App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Amazon Aurora Logo

Amazon Aurora

Relational database management system for MySQL & PostgreSQL

see alternatives

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Amazon Aurora Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

14

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.5/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Keep the data, and this is a good thing, and this is one of its best features, and some programs are not safe, but this program very safe and very easy to use and retrieve my information is easy.
The reliability, speed, and ease of scaling that Aurora offers are unmatched at their price. RDS was great when we started out, but with our software's growth, moving to Aurora was an easy decision.
The best part of Aurora is that it is managed, which makes everything easier for setting up. The data is encrypted which helps the data to be secured completely.
It's not user-friendly which makes it difficult to use at the beginning.
The interfaces are all identical, we didn't have to change any code at all (except for one thing -- see below), and once we cut over, it just worked.
Reading/writing via external (i.e. not on AWS) applications is.... difficult. At least, it took me a while to figure it out.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


14 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ajmal S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best RDS Solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

If you are looking for a best solution in cloud or hybrid environment, go for it.

Pros

Amazon Aurora is a wonderful Relational Database Solution in the AWS Cloud, it can provide you with up to 15 read replicas, it is amazingly server-less. You don't need to worry of capacity and performance.

Cons

It is a bit expensive as to the other available solutions, but considering its features it is a good choice.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

No concerns for speed or our SLAs

Reviewed 2 years ago

Years ago, as our product and userbase grew enough that basic RDS wasn't cutting it, our IT team was surprised at how affordable the move to Aurora was, considering all the improvements. We've never looked back and don't have to spend nearly any working hours on scaling, migrations, and backups. We couldn't do what we do with out it.

Pros

The reliability, speed, and ease of scaling that Aurora offers are unmatched at their price. RDS was great when we started out, but with our software's growth, moving to Aurora was an easy decision.

Cons

The software has pretty much checked every box we have for managed database solutions. The only *ding* they get is for some often slow support response times/solutions.

KF
AvatarImg

Kayes F.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

MAke Services Esier

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

everything on one platform thats the most amazing things.

Cons

Hard functionality. find out other option is hard

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Aurora - if you're on RDS, you should definitely give it a look

Reviewed 2 years ago

We had been on RDS for a number of years, happily running mySQL, when Aurora came out. The timing felt good: Oracle was just about buy mySQL (I think - not 100% sure on timing), so we were already feeling a bit edgy about what future support for mySQL was going to cost. It was hyped as a cheaper, faster alternative to mySQL -- and once we dipped our toes in the water, we discovered that's pretty...

Pros

* Pretty much a one-for-one swap with mySQL, only faster and cheaper * Not any learning curve * Super reliable

Cons

* If you have a seriously customized mysql installation, there may be some plugins that don't work

DT
AvatarImg

Dibin T.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

AWS Aurora A must have RDBMS

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of configuration and usability. From the beginning I found it easy to use and handy

Cons

at integration level ,I think we can work to make it more seamless

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ahmed Adel Abdullah A.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review about Amazon Aurora

Reviewed a year ago

The advantages are many and many, and it is easy to use and safe. as for the problems, they are few and do not affect the user, such as the difficulty of using it at the beginning, and this is not a problem from my point of view, because this problem is present in the program, application and site .

Pros

Keep the data, and this is a good thing, and this is one of its best features, and some programs are not safe, but this program very safe and very easy to use and retrieve my information is easy .

Cons

Some plugins do not work, but later they change and work well. At the first use, you say that it is difficult, but with time, the program is easy, and it must be developed more in order to be easy for the user at the beginning.

TE
AvatarImg

Trent E.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid basis for any cloud database needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've enjoyed my experience using Aurora. It's a really nice database system and supports both MySQL and Postgres, which is a plus. Connecting it to EC2 is really easy by just making sure the security groups are happy. I like it and plan to use it a little for my own personal projects.

Pros

- Support both MySQL and Postres - Available in both serverless and server-based varieties - Easy to connect to via EC2 instances

Cons

- Reading/writing via external (i.e. not on AWS) applications is.... difficult. At least, it took me a while to figure it out. Maybe I was doing it wrong though.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Performant database

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I used to compare it with other databases, it is one of the best databases I know on the performance level.

Cons

One bad thing that developers have limited control over the underlying infrastructure and configuration

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Awesome Relational DB for cloud

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall great product.

Pros

This software is built for Relational DB for cloud, it is one of the best database engines out there. It gives high performance and reliability.

Cons

A bit costlier compared to other similar products, feels bit unpolished and clunky sometimes. The interface could be better, other than these no much cons.

MS
AvatarImg

Munir S.

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great managed remote desktop services by Amazon

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The best part of Aurora is that it is managed, which makes everything easier for setting up. The data is encrypted which helps the data to be secured completely. It is way faster than other databases such as Oracle.

Cons

It's not user-friendly which makes it difficult to use at the beginning. The support is not the best when compared to others in the market.

AB
AvatarImg

Annamaria B.

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ottimo app

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ottimo software. perfetto per la gestione dei database. ottimo rapporto qualità e prezzo.

Cons

lentezza programma a volte. abbiamo notato qualche rallentamento durante gli aggiornamenti, ma nel complesso funziona bene.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

LN
AvatarImg

Lonwabo N.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

How easy it is to use Amazon Aurora?

Reviewed 2 years ago

Keeping all my data is the best thing that it has done for, i have lost somedaya before but now i know it's safe and i can store it and recover it if lost.

Pros

Amazon Aurora is a very easy to use platform to store data and transfer it, i like everything about it and mostly that is very affordable.

Cons

It hasn't been improved for a while there some features that are missing i just with they could add them like the storage size.

AM
AvatarImg

Ana M.

Banking, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Happy with the product

Reviewed a year ago

I like it and use it constantly because of the variety I have in the palms of my hands, it's much more practical.

Pros

The practicality of access and the quantity and value of the products.

Cons

However, I find it a little bureaucratic when finalizing any purchase

CV
AvatarImg

Cleisla V.

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super recomendo

Reviewed a year ago

São muitas coisas boas, benefícios lucrativos Fora a boa impressão dos produtos

Pros

Os produtos são ótimos E é tudo super fácil de fazer

Cons

É difícil de dizer Porq achei tudo muito fácil Claro que nem tudo nessa vida é perfeito, mas sobre o software não tenho oque reclamar

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation