App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Asterisk Logo

Open-source modular communication system

(6)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Asterisk Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

43

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.62/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

kixie
dialpad-sell
clarity-business-phone-system

Pros and cons

The openness of the system and ability to create so many solutions based on this little piece of software. It is a great foundation for creating a telecommunication solution for yourself.
Presently, I am including students in the system such that while on campus they can benefit from free phone calls while on campus. Asterisk is really amazing.
Best solution for an in-house PBX should you have the ability to manage and maintain it.
Need to be careful not to leave it open to fraudulent calls. As a CLI based tool it can be a bit confusing to install from the tgz.
It entails a number of severe security threats. And We don't obtain the complete event of Outdial parameters in the Asterisk manager interface layer.
No administration tools, no user interface, lack of commonly needed extensions like phone handset management and voicemail.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


43 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Stephen H.

Software developer

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

It’s a beast… but you need someone to tame it

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Stephen H.: Hi there. I am Stephen. I am an IT administrator for a global tech firm and I would give...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adolfo M.

Government Administration, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Asterisk as a telephony platform between branches of the institution and in applications

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our experience using Asterisk has been very good since it has allowed us to interconnect the institution's branches via VoIP and it has also been possible to scale without problems. In addition to integrating with applications towards the end user

Pros

Asterisk is a flexible VoIP platform that allows interaction with telephone systems within the institution nationwide, also allows integration with specific business applications

Cons

The implementation can be a bit complicated because the server cards and the services of the telephony provider have to be compatible.

SS
AvatarImg

Stefano S.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Asterisk is the world wide best software at no cost PBX!

Reviewed 3 months ago

I use Asterisk since 20 years and it is absolutely the best sofwtare at no cost.

Pros

It ha no cost, it is open standard, fully customzable. AGI Scripts help to add features to asterisk and it is very easy to connect it to other softwares.

Cons

I like everything of Asterisk. It is really the best.

EH
AvatarImg

Emil H.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good open source VOIP solution

Reviewed 7 years ago

If you want a good and free open source VOIP solution that you can manage in house, then Asterisk is a good choice. It can be easily installed (not upgraded however) and managed by IT system administrators. Is logic (queues, SIP opening and context for calling) is something that you will figure out quite quickly. You can even use multiple WAN ports and multiple SIP trunk operators with the same server so this is also an advantage. The biggest disadvantage is that if a new version comes out it is easier to do the fresh installation then rater to go and try to make an upgrade. Overall, as an open source system it is a great value for money.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

NT
AvatarImg

Nathan T.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Top Tier Phone System - Do Not Dismiss it!

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

We use Asterisk in conjunction with FreePBX for our business phone solution, it's certainly no easy task to deploy or configure. The documentation available is vast however being an open source project you will run into a few issues dialling in your configuration to the best possible specification. Cost wise it's very cost effective and that's why I believe it's a top tier solution you should consider...

Cons

As mentioned the difficulty of deployment is quite high, not every IT engineer will have the skill set to just stand up this system it does take time and you will run into a few gremlins but certainly you'll not be doing yourself any justice by passing this up.

TM
AvatarImg

Tim M.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Asterisk is the standard as a free and open-source PBX but use packaged distributions

Reviewed a year ago

This is my go-to choice for larger deployments but a packaged version with extras and IT support staff are both necessary for successful deployments. For small organizations without trained Asterisk IT support staff, a hosted solution is better.

Pros

The product has a very long history (20+ years). I was using it back in the early 2000s writing my own AEL scripts to write call flows. However, while it is full featured, it has no built-in GUI, either for admins or users. Using a package like FreePBX is essential for business deployments.

Cons

No administration tools, no user interface, lack of commonly needed extensions like phone handset management and voicemail.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wobe Muki Marguerite N.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Phone system, simple and the best!!!

Reviewed 5 years ago

An amazing free platform! In my industry, we use it everyday and it eases our day-to-day communications. Asterisk, you are unique!!!!

Pros

Asterisk is a real time voice and video application, the following points made me recommend it to my industry. -It is a free software!!! so amazing with the great solutions it provides -It is easy to setup and user friendly. Working as the Network and systems administrator in my industry (education), I discovered asterisk and amazingly I needed not a sophisticated machine to run it and it worked well...

Cons

-One needs to be dedicated to make it work

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

William F.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Small Business Phone System

Reviewed 6 years ago

We use this everyday for our phones. We test a variety of platforms on a regular basis, but we have always stuck with Asterisk because it does everything we need.

Pros

Asterisk has nearly everything you would need in a phone system for a small business. With some technical knowledge you can get the free version of this and do everything yourself with very minor costs to your bottom line.

Cons

The learning curve on Asterisk systems is steep. If you want to do anything custom, you will pretty much have to hire someone to do it for you unless you have a lot of experience and technical knowledge. Much of this can be overcome by using a GUI such as FreePBX.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the best

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This is the BEST VOIP software you can use. First of all its a free base. It has so many features that are amazing for small and large business setups. You can buy really cheap analog lines and hook up to this system. And just use your own phones. It saves 1000's of dollars each year from competitive voip systems.

Cons

The software can be buggy when first setting up and interfacing cards. It works great but if you are not familiar with command promp you will not be fully able to set it up.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Arthur H.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

If you spend enough time with it it can do anything

Reviewed 6 years ago

It works for what we do.

Pros

The amount of features that you can get with this software is astounding. If you have the time and the know how you can make this software do it. We use it every day. We have about 35 techs answering calls It will run on just about any computer that you have.

Cons

It is very complex. Like all things in the Linux world it is difficult to setup the first time you use it. It is very difficult when you want to change hardware or make system level changes.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Henry D.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great application for voip service for small companies

Reviewed 6 years ago

is a good application for provide viop services to small companies.

Pros

is Free and it's works on Linux environments, is stable and the last versions have a more friendly interface for managements Roles. there always you can find new updates available to fix bugs.

Cons

Very Difficult to configure the services and is hard to maintain the security of the application without extra security applications or hardware.

JR
AvatarImg

Jaime R.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Herramienta CTI para uso de VOIP de forma sencilla

Reviewed 2 years ago

A través de Asterisk gestionamos la telefonía de diversas herramientas CRM, con integración y permitiendo que los consultores puedan realizar toda la actividad de forma simple y sin dificultad. Además, es posible configurar diferentes SIP Trunks para emitir llamadas con varios proveedores de forma simultánea, así como configurar DDI's específicos para cada estrategia de marcación.

Pros

La integración con diversas herramientas CRM que permiten la gestión telefónica para call center, así como la potencia y adaptabilidad de la herramienta.

Cons

Es algo complejo de configurar inicialmente, pero una vez que aprendes bien a usarlo, no puedes despegarte de el.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

MM
AvatarImg

Matthew M.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why pay for a PBX when this is free?

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have setup and managed many asterisk installs for various use cases and love working with it, all be it I'm very familiar by now but it's not difficult to get the hang of it. Best solution for an in-house PBX should you have the ability to manage and maintain it.

Pros

asterisk is a reliable and versatile PBX / IP-PBX. There are many great UI's to make management even easier and the open-source nature allows you to customize scripts and telephony applications to individual needs. I can't make an argument to pay for a commercial software unless some type of included support is paramount.

Cons

There are a lot of components to this application which can make standardizing versions a bit complicated. There are pre-made packages available for install which are stabilized so I recommend one of them (asteriskNOW or FreepBX for example) for anyone just starting out.

OE
AvatarImg

OMAR E.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

More than 10 years of experience with Asterisk, from the first versions

Reviewed 6 years ago

This software allows to solve or implement any solution for the telephony industry.

Pros

Asterisk more than a software, it is a framework. As a framewaork, it is like a Swiss army knife that allows you to implement or solve any special requirement in telephony, call center, messaging services, etc. Asterisk is the base of a number of solutions for telephone centrakes. It is also easy to get in the market all the necessary hardware to connect with the PSTN switched network.

Cons

I am a fan of Asterisk. However I am surprised that to date, we are going through version 15, and the last textbook was printed in 2013, on version 11.

AO
AvatarImg

Ali Osman A.

Maritime, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fortget analog and digital PBXs, it is IPPBX

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am very happy with the Asterisk. It has been years and working very stable. It does not need to be updated frequently. It is working...

Pros

First of all it's free and open source. You can customize anything as you wish. It is flexible. The best PBX solution for small offices with multi locations, different dial rules, etc... All of my colleagues started working from home on the first day of pandemic.

Cons

Documentation is not good enough. When you have some problem it is hard to find the solution. If you do not secure the server, huge phone traffic can pass through your server.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jeff R.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Asterisk is the only solution for self-hosted VoIP PBX’s in this day and age.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Flawless product, actively being developed and since being purchased by Sangoma will continue to be the Industry Leader in VoIP PBX Solutions.

Pros

It works. The software does exactly what it advertises it will do. Combine it with a powerful front end such as Sangoma’s Freepbx and you have a complete system which is ready to deploy in minutes.

Cons

Lack of native GUI interface for end users. As stated about what I like, it is easily paired with Freepbx to achieve this goal but freepbx limits the capability of Asterisk somewhat.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

AsteriskNow

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy and cheapest way to setup a VoIP system. Used this product for more than 12 years. There was number of versions during this time. Very reliable and the system can even work as a Windows VM. Since the UI is user friendly and heavily customizable, this is a very good product for small/medium size business.

Cons

I would like to see an option for the end user to select what they need while installing the distro instead of ISO installing everything.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Fernando R.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Centralita telefónica por software muy intersante

Reviewed 2 years ago

Con Asterik tenemos montada una centralita que da servicio a nuestra oficina disponiendo de extensiones fijas con teléfonos IP y de extensiones virtuales en portátiles cuando estamos en remoto. Nos permite definir sistemas de gestión de colas y buzones de voz que permiten la gestión automatizada de nuestro sistema de call center

Pros

Gestión de colas, buzones de voz. Posibilidad de extensiones fijas y virtuales

Cons

Mayor claridad y agilidad en la interfaz de usuario. Mejora de la documentación

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

GR
AvatarImg

Guillermo R.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent open source program used for VoIP management within our Laboratory practices

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

- A very powerful advantage is the scalability when growing in the number of users. - The behavior on VPNs is very good. - There is a variety of support information in the network. - The configuration is very flexible according to the needs you have.

Cons

- You have to dedicate a good amount of time to make it work properly. - Requires trained personnel for this purpose.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Supun A.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very good alternative to replace IP phone Systems

Reviewed 5 years ago

We could implement a proper alternative to the CISCO IP phone system,using Asterix. Asterix is a good platform in order to run the VOIP and its very affordable, efficient and flexible platform.Asterix save the space of the hardware,because it doesn't require extra hardware.

Pros

I was supposed to find an alternative to the CISCO IP Phone system.Then I found this amazing software and implemented it in a Linux environment.After configurations, I could complete the required system.The implemented system doesn't require any kind of extra hardware to VOIP and also It has support for three-way calling. Those are the facts i most liked in implementing Asterix and it supports both Linux and BSD operating systems.

Cons

When I implementing my system.I could study several implementations and references.But there are no complete updated guide books,videos,references.In order to do a small implementation we have to find more tutorials and guidance.It costs more time.Unavailability of a proper documentations and references than other opensource platforms, is a considerable matter.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Raúl L.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome and fast learning from the comunity information

Reviewed 6 years ago

All my voip implementations are based on asterisk as well

Pros

Open source code, available in to many versions, constant upgrading for the comunity, perfect SIP adaptable configurations, to many features and modules.

Cons

Hard installation and configuration, some bugs are not resolved at all in sip trunking, codec, an others, at least to the version 11, but now on the version 13+ there are more good stuff

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gabriel M.

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An useful telephone interface for your workplace!

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have an organization with 1000 employees and Asterisk have been great for connecting all the offices. We have used it for years and it is a very reliable software.

Pros

I like that this software can be used for video conferences, automatic call distribution and it can be sustained on VoIP. It has been really useful over the years.

Cons

I don't have any complain on it. This has been an amazing software so far.

js
AvatarImg

jake s.

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Well designed and extremely reliable

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been administrating Asterisk for 10+ years. Customers sometimes have crazy phone system requirements and Asterisks has accomplished all of them.

Pros

-Asterisk is free and open source -It is extremely reliable -Allows custom scripting to make your phone system exactly how you want it

Cons

-When setting up from scratch on a linux distro of your choice, setup can be a bit complex

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Osama A.

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

"A solid base for phone systems"

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I've worked with Asterisk for a long time and believe it's a solid phone system platform. The system is straightforward and simple to comprehend. I also like that it's open source, which means we can get a lot of help from the community.

Cons

It entails a number of severe security threats. and We don't obtain the complete event of Outdial parameters in the Asterisk manager interface layer. need to keep an eye out for a variety of activities

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The swiss-army knife of PBX systems.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

If you dream it, you can probably build it. Asterisk has so many customizations and so many options. Basically anything you want to do, you can do it with Asterisk. It may not be easy or a one-step process, but it is possible and has a great deal of support out there. It definitely requires some technical knowledge and isn't for the faint of heart, but if you're willing to put in the time and effort to learn it, it will treat you well. Plus you can't beat free!

Cons

The only real cons with Asterisk are based on user knowledge. While that isn't the fault of the system itself, it does hinder many of us "normal" users who may not have aforementioned knowledge.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great open source PBX

Reviewed 5 years ago

Really good, I've seen several deployments of Asterisks and they work smooth silk.

Pros

The openness of the system and ability to create so many solutions based on this little piece of software. It is a great foundation for creating a telecommunication solution for yourself.

Cons

If creating apps using Asterisk you need to know deep knowledge of the solution, this is a software that is for skilled people to use and create, which is not bad, it is just what you have to expect.