App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Skype Logo

Skype

VoIP software for phone calls, chats, and video conferencing

see alternatives

Skype Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.1

/5

192
77%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.57/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Screen share feature is amazing and completely free of cost. It is a simple and amazing software.
For both personal and business reasons, Skype is a terrific way to connect quickly and effortlessly.
Overall I have had a good experience with Skype. Perfect lightweight instant messaging app.
There has been a persistent problem that it takes a lot of time to load the app sometimes. Just basic features have been provided in it, if we compare it with its competitors.
There is not much I do not like, but the lack of support of break-out rooms is something I have noticed and missed on occasion, though a minor gripe.
Sometimes the app can lag or brake a little if you have a computer or cellphone with basic hardware.

Skype users...

Zoom Meetings-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 6

Zoom Meetings

Microsoft Teams-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 2

Microsoft Teams

Zoom Video Webinars-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Zoom Video Webinars

Google Hangouts-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo

Google Hangouts

How would you rate Skype?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


192 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Skype has always been the best traditional voice calling app until Microsoft acquired it

Reviewed a month ago

Support wide range of operating systems Linux, Windows, Android, Apple IOS , can work even on smart TVs. It has the possibility to edit or delete chat messages. very good quality voice and video calls even with very low quality internet connection.

Pros

Skype is the best App for voice and video calling, it have been around since forever one of the best stable reliable communication apps. it has very important functions that many other calling and chat apps are missing, like editing messages and it was able to save the history of your chat and shared media forever. until 2011 when Microsoft acquired Skype they seem to have started to messed up things alot they lowered the number of years you can keep your chat history to only 3 years. and feels like they are killing Skype to push for other alternative solution Microsoft Teams, which is now included in Windows 11 as the default communication app.

Cons

it can keep only last 3 year of chat history. Owned by Microsoft which seems to push for other alternative communication Apps like Microsoft Teams.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for most applications!

Reviewed a month ago

Skype was easy to use and is not expensive. We really saw benefits from the video conferencing and screen sharing features. We even used Skype to train new employees. For most applications this is a great program and I would recommend it to anyone as long as they don't need more than 50-100 participants while conferencing.

Pros

Skype is low cost, easy to use no matter what type of device you're on, several helpful features for presentations or conferencing, and you can easily use it with other software. I do enjoy using Skype and it is easy to navigate.

Cons

The main con is that while the audio is usually clear, white noise or background noise often causes problems. Its not clear what the solution is and it's hard to contact customer support. Another con is that if you're a large group or company and need to include more than 50 or so participants it can be difficult and I believe it only allows 100 participants total.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

We are migrating to Slack

Reviewed 10 days ago

Great but some features could be improved

Pros

We have been using Skype since before COVID, one thing I really like is the confirmation messages, showing that the other party already reviewed your message. Overall, it was a great asset during our work from home phase, but since then our company introduced us to Slack. Nevertheless, Skype is still in use by some teams inside our company for internal communication platform. We use the most of embedded options, like short text message, direct conversations, conferences and video chats.

Cons

But the main issue is that regardless how great your bandwidth is (you could have up to 1GBPS) and you'll still have connexion issues, making the reliability of the app quite low compared to others like Slack.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Group Calling - Recording - Chatting Apps

Reviewed a month ago

With the help of skype, I solved many issues in the company. 1. Communication tools 2. Video calling, voice calling, video recording. 3. Between meetings can join people. 4. sharing the resources like files, pdf, images and many more things.

Pros

there is a list of features I like about skype. 1. Global customer, company widly use of skype. 2. Provide features like Calling, Video Calling Recording. 3. Chatting Searching old history possible. 4. Support in Web also. one can use as well in browsers.

Cons

need to improve this thing. 1. lack of voice in video calling, voice calling. 2. lack of screen sharing with voice. 3. software takes too load sometimes to get old chats.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pioneer tool

Reviewed a month ago

I've used Skype a lot to make video calls to other states in the country, it's a pioneering tool that has helped many people.

Pros

The experience I had was generally very good, skype has a lot of features for video calling and calls. You can share screens, translate links, and more. All this in a practical and free way.

Cons

Despite being an old and widely used platform, nowadays social networks are much more improved than before, so you can make video calls and calls for free with instagram, facebook and other social networks, so in my social cycle, people don't use it that much. I believe Skype could invest more in marketing and innovation, encourage more usage, as competitors are gaining more users every day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good software for communication

Reviewed a month ago

The experience with skype is still good. It is an indispensable software in the world of communication.

Pros

Skype is a software widely used by businesses and individuals. It is free to use and it helps to create a culture of team communication. In addidtion, this is a great tool to use for remote workers, telecommuters and anyone who wants to talk on camera without having to set up a full-blown studio. It is also useful for organizing calls and sharing ecards.

Cons

Sype is a great tool. The only problem I have with it is that it takes too long to solve a problem in many other areas. But you have to admit that it does in the end.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My Skype Experience and Review

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I love the interface a lot. I think Skype and all its customizations. I also think most companies are under-rating Skype for their business needs.

Cons

I haven't seen any reason not to like it apart from the fact of its unpopularity.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It's a good app but the competition has already beat it

Reviewed a month ago

Good, although clearly others options far exceeds it

Pros

It's very easy to install and intuitive to use, which makes the experience pleasant, you can share the screen and other things that, especially for the time, were great!

Cons

Its interface looks the same as years ago, it has things that give that impression of "stuck in time". It also consumes a lot of resources.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great group video calls

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

It was very easy to sign up. The user interface is very welcoming and pleasing to the eye. Video calls are very easy to set up and use. The app is very secure with personal information.

Cons

There can be an audio delay at times which may affect the quality of group meetings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It's good for meetings but not much options are there

Reviewed 2 months ago

It was ok as it was only used for meetings

Pros

It's good quality video calls and easy to switch between screens

Cons

For the time Skype has been around I think it should have had much more features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Messaging and video conferencing tools for small businesses

Reviewed 4 months ago

Skype is an affordable way to stay in touch with people around the world, and it has proven to be an invaluable tool for our business. Remote work has become very popular in recent years, especially with the Covid-19 pandemic. Simple and without a doubt the most effective, Skype has saved many lives by connecting people all over the world online. If it can improve the problem of occupying memory resources, it will be perfect.

Pros

Skype is the undisputed leader in instant messaging for small businesses. It has a fast chat interface and is best for small conversations and planned meetings with stable screen sharing features. Due to its widespread adoption, it is easy to communicate with customers/suppliers without them having to install another instant messaging app. My colleagues all use Skype for online meetings and business negotiations. I like how easily I can make and receive calls. The screen sharing option is very useful, especially when I have to give a presentation or teach online. I've been Skype for a long time and Skype helps me to connect easily with clients to keep lost historical messages and to transfer files easily. It is also very useful especially for making calls abroad.

Cons

I've noticed that Skype may be using too much memory and it can cause my PC performance to suffer when I use it in my PC. However, I believe it still works fine in this case. Although this is a free software, I believe this can be improved. In addition, there are occasional message delays and no notifications received, and technical support may also need to be improved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It's easy for me to communicate with others when I utilize Skype

Reviewed 4 months ago

For both personal and business reasons, Skype is a terrific way to connect quickly and effortlessly. It helps you to feel as if you're in the same place. If you don't want to bother with video or audio, this is a convenient way to communicate fast and effectively. For group talks, I don't think this is a good fit. The maximum group size is ten. Because Google Hangouts was free, we used it for small group calls and GoToMeeting for bigger ones. A fee-based service like GoToMeeting was well-suited for this purpose, though.

Pros

Skype is a fantastic tool for chatting, video conferencing, and more. You may download and use it for free; even beginners can get started right away because it's so simple to use. Text, audio, or video can all be used to communicate. Skype is a cross-platform application that may be used on a variety of devices. Skype has the potential to improve the productivity of business users. You can invite...

Cons

Skype itself is not a problem for me; it's Microsoft's approach to it that bothers me. Skype will no longer be supported by Microsoft in Windows 11. To utilize Skype on Windows 10, you'll need to get used to Microsoft Teams, which is essential for greater security and additional features in Windows 11.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Simple Skype Review

Reviewed 5 months ago

There has not been a single day in the last 2 years, where an online meeting has been hold and Skype is not used. Skype is a very powerful software, and majority of the organizations, shcools, companies, everyone need to learn to keep up with this age. In the previous years remote jobs have become very popular with particular regard to the Covid-19 pandemic. Skype has been simple, and most effective - there is no doubt it saved many lives by letting people worldwide to get in touch with each other via online. Overall this software is indispensable and very much indeed practical to the everyday life.

Pros

All my co-workers use Skype for online meetings and conferences and for business negotiations. I love that I can easily call people and receive calls. I personally find the screenshare option remarkably useful, espeically when I have to hold presentations or teaching online. It is quite easy to search for people and also tremendously practical for making a call abroad.

Cons

As with all technology there are a few drawbacks. I think some of the functions have the potential to be more user friendly. Inserting a video could be easier to do. Currently there are some bugs where the screen gets frozen during online meetings. It has to be mentioned that, controlling other devices is still impossible, but would be handy when it come to train my new co-workers or in case of attending at an IT course.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best instant messaging software

Reviewed 4 months ago

I'm using skype from more than 10 years, since I was student. It's very helpfull when studying with mates: We can share screen and communicate, which helps to explain and share ideas more easily, like we are studying together at the same room. I it at work too for video conference and online meeting, and to work with mates when we are working from home or distant in office: the ability to share screen and communicate at the same time is very usefull for teamwork, and more over the ability of recording presentation is helpfull to remember some precise informations. More over, it's very usefull for gaming too in case of online team gaming : You can communicate with your friends team when playing together, without impacting your latency.

Pros

Ability to connect and join meetings easily from all devices type : smartphone, computer, tv and tablet, Ability to record meetings and online presntations Very easy to use, without needs of formal training Screan share option which is very usefull for teamworking and when we are working in remote at home Audio and video quality is great.

Cons

Sometimes it's hard to find old conversations lack of social networking groups (like teams) May have issues when internet connection is not strong. In this case, audio will be like robotic. Should be optimised to be clear with weak internet connection. Sometimes we got an issue when sharing files

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Skype is still good but needs improvement

Reviewed 4 months ago

Old school Skype user, at least 11 years, so I have been the evolution of the platform. Of course after the pandemic, Zoom is the app who took the leadership of video conferencing , and Skype has been relegated. Video recordings are difficult to start / stop and the quality is very bad. I used to use a software called Skype Call Recorder by a third party company but latest updates cut the compatibility. Not being able to record a call makes you think twice about using Skype or another platform. There is a stigma attached to Skype since it was bought by Microsoft. Users feel that their priority is to develop Teams, so they don't feel confident enough of the quality and stability of the platform, and that affects the decision to buy a plan or the whole 365 Office subscription.

Pros

Old school video conference software. The brand itself it's easy to identify for old generations and make it easy for them to relate the brand with online video call and video conferencing. Since I have an old account, I still have the option to make a meeting with several users for an unlimited time. The NDI integration is great if you want to bring a Skype interview to streaming platforms like Ecamm or OBS, however, it takes a lot of resources, so you better have a good computer to handle all that.

Cons

After the pandemic hit, Zoom took the leadership by offering a lighter, resources friendly and more reliable platform with better results in terms of video quality and stability. I don't feel that Skype evolved successfully in this new era by not adapting their product to the new needs and demands.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best online web meeting & conferencing tool

Reviewed 4 months ago

It is a great user experience with skype. It's an amazing communication tool whether it is phone calls, online video meetings, or chat. It is one solution for all kinds of communication.

Pros

Skype's best feature is its video clarity. It is simple to use and effective for any size business, from a small startup to a major corporation. Skype is mobile-friendly, and the mobile app is excellent. We can hold meetings anywhere and at any time. It integrates easily with Microsoft 365. When it comes to messaging and group chat, it's highly effective, with some notification, and video options. File sharing, especially large files, can be done without trouble.

Cons

I was facing lags early but now I am happy with the software and have found nothing to dislike.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Skype helps us stay in touch

Reviewed 2 months ago

It is the best VoIP (voice over IP) tool for teams and individuals.

Pros

1. Chat or make audio/video calls for free to any device having skype. You can even use it from your mobile app. 2. Skype has an inbuilt translator to translate voice calls automatically. It is a game-changing feature that many competing tools can’t match easily. 3. You can also make calls to landlines or mobile phones on a paid basis. 4. You can store a list of contacts with their skype IDs and chat/...

Cons

1. If you have no balance, you can’t make a single call to analog numbers like landlines or mobile phones. 2. In the case of slow internet connections, most features are not usable. 3. There are some privacy issues and safety features that need improvement, especially in mobile devices. 4. The basic version of the translator is free, but you need to pay for any meaningful conversations. 5. Conferencing feature for audio/ video calls has some hiccups, and there is scope for improvement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for group chats and unlimited calls

Reviewed 3 months ago

I use 2 versions of Skype, the mobile version and the desktop version, what I like about both versions is that they have the option to use a dark mode, which makes it more comfortable on the eyes and allows me to spend more time without damaging my eyes , the notifications are unobtrusive and it allows me to set my status to available or busy, this is very useful when I'm on my pc and I don't want any interruptions.

Pros

I have used Skype for many years, perhaps many don’t use it, but personally I think it is a great software, it is stable, it allows you to create groups, put a name and a certain image to the group and add contacts by email or by username , Skype offers several useful tools to make communication more interactive, something I like is that it allows me to share the screen, and make unlimited calls to conventional numbers for a very low rate.

Cons

Skype is excellent for calls and chat, the only thing I've had problems with is video calls, you need a good connection to be stable and fluid, otherwise it may show some lags.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Efficient but outdated

Reviewed 4 months ago

For a free software tool, it is great, easy to set up and perfect for business and personal networking globally.

Pros

I like that this software is free, simple, and easy to set up. It does not require a lot of knowledge and the format and design is clear.

Cons

It does not have the same flow and dynamic use compared to programs like Microsoft teams or zoom.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Get a local phone number via skype

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

What I love the most with Skype is they give you the chance to pick a phone number with your local area code. You can also choose from any other region in the country. The assign phone number will perform just like any regular phone number would. You can pick up calls and respond to text without an issue.

Cons

I dislike the fact that renewing your monthly phone number and your calling credits are two separate bills. I wish they all came as one package.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User friendly tool for IM & Conference

Reviewed 3 months ago

User friendly interface. Good voice quality.

Pros

The limit on adding people to a call is enough, can be used by big groups. The voice quality on calling and conferences is good. It is possible to share documents via chat. We have colleagues in different places on the globe and still we can make calls without delays.

Cons

Some 3pp addtional plugins can be added to the tool to make it more attractive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Qualitative use of Skype

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Skype is all time best product until there was not other competitors in market. But Still Skype is good in messaging. - group texting is best thing we have - one of major features i like is that auto transalation to talk with people from other conutry

Cons

need some improvement for video conferencing + sometimes translation issues due to multiple words mismatch.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Skype NU

Reviewed 14 days ago
Pros

It is a very suitable software for screen sharing, video calling and regular calls. Almost every feature I'm looking for and need is available

Cons

I don't think the price I paid was very reasonable. I think they need to do some research and editing on this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Skype

Reviewed a month ago

It is the best platform to use for online meetings, and conferences as it is much more secure than other platforms It provides us the facility to share the screen with clients and other team members. It provides the smooth connection without any hurdle

Pros

Easy to use More convenient Provide smooth connection Screen Sharing option available

Cons

Use a high-quality internet Connection It offers no access to emergency services Language translation services are not available

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome tool for real time team meeting!

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

I truly like that Skype is free app for communicating since I fired utilizing it up until the present time. We appreciate involving this item in the greater part of our gatherings, even in our classes. This item doesn't be guaranteed to require credit except if you really want it's different elements to settle on decisions to mobiles and landlines and send SMS instant messages. By and large, I am a cheerful client of Skype!

Cons

This item's product presumably utilizes an excess of memory that is weighty when you use it in your PC that it causes a few slacks in your PC utilization. I trust that they can work on this element. Despite the fact that I realize this is free, and I truly do trust that the organization can improve on this one.