Simio Reviews

Simio

Facility design simulation & production scheduling

Simio

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


102 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Versatile and easy to learn simulation tool in market

Reviewed 2 years ago

Able to simulate and assess "what-if" scenarios for complex airline operations for understanding investment benefits, operational bottlenecks, and potential benefits of process improvements.

Pros

Enterprise team version allows us to have multiple users with limited amount of license; Easy to integrate with Excel for data input and output

Cons

Marginally on the higher side of memory intensive application; does not have/limited option/APIs to use the simulation engine outside of the SIMIO application.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I supervised graduae students conducting research projects using Simio

Reviewed 3 years ago

Simio has been greatly improving our research outputs and soliciting more research projects.

Pros

Simio provides great animation and is relatively easy to learn. Once you signed up for Simio newsletters, they will deliver emails regularly to inform you of interesting events.

Cons

It might not be a limitation of SImio but rather my unfamiliarity with that function. I know Arena can be integrated with optimization tools. I hope Simio has similar functionalities and promote it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The software has good functionality and is easy to apply and model.

Cons

The preview interface is not very dynamic and user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Simulation Package

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used Simio for almost 2 months. It is by far the easiest simulation package that can do 2D and 3D animation. Simio is also very easy to simulate a queuing system and easy to export the result in csv format. One noticeable drawback is the default value that Simio record was not consistent with the meaning of analytical model. For example, when I define maximum system capacity, the recorded value after simulation run seemed to go over the defined parameter. Thus, I've got to define my own state variable to record what I need (number in the system). BTW, I haven't tried the movable resource and many features yet, so couldn't write a review about it. However, if I have to model those other features, I will write a review some more.

Pros

easy to do 2D and 3D animation.

Cons

the meaning of the recorded values from simulation may be defined differently from analytical model.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has helped with making recommendations on staffing models, equipment use, and the impact on turnaround times. The stakeholders appreciate the predictability component to be able to test different scenarios before trying it in real life.

Pros

It has extensive functionality that stakeholders can easily understand and see value in.

Cons

It does not have a good way to represent statistics by hour of day which is important to a hospital that runs 24/7.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Intuitive and Challenging learning

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I have a good amount of experience with Arena and I can see how faster it can be with Simio to accomplish the same thing, especially the animation. I also appreciate the agent-based modeling with the token concept.

Cons

I find there is a lack of documentation in general. I have not found good documentation on functions and applications. Simbit is limited and examples are sometimes too complex. I have not found a description of functions and different utilization example. I would have liked to see a description of all functionalities of a server for example. There are so many users that come from Arena, I would have expected to see documentation to address the differences and suggest best practices to approach modeling.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Recommended Simulator

Reviewed 4 years ago

My team and me are teaching simulation with SIMIO because is friendly and very powerfull. Students understand software quickly an also, a posgraduate student made his Magister Thesis in quality engineering with a simulation as tool to predict behavior. He learned quickly and SIMIO was a useful tool to his work.

Pros

Is friendly and powerful

Cons

SIMIO hasn`t Analysis of Variance in its modules. So it is necessary to export data to statistical software to analize results.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The fastest simulation software so far

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great at user friendlyness and its functions are very easy to use. I prefer its usefulness to that of ARENA and other software that works with simulation.

Pros

Its easy to understand and navigate through the different options.

Cons

Its graphics are not totally high definition, it could improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great tool that is easy to use for many applications

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very easy to get started and model most simulation-related processes quickly. Users like the customizable entities and integration of downloadable 3D models to make the visualization very realistic.

Cons

Data import of large data sets with many different attributes is limited by the current interface. Customizing entity flow is only possible to some extent.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Simio

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The oportunity to create a wonderfull simulation of your process

Cons

The cost, it is so expensive for medium companies

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I consider Simio is difficult to learn.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I consider that Simio has an excellent set of feature for animations, statistical reports and scenery comparison tools. Another feature I like Simio is the mode how one can define variables in any simulation models.

Cons

Too much details for modelling discrete event dynamic systems, what difficult the modelling of systems.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Detailed Simulation Software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Simio does a fantastic job of bringing granularity to their product, making it much more detailed than other programs when it comes to controls and outputs.

Cons

Simio is very complex and takes full on training to use well, it is definitely not one to pick up and teach yourself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Architecture combined with technology made more amazing!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Simio is a tool made for architectural plans to turn to a 3D moving draft by the use of our modern technology. It has the same concept and design as a microsoft office software so its more familiar to the user which makes it easier to navigate. And unlike other draft making softwares, Simio can start with already made templates or even from an actual image and move on from there.

Cons

Keyboard shortcuts might be really useful, but Simio offers very little of it. But in general, the most frequently utilized tools have keyboard shortcuts like turning from 2D to 3D etc, which can be very helpful for the users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great tool for Decisión Making

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used SIMIO ofr the last 8 years. It has improved a lot and, at this time, I think is the best simulation software. As a profesor and a researcher, my students and I take advantage of its flexibility, easy of use, and performance. Great job guys.

Pros

easy of use

Cons

a bigger library and the possibility of integrating all simulaiton paradigms

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simio review

Reviewed 2 years ago

There is a learning curve and it took me about a month to get familiar with the program.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to build simulations. The tutorial videos are really helpful and easy to follow.

Cons

Sometimes certain properties are hard to find when clicked on multiple selections.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent customer support

Reviewed 4 years ago

When it comes to using Simio as a simulation modeling and analysis tool, there are many benefits such as user-friendly interface, many powerful features in detail levels, continuous improvements (even though too frequent updates), etc. However, standing out among them is the CUSTOMER SUPPORT. Every time I have any question and contact the support group, they are willing to answer in a timely manner. I have both graduate and undergraduate students using Simio, and they all have been consistently receiving great help.

Pros

- customer support - many functions

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

good for discrete event simulation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This software has features to simulate different discrete event scenarios and is really good for use in supply chain and industrial engineering applications

Cons

This software is not good for agent based simulations such as multi agent simulations

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

First time Simio User, long term simulation user

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've been using Simio for about 2 months now and am very happy with the software to date. The product takes a little longer to learn than some of the other packages I have used in the past, however this seems to be related to the fact that there is a lot of content and options, specifically the combination of process and object environment. This combination, when used correctly has the opportunity to help develop large models quickly. Model execution speed and automated results collection and scenario managers also excellent.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Software!

Reviewed 5 years ago

This software package can handle highly complex systems and has multiple ways to implement process triggers, constraints and statistical data. This makes it much easier to find a method that works best for the user and simplifies the learning curve for a simulation software. SIMIO's optQuest feature is accurate, easy to use, and delivers detailed reports for optimized processes. I strongly recommend SIMIO for both beginners and advanced users. 3 years simulation experience with the following packages: Witness, Arena, FlexSim, and SIMIO

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I find it user friendly with the ability to build and run very complex models swiftly

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am using it for my research and teaching and I find it extremely useful.

Pros

Good documentation, lots of videos for learners, extensive module library, doesn't take much time to learn, interface very similar to Microsoft Office and therefore much easier to work with

Cons

I didn't find anything wrong with it. It's working absolutely the way I want it to run. I find it to be an excellent software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to learn and use, for professionals and students.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to learn how to use it. Covers almost any need for an undergraduate course or project. Cost less than other software that have almost the same performance. Fast customer support.

Cons

Official SIMIO Tutorials are not updated and limited. I guess It's because courses are sold too, but the basic modeling should be available in several languages. Image/symbol importing not the best thing: Many images, but many no suited for insert in the models considering shape and size. It could have more specialized libraries.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

For industry

Reviewed 9 months ago

i just try once but i like a lot my experience with Simio

Pros

Very easy to use perfect for simulations we can use a free version instructions and tools that provide an easier use Good Customer care

Cons

paid version is too expensive no version for MAC more slow for complex simulations i don't find any other disadvantage

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Can't go wrong

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have worked with the top discrete event simulation packages and I prefer simio. Easy to use, nice features, easily flexible.

Pros

Ease of use for complicated models, 3d animation

Cons

Licensing methods

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Flexiblility to deal with hard to schedule domains.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Uses a simulation model to accurately represent the complexities important to your domain. Includes comprehensive and interactive reporting. Features risk analysis to tell you how likely you are to meet a schedule and provide an objective way to compare alternatives. Includes 2D and 3D animation to help understand and communicate the solution. Uses the power of the cloud (Azure) to run and distribute the schedules.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great simulation software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use this software in my simulation class. Students love it. It is easy to use and customer support is always available to help.

Pros

It is relatively easy to use. Provides a wonderful animation. It is up-to-date. Practical scheduling and planning feature.

Cons

Sometimes it is difficult to build a logic, especially with processes.

page 3 of 5