This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Balsamiq Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


337 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for rapid prototyping

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I use Balsamiq often when I am short on time and need to create a sitemap/wireframe quickly. Nice tool set. Easy to share with team. Great for rapid prototyping!

Cons

Balsamiq needs to be installed locally to share the Balsamiq file. Can be clunky to use at time. Somewhat limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Time saver

Reviewed 2 years ago

Brilliant, this has saved us precious dev time and money by easily allowing clients to share their ideas with us and vice a versa .

Pros

It allows client to quickly and easily convey what they are looking for and for us to quickly and easily convey to the client what we have in mind. We create our ideas for pages in balsamic and send it through to the client they can then easily see what we have envisioned and comment before precious dev time is wasted.

Cons

I haven't experienced any cons to the software it does what is promised and it does it well. I introduced Balsamic based on experience at a previous employer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic wire-framing tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Really easy to draw low fidelity mock-ups of websites and apps. Easy to use even if you've never created a wireframe before.

Cons

The design could be a bit nicer, it feels a bit dated. It can sometimes be hard for clients to be comfortable with wireframes and the slightly dated design of Balsamiq probably doesn't help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quick and easy wireframes to send to developers.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is incredibly easy to use and looks decently professional. It has a lot of different UI/UX features you can put into your wireframe, and it is easy to implement all of them and link them to the right pages/bodies. Additionally, you can export via pdf, so none of the recipients of the wireframe have to own balsamiq to view the wireframes.

Cons

Not all of the components for the wireframes can be linked to different pages, so you have to be creative in which ones you choose. It doesn't allow for super complex interfaces, but is better served for simple interactions in my opinion.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Updates are long overdue

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's really easy to use and the potential to be a great app is there.

Cons

The CON for balsamiq is that it doesn't even try to improve. Iv'been a paying customer for 2 years and UI is the same. There are no new icons, templates, wireframes or anything you might want.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easily create project mock-ups

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software was great for creating mock-ups of new service components and features in development. The interface was generally quite easy to navigate, and the building tools included all sorts of common tech components such as social media icons, phone templates, web browser nav, etc.

Cons

Using the hosted version, the responsiveness of the program could be a bit slow at times. Saving and timing out were also considerations for use.

Vendor response

Ack, I¿m sorry that you ran into connection issues. If you have time, I¿d love to troubleshoot it with you. Shoot us an email at support@balsamiq.com. -Brendan

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Love, love, love Balsamiq

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Balsamiq allows me to quickly and efficiently build mock ups of user interfaces for my projects. I've used it to develop websites, phone applications, and screens for new software projects. It uses drag and drop shapes, and an informal "hand illustration" style that conveys the fact that these are only mock ups, not actual screens, without looking like the mess my own hand-drawn mockups would be

Cons

I would like to see more styles, beyond the "hand illustration" style for other occasions where a more formalized final product is needed

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Michael. :) We just wanted to let you know that you can change the skin/style to a more formal one by using the dedicated option in the Project Info Panel. More details here: https://docs.balsamiq.com/desktop/projectinfo/ Hope this helps! -Virgin

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great fast little wireframing tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Quick easy mockups during meetings to explore ideas. You can use a white board, but if some of your people are remote then this is a better option.

Pros

Ease of use, low fidelity prototypes, easy to share and can easily be shipped off as pdfs. You can share them with a distributed team and collaborate easily. Reduced gui design time with lower cost resources.

Cons

What's not to like? Balsamiq is great for wireframing if that is what you are doing. If you want interaction though you need another tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great mockup tools and very functional in my agile projects

Reviewed 3 years ago

In general, my experience was really great, it fits perfect in our agile team for developing enterprise solutions.

Pros

Cloud and on premise offer. I can use the tool using cloud characteristics and also on premise. We use this tool in my team for creating mockups for our enterprise application developed in house.

Cons

There is not a MAC version. that's really bad, as a MAC user i can't use on premise solution.

Vendor response

Hi there and sorry for the confusion. We do have a Mac version available on our website. Here is the link: https://balsamiq.com/download Please let us know if you need any further help (support@balsamiq.com). -Virgin

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quick and easy...

Reviewed 7 years ago

I'm not a web developer, but I do work with customers to work out what sort of stuff they want on a page of a web application. Using Balsamiq enabled me to make sure I was capturing the data items they wanted in a logical order, and (after checking with the customer) I had a clear outline to pass it to the web development team for implementation and usability suggestions. Didn't use customer service but there isn't a "not applicable" option.

Pros

Widgets for most things - drop-down lists, calendars, radio buttons and so on. Easy drag-and-drop into place.

Cons

Nothing springs to mind...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to learn, use, and receive feedback on your mockups quickly

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software was very easy to learn quickly and make mock ups which looked nice, but not so final that it was hard to get people to give feedback about what functionality you were trying to accomplish on each screen. They very clearly look like mockups which everyone is ok with giving good feedback on, but also get feedback from software engineers that I worked with that they were very easy to translate to code.

Cons

It was difficult to demonstrate extremely dynamic or custom functionality, which limited the software designs that we could develop slightly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software for rapid mock-up creation

Reviewed 2 years ago

This software has been ideal for coming up with a basic idea of what you want to make, we use it to come up with the initial designs, rapidly and it does that very well. We don't spend too long working on a mock-ups with this software which means we can quickly move to the next steps

Pros

Easy to use, you can easily start sketching without even having to go through a manual. You can create a sort of base template to add upon which makes creating mock-ups much faster. Option to auto save projects that is definitely a handy feature in any software to say the least

Cons

Not enough options for saving interactive versions of the projects such as HTML or something. The mock-ups you make are very basic which is not bad when you just want an idea of what you want to make but for something more realistic this software may not be suited for that. in my personal experience I thought it was much much better for desktop mock-ups than mobile but it can do mobile mock-ups Also having some sort of flow map would help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great app for jumping right into mocking up apps

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is super simple to install and start using for mockups. Its great for beginners and pros and has a good feature set for building your vision into reality.

Cons

It does not have all the features a pro needs to build out apps. It is clearly used more for design and less for actual build-outs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best software ever for wireframing

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

You're forced in creating LF prototypes, and that's the main reason we use that: you will focus on functionality and UX vs visual appeal and UI. (and it has a cool drawn-like style)

Cons

I don't know, I think is perfect in its purpose.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Balsamiq is a great wire framing tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Let's face it, there are tons of option and ways to get your ideas down and organized starting with putting pencil to paper. Balsamiq is a rapid wireframing tool that has the feel of a whiteboard. It's fast and you get ideas down quickly.

Cons

There's not much that I did not like about Balsamiq. Maybe it could be integrated with other popular apps but that is something of a pipe dream.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome wire framing tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Balsamiq is a great tool to communicate quick ideas. Highly recommend.

Pros

Balsamiq has a very low learning curve. A new Balsamiq user can expect to be up and running within minutes of creating a new mockup. There are many great "templates" for iconography, applications, hardware, visual elements, etc. One of the best parts of Balsamiq is the ability to hyperlink certain areas of the mockup, so users can actually "click through" the pages in a demo.

Cons

The only real con is the limited high fidelity options. Sometimes, it's helpful to present high fidelity mockups.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for mockups

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The sketchy lines make it so much faster to work because you're able to keep your head away from thinking in terms of finalized design.

Cons

There's nothing I can really think to list as a con - the software is very good at what it was designed for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The fastest UI mockups

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have used mockups just in special cases where we don't have artists or designers available, but because of that it says that is a great tool, because anyone, without being a designer, can use the tool without problems.

Pros

Is really easy to use, you just drag and drop the things you want (it has many different objects, like buttons, screens, maps, titles, labesl, etc.), accommodate them in the way you want and you are ready to go, you can export your mockups as images (or even as pdf). Also you can create hyperlinks accross screens, so you can have an interactive pdf that will guide you thorugh the screens you created.

Cons

It creates only gray mockups, I know that the name of the software is about it, but if you have an skilled artist, I think he/she cna handle it at the same speed but creating some mockups with an art style that is closer to the actual screen you want and not only a gray screen showing the position of the buttons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Balsamiq Wireframes

Reviewed a year ago

I loved this software because it helps me to create my own website design.

Pros

This software helps me to create my own website wireframe. Balsamiq Wireframes is very easy to use.

Cons

The least factor is the Image quality is not good. For a new user it is somewhat difficult to understand the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Don't be fooled by the seemingly playful looks this is pro software!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Balsamiq gets the mockup experience perfectly right by giving you all the design and collaboration tools you need. By keeping the look and feel of the UI elements simple, the product forces you to focus on the actual result and functionality of your product, rather than colors, icons or pixel-perfect design.

Cons

I honestly love everything about this software! If I had to tell something I like least, it'd be that it only helps in the very initial phase of your product development and you'll have to use another tool to actually design your UI.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good application to build wireframes

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Balsamiq Wireframes to build our web application and have them validated by our customers

Pros

The ability to export wireframes to PDF, alternate version for a screen

Cons

Sometime it misses component to build your wireframe

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Paper sketch like easy to use tool for mockups

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am using Balsamiq as a part of teaching in Harvard extension School Class. We require students to use it to do initial sketches for the user stories.

Pros

Balsamiq is easy to use and it can quickly produced sketches that look a lot like paper ones and could also be linked together by hotspots. You can also export upper work and share with other people.

Cons

The feel and look of UI elements could be modernized. Also, it would be nice if there was an option of team work or discussion right inside the app. It takes time to figure out all the options and how to do versioning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Awesome Software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to make mockups, really like the ability to create nice wireframes

Cons

Sometimes can be a little clunky to learn at first, but consistent updates make it great

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good & simple software

Reviewed 2 years ago

The wireframes created with this software looks fine, in some minutes you can create your designs and share with coworkers or customers.

Pros

Is easy to use, for fast wireframes is fine, I just tried the windows edition, I'm not sure if there is another version of this sofware, probably don`t, also you are capable to export like an image.

Cons

This is the other side of the pro, use some Adobe Productos to work, so, probably you have to consider that, because you have to install another dependencies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great beginner product for mockups

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and learn right away, lots of drag and drop features

Cons

Not very customizable, seems a bit limited in terms of replicating certain design scenarios (like showing functionality)