This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Cisco Unified Communications Manager

Communication and collaboration management solution

see alternatives

Cisco Unified Communications Manager Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

This Call Manager is the best we have ever had, the voice quality is unbeatable even in remote offices connected by VPN, 100% recommended. It is a very good investment.

Omar G.

Accessible, Free, easy to use get connected anytime anywhere. Perfect for team meetings and conference.

Fata G.

Cisco Unified Comminication Manager already has many years in the market and is an excellent solution for IP telephony in small, medium or large companies, since it adapts to any type of company.

Javier D.

Cons

Very hard to configure unless your a cisco engineer. Confusing on the different areas to configure thins and why.

ROBERT H.

The only complaints that I've had about CUCM have all been addressed in newer versions. The complexity of licensing was addressed with Enterprise License Manager.

Justin E.

Licensing is very expensive. There are multiple licensing options that can be difficult to understand.

Brian M.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

32

23

8

2

1

83%
positive reviews
98%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


66 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating

Cisco unifed communication manager

Reviewed 7 months ago

Transcript

Praveen: Hey, my name is Praveen. I work for a state agency, and I rate Cisco UCS four out of five. So...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Enterprise Banking VoIP Solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have a very complex design of 4 clusters implementing 10 digit dialing scheme for everything nationwide. We were able to accomplish this with CUCM and it's extremely granular configuration ability.

Pros

I have been administering Unified Communications Manager for almost 10 years . The stability of CUCM is unrivaled. The uptime of our voice environment in the last 4 years has been over 99.99% with the only downtime being due to patch/security updates and maintenance. I sleep well at night knowing that our environment is stable.

Cons

The only complaints that I've had about CUCM have all been addressed in newer versions. The complexity of licensing was addressed with Enterprise License Manager. The difficulty of upgrades was addressed with Prime Collaboration Deployment. It's very difficult to find any cons with the current version of CUCM.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

More than just VoIP - A Powerful UC and Collaboration Suite

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Cisco Unified Communications Manager and its associated products (Unity Connection voicemail, Contact Center Express, etc.) provide a full suite of unified communications and collaboration capabilities. The solution can scale to from SMB to large enterprise and is highly flexible, allowing it to accommodate a wide range of business needs. The latest versions transition both voice and video communication onto a unified platform to drive the ubiquity of video adoption and impact the speed of business. Support for a wide range of endpoints, including PC, tablet, and mobile devices, allows for the adoption of collaboration tools by remote and mobile workers. The product is powerful and lends itself easily to fulfilling business goals.

Cons

One of the primary negatives about Cisco UCM would be the cost, especially at smaller scales and when competing against a legacy TDM solution. Even for businesses that are driven primarily by cost though, the additional benefits such as integrated instant messaging, point to point video, and mobile device integration may prove to be enough of a differentiator to justify the extra expense. Organizations that are interested in managing their own solution will typically need to hire or have on staff a fairly high level engineer, though most IT people would be capable of learning how to handle at least basic moves, adds, and changes. The importance of solid solution architecture and maintenance can not be overstated enough.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Robust product set with strong functionality but a lot to learn

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great way to monitor and manage on-premise phone systems without paying a substantial fee to a consultant/product provider for management. Allows for a very robust amount of phone service management and integrate with several other third-party products for additional tools (have their own quirks and requirements for management and account permissions). All around great, and very matured, product for voice systems management.

Pros

- Extremely robust feature set with depth in configuration and customization. - Diversified technology with a strong security interface. - Configuration rich interfaces with strong delineation of permission sets and redirects. - Administrative overhead easily reduced by account permissions sets

Cons

- So robust can feel a bit overwhelming (version specific) - Deployment time frames can be long from purchase to full production implementation (good support though) - More hardware specific as far as integration than some other agnostic products.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Reliable phone system

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall, Cisco Unified Communication Manager was one of the most stable products that we didn't have to worry about at all. It powered our VoIP communication, voicemail delivery by email, allowed us to automate certain feature changes and more. It was rich in feature and features were hard to find. We stayed with default feature-set as much as possible.

Pros

Cisco's unified communication manager is rock solid once set up. You won't have to worry about this system going down. We used it on-prem. While it has a lot of capabilities, we used only fraction of it. They also have APIs you could use to communicate programmatically and change ring groups/hunt groups, round-robin and more. It takes a while to master the features.

Cons

The user interface has not been thought through very well. It looks old school. In today's day and age where the user interface design is clean, well-organized and easy to find, Cisco's Unified Communication Manager looks clunky (but it works)! There are lot of opportunities for Cisco to change its look and feel to make features easier to find.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A very reliable and stable solution which we are have been using for years

Reviewed 3 years ago

I like that the solution is fully featured, we currently use this solution and have been for years and must say it is very reliable and stable. CM is fully featured and is a flexible IP telephony solution. We have it across multiple sites, with publisher and subscriber the solution provides full redundancy in the event of a disaster. The phone deployment is quick and simple, and bulk imports make large scale deployment of telephony endpoints quick and seamless. It is helpful to consult with another organization to construct a plan and design prior to implementation.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

It takes some training and continuous use to fully master CM as it is not very simple at first. It is helpful to consult with another organization to construct a plan and design prior to implementation. Once you have been using CM for sometime you become more comfortable with the solution and deployment. The licensing model can become costly and upgrade can at times get complicated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Call Control with multiple advanced telephony functions.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Cisco Unified Comminication Manager already has many years in the market and is an excellent solution for IP telephony in small, medium or large companies, since it adapts to any type of company. It also allows you to gradually add more features with other solutions that are integrated natively.

Pros

The best thing about Cisco Unified Comminication Manager is the possibility of having any type of phone registered even from third parties. It brings many features that help users to move in and out of the company. It also allows you to incorporate collaboration tools, Video Conference, Voice Mail, etc. All integrated

Cons

Some traditional functions of telephone exchanges do not have them, however it is possible to incorporate them but with the development of third parties.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I use Cisco UCM nearly every day. It is a robust software, but has a learning curve.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We never have to worry about down time on our phone system. We also find it easy to manage day to day changes.

Pros

You can do just about anything with a phone system that you would want to do through the software. It is low maintenance. Typically there are no problems unless you are performing an upgrade or making a major configuration change.

Cons

The cost is always a bummer. There are other solutions that are a lower cost but don't provide all of the advanced features that you get with Cisco. I also don't like how complicated some parts of the software are seems like the user interface could be much more simplified. The user interface also needs an update... perhaps it's time for it to move to HTML 5 and get rid of all of the popup windows.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cisco Unified Call Manager Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

CUCM has very strong redundancy mechanism which enable up to 9 Nodes in one cluster. You can integrate IM and Presence, Unity, Contact Center and Expressway Servers to this cluster without any problem. They work very coordinated together. The CUCM Nodes share and replicate their database continuously so that every change on any Node, replicate to the others. So you are able to manage all in one server's GUI.

Cons

It is quite expensive by means of license and support. Also the IP Telephones are also expensive in comparison to market.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cisco's Unified Communications Manager made my workplace phone system so much easier to control!

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software helped me to control and organize my phone system according to my business and even my employees.

Pros

The aspect I like the most about this software is that I can control every phone in the office. If I want only 3 people's phones to ring when a main line call comes in, I can do that. If I want to group certain phones to roll over certain calls, I can do that as well.

Cons

One con about this software is that without instruction, you would never be able to use it. Written instructions are simply too complicated and there are a lot of shortcuts, tips, and tricks you can learn by having a cisco rep come out! However..it is time consuming!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Unified Communications Manager is a great product!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is such a great product that I will definitly recommand the product.

Pros

Really stable product Cluster mode Rich in feature Flexible to meet your needs As it is popular it is easy to find support TAC support is normally really good

Cons

Miss some feature here and there Not much monitoring included you have to buy 3rd party tools As it is not complete with Monitoring or even easy of use platform to create phone the Value for the money spend is OK but surely not good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent sound quality and very reliable

Reviewed 2 years ago

We needed to renew our old communication manager and decided to evaluate IP telephony, we reviewed several options and Cisco was the one we liked the most. Cisco allows us to have IP phones, analog phones, PC clients and other collaboration tools. We migrated from another brand to Cisco and the voice quality improved a lot. We have remote offices to which we send telephone extensions through a VPN, and it is totally imperceptible to our clients due to the high quality of the voice. It allows us to be in contact between offices with calls, video calls or through the internal messenger (Cisco Jabber) We can receive directly voice mail in our email.

Pros

This Call Manager is the best we have ever had, the voice quality is unbeatable even in remote offices connected by VPN, 100% recommended. It is a very good investment. Allows you to consolidate the telecommunications infrastructure. With video calls it allows us to place a camera phone in a boardroom and directors make calls to this room for meetings and it's as if they were there saving us travel expenses. This tool is very complete, we have Cisco Unity Connection (Voice Mail) and Cisco IM and Presence. It allows us to have the phones installed in a PC with a client on windows without losing quality in the calls, and even make video calls from the PC.

Cons

The cost of licenses or phones are a little high and sometimes limits you a little to take better advantage of their capabilities.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cisco CallManager - easy choice for a Cisco shop

Reviewed 2 years ago

Been using call manager for over 10 years - this is one of the better call systems out there - sure cloud based services are popular but for enterprise with thousands of phones this is a solid option.

Pros

CallManager is a phone system seemingly built by "network guys" - it has all the major features of a call control server and is easy to manage from a network perspective. The software is solid and runs well - programming phones is very easy as well.

Cons

Updates can be cumbersome in addition some device support can be problematic. If you stick to an all Cisco ecosystem it works well but when trying to integrate its not the best. Call reporting\details can be a bit harder to dig into without some sort of front end software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Top Notch Product, though very costly

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The product is very stable, especially since CUCM started running on Linux. It doesn't require constant updates. It is very feature rich, more so with every new version. It's web interfaces are well laid out and intuitive. Tech support from the Cisco TAC CallManager team is usually very good. CUCM interfaces with so many other VoIP products out there, including Microsoft.

Cons

Tech support from the Cisco Global Licensing team has not been very good in my experiences. They usually take days to reply, often issue the wrong licenses, and the licensing process seems to be convoluted and constantly changing. Cisco promised that with their new licensing strategy starting with version 9 would be more cost efficient and easier to understand. It has not turned out to be more cost efficient at all. Also, Cisco yearly maintenance is very costly, as well as all their endpoints, much more costly than the average competitor.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product with many useful features

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall good product and many different applications within the client to use

Pros

maintenance and upgrades are usually not that time consuming. Easy transfer of regular phone services over to voip cisco phones for over 4000 employees. rarely experience any outage problems with the software. offers a wide variety of features to cover all or most communication needs. Bridge conference availability 2- 10 people to communi9cate at one time

Cons

Lots of issues with the systems paging feature. Always having to perform maintenance to get paging up and working again. When network is not working the phone is not working. When participate calls in or hangs up the bridge does not provide any warning or alert tone. Not a way to lock conference call to not allow additional people to join. issues with jabber client are often

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Most powerfull IP Exchange

Reviewed 2 years ago

we have up to 400 braches and we were using exhances on all branches. if we need to make a change we used to make on all brances. now we are managing all phones and system with just a one screen which is located centralized.

Pros

CUCM is very stable and powerfull system. it provides onsite and also multiside redundancy. you can manage whole phone via one screen. backup/restore process is easy to make. management and documentations are very good and you can find anything you need on cisco.com

Cons

price is too high. making upgrade takes too much time. Administrative priviliges are limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have over 17 years in VoIP. Cisco Call Manager has been the best product I have ever used.

Reviewed 4 years ago

A fully enterprise level VoIP phone system that allows our company to configure to our needs.

Pros

The software is completely customizable. Cisco has made every effort to supply a fully feature rich platform that can be configured for any situation or use. Call Manager can be setup for multitenancy. Features and support for new technologies are being added on a regular basis. Cisco technical support is knowledgeable and quick to respond.

Cons

Licensing is very expensive. There are multiple licensing options that can be difficult to understand.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The most powerfull tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

I work for more than 10 years with systems associated with the UCM and I present few failures and these were never associated with the software was hardware or bad configuration, really excellent.

Pros

Its stability is impressive, practically without maintenance it is able to work a lot of time.

Cons

At present, a state of maturity has been achieved that allows it to be one of the best in the market, although it requires a little more time than other brands.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very happy with Cisco

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We have used a variety of Cisco products and their communication manager fit well with our organization. We make a ton of calls and this simplified the process and allowed our users to have high quality calls.

Cons

We haven't had any major issues. In fact we generally solve all IT issues internally without using customer support so I'm not even sure how they do on the support side. The issues are usually minor.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

No Joke - Its a phone system.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Number 1 - Cisco. - Inherited this phone system about 4 years ago. Self taught how to use and configure. Have since installed 4 more systems for other customers - feature rich - must have extensive Cisco knowledge.

Cons

Must have extensive Cisco knowledge. Classes, trainings and certifications recommended. This is not an easy system to learn or implement, and there are many many variables

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is good, no issues

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

being able to sign in and change reps skills very easily. I like the Cisco Reskill tool.

Cons

When someone signs in with the incorrect extension there is not an easy way to do a search by signed in extension. in our org the extensions go 111-111-1111, 111-111-1112, ect. Sometimes reps will transpose 2 numbers and it will not allow the other rep to sign in when their extensions being used.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cisco Unified Manager good for big deployment of VOIP

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to manage alot of individual phones. Able to edit a group at a time or individual phones. Easy to make changes remotely and not having to physically go to each phone

Cons

Alot of menus and options that can overwhelm users. Process to update firmware on phones is very cumbersome and time consuming. Some things needed to be done via CLI and not the web gui.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Enterprise grade VoIP but needs dedicated staff

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The thing I like most about this software is a combination of the full feature set and the high quality of support from manufacturer.

Cons

The thing I like least about this software is the complexity of configuration. Cisco is great about giving many options or nerd knobs to turn, however the UI needs a overhaul to make newer features easier to configure/find.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ive worked with UCM for years as a Cisco engineer and its still the only phone system I recommend.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Stability more than anything else. If the business relies on voice to work then this is all I recommend. Along with a CCIE to make it work right.

Pros

It does what I want it to 99% of the time. When it doesn't support makes it work or makes me update.

Cons

Supports is a bit to costly year over year and the cost of the system itself is far outside most SMB companies means.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cisco Spark

Reviewed 3 years ago

Highly recommend for small start up to large business. Great way to get connected.

Pros

Accessible, Free, easy to use get connected anytime anywhere. Perfect for team meetings and conference.

Cons

Been using the app for years now and have not encounter issues so far i would highly recommend for small tO large scale businesses

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I am a system admin and architect

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The stability of this system is unparalleled. The granularity of management restrictions is incredible. This truly is the gold standard of enterprise voip systems.

Cons

The upgrade process and licensing structure is labor intensive. Real time monitoring tool is clunky and difficult to understand.