App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Comet Backup Logo

Deliver Fast, Secure Data Protection

(11)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Comet Backup Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


60 reviews

Recommended

CR
AvatarImg

Charles R.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Comet Backup in small MSP Environment

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I liked the cross platform use of the product for mac and windows. I liked the integration into backblaze. I liked the pay per use pricing model where I only pay for customers as I add them into the software.

Cons

Having to run the software on a server instead of managed by Comet as Comets pricing is expensive. Unable to integrate the installer with my Syncro MSP software. Requires multiple steps to setup backup client on client system.

Pd
AvatarImg

Pierre d.

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Comet Backup

Reviewed 3 years ago

We used this to back up a small number of Windows servers at a hosting provider in Germany, it served its purpose well for this particular application but as we have added more servers the time required to add new servers, make config changes and ensure backups go through successfully took a lot of time. We specifically also needed a quick and easy bare-metal restore feature which was at the time still in development with comet backup.

Pros

The price point and flexibility to use a storage backend of your choice

Cons

A fair amount of manual intervention required initially and the agent deployment and user interface is not 100% obvious with regards to storage policies and locations

PO
AvatarImg

Philip O.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backup Já

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it works very well, it meets the demands of my clients.

Pros

very easy to use attractive price very easy to use attractive price

Cons

Does not backup VMware Does not backup VMware

AZ
AvatarImg

Alexander Z.

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product for msp on super competitive prices

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great product which we rely on to backup our customers data, and it's doing its job really good

Pros

The web dashboard, the multi os client, the multi tenancy and white label . Is the best thing about comet. At this prices it's a bargain

Cons

A little bit rough interface, not very intuitive.

CH
AvatarImg

Caleb H.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Happy Backerupperer

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Local (NZ) support White label Easy central management

Cons

Linux client support poor Setup wizard needs to rerun for changes

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robbert v.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Perfect software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and managed, very simple to install en fast product

Cons

We would like to use also for office 365 backup

JP
AvatarImg

Jimmy P.

Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

comet for the win

Reviewed 2 years ago

very good product, very fast and reliable

Pros

easy of usework as expected - like a charmsingle client backup 12 tb. easy pasta :)backup and restore, like a boss.

Cons

When computer are remove from the list, you can't restore data from the protected items.

CS
AvatarImg

Charles S.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Comet FTW

Reviewed 2 years ago

9/10 Best Solution and Fastest we have ever used.

Pros

Quality Data Backups To Multi-Platform and From Multi-Platform

Cons

Non descript Errors when a problem arises.

JP
AvatarImg

Jason P.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rock solid backup software.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ability to white label the software, and run our own infrastructure has been fantastic.

Cons

There was nothing we found lacking in what we wanted to use Comet Backup for. The software met our checklist in every way.

DH
AvatarImg

Dale H.

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good product with solid foundation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Self hosted gives the freedom to run our own services, Web UX is simple and easy

Cons

The desktop application could be a little simpler for end-users but the backend for MSP's is great.

SP
AvatarImg

Sarel P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Value for money

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the fact that I can rebrand the software. We can make use of a plethora of different storage providers, even our own

Cons

Server upgrades to newer versions should be made as easy as pushing updates to the clients.

KR
AvatarImg

Karl Rodrigue c.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

storage software

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall I am satisfied with the result, the software does its job well

Pros

comet backup is the best backup software that works on any operating system: Windows, mac, linux and this in a stable way while offering multiple flexibility, data synchronization with other servers.

Cons

improvement on the web interface, if possible a redesign this lacks user-friendliness the handling is not easy

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ildefonso B.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Aconsejo 100% Comet

Reviewed 2 years ago

Mi experiencia es muy buena y recomendable a todos los clientes.

Pros

Lo que más me gusta de comet es el panel de control que tenemos acceso a todo sin que el usuario se percate de que estamos auditando, programamos las tareas de copias de seguridad, añadimos archivos y directorios nuevos, ejectamos actualizaciones....

Cons

Una característica que hecho de menos es tener un agente tanto para QNAP como con herramientas de virtualización como Proxmox en el que programemos a través de comet que se ejecuten los respaldos

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

MC
AvatarImg

Matthew C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backing up is great, restoring could use some work

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been positive. Data is backed up and I'm alerted when it's not.

Pros

It was simple to white label and set up from scratch. I also like how affordable it is

Cons

Restoring is so slow! I created a ticket, but unfortunately, there is nothing that can be done at this time as restore threads are limited.

DB
AvatarImg

David B.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Small company using Comet

Reviewed a year ago

I'm using COMET to make daily backups of a MySQL online database. I scheduled this backup in a 12/6 basis and it is really effective and convenient to perform this job.

Pros

- Totally automated- Easy to config- Lightning fast operation

Cons

- Some options could be more intuitive, such as MySQL accesses and reconfiguring the owner's IP when the ISM provider changes it.

ci
AvatarImg

chiko i.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

i work with comet for about 1 year overall i like it

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

simple use . can backup cloud and local

Cons

i dont feel its so safe and stil use other software as well every server i backup with comet to cloud and other for local

MM
AvatarImg

Manish M.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Backup solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall really good for MSP customers.

Pros

The file backup part is really good. All the options for backup is really good. The features are a must. Work really smooth once its is setup

Cons

Storage vaults is bit confusing. Local vault and UNC file might have a problem connecting.

RL
AvatarImg

Ryan L.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Comet is great!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It allows me to offer cloud backup services to my clients and get them on a monthly service fee for backing up their data.

Cons

The software isn’t as customizable as I’d like but it is a white label software so you can customize it pretty well overall.

SM
AvatarImg

Sebastian M.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Accesible y economico.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Es una herramienta economica de facil implementacion y flexible para las labores que se requiera.

Cons

En su herramienta para crear copias de seguridad se me hace que es algo confusa.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

OM
AvatarImg

Oscar M.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Es bueno

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Me gusto que tiene una gran variedad de erramientas para backup y es facil de utilizar.

Cons

Es un poco lento cuando se realiza un backup de un disco con arta informacion.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AL
AvatarImg

Angie L.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Es economico.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Este aplicativo es bastante economico y con una gran variedad de herramientas disponibles.

Cons

su interfas es algo confuza si uno no esta acostumbrando a ella.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

DS
AvatarImg

David S.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very nice inexpensive cloud backup with all the features you need.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like most that there is no landing space for backup data. I can backup straight to cloud without needing additional storage on site at my clients. Second is the price. Its exceptionally inexpensive. Even with the al-la-carte pricing.

Cons

I find the interface a little bit clunky. nothing terrible, just a bit hard to use.

JC
AvatarImg

Jason C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent white-label option for MSPs

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Ability to white-label without additional fees - Ability to use your own storage solution

Cons

- A little tricky to setup but the online guides and support are phenomenal.

DT
AvatarImg

David T.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use online backup

Reviewed 2 years ago

Tech support issues are 'relatively' easy to resolve - response is 'pretty quick'...

Pros

Easy to use, administrators can see 'everything' at a glance. Very easy to administer, deploy, etc.

Cons

'Add-Ons' cost additional money - ie... Microsoft Exchange,

LR
AvatarImg

Leigh R.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A solid choice for MSP’s

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. Full control and effective backup system. Implementation is easy and clients and end users like the easy to use interface.

Cons

Server can be a bit tricky to setup but the knowledge base was very good and provided all the answers we needed.