This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

CAEplex

Thermo-mechanical analysis platform for engineers

see alternatives

CAEplex Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It's very simple, easy to use, and the results are so good. I thnik it would be a very good tool for the autoparts industry.

Simon B.

It’s really affordable and offers easy integration with Onshape, plus it’s super quick and doesn’t slow me down.

Anonymous Reviewer

Useful tool to explore, I love the cloud-based implementation.

Xavier B.

Cons

A little irritated that I cannot delete geometry and add a new geometry.

Sreedhar C.

Problems with CAEplex which I have solved with my colleges were related to design of plastic components, and prediction of their behavior during load application with thermal stresses.

Paweł K.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

6

3

3

0

0

75%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


12 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Design improvemnts via FEA study using CAEplex

Reviewed 2 years ago

Problems with CAEplex which I have solved with my colleges were related to design of plastic components, and prediction of their behavior during load application with thermal stresses. In general with CAEplex we were able to predict and correct the design. This correction allow Us to reduce implementation phase by 6-8 weeks in the project.

Pros

The software is very intuitive and user friendly. There is no need to use various "tricks". You simply upload the geometry, set the boundary conditions and proceed to analysis. The summary allows you to find out if there are errors and at what step, then if everything is fine the program begins to count, which is also shown by the status bar. In addtion even if You are free user the support form CAEplex team is on the highest level. Always responsive within few minutes if time zone are align. If not You get support information via e-mail.

Cons

In some of the cases import of files was difficult , but with support team was solved and proper action were taken.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review Pawel. One alternative to overcome some difficulties with particular CAD files is to use CAEplex directly integrated into Onshape.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Useful tool to explore, I love the cloud-based implementation

Reviewed 2 years ago

We re-posted one of your articles (with permission) fot its use in our blog Tribonet.org. It has been quite succesful, 1200 views already. https://www.tribonet.org/say-modeling-not-simulation/

Pros

Cloud-based. It is always annoying to be tight to a coputer where you have your software license. Floating licenses are usually more expensive and still require for the installation of the software. The cloud-based approach is just perfect to present results to costumers or during meetings. The user interface is beatiful and easy to use.

Cons

I did not spend enough time testing it but I would definitely consider it in the future for thermo-mechanical modelling.

Vendor response

Thanks for your thorough feedback. We look forward to viewing your thermo-mechanical projects online!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I´ve been using the free trial option and it´s really easy to get fast results on your models.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Get a fast resolution and first idea on how some model is going to behave under specific conditions.

Pros

This software have two main features that make it great. First at all, is that you don´t need to have a sophisticated hardware, because CAEplex runs into the cloud, and second is that it´s really easy to use, because the intefaz is great for people how isn´t related with softwares about simulations.

Cons

Maybe, it would be good to have documentation in other lenguages, such as spanish or portuguese, in order to reduce the barrier of entrance at the world of simulation in countries from South America.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We are glad our platform behaves as you say in your review, because that is the original goal we designed CAEplex for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

eye-opening, modern technology

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I head the opportunity to test a beta version of CAEplex with an eye towards its use of webGL-based x3d technology. I was really impressed by its innovative synthesis of an easy to use, no installation required, web interface with a powerful FEM analyzer and solver on high performance servers. It was eye-opening how quickly it was possible to set up the provided example problem and arrive at a full simulation. Very polished.

Cons

Sorry, my experience did not go into enough detail to explore the limitations of CAEplex although I am sure there are a few. Other than elastic rheologies, crack propagation are outside the scope currently but could be targets.

Vendor response

Thanks for your time and for appreciating the technological breakthrough we propose.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Teaching class of FEM Students

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy start of the teaching without installation problems

Pros

It is web based; very simple to use and has free starting version which is perfect for small group of students with low budget

Cons

The selection of the different boundary conditions needs some expirience and thinking (how to add a new one, if the old one is accepted)

Vendor response

Thanks for your time and considerations. Indeed, even when we think we are the easiest finite-element package available, we plan to improve the way boundary conditions are entered to make them more intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect (almost) for occassional FEA analyst

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Extremely easy to set-up simulation and fast to execute. Perfect for the intended use. Warning: noc contacts

Cons

Missing automated reporting tool - will be perfect for the occasional user if there is such a tool.

Vendor response

Thanks for your time Dejan! Indeed, we used to have a report generator but we removed it for the current CAEplex version. We plan to add it back soon as an extension. We will let our users known as a soon as the report generator is back through the CAEplex newsletter.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It's a good tool for mechanichal parts

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's very simple, easy to use, and the results are so good. I thnik it would be a very good tool for the autoparts industry

Cons

I think you could add some fluid simulations, or fluid-solid interaction simulation. In the future, it will be so important to add.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review. We do plan to add support for new problem types like thermal and vibrations, although fluids will be added in the mean term.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Great Option for FEA

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a designer I am out at ease by knowing I can rely on FEA from CAEplex

Pros

It’s really affordable and offers easy integration with Onshape, plus it’s super quick and doesn’t slow me down.

Cons

I wish there were more color options for gradients.

Vendor response

Thanks for your time. Good to know we are on the good track. We will add the feature request of more gradients to our backlog.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good program

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Cloud based, don’t have to worry about putting files on USB drive. Fast for the kind of work I need to do.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind. Only been using the free trial.

Vendor response

Thanks for your time Milos. We are glad you like CAEplex and that it suits your need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Nice interface and environment for cloud computing, but needs to catch up in terms of features.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Testing out simple models.

Pros

Lovely web interface. No software to configure or install. I like the pipeline into the technical report at the end of the analysis.

Cons

Lacking in features that I would need for most analyses (non-linear materials, multi-part contact, line/edge loads and restraints, etc)

Vendor response

Thanks for your time. We will ve adding more features soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The only of his kind. Awesome.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

First at all, it's free, but your files are public and if you want to make them private, the cost is really low. Excellent software to simulate FEA into the cloud.

Cons

It's new sof they have a lot of thing to improve as the reports, and they could add more options to improve the meshing, but for a free software it's great.

Vendor response

thanks for thr feedback! we are working on improving everything, especially the meshing step.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Initial experience.

Reviewed a year ago

A little irritated that I cannot delete geometry and add a new geometry.

Pros

Web-based. Works well behind company firewall.

Cons

Cannot delete just uploaded geometry (it is a public project).

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback. Our plans are limit based, so users cannot delete stuff. Geometries and projects can be hidden from the feed but not deleted.