/Filter
Service Catalog
Staff Management
Surveys & Feedback
Tagging
Team Calendars
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Gingr Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Gingr's features:

Marcia C.

We are thrilled with our decision to use Gingr to help us manage our one-stop-shop for dogs.

2017-04-30

Accuracy in client billing, reduced transaction errors, time-saving$, real-time views, consolidation of sources of information, mobile access.

Pros

Gingr is user-friendly, intuitive, and provides easy access to information we need to keep our clients happy and their dogs safe while in our care.

Cons

Gingr is not robust for retail activities (we used QBooks POS), but as the majority of our business is daycare/boarding/grooming/training, it's strengths in those areas more than makes up for the one task we have to track manually (rewards program).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bruce W.

A great product

2019-08-11

There are bugs in reporting, but all in all it is doing us well.

Pros

I like the new release which makes the application invoice based.

Cons

No dynamic reporting. Problems with flexibility during check outs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Gingr


Thank you for your review Bruce!

We are pleased to know that you like the new features released, particularly those relating to invoicing.

We would love to help you resolve any issues you are having with check-outs. We'd like to help ensure your checkout workflows are seamless and speedy!

Likewise, please submit any requests your may have regarding reporting. Our product and dev' teams continue to build more reporting functions specific to our customers' needs. Most customers use Gingr's POS, and then easily move revenue information to their accounting software. Let us know how we can help you with this workflow!

Read more
Yanic K.

Never fear because Gingr is near

2017-02-20

The software also made it possible for my dog hotel atFrits to franchise sooner than we anticipated. The reporting function is amazing and makes it possible for management to keep a finger on the pulse.

Pros

The software system gives me a birds eye view of my business any minute of the day.

Cons

Accounting reporting, but still good

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gingr

None

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael T.

I've used and tried over a dozen kennel programs and finally ended my search with Gingr. Good move!

2017-09-13

No more spreadsheets and linked access databases for simple reports.

Pros

I also like the online reservation/account feature for customers, and our customers like it too.

Cons

I hate to express negativity, but I wish there were more reports and that they were customizable. I wish more pages and forms were printable such as the customer and pet forms for our computer challenged friends.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lindsey G.

Best Choice

2017-03-10

We also like the reports and overall functionality.

Pros

Easy to use, able to access easily from phone tablet or computer, reports, grooming schedule, customer ability to request and view reservations, CUSTOMER SERVICE

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gingr

This system has been a great choice for our dog facility.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Richard W.

Don't Purchase This Software

2020-03-09

The reporting is terrible, the customer support is terrible, and it doesn't integrate with Quickbooks.

Pros

Customers can make appointments, vet records are maintained, and customers are notified if the vet records are outdated.

Cons

The reporting is terrible, the customer support is terrible, and it doesn't integrate with Quickbooks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Gingr


Hi Richard,

We are sorry you are not happy with the software. Indeed, it's not always the right fit for everyone.

If you have a reporting-need that is not being met by our 70+ customizable reports or our custom-reporting features, please let us know. Our product team is always developing new features, including requested report functions.

Likewise, our US-based support team is always just a click away from providing great service.

Regardless, there is always the rare case where it's not the right fit, and we wish you success in building your own solution.

Always the best - Gingr

Read more
Portia S.

Great transition, easy to use and train employees on

2017-02-23

I love the web interface - I can check in on things from pretty much anywhere I travel (bonus!)

Pros

Ease of transition, easy to use, wide accessibility

Cons

Would like more reporting functions on financials

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gingr

Use the training tools and support!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cheryl T.

Everything you need for boarding, daycare, grooming and training

2020-06-16

From my first outreach to them, through set up and initial use to daily use - GINGR has met or exceeded our expectations.

Pros

GINGR’s operating tools - dashboard, calendars, service schedules - are easy to use and reliable.

Cons

I also wish it had an interface with Quickbooks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Antolin A.

Gingr-EPK9 Stay and Play

2019-01-09

We are solving scheduling, reports, marketing decision making and improvements.

Pros

Is very simple to use and has a lot of functions to organize the business.

Cons

It doesn’t have accounting but overall is an awesome tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lauren D.

Keep It Up Gingr!

2019-01-09

We also use the retail feature quite often.

Pros

Our clients really like the report cards, and the kennel/run cards are nice for busy facilities.

Cons

I dislike that it does not integrate with QuickBooks, as of right now.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Deborah T.

Best Decision

2019-02-13

We are very happy with Gingr. We used to have Paw Loyalty and could not trust our financial numbers which was not acceptable. Gingr is accurate and reliable.

Pros

Gingr gives you the dashboard that shows you what you need to run your business.

Cons

I would like some other forecasting and historical reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin G.

Dog City

2018-11-30

Big fan!!!

Pros

Run cards, many good updates recently, mobile compatible.

Cons

Collecting deposits including tax is a hassle. Tip reports are confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jesus A.

Very efficient and easy to use.

2017-08-04

Rapid response for chat support, accessable anywhere, user friendly for both clients and users, and so many other new and exciting features.

Pros

It allows for a more interactive and engaging experience for our clients and our staff. Chat support has proven to be invaluable for us.

Cons

We don't have the ability to customize reports so we've had to make changes to some of our procedures to make the reports work.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brian M.

We transitioned a large business to Gingr this year, and their support team was superb.

2017-09-13

it has saved us a lot of time and anguish over our old legacy database software.

Pros

We used a database style kennel management system for 10 years, and transferred over 2500 clients to Gingr.

Cons

The invoicing is a bit too rigid perhaps.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve C.

Gingr Has Been A Game Changer

2017-02-22

Our customers also enjoy receiving report cards with the details of their dogs visit.

Pros

Modern interface, excellent support.

Cons

Importing customer records from old software to Gingr was time consuming.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gingr

Great investment to give your company a professional look and feel.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wendy H.

Gingr review

2018-12-01

Pros

I love that we can use it at multiple business locations and share one client database.

Cons

The software lacks some reporting features.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie A.

Very Good Program for Boarding Facilities

2019-04-12

Billing accuracy has increased, but the bills are difficult to read/explain (not as direct and easy to understand as a basic invoice)to customers.

Pros

Invoicing is streamlined but again not easily changeable while customers are in front of you...lots of boxes to check and confirm prior to the customer being ready to pay an accurate bill. Part of this may just be our learning to use the system effectively.

Cons

Reservations/appointments that are already scheduled are time consuming to change.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jolie M.

This software has saved us so much time, has saved us money and has actually increased our business.

2017-09-13

Our whole team can access the software on their phone and it helps us to communicate properly.

Pros

Our clients love the report cards.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
DJ M.

Helped get our business software to the cloud

2019-04-15

Pros

This software helped move our business out of a Kennel Software coupled with an accounting software.

Cons

Some pricing limitations and reporting limitations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heather M.

Gingr is the one!

2018-12-24

Training employees in customer service is very easy and we never have to trick the app into doing what we need!

Pros

Comprehensive app that connects back end procedures and front end information.

Cons

Reports take time collaborate for accurate information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark G.

Very Good So Far

2017-01-05

We are just in the beginning stages of using the Ginger software, but in our limited time with the software we are extremely happy with customer support, ease of use, and the flexibility of the program.

Pros

Ability to perform functions with limited clicks.

Cons

Small font size on reports

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gingr

Best I have seen so far.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan B.

Just right!

2018-11-05

Pros

Tablet accessible, keeps owners up-to-date, clean reports, and new features being added frequently.

Cons

Grooming scheduling and charges have been a learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom C.

Gingr was a good choice for us

2018-11-30

Pros

Web based, modern user interface, get all updates automatically with SaaS.

Cons

Reporting is still not where it needs to be.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nathan M.

Overall the system has made our job easier. Their service and support are terrible.

2017-07-27

Pros

The system is web based so you can access it from anywhere which makes it very easy for management to see what the staff sees if they are out of the building

Cons

The fact that Gingr feels it holds no responsibility to support their customers. We are not tech people and have businesses to run, if we were in IT we wouldn't have this system in the first place.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Gingr


Hi Nathan. Thank you for your positive comments about the software. I¿m pleased to know that it has made your job easier. I truly regret that you had a less than positive experience with our support team. Having personally reviewed the issue, I see that the support team did provide a solution, with detailed instructions for implementation. Our company policy is that support does not change settings for customers after the business has gone live with the app, but instead advises the customer as to how to make the changes themselves. Regrettably, you elected not to use any of your included setup support calls prior to going live, so it makes sense that some things were not set up properly. We strongly advise that setup is thoroughly tested prior to going live, so that there aren't any surprises when you're up and running. Finally, in addition to providing a solution, considering your issue further, we made a code change to the app for you. I hope that helped. Thank you for your business.

Read more
Lindesay G.

Excellent and efficient

2015-02-25

The software works wonderfully on all of our mobile devices we use for a variety of day to day business apps and communication.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more