App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Regroup Mass Notification Logo

Cloud-based mass notification software

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Regroup Mass Notification Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

57

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.18/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

alertmedia-mass-notification
onsolve-critical-communications
noggin

Pros and cons

Overall an excellent and fluid experience, requiring very little training and providing very great and comprehensive services.
We have enjoyed the ability to set up groups to notify for various reasons. We have also enjoyed the capability of controlling the type of method(s) we will communicate with the persons in system.
We've spent the past few months implementing this solution and are now inviting users to update their profiles. Too soon to say for sure, but it is clearly an improvement from what we previously had.
Some documentation is literally just a link to some other resource. All support, documentation, and tutorial materials are poorly branded or otherwise unprofessional.
Inability to understand higher level technical questions (importing custom fields). The largest drawback is the inability to mail merge, which cripples the software for customization.
Several times, emergency alerts sat in a queue and were delayed in being sent. Templates only recently became alphabetized.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


57 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Melodie M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Regroup helps keep our staff safe

Reviewed 3 years ago

In addition to using Regroup to alert staff when there is an incident requiring the use of safety protocols, we use Regroup as a way for our staff to alert their teams when they are going out and returning from the field. This is a very helpful, especially when staff are not returning to the office after being in the field.

Pros

Regroup is easy to access, and a quick and easy way to alert staff when an incident is happening and to use safety protocols to enter or leave the building.

Cons

The fact that new users have to create an account on the computer before being able to log into the mobile app, it would be more convenient to be able to do it all from the mobile app.

MV
AvatarImg

Mark V.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Regrouping the Students

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall we'd had a great experience! We use the system for critical messaging, and have used it more than once to respond to weather events, campus risks, and other safety notifications to the community. It's easy to use, and easy to train staff to use.

Pros

The ease of use and ability to maintain multiple lists, templates, and messages to engage with our faculty, staff, and student community is excellent. The price point compared to similar services is excellent and the support beyond setup is exceptional.

Cons

The initial setup was tough, and it felt like the team was very much on their own trying to get imports set up to do the things we needed to do.

Vendor response

Hi, Mark! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It means a lot to our team. We would love to know more about your experience. Would you be willing to provide more information? Please reach out to us at safe@regroup.com.

MH
AvatarImg

Matthew H.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Reveiw of Regroup Online Mass Notification

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Somewhat easy to use. Managed in the cloud.

Cons

We explicitly found cross data contamination. We are a community college and our local K-12 school system already was using Regroup for mass notification. When we uploaded our data and ran reports, we found incorrect data with our dual enrolled students (these are seniors taking a college class before graduating High School.) Regroup explained that because we had a record that had the same name as a record for the local school system, we were getting the wrong data. Apparently, Regroup did not have the proper digital security boundaries between our data and the K-12 data, meaning all records were being kept in the same database. Regroup then claimed they would work to correct that within the year. Unacceptable in this day and age of high Cyber Security threats.

Vendor response

Hello Matthew, We remember your particular issue and would like to provide some clarification. The issue you experienced was not due to any lack of digital security or boundaries, but it was due to how the K-12 account was linked with yours in the backend of our system and the expected resulting behavior for similar contact records. We have many Regroup clients with similar relationships and our system...

KT
AvatarImg

Kyne T.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Regroup -- Useful for mass communication

Reviewed 3 years ago

Check if your institution needs mail merge right away. From my recollection- the mail merge (importing custom fields within a csv) did not exist when we were using it.

Pros

The ability to manually upload groups that you can pull from datasets. Prepopulating groups allows for quick emergency notification generation. The texting and opt out ability for students is pretty painless. Configuring users for admin level access easy and quick. Training is easy and quick. Support is there. The texting add on /texting carrier is pretty painless to use. There doesn't seem to be an issue using them as a texting aggregate. Best cost from others at the moment, both in text and user count.

Cons

Groups can be overwritten by anyone with admin level access. Count of members in the group reflect existing contact information/contact information doesn't always accurately reflect the manual load. Shared opt out-- if individuals belong to multiple bodies using regroup, opting out of one opts out of the entire regroup platform. Support is not very effective -- long response times. Inability to understand higher level technical questions (importing custom fields). The largest drawback is the inability to mail merge, which cripples the software for customization. There supposedly an update that was scheduled to include this feature, but we had to migrate to a different mass communication system for mail merge.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Finally, an effective an easy-to-use and manage emergency messaging system

Reviewed 4 years ago

We've spent the past few months implementing this solution and are now inviting users to update their profiles. Too soon to say for sure, but it is clearly an improvement from what we previously had. We are eager to finalize user profiles and schedule a test.

Pros

Integrates with our Active Directory for automated account creation. We lacked a good data source for personal email addresses and cell numbers, but after creating the accounts we're asking users to add this information to their profiles. Not finished yet, but it seems easy-peasy.

Cons

We struggled with some questions during the initial configuration, but slowly figured out the online resources available and the value they provide. Being on the East coast, we had to adapt to the West coast timing for scheduled meetings, but not a big deal.

MG
AvatarImg

Michael G.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Satisfaction is the goal for Regroup

Reviewed 2 years ago

we have been pleased and the various social media sites that messages can be sent to was better than the prior system.

Pros

It's fairly easy to use and create groups for the various needs of our organization.

Cons

On the mobile app it gets difficult to scroll backwards in the text box to make additions or deletions as a message is created, I guess templates would make it easier.

AM
AvatarImg

Alissa M.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to deploy, web based!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We needed a mass notification software and chose Regroup for its user friendliness and web based platform. We are happy with the product and training is a snap. No frills, just the necessities. We love the ability to record a message, and we really love the URL feature which allows the recipient to read a text message on their phone and after 160 characters , provides a custom URL. The recipient can read the message in its entirety on the web. Very easy to implement. Very friendly tech and sales staff.

Pros

The software is web-based. No more VPN!

Cons

Emails can often be rejected as spam; default voice cannot be changed or slowed down.

SD
AvatarImg

Stanley D.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use! Great Support that are available whenever needed.

Cons

Slow to make updates to features. There are a few features that we have been waiting on since signing up and they have been slow to make these updates.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for sending mass notifications.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This is a great service and we're glad to be using it.

Pros

Very easy to use and configure. We use this daily to ssend out mass notifications and never have any issues.

Cons

There is not much to complain about. I wish there was a dark theme but that is not an issue.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mass Notifications Made Easy!

Reviewed 3 years ago

The overall communication for all of our students and staff is much easier. It's much easier than just sending out email blasts, the text portion of this means a lot, it gives us the assurance that the communication is being delivered, received, and read in a timely manner.

Pros

The admin panel is simple and makes it easy to make changes, add groups, and even get an API configured in a matter of minutes.

Cons

The only challenges I have encountered was searching through the documentation, this may be an area to improve on, possibly even making video tutorials that would enhance the customer experience.

AA
AvatarImg

Ann A.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Intuitive interface and message analytics; able to access and export data. Our enterprise team was able to automate daily updates to contact lists.

Cons

Speed/dependability has been an issue; messages don't always get through in a timely fashion. Have experienced recurring glitches (failures) in attempting to schedule messages in advance. Had to pay extra for mobile functionality.

Vendor response

We're sorry to hear about these concerns over past performance, we would love to evaluate if these are issues you're still experiencing. Please email success@regroup.com to schedule an appointment with a Customer Success Representative. We have issued continuous upgrades to maintain industry leading throughput, and have recently released additional Post Methods in the Scheduled Posts function, to include Recorded Voice Audio. We hope you will allow us to reshape your expectations of Regroup Customer Service.

mt
AvatarImg

marc t.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Pros and Cons

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very powerful tool that requires ease of use by the end user. The website application has many places that can cause errors. Once a message is being constructed you cannot go back and amend

Pros

Not much - Templates only recently became alphabetized.

Cons

End users can not modify their account so they do not receive alerts during overnight hours when they're not working. Because of that many opt out entirely except for the email notification. That defeats the SMS/Text messaging needed. Several times, emergency alerts sat in a queue and were delayed in being sent. Templates only recently became alphabetized. Once a message is sent the user should be able to take the original message, update the info and resend to the same recipients providing a time correct status for users who review messages after the fact. .

Vendor response

Hi Marc, thanks for leaving a review. We're happy to tell you that our next version of Regroup, which is expected to be released in September 2019, will resolve many of the complaints you mentioned above. Recipients will be able to set quiet hours for non-emergency notifications, and we're adding more abilities for sorting and categorizing templates. In addition, we're really enhancing the capabilities you'll have to append updates to original messages and organize replies from recipients all on one easier-to-use interface area. We are confident you're going to love the new updates!

MR
AvatarImg

Marian R.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lifesaver

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use regroup to communicate with our faculty, staff, and students. We use it for emergencies as well as for letting our campus community know about events, changes in plans. It's been a life saver.

Pros

For our needs, Regroup knocks it out of the park. We're able to schedule messages to go out at a certain day/time in the future, people can remove themselves from the groups as needed, the delivery time is almost immediate when sent, the system is crazy easy to use - for both managing groups and members to sending messages.

Cons

Once issue I had was sending a weather alert phone call and I didn't realize I had to change the "sent from" number. Since I was the user the system delivered the message from my number. I received about 60 text messages and 30 calls in return. I didn't make that mistake again!

KB
AvatarImg

Kendall B.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy to use notification system

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are able to send out immediate notifications regarding school closings, active shooter warnings, weather related notifications, and much more. We recommend this software to anyone looking for an all-in-one notification system. The Regroup mass notification system was one of the least expensive solutions and one of the easiest to use and manage.

Pros

The interface is so easy to use that we were able to delegate some of the setup for this product to some of our tier 1 help desk analysts. We were glad to find advanced features which were included with the software, these allowed us to use a third party software via an API. This comes in handy if you need to integrate the Regroup mass notification software into other systems with little to no effort. Also the price point in comparison to other companies which we looked at was competitive.

Cons

We were unable to find video tutorials which would have been useful in either basic or advanced setup of the product. We managed to figure out what we needed for our particular scenario but it would have been a lot less time consuming to have been able to follow a vendor-provided how-to video.

VH
AvatarImg

Victor H.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Notify your users fast, simple and easy.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are able to mass send students information in moments time where seconds matter. We are able to make sure our students are safe and secure with this. From weather alerts to active shooter.

Pros

Regroup has an easy to use user interface. The dashboard has everything on it, even summary of reports. Admins can send notifications from any browser or the mobile app. You have the ability to send to email, text, call, and app in an instant. Just click on New post select a premade template and post. Pretty simple. There are ways to have ready to go customized templates and posts. Reports have charts right on the page to show use and how many received. Setup and installation was easy and anyone could use the software it doesn't take an IT guy to use. Support is also great.

Cons

We haven't had any issues with the system so far. It is fully capable of doing anything we need. There aren't really any downsides, the product is good.

JT
AvatarImg

John T.

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mass notifications made easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall an excellent and fluid experience, requiring very little training and providing very great and comprehensive services. In terms of a mass notification service, I find this incredibly easy and worth it.

Pros

Regroup makes adding users and removing users easy and comprehensive, as well as sending out mass notifications to groups or everyone being simple and quick while allowing a variety of methods such as email or text message. This service was incredibly important to us at the beginning of COVID and after our offices opened in 2021, allowing us to keep all of our members informed about the status of our offices and if there were any issues requiring users to be alert or wary if they were a part of certain offices.

Cons

The only issue I can see is that if you allow users to login to regroup on their own, they are able to disable notifications from any groups they are a part of, potentially causing them to miss out on some critical notifications. Once this can be changed per group(allowing users to remove themselves from some notification groups but not all, then I would find nothing wrong with this service whatsoever.

DL
AvatarImg

David L.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Does the job but

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. Again, the main function works well and the reporting is an excellent feature especially when tracking problems.

Pros

It performs the main function really well. It sends and reports on sms messages well.

Cons

Regroup has other features that they advertise but we have yet to see them work for us.

Vendor response

Hi David, we appreciate you leaving us an honest review. We would be happy to learn about any specific issues you're having so we can help you work those out. Please reach out to our Customer Success team at success@regroup.com with details.

BH
AvatarImg

Barb H.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Regroup Review - Great Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our Customer Success Manager - [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was great! I am an administrative assistant with the duty of helping set up version 2.0. I couldn't have done it without him. He put up with all of my calls and questions (and I had a lot of them) :) We are probably not using Regroup to it's full potential.

Pros

The ability to assign different roles to different Admins so they can manage the messages that are important to them. I really like the upgrades were made in 2.0 to make sending messages quick and effortless. Being able to have a group of groups in channels makes setting up the admin authority over multiple groups and sending messages to multiple groups. I have to admit, after working with groups, it took awhile to adjust to channels, but once you "get it" you will be happy.

Cons

We have a few unique situations; we upload a few different files with different data in each. Our IT department is working with Regroup on a solution so that multiple files can be uploaded without updating or changing data in other groups.

Vendor response

Hi, Barb. We haven't heard from you in a while and wanted to check-in. Are you still enjoying our services? Would you mind providing more information? Please, reach out to us at safe@regroup.com to get to know more about your case.

BB
AvatarImg

Ben B.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Not exactly a polished product

Reviewed 5 years ago

Mediocre, from an administration perspective. Decent, from a basic user's perspective.

Pros

API access, relatively sane CSV import options, decent set of core features.

Cons

Documentation is sparse for some of the more technical topics. API docs are not annotated with much useful information and cannot be considered complete. Some documentation is literally just a link to some other resource. All support, documentation, and tutorial materials are poorly branded or otherwise unprofessional. Some configuration options are named and described ambiguously, such that they may conflict with each other if their behavior was assumed solely from their names and "tooltips". There is no parity (but many discrepancies) between similar administrator features for networks, groups, and individuals.

Vendor response

Hi Ben, thanks for your honest feedback. Earlier this year, we established a new Customer Success team that is currently ripping and replacing much of the older documentation to enable our customers to maximize their use of the system. We're also adding new tools including new tooltips and tutorials in the User Interface itself. If you come across something that's still awaiting an update and need a question answered, you can always reach us at success@regroup.com and we'll be happy to help.

BD
AvatarImg

Brooke D.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Communication Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This product is super easy to use! You can use it via app on your smart devices or via computer. You can schedule messages to go out to your groups at certain times. Everyone gets added to the system during orientation and then as managers, we can make smaller groups for our departments. Need a shift covered fast? Send out a Regroup message to reach everyone in your department. You can select phone call, text, or email or any combination of the 3.

Cons

Message size is limited to 160 characters per text. If it is longer that that, the group will get a link to the post. Sometimes I need just a couple more letters!

Vendor response

Hi, Brooke. Are you still working with our product? If so, is there anything more that we can implement to improve? We would be happy to learn about any specific issues or feedback that you have. Please reach out to us at safe@regroup.com to get in contact with you. Thanks for rating us!

MD
AvatarImg

Michael D.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Choice

Reviewed 5 years ago

If there is an emergency on one of our campuses, the system allows to effectively communicate with students and staff alerting them of the emergency.

Pros

The ease of setting up and sending out mass notifications

Cons

Email notifications can lag, depending on the volume

C.
AvatarImg

C ..

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Regroup Mass Notification Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use the system for emergencies 99% of the time. We have enjoyed the ability to set up groups to notify for various reasons. We have also enjoyed the capability of controlling the type of method(s) we will communicate with the persons in system.

Pros

This software is easy to use and does not require a technology expert to get a message out.

Cons

There is rarely a time we have had problems, however initially customer service was challenging. It has since been improved.

PZ
AvatarImg

Paul Z.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Regroup is Great

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is great to have this Software, we love it.

Pros

Regroup has helped us with making sure that we are prepared to share information in the case of an emergency. We also use the software for weekly communication with all of our staff. Regroup has changed the way we communicate.

Cons

None at this time, I feel that this software has improved our communication.

AM
AvatarImg

Allen M.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flexible

Reviewed 4 years ago

Regroup Mass Notification has helped Mississippi College keep our current students, faculty and staff updated with emergency notifications in real-time.

Pros

The promises made at the beginning of our search process were fulfilled in implementation and through the continued updates- the API has provided the flexibility we need. The price point initially and ongoing is competitive.

Cons

Multiple ways to do things at multiple levels sometimes led to confusion. This has been resolved as the product has continued to be developed and refined.

DT
AvatarImg

Donald T.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Versatile

Reviewed 4 years ago

Used for Mass notification for Emergencies, disasters. Used by individual departments to notify/alert only their department.

Pros

Ability to break users down into small (department) groups and assign each group a manager. Makes it easy for departments to use the software. Makes management of users less of a burden on the administrator. Usage went up 1000% from our previous software.

Cons

Nothing so far and we've been on this software for almost three years.