Simio Reviews

Simio

Facility design simulation & production scheduling

Simio

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


102 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best simulation software i ever tried

Reviewed 4 years ago

I was using Arena for 5 years until we got to know SImio. It was a breakthrough. We started using it and never stopped after that, in the university and in our consulting firm.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Discrete Event Simulator

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a Professor, I have been using SIMIO. Simio is object oriented and easy to use in complex projects. The user interface and the capabilities to build sophisticated libraries are a big plus. In addition, the utilization by industry makes it a good Industrial Standard and a good line in any CV to look for a job in simulation. The capabilities to make your own libraries are very important to do research. The SIMIO team includes the recent advances in the theory of simulation in this tools and that makes it even more powerful.

Pros

Object Oriented Easy to Use Use by Industry

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Industrial Engineering Professor

Reviewed 4 years ago

SIMIO is amazing simulation Software Tool. It helps student performing their projects easily and proficiently

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A pleasure to use this instinctive yet comprehensive approach to simulation of complex systems.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We replaced previous simulation software that was used for research and teaching. The overall performance is wonderful.

Pros

The ease of use and of parametrization of elements. In honest comparison with other software of similar capability, the elements parameter are incredibly easy to access and to modify. The simulations themselves seem to have been otpimized in comparison to similar software on the market, as the computing time for similar task is quite reduced.

Cons

The documentation of the software might need improvement, as it tends to be sometimes complicated to obtain specific information on specific matter. The recommended books and written tutorials are not always sufficient for the variety of simulaiton work that one may encounter

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We have used Simio in many industries and it always delivered! Simio is a great simulation tool!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and smooth integration between various libraries. To make your animation looks great is a breeze. We have tried quite complex expressions and Simio was always up to it. It is very quick to test a concept due to objects and easy to use processes.

Cons

The fact that in the "State Variable Name" field you don't have access to the normal Expression Builder. This is true for all Assign functions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

University of Houston

Reviewed 4 years ago

I find Simio very powerful simulation language with lots of features. I taught ARENA and SIMAN prior to learning Simio three years ago. However, my students find it hard to learn how to model using Simio, especially advanced features (concept of Model vs Model Entity State Variables, tables and matrices). I have not mastered Scheduling part of Simio yet which I would like to teach in a Scheduling Theory course, one of these days.

Pros

Functionality and modeling flexibility.

Cons

Not easy to teach to my students, not easy to learn advanced features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Probably best in class simulation software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Relatively easy to learn and to use. Has great flexibility for almost any simulation application. Integrates well with data bases and can be readily extended for specific applications.

Cons

Sometimes its hard to keep up with the latest development, due to frequent updates and development. The development version cycle is about six weeks, so updates and new features come out frequently.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great value and support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Simulation of workflow processes.

Pros

Users have been very satisfied with the ease of use and setup process. After a downturn we needed to get users back on and the sales team made it very simple to onboard our users.

Cons

At the moment we are ramping back up from a downturn. Since this is a niche product, finding other applications for current licenses has been a challenge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid software for standard simulation purposes with some nice features

Reviewed 4 years ago

Simio offers all standard and basic functionality for the most simulation purposes. It has nice featrues when loading data from foreign systems into the internal table structure. Sometimes, it would be good to have something like a script language to provide user specific actions in a simple way rather than using the graphical process view, which gets sometimes very complicated.

Pros

Nice internal table structure and connection to the model entities Fast start and use in standard simulation problems

Cons

Graphical "programming" of user code sometimes get very complicated, a scripüt language support would be very helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SimBit is good

Reviewed 4 years ago

We purchased 2 licenses. The SimBit is really good, an excellent tool for quick start. The introduction is really good. The concept of token need to be more emphasized in the guid

Pros

No coding characteristic

Cons

Price

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, very visual

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ability to visually show to management how bad the queuing can be and the effect of adding resources.

Pros

Very easy to use even for someone that has no experience in modelization or operational research.

Cons

We can't write in a single CSV file the results of multiple replications. Need to use a VBA code to merge the CSV file of each replication

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features

Share this review:

a fantastic simulation software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software provides a lot of functionality that can be applied by the user. The huge coverage of subject areas allows people from different background to use simulation in their work

Cons

While there is a library of simbits to use, it does take a bit of thinking to link the simbits to a specific problem. This is especially difficult for newbies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simio for Manufacturing

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Simio is a fantastic software package that can we used to optimize current processes and model future state scenarios. I would recommend any manufacturing company to use this software.

Pros

I enjoyed the out of the box drag and drop functionality that allows for a new user to learn how to configure models quickly. I also like the ability to create logic using the same drag and drop functionality to model some of the more unique processes that happen in a production environment.

Cons

We used a third party to provide support and custom programming in our model. Once we had a complex model, it became very difficult to make changes without requiring the third party's involvement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simio has a number of great features for advanced modeling. Support is exceptional

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Advanced modeling constructs. Exceptional support. Regularly adds new features. Great user support group.

Cons

Need a Mac and Linux version. Would be great to have programming interface with R and python. Simio when deployed in a virtual environment is very sluggish (at least the set up in our university).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simio provides a great simulation tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

I came to Simio whilst looking to re-engage with simulation. As a previous user of other simulation software packages I have found Simio very easy to work with although there is a bit more "programming" and other nuances to master when compared to some other packages. Despite this I have found it easy to create some quite complex scenarios and obtain some very useful data that I would not have otherwise been able to get. The support team are great and very friendly and over all I find the package excellent. I would certainly recommend this to others.

Pros

Intuitive, good graphics, simple to use once you have understood some of the quirks regarding work centre programming.

Cons

The reports have too much information (pivot tables) and I have yet to work out how to isolate specific work centres at specific times. Thus it is difficult to pin down where WIP is gathering sometimes. This is probably due to my relative inexperience with the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Learning simio simulation

Reviewed 4 years ago

My learn about simio simulation software, begin in the university in my class of plant design, is a software very versatile and is very easy the integration with other software like sketchup for 3D model's and visualization

Pros

Easy learning, integration and visualization with another software

Cons

Summary statics is very complex, will be more explicit

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Utility for aircraft part development

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use Simio for some years now and it is always very fruitful. We simulated shops for aircraft composite parts, not only for us but also for customers. It is very easy to understand how Simio works and how to program it even for big shops to simulate. When we got experience with the software, we even started to link it with Excel to allow to manage shops in real time. Feel free to watch the video of Simio we placed on Youtube. Pierre Severin, engineering team leader at Coexpair

Pros

The visualisation of the machines and of the shop in general. The link with Excel for daily use in real life.

Cons

Sometime, a bit hard to to understand how to program very specific operations; the tric is to think like a software programmer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I have been developing an online simulation course

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

easy to learn and very modular, which means you can do most things without hassling with the menus,etc. process logic is also a huge plus, which prevents you from coding but simply building process steps to model things that you cant do with default menus.

Cons

The software support is great but the search menu could be advanced to find what you need exactly...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Industrial engnieer coordinador

Reviewed 4 years ago

SIMIO help me a lot as Teacher for industrial engineer tópics like simulation, optmization and DOE.

Pros

the graphics diagrams and option to validate results

Cons

Some gaps between the examples and the explanations to define the characteristics.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This is the best simulation software I have ever worked with as an operations research analyst

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the flexibility of the software the most. Out of the box the software can do almost anything you need either standard library objects. But for those rare instances where a standard object just isn't quite what you need the software allows you to customize an existing object or build your. It's awesome!

Cons

Honestly the only thing I can think of that might be considered a con is that when you start to import custom graphics objects the file size can get pretty large and the model starts to slow down.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SIMIO and Manufacturing

Reviewed 2 years ago

SIMIO's ease of use allows it to schedule and define production areas, programs and operations.

Pros

Easy of Use, complex ability in a user friendly configuration.

Cons

Large programs can slow down the system. Recovery is immediate afterwards.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of use for students to get the basic fundamentals of discrete event simulation. I also like the book and workbook associated with the software.

Cons

More tutorials on how to use certain aspects of the software for students. I also sometimes the way to get clipart sometimes gets stuck.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SIMIO in higher education

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use SIMIO for support of my teaching for more than five years. My classes are for business and IT students, so my evaluation is based on both users' and administrators' aspects of this software.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Distribution Centres in Clothing Retail Industry

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've been able to compare projects and their impacts on our distribution centres.

Pros

It's very visual and this makes it much easier to convince stakeholders of solutions shown with Simio. The software also helps us with decision making.

Cons

It's not always obvious how the software works, so training and good online resources are definitely necessary. Luckily Simio does provide these, you just need to take the time to sit and play around with the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The software has good functionality and is easy to apply and model.

Cons

The preview interface is not very dynamic and user friendly.

page 2 of 5