Rocket Matter Reviews

Rocket Matter Reviews

Rocket Matter

Legal Practice Management & Time and Billing Software

4.37/5 (64 reviews)
8,119

Amy Martinez

Use it daily, not perfect, but very practical

12/06/2017

Pros

Ease of use and accessibility to customer service two things I love most about this software. I find it easy to train others on it as well.

Cons

The calendar has issues sometimes syncing with Google calendar. The attorneys in our firm rely on Google calendar as if it were their bible.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tabitha Hochscheid

an excellent cloud-based comprehensive system for small firm solo lawyers.

09/06/2017

full service hourly billing with, email , calendar and accounting integration.

Pros

accessibility of the system, integration of calendaring and email. It works well with cloud-based document storage as well. New integrations are added often.

Cons

the interface for email doesn't allow you to bill efficiently for older emails. You essentially need to open and email and bill this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shannon Bronico

Great tool for managing trust accounting, client billing, calendars and case notes in once place

17/05/2017

RocketMatter acts as an automated trust accounting system that updates as I bill clients, and provides various reports and summaries to help analyze the financial needs of the business easily.

Pros

The billing system offers many options to tweak the system to suit many different billing situations for clients, such as billing method (hourly, flat fee, evergreen retainer, etc). You can upload invoice formats that you can customize to suit your needs. For example, we need invoices to be generated in English, Spanish, or in both languages depending on the client. We created formats per these 3 needs and can set the default invoice format per client or per matter. It also serves as a secondary record of trust accounting for the IOLTA account.

Cons

The Matter Documents system needs work. It's useful to be able to record notes, but they can't be exported, there's no option for generating a printer-friendly version, and you can't open them in new windows. That results in printing case notes taking up 30 to 60 minutes of my time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rachel Schaffer

Best Case Management Software Hands Down

17/04/2017

My firm has been with Rocketmatter since early 2011. I have looked and dabbled in other case management softwares but we just keep finding that Rocketmatter is the best fit for our firm. The user interface is so easy even the most untechnologically savvy person can use it! Just this past week Rocketmatter called me to tell me we were eligible for discount. Things like that and the CONSTANT updates to keep the software at the cutting edge for attorney purposes is why we will continue to stay with Rocketmatter.

Pros

easy user interface link to quickbooks and lawpay client portal

Cons

If a client forgets their portal password I have to call Rocketmatter to have it reset.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Thomas McAvity

Overpriced, no real functionality

26/03/2017

Good program for completing one single solitary task, billing, but the service is totally overpriced, we are a eight person firm, paying $600 plus per month and the other features are a cruel joke. I will be ditching it as soon as I can migrate our data elsewhere

Pros

Online billing

Cons

Lack of functionality, price

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

Apparently they cut you off from data with no exceptions once account is closed

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
McKenna Cox

Rocket Matter makes my and my clients' lives easier

15/02/2017

I love that I or my staff can look up anything we need to know about any case whenever we need to when a client calls; when we are on the go; or when working from home or on a trip. Uploaded documents and linking emails to a case on Rocketmatter makes every case file easy to find and use no matter where I am. It's like my whole filing cabinet is with me wherever I need it. And notes make digging through files for information or case status a thing of the past. I cannot tell you how much easier my life is since our firm has switched (and got my whole firm to switch) to Rocketmatter. Timekeeping woes are a thing of the past as I can enter time in my phone right from the courthouse. And billing takes 2 minutes instead of a whole day, with bills ready to be emailed or mailed to clients at a moment's notice. Clients really like the detailed, itemized statements Rocketmatter produces. The staff is responsive and ready to help.

Pros

Easy to use, keep everything organized, keeps me on track, increase communications between staff and attorneys, mobile.

Cons

The iPad app is very glitchy; two-way calendar syncing with iCal has long been difficult if not impossible; Syncing calendars with Google cal is glitchy; billing for large insurance companies (LEDES for example) is difficult; and the software can be slow at times depending on your access to high speed internet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

I would LOVE to see a way to sync more than 1 email account with a case

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Thomptson

Horrible spammers

10/02/2017

I hate these horrible spammers. Spam wastes my time and therefore costs me money.

Pros

Nothing. I detest their spam

Cons

Obviously, the predication of their business model on spamming attorneys. I also detest their lack of an "unsubscribe" option on their spam

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Monthly

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Victoria Edwards

Easy to Use, But Pricey for What you Get and Terrible Policy on Accessing Data After Cancellation

24/10/2016

I used Rocket Matter for several months, but I decided to switch to another law firm management software because Rocket Matter does not have much functionality. For $65, all you really get is billing and invoicing software (they claim to also offer document management but it's just a Dropbox feature, and you have to manually create templates if you want them). Their other competitors, CLIO and Firm Central, also offer deadline assistant, and a more robust document management system for about $35 more a month. CLIO also offers Lawpay with their subscription, which saves you an extra $20 a month. Upon cancelling Rocket Matter, I also discovered a terrible policy that the company strictly enforces. Once you cancel, you only have access to your existing data until the end of your billing cycle. After that, you have to renew your subscription to access your data, even if you are not using their software for billing and invoicing. And, there are no exceptions. I had a death in the family and needed only a few more days to complete migration of data, but they would not budge on the policy and even suggested paying for another month of Rocket Matter to complete migration, in case I wanted to switch back. No thank you. I think Rocket Matter has to get with the picture on this policy. For example, CLIO offers a free, 90-day period after cancellation to export data. It only makes sense, if you are not actually using the software to bill or invoice. Buyer beware, if you are testing out Rocket Matter.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cyndi Abbate

Rocket Matter Rocks

05/10/2016

Having had no background in billing, I had to learn this program on my own when I took this job. Rocket Matter has been very easy to pick up, very intuitive to use. The manual is easy to follow, the quick sheets are great and I am especially impressed with the customer service/help desk reps. BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE of any vendor I have every worked with! Nice, patient and very helpful. I highly recommend Rocket Matter.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Nothing so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

There is one thing I would like to be able to do. We charge our clients a monthly administration fee and I would like to be able to set up a recurring charge per account so that I do not have to enter it manually every month.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
BARBARA RHENEY

Rocket Matter Support Team can't be Beat!

26/09/2016

Although I feel that there are some features that could be adjusted or tweaked to make better, I gave a resounding 5 star rating to the service team there and would have given more if available. When I hit a road block, 9 times out of 10, the team there gets it "fixed" while I'm on the phone, within minutes, (I do like being able to talk with a human quickly for most problems). If the issue is one that is a bit more complicated, they do not hesitate to get help from someone who has maybe been there longer or might have had the issue come up before. And, they are always willing to "put suggestions" in front of the developing team. They always work with you on your level and can put it in words that anyone can understand.

Pros

That I can get help anytime I need it. Again, hats off to a great support team!

Cons

the calendar . . . I wish it was easier to enter events without having to go back and forth between the calendar and the event screen . . . that you could enter multiple events on the same screen . . . I wish that there were more color categories . . . We use outlook calendar and cannot sync with Rocket Matter for this reason. We use different color categories for mediations, hearings, etc. And, combine those categories with the attorney/people attending each. Do not like that you have individual "blocks" if more than one person is attending the same event.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Beatriz Pelayo-Garcia

Best Law Practice Management Software!

26/09/2016

I have been using Rocket Matter for years. This is by far the best law practice management software. The interface is very natural and easy to use. You will find all the information you need regarding a case available to you no matter where you are. With this software, you cannot go wrong! Also, the customer service is the best! I highly recommend this software!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
maggie paez

rocketmatter review

26/09/2016

i consider rocketmatter the "american express" of law office software. both rocketmatter and american express offer me" first rate customer service" - it is as simple as that! when i have an issue , i want to speak with a real live expert who can help me resolve the issue. i don't want to send an email only to get back some confusing response which may not make sense to me... nor do i want to wade through a phone tree for 20 minutes (at least!) only to end up in the wrong dept. and then get disconnected when i am transferred. i hope rocketmatter continues their superb customer service focus - so i can continue to be a loyal customer.

Pros

highly intuitive from a user perspective.

Cons

i still think that the statement page is confusing. the date of last payment should be notable on statement page. the ability to enter more than one payment per month along with dates should be an option and notable on statement page. not that impressed with the new interface - find it slows me down in entry of data.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nathan  Petersen

Great software that makes running your firms easier and more efficient!

26/09/2016

Great software that makes running your firms easier and more efficient! I have been using Rocket Matter since 2011 and will not be moving away. Tracking cases, recording time, dealing with billing and invoicing are all much easier with Rocket Matter! I am convinced that my firms makes significantly more because of Rocket Matter.

Pros

Easy to use, efficient and streamlines administrative tasks.

Cons

Would prefer to group discount or bundle deal for additional users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

Connect your Quickbooks and LawPay account and learn to use all of the integrated features. It is worth the time spent learning.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John  Z

Keeps my life sane

26/09/2016

Very satisfied overall. Like everything it could always use a few tweaks to coincide with the way I do things but I still find it to be the best system around for my practice

Pros

Intuitive, easy to use, great customer support, and never had an issue with the system not be available. The new multiple timers are a great addition.

Cons

Wish it had a better Android interface. I also miss the stand alone timer window. I use the one on the main screen, but did like the separate window. Also wish I could download multiple documents to the portl at once instead of having to do so one at a time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

Put in the effort to start and learn to use it. It will be worth the effort, savings and additional billing you will be able to achieve quickly thereafter.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tammy Dean

Great product, user friendly

26/09/2016

Rocket Matter is a great tool for tracking and maintaining client files and scheduling dockets. The billing is pretty straight forward--easy.

Pros

The ease of use and simplification of opening files. If a change needs to be made to a matter after it has been set up, it is easily changed or corrected.

Cons

Clients with more than one matter receive separate bills for each matter which is confusing. It would be helpful to allow clients with more than one matter to receive one bill. I would like to see one bill that includes all matters with each matter's costs and time separated. The invoice cover would summarize the costs and time for each matter then give a Client total. Hope this makes sense.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robin Cowley

Rocket Matter Review

21/09/2016

We have only been using this program for several months; however, it was user friendly and easy to maneuver from function to function.

Pros

I really like the multiple timer function, it makes timekeeping more efficient.

Cons

That you need to scroll down to get into the review and edit functions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

There are many functions I have not had the time to utilize, so I am not sure what else to comment on.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patricia Uro-May

mis dos centavos

16/09/2016

Have mostly liked what I know how to use but am sure I am underutilizing it and have not yet been willing to go to the new version since I would feel lost and wase too much time learning the new system. It would be great if I had someone to talk to to walk me through it in person or on the phone with them seeing my screen

Pros

Billing feature, ability to have client information in same place

Cons

Not so easy to navigate between one thing and another. The timer feature drives me crazy because it often does not work and tit has to be turned off before the program or you cannot use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

Better direct support for user would be helpful, especially for those of us who are not as computer savvy as you younger people...

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Garver

Rocket matter rocks

15/09/2016

Overall my experience is good. It has helped greatly in tracking time and billing. Good to have a to do task list

Pros

Easy to use the basic features of time keeping and billing. Also good for tracking tasks

Cons

Having had time to learn document management systems. Seems very complicated

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

Good value. Worth the price. I know I am not yet using all of its features

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kirk Simoneau

Happy, Happy, Happy!

15/09/2016

We had been using another product, but our staff hated it. We switched to RocketMatter and it is so easy to use and intuitive.

Pros

The portability of the apps.

Cons

I wish it had more accounting aspects.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

For any software that will run your practice, ask for a trial period.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jodi Martin

Great program for Solo/Small Firm setting

14/09/2016

I have been using Rocket Matter for the past 4 years and have been extremely satisfied with it. In my previous big firm life we used a billing system that wasted more time than it saved and we didn't even use a case management system. Starting my own firm I knew that I wanted something better that would streamline my practice. Rocket Matter filled those needs, plus some. The billing side of Rocket Matter makes my invoicing process more efficient and accurate. I handle a wide range of cases, so I use all of the billing options, to include flat fee, hourly, and contingency, and I like that Rocket Matter is set up to handle each of them. The trust accounting features allow me to stay on top of my trust account and know which files will need to be replenished. The integration with LawPay allows my clients to pay their invoices quicker. And my clients enjoy the client portal nearly as much as I do. On the few occasions I have encountered difficulties I have been able to reach out to support and receive quick and accurate assistance. The only reason I gave it four stars on features is because there are two things I think could be improved - it would be great 1) if clients could upload documents to the client portal and 2) if the billing in contingency cases was easier to close out. I can't imagine running my firm without Rocket Matter by my side.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joseph Sullivan

Rocket Matter is great for small law firms.

14/09/2016

Overall, Rocket Matter is a great law practice management tool for the small law firm. I started my own law firm right out of law school and find the resources Rocket Matter provide to be an essential element of my success.

Pros

I like the task management and billing features.

Cons

You cannot see your Tasks in the iPhone App. There should be a simpler way to print receipts for payments. The should be a way to set the Task Listing permanently to "Due" Viewing

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

Keep the product improvements going!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heidi Richert Clerc

Great Client Management Software

14/09/2016

Having our client management data available online has been wonderful. You can access information and run reports from anywhere you have internet.

Pros

Online and accessible.

Cons

Some features are still unavailable on invoices like sum totals for different users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

Watch the tutorials and/or call customer service if you run into any trouble. Customer service and support are absolutely the best!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amy Martinez

Rocket Matter - it's a life saver!

14/09/2016

The customer service and attention to detail is superb! Whenever I have a problem, I call the Support number and they always answer, if they cannot figure out the problem, they send the issue up to their engineers and I always get a response the next business day!

Pros

The ease of use and billing feature

Cons

A few glitches here and there, but nothing is perfect.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Klausner

Rocket Matters is a welcome product for billing and calendaring

14/09/2016

A solid calendar and billing program, with the added benefit of being cloud-based and having friendly, knowledge and available support staff

Pros

It is easy to use, and you don't need to be a technophile to get the benefits of the product

Cons

Does not calculate interest - a necessary component for a billing program

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Rocket Matter

No, thank you

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amy Atwood

Excellent Service that Keeps Getting Better!

03/08/2016

We started using RocketMatter about six years ago and it was the best billing decision we ever made. Highly recommend.

Pros

The program is intuitive and user-friendly. The support team is extremely responsive and always professional.

Cons

In the past, we've wished for certain features, and RocketMatter has delivered! The one thing we're currently wishing for is another Outlook plug-in that will allow us to choose matters while setting our schedules in our Outlook calendars. When we asked them about this recently, they said they're already working on it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more