Point of Rental Software Features

Point of Rental Software

Cloud-based rental store/inventory management software

4.37/5 (79 reviews)

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accounting Integration
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Analytics/ROI Tracking
Asset Management
Asset Tracking
Auto / Boat Rental
Availability Indicator
Availability Management
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Barcoding/RFID
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Booking Management
CRM
Calendar Management
Chat/Messaging
Client Portal
Contract/License Management
Cost Tracking
Credit Card Management
Credit Card Processing
Customer Accounts
Customer Database
Customer History
Customer Management
Customizable Branding
Customizable Reports
Customization
Data Import/Export
Delivery Tracking
Discount Management
Dispatch Management
Document Management
Document Storage
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Templates
Equipment Maintenance
Equipment Rental
Equipment Tracking
Event Calendar
Expense Tracking
Inspection Management
Inventory Control
Inventory Management
Inventory Tracking
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Kitting
Labor Cost Reporting
Late Fee Calculation
Maintenance Management
Maintenance Scheduling
Medical Equipment Rental
Mobile Access
Multi-Location
Online Booking
Order Management
Order Tracking
Product Identification
Purchase Order Management
QuickBooks Integration
Quotes/Estimates
Rate Management
Real Time Notifications
Recurring Rentals
Reminders
Reorder Management
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reservations Management
Retail Inventory Management
Scheduling
Search/Filter
Self Service Portal
Short / Long Term Rental
Social Media Integration
Supplier Management
Task Scheduling
Third Party Integrations
Transaction History
Utilization Reporting
Work Order Management
Learn moreCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accounting Integration
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Analytics/ROI Tracking
Asset Management
Asset Tracking
Auto / Boat Rental
Availability Indicator
Availability Management
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Barcoding/RFID
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Booking Management
CRM
Calendar Management
Chat/Messaging
Client Portal
Contract/License Management
Cost Tracking
Credit Card Management
Credit Card Processing
Customer Accounts
Customer Database
Customer History
Customer Management
Customizable Branding
Customizable Reports
Customization
Data Import/Export
Delivery Tracking
Discount Management
Dispatch Management
Document Management
Document Storage
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Templates
Equipment Maintenance
Equipment Rental
Equipment Tracking
Event Calendar
Expense Tracking
Inspection Management
Inventory Control
Inventory Management
Inventory Tracking
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Kitting
Labor Cost Reporting
Late Fee Calculation
Maintenance Management
Maintenance Scheduling
Medical Equipment Rental
Mobile Access
Multi-Location
Online Booking
Order Management
Order Tracking
Product Identification
Purchase Order Management
QuickBooks Integration
Quotes/Estimates
Rate Management
Real Time Notifications
Recurring Rentals
Reminders
Reorder Management
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reservations Management
Retail Inventory Management
Scheduling
Search/Filter
Self Service Portal
Short / Long Term Rental
Social Media Integration
Supplier Management
Task Scheduling
Third Party Integrations
Transaction History
Utilization Reporting
Work Order Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accounting Integration
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Analytics/ROI Tracking
Asset Management
Asset Tracking
Auto / Boat Rental
Availability Indicator
Availability Management
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Barcoding/RFID
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Booking Management
CRM
Calendar Management
Chat/Messaging
Client Portal
Contract/License Management
Cost Tracking
Credit Card Management
Credit Card Processing
Customer Accounts
Customer Database
Customer History
Customer Management
Customizable Branding
Customizable Reports
Customization
Data Import/Export
Delivery Tracking
Discount Management
Dispatch Management
Document Management
Document Storage
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Templates
Equipment Maintenance
Equipment Rental
Equipment Tracking
Event Calendar
Expense Tracking
Inspection Management
Inventory Control
Inventory Management
Inventory Tracking
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Kitting
Labor Cost Reporting
Late Fee Calculation
Maintenance Management
Maintenance Scheduling
Medical Equipment Rental
Mobile Access
Multi-Location
Online Booking
Order Management
Order Tracking
Product Identification
Purchase Order Management
QuickBooks Integration
Quotes/Estimates
Rate Management
Real Time Notifications
Recurring Rentals
Reminders
Reorder Management
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reservations Management
Retail Inventory Management
Scheduling
Search/Filter
Self Service Portal
Short / Long Term Rental
Social Media Integration
Supplier Management
Task Scheduling
Third Party Integrations
Transaction History
Utilization Reporting
Work Order Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Mobile apps

iOS App


2 reviews

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Android App


0 reviews

Point of Rental Software Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Point of Rental Software's features:

Matt C.

This software rocks

2018-11-05

Pros

Ease of use, inventory management, website management, customer service is awesome.

Cons

This software has a lot of reports and analytics, a simpler way to navigate would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks, Matt!

We're glad you're enjoying your Point of Rental experience. Have you heard of our new Report Finder, which came out a couple weeks ago? I think you're going to love its ability to help you see what each report does and where to find it. All you have to do is tell it what you want to know! =)

Read more
Andre C.

Extremely happy with PoR. Excellent support from both the IT department and the support staff

2017-11-06

Inventory sharing is great.

Pros

We like the inventory sharing as well.

Cons

In many places in the software the system does not keep the filters or sort whenever coming in and out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thank you for that feedback, Andre! We appreciate your input, as it helps us guide the future of our software - we look forward to working with you to overcome the obstacles you're facing now and make the benefits even better!

Read more
Erin S.

Point of Rental Review

2019-03-20

This software has allowed me to confirm, with analytical reports, the profitably of our decisions.

Pros

The software is easy to use and allows for the entry and management of very detailed information.

Cons

I have struggled with custom report creation and there is little information in the Net Help

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Erin, we're glad you're enjoying your Point of Rental experience! If you need assistance with creating custom reports, our support team will be happy to help you out - you have full 24/7 phone support here to back you up. =) Thanks for being a part of the Point of Rental family!

Read more
Daryl S.

Great software, even better support

2019-11-12

Overall, we enjoy using POR. We have moved to POR six years ago and we wouldn't go anywhere else if we had to make the decision again.

Pros

New features are being added to allow customers pay and ask for quotes online.

Cons

So, the full functionality is not available easily on mobile devices.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks, Daryl!

We're glad to have you as a part of the Point of Rental family and we think you'll be excited about the direction we're taking the software in the future as we increase accessibility and focus on ease of use. We're also excited to see our new Pointers become the trusted experts that you love to talk to in the future because they're so knowledgeable. =)

Read more
Robin S.

Horrible customer service and useless reports

2021-04-30

Not good

Pros

At the time of purchase it was the only thing that could accomplish tracking rental inventory

Cons

Reports are useless.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew W.

POR

2018-11-05

Game changer for us as a small family owned business.

Pros

The ease of use and the customer service is always on point.

Cons

Wish there was more automated printed reports weekly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks, Matthew! We're glad you're finding Point of Rental worth your investment, and our support staff loves hearing they're appreciated (by someone other than us marketing folks telling everyone else how great they are). =)

Read more
Greg G.

Best software we have used.

2018-11-05

Our old system was hard to learn on and did not provide same level of reporting as point of rental does.

Pros

Easy to use, very helpful staff and the level of detail within the product is what we like most.

Cons

Reporting options can be challenging to learn, but usually there are multiple ways to get to same report, just takes some time to figure it out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks, Greg! We're glad you're enjoying your Point of Rental experience. You might also be happy to learn about our recent addition to NetHelp, Report Finder. It catalogs all of our reports with an explanation of what each report is and where you can find it. All you have to do is search for what you want to know and Report Finder will find all the relevant reports. =)

Read more
Bridget P.

Don't do it or get a visual ahead of time

2021-08-12

Negative, lots of pain points, limitations, and workarounds to get it setup for us

Pros

We were excited to get a rental software to help make things easy. Some of the items promised in sales presentation, didn't happen and lots of workarounds.

Cons

Continues to not work for our business. Sloppy data flow and not good with reporting.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rachel W.

Point of Rental switch

2018-11-05

Point of Rental has changed our company functionality for the better and we are so happy to have made this change. We wish we had done it sooner!

Pros

We switched from a different system and POR has so many more reporting options and better functionality than we’ve ever had.

Cons

The only thing I’ve found so far that I would change is the way reports export into Excel.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks, Rachel! We're glad you're enjoying Point of Rental and we encourage you to request that reporting tweak within uInnovate so our development team knows about it. =) Thanks for joining us at the International Conference!

Read more
Brian E.

Best Software I have ever dealt with

2019-03-21

After dealing with rental software for 15+ years, we made the change to POR and I can't believe how good they are. I regret not making the switch 10 years earlier. POR is rental specific and they have made our process very seamless. THE best in the industry!!

Pros

Value, ease of operation, reports, functionality, service second to none

Cons

If I have to point our something...They are in Texas and we are in Georgia. So we are operating a couple of hours before they arrive...but they have always had an "early bird" on call to answer the simple technical questions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks for the kind words, Brian! We're glad to have had you as part of the Point of Rental family for so long and we're excited to continue to work with you and Northeast Georgia Rentals (even if it means we have to come in early =) )!

Read more
Kevin E.

Point-of-Rental review

2016-02-21

Pros

Would like to see some improvements to the maintenance screen and reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Evelyn H.

POR Conference 2014

2014-10-16

-Quick response to technical inquiries made to 1-800 number -Staff very knowledgable regarding Enterprise 2014 -Updates to software reflect customer suggestion submissions -Easy to use -Good inventory controls

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
E S.

BEST rental management software

2015-11-19

Best rental management software and a great team in sales and support!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karen A.

Point of Rental

2019-03-21

We love the software. If we ever need support they are always so very helpful. If they don't know the answer immediately they are really good at finding the answer and getting back to us.

Pros

It is so easy to use. Reports are just a click away.

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks for the kind words, Karen! We're glad to have you and All Star Rental as part of the Point of Rental family!

Read more
Anonymous
(Machinery company, 11-50 employees)

Equipment Rental Store Owner

2019-03-20

Point of Rental is the central hub for our business, and is where we do nearly 100% of our day-to-day tasks. There is no better dedicated product on the market for a rental business, but be aware that not all of the additional features are worth the price of admission.

Pros

Point of Rental is basically handling every facet of a rental business, from time clock to inventory to depreciation to reservations and missed rental tracking.

Cons

The software has clearly been added to and modified over time, and the UI is uneven and inconsistent in many places.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


We're glad you're continuing to enjoy the software - we feel that one of the advantages to having so many additional features is that it allows you to only add the features that will be worth it for your business (with thousands of businesses using the software, there are going to be a lot of differing requirements).

That said, if you have recommendations for improvements in any modules, you can either submit them via uInnovate (link found in your software) or contact us directly at support@pointofrental.com and we'll see what we can do!

Thanks for being a part of the Point of Rental family and for providing solid feedback!

Read more
Nick W.

Very poor initial training

2019-03-21

Very bad initial set up, not enough time given to training. Extra training costs a fortune. Didn’t deliver what they promised when it came to reproducing forms, had to constantly push for action. A year on and still not using it.

Pros

Nothing. Very disappointed with the whole package.

Cons

Too generic, does not fit my business, very basic looking interface, it looks like it’s just a Microsoft Access programme, dated looking.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks for letting us know there's been an issue, Nick! The issues you cite happen to be two issues we're investing a lot of time in right now - both a new interface and video training courses are in the works as I type and should be out later this year. I'll try to get someone on our UK team to reach out and see what we can do to help get you using the software in the meantime.

I think once you're actually set up and are able to get the most out of it, you'll enjoy it a lot more. =)

We appreciate the feedback - it only helps us as we strive to provide the best hire and rental software experience available.

Read more
Jimmy F.

Too Many Limitations for Any Serious Business to Consider for Online Bookings

2021-04-21

Your customers pay the price and you lose the business.

Pros

It gets the job done, but the interface and UI for online is antiquated.

Cons

Cart abandonment is the #1 issue facing web businesses these days, and creating redundant and unnecessary steps in the checkout process just can't happen.This is Ecommerce 101, don't stand between your customers and payment. As it sits right now, the POR checkout needs an overhaul. 1) Customers need the option to check out as a guest.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Hey Jimmy, thanks for the feedback. Our support team will be reaching out shortly to help with any issues you're currently having. They'll also be able to show you how to access our support team via chat.

Read more
Walter B.

Point-of-Rental_Review

2019-03-21

Pros

Not only are there a million reports we can run but the system is also very easy to use and train people to use.

Cons

if we want to add functions to the system to taylor them to our needs it is hard to get that done.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Hi Walter! Thanks for the kind words! We're glad you're enjoying the system and of course we'd love to make all the changes customers request - but when you have more than 5,000 customers, you get a lot of requests for tailored features. =)

Are you using uInnovate to suggest ideas so your fellow rental experts can vote on them? That's the easiest way for us to see which customizations should be a priority so we can keep making the best, most beneficial possible software for everyone.

Thanks again for being a part of the Point of Rental family and we look forward to working with you to help you and Taylor Rental be as successful as possible. =)

Read more
Dustin J.

Point of Rental has increased our workflow 10X.

2017-08-08

Pros

We like the inventory feature the best as it will notify us if we don't have any rentals items avail or enough of an item that specific day.

Cons

Point of Rental Cloud version is still growing. We wish it had a better yearly and monthly calendar view to see more events instead of just weekly view.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks, Dustin!

We're glad you're enjoying Rental Essentials. With our next update, you should be able to see your reservations using Google Calendar (hopefully that helps!), and we're developing long-term calendars within the software in a way that would work for all of our customers.

We're glad to have you with us and we look forward to helping Venue Services further as we continue to add features!

Read more
Eric S.

Nice interface, poor customer support

2019-11-14

I really want to like this application/software as is is easy to use and well though through, but there are many glaring issues that are driving me to look elsewhere.

Pros

The interface is nice, clean, and easy to navigate.

Cons

I am also not impressed with their website integration. I have my own wordpress site and all they offer is an iframe.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Hi Eric! Thanks for the (mostly) positive review. Item availability is most easily accessed via the item screen - you can see availability not just for the week, but for the entire month of each item you rent. Hopefully that helps!

Essentials' customer service is comparable to that of other cloud-based rental softwares; part of what makes the software so affordable is that customer service is entirely web-based. That said, you should be receiving responses to emails within a day (depending on when you send the email; usually it'll take less time).

If you'd like to switch packages, add features, or just check out a demo, our sales team is back from our annual conference and would be happy to work with you to figure out how to get us back on track. -Brian

Read more
Kyle L.

Great software, great people

2019-03-21

Saves me money by tracking every point of my rental fleet from my ROI to depreciation.

Pros

The Day at a Glance feature, without it I would be lost at work.

Cons

Nothing, It has what I need to run our business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks for the kind words, Kyle! We're happy to have you as part of the Point of Rental family!

Read more
Christina P.

Great experience, always something new to learn.

2017-11-06

The enhanced technologies allows us to better track our inventory and communicate easier in and around the organization.

Pros

I love how the company is continuously updating their programs and new technology is always being introduced to us consumers.

Cons

There is an additional cost to every facet of the system, but in the long run well worth the investment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks for your feedback, Christina! We're glad to have you as part of the POR family!

Read more
Michelle W.

POR Conference

2014-10-16

- Great product the facilitates easy rentals and inventory tracking - Friendly staff that are knowledgable about the product and the trade - Many features are not obvious during use, but staff has been highlighting many of them during the conference

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
DKeith G.

POR, A life saver

2019-03-21

One of the reasons that we purchased rental software was to keep track of the maintenance schedules on the machines and this software is excellent.

Pros

They have so many features that they should offer a college course just to teach you all the features. The dashboard is easy to understand and the performance of the information to help the facility to track every aspect of the business is great.

Cons

There are some modules that they require you to purchase if you want to have the ability to perform those functions, it would be nice if everything was included from the beginning.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Point of Rental Software


Thanks for the kind words, Keith!

We do have our version of a college course at our International Conference each year, where there are three days of training on nearly every aspect of the software (as well as one-on-one face-to-face time with our trainers), if you'd like to come down to Fort Worth in November. =)

We make many of our features optional because there are thousands of rental stores using Point of Rental and lots of them don't need all the features - we try to give you the option to get only the features you need so you're not buying more than you want.

We're glad you're enjoying what you have and we'd love to see you at our International Conference this year! Thanks for being a part of the Point of Rental family.

Read more
Arden S.

New to POR

2014-10-15

I am very happy with the system this far, it has helped us to better track inventory and to provide our customers with up to date contracts and services.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more