Creately Pricing, Features, Reviews & Comparison of Alternatives

Creately Reviews

Creately

Diagramming Software for Super Fast Interactive Visuals

3.64/5 (14 reviews)
2,784

Creately is an intuitive and easy to use Visual Collaboration platform that is used by distributed teams around the world to communicate more effectively. Creately's unique and powerful contextual interface is easy to use and it works with the full capabilities of a Desktop application. Creately is accessible anywhere, draw and design right in your browser. No downloads or messy security configurations required. It is a completely interactive web-based software built for collaboration. You can now invite your team, clients and customers to securely review, comment and update business, technical and scientific diagrams. This is particularly valuable in globally dispersed teams, saving them time and costs. With a great library of Shapes and easy start Templates, Creately offers unlimited possibilities with the types of diagrams that can be created, including UML, Flowcharts, UI Mockups, Sitemaps and other business and educational diagrams. We’re always listening to our customers and adding to our fast-growing library of Shapes. Also, with multiple revisions, don’t worry about letting your clients & customers collaborate on your diagrams. With multiple version support, you’ll never lose your work and always have a great audit trail for your designs. It’s simple to export your designs in PDF, JPG, PNG formats for presentations, proposals or formal documentation.
Creately has the most sophisticated and raved about Flex application that rivals most desktop based diagramming tools. Our main differentiator is our patent-pending KObject technology that allows Creately to validate your diagram as you create it, just like 'Spell-Check' for diagrams. Besides the smart KObject technology, our innovative use of social media platforms makes collaboration easier and faster. With 1-click buttons for web-publishing and posting to Twitter, your diagrams can now reach everyone that matters.
creately.com

Creately Overview

Pricing

Starting from: $5.00/month
Pricing model: Freemium, One-time License, Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)
Read more

Devices

Web
Android
iOS

Business size

S
Small
M
Medium
L
Large
Compare App
Creately screenshot: Projects to easily manage and organize your diagramsCreately screenshot: Community browser to quickly pick templatesCreately screenshot: Powerful text based editor for quick changesCreately screenshot: Beautiful uncluttered interface

Creately Reviews (14)

Latest reviews

 Average Tool

For a visual communication tool, I think that Creately is quite average. Nothing that amazes me about this software. A little overwhelming to use at first but the drag-and-drop is easy to use.

Read the full review
Reviewed 7th of December, 2016 by Sharleen Tu

 

 Save your money for a better app 
Vendor responded

Creately is a fairly intuitive and easy to use app. And it is quite inexpensive compared to the competition Unfortunately, it is by no means presentation quality at all. Professionally, it would be suicide to present anything that comes out of this app. I purchased Creately for flowcharting ...

Read the full review
Reviewed 8th of January, 2015 by marco delgado

Read all reviews

Creately Screenshots (4)

Creately screenshot: Projects to easily manage and organize your diagramsCreately screenshot: Community browser to quickly pick templatesCreately screenshot: Powerful text based editor for quick changesCreately screenshot: Beautiful uncluttered interface

Security and privacy

Encryption

Yes
Encryption of sensitive data at rest
No
HTTPS for all pages

Access control

No
Multi-factor authentication options

Data policy

Yes
Data backup in multiple locations/GEO regions
This will ask you to sign in with LinkedIn

Specifications

Intended Users
Freelancers, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business, Non Profits, Public Administrations, Small Business
Devices Supported
Linux, Mac, Windows, Web-based
Supported Countries
Asia, Australia, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages
Chinese (Simplified), English, French, German, Japanese, Russian, Spanish
Support Options
FAQs, Knowledge Base, Online Support, Video Tutorials

Creately Pricing

Starting from: $5.00/month

Pricing model: Freemium, One-time License, Subscription

Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

Creately offer both personal and team accounts.

Personal plans are 5$/month or 49$/year (20% savings)
Team 5 : 25$/month or 249$/year
Team 10: 45$/month or 449$/year
Team 25: 75$/month or 749$/year
Team 50: 125$/month or 1229$/year
Team 100: 200$/month or 1999$/year

Public : Free , 3 collaborators / 1 Project / Limit of 5 public diagrams

Competitors Pricing

Gliffy

Starting from: $3.99/month
Pricing model: Freemium, Subscription

Lovely Charts

Starting from: $29.00
Pricing model: One-time License, Subscription

SmartDraw

Starting from: $197.00
Pricing model: One-time License, Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

Users who visited Creately also visited

Key Features of Creately

  • Easy to Use Interactive Interface
  • Real-Time Collaboration for Team Work
  • Professionally Designed Templates to Get Started Fast
  • Extensive Shape Set Grouped into Libraries
  • Export Diagrams as PDF, JPG or PNG
  • Desktop Application for Offline Drawing
  • Integrated Google Image and Icon Finder Search
  • Code Generation to Embed Diagrams to Websites
  • Works on Windows, Linux and Mac OS
  • Community Browser to Quickly Find Diagrams
  • Ability to Import Images
  • Single Sign On
  • Drag & Drop Interface
  • Image Library

Benefits

The diagramming interface is designed with simplicity and convenience in mind. Shapes are grouped into libraries and only the necessary libraries are loaded so the interface wont get cluttered with shapes.
With real-time collaboration many users can work on together on the same diagram. Everyone can see the changed made by others instantly, making it easy to react and make decisions.
Our innovative features include contextual tool bars and 1-click create and connect. In 1 single click you can create the next object and the necessary connectors as well.

Alternatives to Creately

Videos

Sharleen Tu

Average Tool

07/12/2016

For a visual communication tool, I think that Creately is quite average. Nothing that amazes me about this software. A little overwhelming to use at first but the drag-and-drop is easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
marco delgado

Verified Reviewer

Save your money for a better app

08/01/2015

Creately is a fairly intuitive and easy to use app. And it is quite inexpensive compared to the competition Unfortunately, it is by no means presentation quality at all. Professionally, it would be suicide to present anything that comes out of this app. I purchased Creately for flowcharting and wireframing. I can use it for neither for the following reasons. 1. no rulers or guides. 2. the type is not center justified correctly on any shape you try to use. 3. The center of the parallelograms are off center. So when you try to align a vertical column of shapes the parallelograms make your chart step to the side. 4. Scaling. If you try to scale the stop/start shape. It distorts....and not just a little bit. 5. The 1-click create other objects command only allows you to create two different objects. The problem with this is that if you are using a specific color style or font, you have to format the shapes that weren't included in the command. 6. there is no (no fill) option for any of the shapes. So if you try to use the swimlanes you can't see the grid. 7. The connecting lines will put up a fight. Especially when you don't want them to. 8. If you need to use this work for a presentation, you will need to import the file into illustrator and then fix everything to the extent that it is just faster and easier to do it all in illustrator.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Cinergix Pty Ltd


Hi Marco,
Thanks for using Creately and taking the time to leave a review. Although we agree with some of your points some are bit off the mark. I'll try to address them one by one.
1. Agree. Will talk with dev team about adding a ruler.
2. Disagree. As soon as you type the text is center justified.
3. Agree. Will ask the dev team to fix this.
4. Disagree. The start/end scale seems to scaling as required.
5. Disagree. 1-click create adjust according to the context/diagram type. For example when drawing a flowchart by default you can create a process, decision or a start/end.
6. Disagree.There is a fill option in the toolbar. To see the grid when using a swimlane, select the swimlane, click "Fill" and check the "No Fill" option under colors.
7. Agree. The connecting lines adjust according to the diagram. Its done to speed up diagramming and most of our users appreciate it. But in a large complex diagram it can be a hinderance.

Most of this probably happened because we did a poor job of educating our users. And we'll definitely work on improving our help section. If you feel what we've mentioned is wrong or not sure about anything above please drop a mail to support@creately.com and probably we can convince you with a live demo or work together to resolve your issues.

Thanks again for using Creately and hope to see you coming back soon.

Sincerely,
Creately team.

Read more
Lucas Saar Cerqueira

Verified Reviewer

Simple and powerfull

22/09/2014

I used the free version to make a few diagrams. The app has a nice set of features, it is easy to use and export your work. I would recommend and use it again.

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anthea Forder-Eagles

Verified Reviewer

Great tool for site maps

28/07/2014

I have been using Creately for 6 months, I've used it on three different projects and have been impressed by it in all instances. It is a great place to build a site map and encourage the team involved in the site to all contribute ideas and add comments to the various aspects of the site map. These site maps with their comments provide key info for the developers to work from when building the back end of the site. The site maps are also then used for meetings with copywriters, designers, marketing team to help clarify the look, feel and wording of the site.

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to share ideas or suggestions. Easy to build understandable diagrams for all members of project's team to use for their various responsibilities. The comments feature is one that I find the most helpful.

Cons

You cannot copy text from a comment to paste on a different document. Unfortunately comments can only be created or deleted not edited.

Source: GetApp
7 of 7 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Berardi

Verified Reviewer

Save your money and go elsewhere

15/07/2014

I've been attempting to use this application for more than 6 months. I've opened a half dozen tickets - Creately has opened a similar number, and yet no resolution to my licensing issues. They have only worked with me in a half-hearted way, often repeating the same diagnostic requests and never fully understanding the issue. When I thought they understood it, they came back and told me to delete my license file yet again. So much time has been wasted that the money I paid for the app is almost inconsequential. You would receive much better service and more value for money by going elsewhere.

Pros

Options for web or desktop installation.

Cons

No shared files. Severe licensing issues that can't be resolved - without a license much functionality is inoperative. The poorest and slowest of customer service I've had in a decade.

Source: GetApp
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Cinergix Pty Ltd


Hi Chris,
We're extremely sorry about your situation. You have been very patient with us and helped us with all the details which makes us feel even more sad. We deeply regret that we couldn't recreate your issue and able to solve it.
Again, extremely sorry about the situation and we'll give you a full refund.

Read more
Jumis Ločmelis

Verified Reviewer

Great customer support

18/06/2014

Wow... the response time was great! My questions were answered within 20 minutes of asking them. Great! I suggest collaborating with Creately to anyone who values prompt user support!

Pros

Customer support!

Cons

Not enough experience to find any.

Source: GetApp
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rod Bishop

Not really that great

16/01/2014

Creately has a really great website and they ranked really well for the kind of diagramming I was looking for (database design) but the product does not deliver. The let-down was epic.

Pros

It is an online tool that works in your browser and they have a lot of good information on their website about how to build different kinds of diagrams.

Cons

The tool itself is difficult to use and doesn't allow you to do much in terms of working with others at the same time. I was also looking for something that would work well with the Google environment which this doesn't

Source: GetApp
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Cinergix Pty Ltd


Hello Rob,
Thanks for using Creately and we're sorry that you found it difficult to use. To address some of your concerns we do provide some integration with Google environment. We're available in the Google App marketplace ( https://www.google.com/enterprise/marketplace/viewListing?productListingId=4370+2544572938568579613&pli=1 ) for your convenience.
We introduced real-time collaboration last year so there could be room for improvement there. If you'll be kind enough to drop a mail to support@creately.com explaining the difficulties you encountered we'll be happy to have a look and rectify matters.
Again sorry about the inconvenience and thanks for complimenting us on our content.

Read more
Lars Lindberg

Extremely Useful for Teams

06/06/2013

If you're working as a team and constantly collaborate when doing documentation then this is a god send.

Pros

Real time collaboration is the feature we found most useful. Professionally designed templates provide a good starting point. And it's very easy to use.

Cons

No mobile app, could be an issue with people on the go.

Source: GetApp
5 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Growes

Well Worth The Price

28/02/2013

As a heavy Visio user I was bit reluctant to try this but was pleasantly surprised. The monthly fee is fair and the desktop price is extremely good when you consider that Visio costs around 300$. Love the usability of the interface. The diagramming area is large and far less cluttered. I like the concept of loading libraries as necessary because not only it saves space but help you find shapes faster. A little toolbar that appears when you select an object makes diagramming very easy. In 1 click you can create the next object and it will be automatically connected for you. Very convenient and saves many clicks and drags. Tried the real-time collaboration with a buddy of mine and it was a fun experience. Seeing each others changes as it happens it very productive. Overall well worth the price and highly recommended for teams.

Pros

Easy to use uncluttered interface Image search and icon finder object toolbar that makes diagramming faster automatic adjustments like aligning, text positioning real-time collaboration feature

Cons

Real-time collaboration features seems to slow down the application a bit

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Garth123

Initial impressions let down with more extensive use...

29/01/2013

The program showed a lot of potential when I trialed it online but after purchasing it (for a steep price of $75) and using it more, I've discovered that there are a bunch of bugs and limitations (issues with the graphics, text, placement limitations) which prevent me from doing what I want and getting the look I want. For example, text in shapes: the shapes can't be inverted without text flipping upside down or back to front, such as with a speech bubble, it has to go only in one direction if you want to read the text. The same is with all other shapes. The "work around" is to put a text box over the top of the shape, but it's lousy that it even needs a "work around". The shapes are also a bit sketchy, drawn imprecisely with edges of the shapes not quite connecting smoothly and looking like they've been slapped together hastily in MS paint. Also, connecting lines are a bit tricky to arrange exactly how you might like them. They have a mind of their own. And if you add text to a line, then it has an annoying white box behind it. All in all the program shows potential, but given the price for the desktop version, if I knew what I know now, I wouldn't have bought it - I wish I could get my money back. Given its level of development, slow updates, bugs/limitations and need for "work arounds", Creately is way overpriced and I would not recommend it. Particularly do not recommend if you want professional looking graphics. That said, it's not bad for brain storming privately.

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more