This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

VETLINKSQL

Veterinary practice management solution for clinics

see alternatives

VETLINKSQL Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

From the very start the team at Vetlinksql have been great. Customer service is always friendly and prompt and as far as value for money, it's better than any other program I seen.

Nikki B.

When the system went live in our vet hospital, we were well prepared from our practice on the demo system and on the shoulder training with Richard was fantastic and very welcomed.

Angela R.

Deven Patel is always happy to provide support and do his best to ensure the product meets our expectations. CFL is always happy to listen to our ideas and customize the software where ever possible.

Bill H.

Cons

We have some frustrations with not knowing what we can do with the software. The developers are continually updating and innovating the software, and unfortunately we are lagging behind.

Taryn B.

Recently, for unknown reasons that file disappeared and as expected it was a week or two before this was detected.

Peter W.

We have been running versions of Vetlink for 20 yrs in a LAN setup. Recently we had a moderate problem with a data file that we thought had completely disappeared.

Peter W.

Overall rating

4.8

5

4

3

2

1

34

10

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


44 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smooth migration to cloud hosted VetLinkSQL

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would recommend that you move to the CFL cloud environment as soon as your server gets close to warranty. For multi-branch clinics, just do it now, and get rid of those Spark VPN bills. It's also great not having to apply updates all the time & if you need to increase the performance of the cloud server due to changing demands it only takes minutes, not hours.

Pros

At Rappaw we have five very busy clinics with 29 terminals. We used to run a central server for VetLinkSQL and a PACS Server for digital x-ray image backup at our main branch. As our servers got older and required replacement we were advised to look at cloud options. The CFL team assisted us to migrate to their Amazon cloud environment, and honestly, it was smoother than we had anticipated. In addition...

Cons

None at present time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pleasant experience, excellent customer service and support.

Reviewed 4 years ago

increased productivity, efficiency, client compliance.

Pros

Program itself - surprises on every single time of updates making it not only user-friendly but also environmentally friendly (eforms / invoicing), promotes efficiency (stocklink app, in-house and external lab integration), client compliance (reminder system), e-marketing (loyalty system, email marketing etc). I'm always excited to read their update notes and highlight the great ideas and immediately...

Cons

Other than some teething issues in the beginning of using it, nothing really :) My comments is too short apparently - so to make it longer, I finally thought of something that I don't like is their update notes are too long as they improve so many things in every single update and I had trouble catching up!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Using it for 9 years, Support team can usually help us. Easy for new staff to use.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Colourful Diary screen enables easy adjustment of appointments to a different time, longer or a different vet or day. SMS appointment reminders work well. I like that an email message or sms sent to a client through the system is documented and can be reviewed. The quote system works well. There are lots of reporting options.

Cons

Sometimes there are glitches with the messaging not getting through. The reminders are complex with letters, sms and emails going out on various runs. If there is a problem here it is very concerning that they may not be received. I am not sure if other software make this easier? We always get it sorted but it can be very time consuming.

Vendor response

Hi Lisa Thank you for your review. Please note that we have now switched SMS providers with a Tier Service (we experimented with a Tier 2 service as people wanted lower costs, but we have decided to dump that service) and the delivery is first class! It is generally upgraded on your next update but call the help-desk and ask if you are on the new service. In terms of Reminders, again, we have...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vetlink SQL - Back Up Recovery

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been running versions of Vetlink for 20 yrs in a LAN setup . Recently we had a moderate problem with a data file that we thought had completely disappeared. For ease of use we save relevant digital Xrays to Vetlink which are attached to the animal files for easy access. Recently, for unknown reasons that file disappeared and as expected it was a week or two before this was detected. We do run a back up system that was recommended and installed by Vetlink about 2 years ago. As with any backup system - you seldom try it out and when you do - you hope like hell it works . Well it did work and very well indeed!! It took a hour or so to have the Xray file up and running with all the links back to the animal files intact.

Pros

It is robust and I can count on one hand in the past 20 years that the software system crashed. Of course there are minor glitches every so often but that is usually a phone call and they come in remotely to fix it - whilst the system still runs. They are only a phone call away and the 'help desk' know their stuff and can often talk you through most things.

Cons

There is a lot of parts too it! They are changing / evolving to keep up with the changing technology - takes a bit for 'non-computer' buffs to keep up!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vetlink, very easy software to implement and to use.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We transitioned from an opposition product and in preparation had three of our team attend some training at Vetlink in Auckland where we focussed on products and services in anticipation of our go live date. Unfortunately we did not get as prepared as we would have like but proceeded with our go live date anyway. I am pleased to report it well really well with minimal stress, frustration or headaches....

Pros

The software logically achieves everything you would expect from a practice management system of this type. The built in word processor is functional and interfaces well with handouts, certificates etc and avoids costly licensing for other word processors. The emailing documents and histories capability is fantastic as is the two way text messaging. The diary works well and has enabled very efficient...

Cons

There is very little not to like and it would seem all features can be customised to work how you want them or be disabled completely. We personally have experienced some issues with being able to have multiple patients on the same invoice but I have a colleague in a neighbouring practice who loves being able to do this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

- Communication documentation is great also the ability to communicate directly with diagnostics

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Initial tech support was really good - quality dropped of as time went by and it became more difficult to get ahold of them. We upgraded because previous software wasn't able to intergrate with idexx or radiographs etc. Super easy to record radiographs/photos with the additional ipad applications. Ability to requisition diagnostics (reduces amount of diagnostics not charged out correctly)

Cons

Reliance on having to manually run the background so everything syncs. Have to build templates/forms within the software. Difficult to find sms communication history for a client when its sent through the system. Reminders again have to be actioned manually (we now use a third party) **Automatic Online booking is not a feature!! - Online booking is clunky and manual involving emails.

Vendor response

Hi there. It is a bit hard to follow up with no name as I would love to call you and explain and show you where you may need assistance / training. Please note that if helpdesk phone lines are busy you can leave a message for a call-back or you can email support@cfl.co.nz for any non-urgent issues and someone will respond the same day. For SMS In & Out logs, just bring up the client record and then...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The software is easy to learn, we changed over from another vet software. The change over was easy

Reviewed 4 years ago

Make are clinic run smothly

Pros

The software is easy to learn, we changed over from another vet software. The change over was easy and we had great support to teach us the new program. Once we got going we found the program easy to use and fitted in well for our mixed animal practice. The back up tech support is friendly and helpful, and always available to help us. We are not a computer savi clinic, so probably ask some really...

Cons

would like a better spell checker, myself and two other nurses are dyslexic so need to make it easier for us

Vendor response

Thank you for the kind words Miles. Just in case ....- Did you known that you can set up abbreviations that automatically expand into words, sentences, and even full paragraphs so you don't have to type much? In addition to this, you can have pre-configured clinical notes/pages that you can simply import. Just go to the top | Options | Picklist | History | History Abbrs - then just set them up here. Cheers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VetLinkSQL Online Booking System

Reviewed 2 years ago

The VetLinkSQL online booking system has integrated so seamlessly into our daily appointment scheduling. More than 100 of our consultations per month are booked online. The easy, user friendly format and convenience of around the clock appointment requests both increases our level of client service, and reduces the volume of phone calls through our reception. Overall, I think the online booking system created by VetLinkSQL has been one of their best additions.

Pros

Very innovative company that comes up with new and exciting features all the time. Excellent customer support!

Cons

Not a lot to complain about. Would love to see more training webinars.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nothing is ever too much trouble. Communication is effortless and always available.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Ease of use, portability and support

Pros

Time zone difference allows for early problem solving if any. Updates occur effortlessly. Ease of use and mobility of whole database

Cons

Colour sheme!!- I like bright colours. Can't set up a recurring lock for individual vets on certain days for research etc- must be set up as an appointment.

Vendor response

Hi Louise Thank you for the kind words. Please note that you can solve your problem in one of 2 ways. Firstly use the Staff Roster where you have several start and end times during a day. This will create locks between those periods. Note that the Roster is dynamic and can be altered at an time and a Clash Management window will automatically tell you if your re-scheduling has clashes with any pre-existing...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy

Reviewed 8 months ago

'

Pros

I find VETLINKSQL to be very easy to use despite not having had any formal training on it yet. Whenever I do have a question, the help desk staff are always available and happy to help. Recently, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], visited our clinic to introduce a new staff member and while here he took some time to show me several features I wasn't aware of that have saved me valuable time and reduced mine and our staff's workload considerably. Thanks [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]!'

Cons

Whenever there are upgrades, as one of the first clinics to trial the newer version, we sometimes get frustrated with the little issues that might pop up - however, this is to be expected with any upgrade trial and the helpdesk team work quickly to resolve them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, continued development, great support and all of this at a reasonable price.

Reviewed 4 years ago

This software has improved our efficiency and capabilities. Well Done.

Pros

We moved to VetlinkSQL 18 months ago and we have not looked back. We had a list of requirements that we required out of our veterinary practice management software and VetlinkSQL stood head and shoulders above the alternative options available. The product is easy to use at all levels and if there is ever an issue the support team have all the answers and they do this in a timely manner. Some of...

Cons

Most areas of opportunity that we have come across have been addressed, currently we have a couple of suggestions on the board in regard to the main diary screen. As it has been with other proposals we do expect these to be addressed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great functionality and Service

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

While the software is very powerful, it is really easy to use and has huge functionality for all types of practices, especially for our equine side of the business. What we like is that the software is continually upgraded with new features from requests we make. For example, we wanted better stock management for our equine and farm vehicles so they have created an App that allows a really easy way for Vets to transfer stock to their cars, even if they are in a hurry we now use this App which has reduced our Stock Shrinkage by 50% this year! Finally I think the helpdesk is very good and the familiar support staff are excellent.

Cons

We don't have too many dislikes but it would be good to get some more advanced training for our staff and have regular visits to get the best out of the software.

Vendor response

Thank you for the kind words Rob. Just call our help-desk or Kelsi our BDM (kelsi@cfl.co.nz) and she can make a note to contact you once a year to book in staff training.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software features and excellent support when needed

Reviewed 4 years ago

Ease of use and ability to attach various client forms to a record

Pros

The ability to add on more features as your needs grow and you become more familiar with the software

Cons

Not knowing which team member has performed an action. Anyone can be selected from the drop down where that option is available but for general use it is not convenient to have each user log on/off to perform an action.

Vendor response

Hi Debra Thank you for your kind words. You can indeed have only certain people perform certain tasks and have a log in system. It is open when you purchase the system but you can go to Setup/Staff/Access levels and you will a large number of functions such as, to name a few, Make Bill, Discount, Overtype Price, Place Orders, etc, etc. There is a grid of User Position where you can choose each staff position and what they can do openly and where they may need to log in and so on. Having said all that, in the upcoming Version 5.0 this area has been expanded with detailed audit trails as well. Call our helpdesk or download the appropriate chapter of the manual that describes all this; there may even be a recorded webinar in there. Cheers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We have used VetLinkSQL for years, it's a quality product, has great features and is value for money

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We have migrated from one cloud based server which was hosting our VetLinkSQL software to cloud based hosting through VetLinkSQL and the process has been seamless. We have gone from a system that was extremely expensive, continually offline, very frustrating with a very unhelpful "help" desk, to a fast, integrated system. For our business it means we are able to contact one provider for our PMS system and our other software needs. The other huge benefit is we are financially far better off, which means improvement to our bottom line.

Cons

We have some frustrations with not knowing what we can do with the software. The developers are continually updating and innovating the software, and unfortunately we are lagging behind.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind works Taryn. Yes we were surprised what you were paying! Now your VetLinkSQL is a fully cloud hosted solution by us so no worries at all. We look after everything including backups, updates, etc?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

AMAZING HELPDESK & DEDICATED CEO

Reviewed 5 years ago

Marketing experts say that every business should have a 'Unique Selling Proposition' to lift them above the competition. They also say that there is a business life cycle phase made up of 'Start Up', 'Growth', 'Levelling Off' and then usually 'Decline'. I am pleased to be able to report that not only does VETLINKSQL have an incredible product, they also very definitely have the most amazing USP, and...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing service!

Reviewed 2 years ago

As with most hospitals, we were always busy and were taking our time to move to the cloud with VetLinkSQL. Then it happened. Our server crashed with multiple drive failures, and our tech was out of options. We sent a single SOS email to CFL and they immediately fired up a cloud server, transferred our database that they always backed up for us in their cloud, and had 10 users up and running before the end of day! Honestly amazing service and such an incredible relief to be back up and running so quickly! This is why we have stayed with VetLinkSQL all these years. Thank you rep team, we appreciate your response to “Disaster Recovery” and give it 6 stars!

Pros

Extremely easy to use with a huge number of features and numerous third party integrations. Their helpdesk is fantastic. What we really like is continual innovation that assists our business to streamline our processes.

Cons

Not much to report as they are really responsive if and when we do have a problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software, with excellent support provided by the CFL team.

Reviewed 4 years ago

we could not run our business successfully without it!

Pros

I have used this software for many years, and have been impressed with the development and introduction of innovative features based on changing client needs over time. We have recently transitioned to the cloud-based version and this went very smoothly. Integration with our laboratory services provider, sms, and smartflow is working very well for us. The software is customisable and flexible and works very well for our medium sized small animal practice.

Cons

As the software has been written specifically for the veterinary practice, and developed over a long period of time (with additions and customisable options added over time) it takes a little time for a new staff member or locum to become familiar with the software. This, however is likely the case with most software programmes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A brilliant Vet software product with outstanding and reliable support

Reviewed 3 years ago

We chose Vetlink over all competitors because of its long term features, customer support and user friendliness. Vetlink enabled us more to engage with our client's rather than via phone or post, which in the long term, saved us time and money. Would highly recommend for any forward thinking Veterinary Surgery and one that certainly is looking for a product to take it to the next IT level in an ever expanding IT world.

Pros

Functionality and ability to email and SMS clients of their animal reminders, appointments and to be able to send histories direct to other third parties.

Cons

Very different to what we had been using which was Vetcare - so took some time to get to know the expansive features (not being IT savvy). Some of the reporting I found I needed technical help with, but Vetlink backup was always there to support us. Once I got the hang of it, it was easier.

Vendor response

Thank you VERY much for your kind words Veronica.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The customer service is excellent. You can always get them on the phone to help.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ease of communication with clients to save time. You don't have to press save every time! Always getting updates and new ways of doing things.

Cons

clipboards are hard to see and not that obvious. There are numerous icons happy and sad faces etc which re not that intuitive or easy to understand.

Vendor response

Hi Holly Not sure what you mean by clipboards - you mean diary tabs? As far as icons are involved, I agree that we need a legend somewhere but here are some explanations: Face with sunshine - New Client Yellow Sad Face - You have disabled charging to a/c Blue Happy Face - They got Vet they asked for Purple Sad Face - they asked for a staff and you booked with another Red Sad Face - Wrote off a bad debt in the past Coloured Flags - you can set these yourself Coloured coins - set up yourself based on spend by client - automatically shows VIP clients 0/30/60/90 indicates how far they are with payments Cheers for now

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our company has been a user of Vetlink since 2002, there is great value for money with this product

Reviewed 4 years ago

This software meets all our needs. It is constantly being improved on and made more efficient to ensure it keeps up with changing markets and legislative changes within the industry. When we looked at upgrading our software we looked at all the leading veterinary software packages in the market at the time and Vetlink was hands down the best out there and still is.

Pros

Easy navigation, comprehensive fully integrated software from client/animal records to appointment booking to sales and marketing and accounting. The development of the software is very progressive and with an industry focused strategy.

Cons

To be honest not a lot I dont like, but would like to see a better reporting module that lets you create the reports you want with the information you want rather than standard reports.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words Leanne.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Inhouse Sever Crashed

Reviewed 2 years ago

“Just amazed as how quickly and smoothly I got moved to the cloud! You wouldn't believe it but one of my in-house server RAID hard drive died on a Thursday, so I ordered a replacement (HP drives are not cheap) and before it even arrived the second RAID hard failed the very next day - Friday! I called up VetLinkSQL and they were able to fire up their cloud server, configure it, and get us up and running in their cloud, with our complete database by the next day (Saturday). The whole system is running so smoothly we can’t even tell the difference, except that we will never have to purchase a server again or worry about failing drives. Added bonus is that no VPN and so on to access from home or my phone!

Pros

Intuitive for users! and easy to transition across to the cloud!!

Cons

not much , VetlinkSQL staff were great to work with and VERY accommodating!!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have been using Vetlink for over 25 years. The support and functionality is second to none!

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is the complete practice management package!

Pros

The software has evolved over time and continues to evolve. Deven Patel is always happy to provide support and do his best to ensure the product meets our expectations. CFL is always happy to listen to our ideas and customize the software where ever possible. The recent innovations are excellent. The abilities of Vetlink to interact with products like Smartflow and our Idexx in house lab equipment help to improve work flows and efficiency.

Cons

Reporting. While the software has the ability to customize reports, this is not always simple. I understand there are developments in the pipeline to improve this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helped make running of the business a lot more controllable

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The day to day organisation of appointments for different staff members. The ability to have several staff using the program in different areas of the business.

Cons

Not having complete tracability of invoices that have been cancelled or deleted.But this will be a feature in the future which will assist us .

Vendor response

Hi Colin, thanks for your kind review. Audibility is one of VETLINKSQL's strengths - you can certainly get a report on this. Just go to: REPORTS / BILLING / Bulk Inv Summary and then fill in the dates for auditing and select "Cancelled" as Yes. You can also enter a particular client if you want to audit one person - otherwise leave it blank and it will give you every single one for that date range. Call our help-desk if you require assistance. Cheers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great support. Very open to new ideas

Reviewed 4 years ago

Affordable and very user friendly.

Pros

Always developing new features. Very easy to access customer support and talk to someone who knows what they are doing. Simple to use and very short learning curve. Change over from old system was nearly seamless.

Cons

It will still take a bit of time to develop all the features I would like, but that is a long list and is quite specific so I don't think anyone else could do it all either, and I don't think other companies would be so keen to listen to new ideas.

Vendor response

Thank you Braden! We have received your ideas around Wellness Programs and they have been forwarded to the developers. It will be discussed once we get back to that module in a couple of months. Cheers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vetlink SQL

Reviewed 3 years ago

We moved to VetlinkSQL 4 years ago after using another product which was outdated and clunky. Very happy with the decision and the support we receive. The software is evolving with new features each year that keep up with changing technology and changing business needs.

Pros

This software is relatively easy to learn to use and its colour coding helps with the visuals without having to search for appointment status. All the tasks you need are available.

Cons

Searching for specific types of records can be difficult to work out. But this is a more complex task anyway. Adding a staff member for a day not already in their roster doesn’t bring in double-booking function.