This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Asterisk Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Asterisk is a real time voice and video application, the following points made me recommend it to my industry. It is a free software!!! so amazing with the great solutions it provides.

Wobe Muki Marguerite N.

Presently, I am including students in the system such that while on campus they can benefit from free phone calls while on campus. Asterisk is really amazing.

Wobe Muki Marguerite N.

The openness of the system and ability to create so many solutions based on this little piece of software. It is a great foundation for creating a telecommunication solution for yourself.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Documentation is not good enough. When you have some problem it is hard to find the solution.

Ali Osman A.

When I implementing my system.I could study several implementations and references. But there are no complete updated guide books,videos,references.

Supun A.

System is limited to your knowledge or knowledge you can find online or in books. Can get very complex and you can get swamped if you don't know what you are doing.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

19

12

3

1

0

89%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


35 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Asterisk as a telephony platform between branches of the institution and in applications

Reviewed 16 days ago

Our experience using Asterisk has been very good since it has allowed us to interconnect the institution's branches via VoIP and it has also been possible to scale without problems. In addition to integrating with applications towards the end user

Pros

Asterisk is a flexible VoIP platform that allows interaction with telephone systems within the institution nationwide, also allows integration with specific business applications

Cons

The implementation can be a bit complicated because the server cards and the services of the telephony provider have to be compatible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Phone system, simple and the best!!!

Reviewed 2 years ago

An amazing free platform! In my industry, we use it everyday and it eases our day-to-day communications. Asterisk, you are unique!!!!

Pros

Asterisk is a real time voice and video application, the following points made me recommend it to my industry. -It is a free software!!! so amazing with the great solutions it provides -It is easy to setup and user friendly. Working as the Network and systems administrator in my industry (education), I discovered asterisk and amazingly I needed not a sophisticated machine to run it and it worked well...

Cons

-One needs to be dedicated to make it work

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good open source VOIP solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

If you want a good and free open source VOIP solution that you can manage in house, then Asterisk is a good choice. It can be easily installed (not upgraded however) and managed by IT system administrators. Is logic (queues, SIP opening and context for calling) is something that you will figure out quite quickly. You can even use multiple WAN ports and multiple SIP trunk operators with the same server so this is also an advantage. The biggest disadvantage is that if a new version comes out it is easier to do the fresh installation then rater to go and try to make an upgrade. Overall, as an open source system it is a great value for money.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fortget analog and digital PBXs, it is IPPBX

Reviewed 4 months ago

I am very happy with the Asterisk. It has been years and working very stable. It does not need to be updated frequently. It is working...

Pros

First of all it's free and open source. You can customize anything as you wish. It is flexible. The best PBX solution for small offices with multi locations, different dial rules, etc... All of my colleagues started working from home on the first day of pandemic.

Cons

Documentation is not good enough. When you have some problem it is hard to find the solution. If you do not secure the server, huge phone traffic can pass through your server.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why pay for a PBX when this is free?

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have setup and managed many asterisk installs for various use cases and love working with it, all be it I'm very familiar by now but it's not difficult to get the hang of it. Best solution for an in-house PBX should you have the ability to manage and maintain it.

Pros

asterisk is a reliable and versatile PBX / IP-PBX. There are many great UI's to make management even easier and the open-source nature allows you to customize scripts and telephony applications to individual needs. I can't make an argument to pay for a commercial software unless some type of included support is paramount.

Cons

There are a lot of components to this application which can make standardizing versions a bit complicated. There are pre-made packages available for install which are stabilized so I recommend one of them (asteriskNOW or FreepBX for example) for anyone just starting out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Small Business Phone System

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use this everyday for our phones. We test a variety of platforms on a regular basis, but we have always stuck with Asterisk because it does everything we need.

Pros

Asterisk has nearly everything you would need in a phone system for a small business. With some technical knowledge you can get the free version of this and do everything yourself with very minor costs to your bottom line.

Cons

The learning curve on Asterisk systems is steep. If you want to do anything custom, you will pretty much have to hire someone to do it for you unless you have a lot of experience and technical knowledge. Much of this can be overcome by using a GUI such as FreePBX.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the best

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is the BEST VOIP software you can use. First of all its a free base. It has so many features that are amazing for small and large business setups. You can buy really cheap analog lines and hook up to this system. And just use your own phones. It saves 1000's of dollars each year from competitive voip systems.

Cons

The software can be buggy when first setting up and interfacing cards. It works great but if you are not familiar with command promp you will not be fully able to set it up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

If you spend enough time with it it can do anything

Reviewed 3 years ago

It works for what we do.

Pros

The amount of features that you can get with this software is astounding. If you have the time and the know how you can make this software do it. We use it every day. We have about 35 techs answering calls It will run on just about any computer that you have.

Cons

It is very complex. Like all things in the Linux world it is difficult to setup the first time you use it. It is very difficult when you want to change hardware or make system level changes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great application for voip service for small companies

Reviewed 3 years ago

is a good application for provide viop services to small companies.

Pros

is Free and it's works on Linux environments, is stable and the last versions have a more friendly interface for managements Roles. there always you can find new updates available to fix bugs.

Cons

Very Difficult to configure the services and is hard to maintain the security of the application without extra security applications or hardware.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very good alternative to replace IP phone Systems

Reviewed 2 years ago

We could implement a proper alternative to the CISCO IP phone system,using Asterix. Asterix is a good platform in order to run the VOIP and its very affordable, efficient and flexible platform.Asterix save the space of the hardware,because it doesn't require extra hardware.

Pros

I was supposed to find an alternative to the CISCO IP Phone system.Then I found this amazing software and implemented it in a Linux environment.After configurations, I could complete the required system.The implemented system doesn't require any kind of extra hardware to VOIP and also It has support for three-way calling. Those are the facts i most liked in implementing Asterix and it supports both Linux and BSD operating systems.

Cons

When I implementing my system.I could study several implementations and references.But there are no complete updated guide books,videos,references.In order to do a small implementation we have to find more tutorials and guidance.It costs more time.Unavailability of a proper documentations and references than other opensource platforms, is a considerable matter.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

More than 10 years of experience with Asterisk, from the first versions

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software allows to solve or implement any solution for the telephony industry.

Pros

Asterisk more than a software, it is a framework. As a framewaork, it is like a Swiss army knife that allows you to implement or solve any special requirement in telephony, call center, messaging services, etc. Asterisk is the base of a number of solutions for telephone centrakes. It is also easy to get in the market all the necessary hardware to connect with the PSTN switched network.

Cons

I am a fan of Asterisk. However I am surprised that to date, we are going through version 15, and the last textbook was printed in 2013, on version 11.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Asterisk is the only solution for self-hosted VoIP PBX’s in this day and age.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Flawless product, actively being developed and since being purchased by Sangoma will continue to be the Industry Leader in VoIP PBX Solutions.

Pros

It works. The software does exactly what it advertises it will do. Combine it with a powerful front end such as Sangoma’s Freepbx and you have a complete system which is ready to deploy in minutes.

Cons

Lack of native GUI interface for end users. As stated about what I like, it is easily paired with Freepbx to achieve this goal but freepbx limits the capability of Asterisk somewhat.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

AsteriskNow

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy and cheapest way to setup a VoIP system. Used this product for more than 12 years. There was number of versions during this time. Very reliable and the system can even work as a Windows VM. Since the UI is user friendly and heavily customizable, this is a very good product for small/medium size business.

Cons

I would like to see an option for the end user to select what they need while installing the distro instead of ISO installing everything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent open source program used for VoIP management within our Laboratory practices

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- A very powerful advantage is the scalability when growing in the number of users. - The behavior on VPNs is very good. - There is a variety of support information in the network. - The configuration is very flexible according to the needs you have.

Cons

- You have to dedicate a good amount of time to make it work properly. - Requires trained personnel for this purpose.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome and fast learning from the comunity information

Reviewed 3 years ago

All my voip implementations are based on asterisk as well

Pros

Open source code, available in to many versions, constant upgrading for the comunity, perfect SIP adaptable configurations, to many features and modules.

Cons

Hard installation and configuration, some bugs are not resolved at all in sip trunking, codec, an others, at least to the version 11, but now on the version 13+ there are more good stuff

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An useful telephone interface for your workplace!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have an organization with 1000 employees and Asterisk have been great for connecting all the offices. We have used it for years and it is a very reliable software.

Pros

I like that this software can be used for video conferences, automatic call distribution and it can be sustained on VoIP. It has been really useful over the years.

Cons

I don't have any complain on it. This has been an amazing software so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Well designed and extremely reliable

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been administrating Asterisk for 10+ years. Customers sometimes have crazy phone system requirements and Asterisks has accomplished all of them.

Pros

-Asterisk is free and open source -It is extremely reliable -Allows custom scripting to make your phone system exactly how you want it

Cons

-When setting up from scratch on a linux distro of your choice, setup can be a bit complex

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great open source PBX

Reviewed 2 years ago

Really good, I've seen several deployments of Asterisks and they work smooth silk.

Pros

The openness of the system and ability to create so many solutions based on this little piece of software. It is a great foundation for creating a telecommunication solution for yourself.

Cons

If creating apps using Asterisk you need to know deep knowledge of the solution, this is a software that is for skilled people to use and create, which is not bad, it is just what you have to expect.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The swiss-army knife of PBX systems.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

If you dream it, you can probably build it. Asterisk has so many customizations and so many options. Basically anything you want to do, you can do it with Asterisk. It may not be easy or a one-step process, but it is possible and has a great deal of support out there. It definitely requires some technical knowledge and isn't for the faint of heart, but if you're willing to put in the time and effort to learn it, it will treat you well. Plus you can't beat free!

Cons

The only real cons with Asterisk are based on user knowledge. While that isn't the fault of the system itself, it does hinder many of us "normal" users who may not have aforementioned knowledge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

I use asterisk daily at work since I administer several ip centrals

Reviewed 3 years ago

very stable voip system

Pros

It is a very stable and practical voice over ip system, you can integrate it with practically any system and the functionality is perfect

Cons

the system of pure voip asterisk, has several points against it since it is unfriendly for the end user, in this case for call center agents

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

VoIP in business class

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Asterisk is a reference in its domain. OpenSource, free, a lot of features. It became an industry standard and provide certification and a real user support / community support

Cons

You need to know what you are doing, probably not easy to start.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best free PBX on the market

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Full functioned Millions of deployments Large community to help with problems or configuring it

Cons

Need to be careful not to leave it open to fraudulent calls As a CLI based tool it can be a bit confusing to install from the tgz

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Opensource and customizable

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Asterisk is so customizable as it is open sourced. Able to make as many extensions, queues, dial plans as you want. Cost is minimal as you only have to buy calling and phone numbers from an outside source.

Cons

System is limited to your knowledge or knowledge you can find online or in books. Can get very complex and you can get swamped if you don't know what you are doing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Lovely tool for small business

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Asterisk is a free and open source voice over IP system. It removes the need for purchasing expensive hardware. There is a large community of users around the world that will help troubleshoot and setup.

Cons

It can be hard to setup and implement at first as the company support is not the best either.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

best voip solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

by replacing the old analogic phone system PBX we reduced our communication charge by about 25% with a lot of new services like IVR

Pros

there is a lot of linux distributions of free PBX like TRIXBOX it doesnt require à specific hardware such as phone cards

Cons

its a little hard to find informations or support about the solution not much forums or websites or linkedin groups that offers training or support