App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DBeaver Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

71

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.8/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

caspio
kintone
quickbase

Pros and cons

The database management tool is one of its kind, with its community version it supports almost 99% of SQL and NoSQL databases, the ease of use and maintenance is remarkable.
My overall experience with DBeaver has been pretty good. Very satisfied with the product and its features.
The auto-completion is just fantastic as it always suggests the best and the most relevant results.
After being inactive for a long time you need to establish connection with the database again which can be a bit annoying sometimes.
A minor annoyance as these are unusual use cases for me.
They should add a feature which shows what row exactly contains an error.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


71 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Paco V.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The database manager with the most convenient options to work with

Reviewed a year ago

Using the community version you have the application that has connection with most of the database engines on the market. The usual work with the data (filtering, editing, exporting, etc) is the most comfortable of those I have tested.

Pros

You can work with multiple database engines at the same time in a single application. It has very convenient data visualization and processing options.

Cons

The community version does not have all database engines available and the enterprise option has a very expensive annual subscription model.

AB
AvatarImg

Andy B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Multiplatform Database Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Great database tool that lets you connect and manage PostgreSQL databases and many others (MySql, Oracle, SqlServer etc. ). I've tested a lot of PostgreSQL tools and this is the most reliable and most fully featured one I've tried. Supports transactions, parameters for queries, exports, imports and more.

Cons

Some updates have been buggy, but they fix it quickly. I usually wait 10 days now before installing an update.

HA
AvatarImg

Hector A.

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best OpenSource DBMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a database developer is really complete, open-source, and relatively easy to use, has its issues, but if you wait for your OS (Especially MacOS) to be officially supported is a great tool for the job, really complete.

Pros

Is really complete, support several database engines, from Oracle to MariaDB, Supports Packages On MariaDB using Oracle Syntax (The only one I used supporting this), It can generate ER Diagrams of the tables on a database, easy to add new connections since it downloads the drivers by itself.

Cons

Kinda buggy especially when a new OS is released, had a lot of problems when BigSur came out, they released fixes every couple of weeks, and now is fully compatible with big sur, I wish it had an option to export the ERD diagrams as UMLs to be used with Visual Paradigm and other diagramming software.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DBeaver - Best DB client for executing SQL queries

Reviewed a year ago

I really like DBeaver a lot since it feel its a very trustable product . Even if you are using community edition of the product you will still get regular product updates to improve its features and security.

Pros

The data migration and replication can be easily achieved using DBeaver . It provides lots of inbuilt database connector to connect with various databases . The inbuilt database functions are popped up while you are typing the function name , which makes the developer to write SQL's at a faster phase.

Cons

The live compilation of the SQL will really great when you are trying to frame a complex query with various database function within it .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad Daud S.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best in Managing Database and sessions

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall I found Dbeaver a great utility to start with and it can handle professional operations as well. It has great search features to lookup the server and database without slowing down the operation or task management.

Pros

I have found Dbeaver very user-friendly. Process controlling, running queries, and managing the database are very easy with this tool. Dbeaver allows the use of export to create the dump which is quicker than other applications. It has also a great session Manager to manage any stuck operations and tasks currently in process.

Cons

Dbeaver has too frequent updates which sometimes causes problems with the existing version and it has to be upgraded/updated along with the additional files that take up more disk space and resources.

KT
AvatarImg

Keith T.

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for all DBs

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it is a great experience and I love seeing other people use it as well. Its hard to get use to at first, but once you use it its hard to go back.

Pros

Ability to use it for multiple different environments and multiple different DBs and languages, seemless switching between them

Cons

A bit hard to setup initially and get use to, it was a slight divestiture for other applications and a far way from what I was use to at the time in MS SQL Server Management Studio, but it was quick to get use to

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rakesh R.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

an application that's 100 percentage developer friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

This tool will help to mitigate most of the production database issues in a quick time and found it to be one of the most reliable and staple tool.

Pros

complex operations such as setting relations, key words primary keys.. these things can be easily done with dbeaver and there is a space in this tool which allow you to run separate queries as sections or instances and also save and categories all the queries so that you could use it in future and the connection setup is also good based on other applications which you have to go through complex steps and all and if you wanna edit the schema of a particular table all the functions are available in it with specific instructions so that you won't get stuck in between. and if you are stuck somewhere there are plenty of forum's with which you could find instant helps and all

Cons

user interface isn't that much of an engaging type,would have been better if they improve the UI

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Giovanni P.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

very good tool for manage different databases

Reviewed 3 years ago

A very good tool for managing different environments and database languages, it allows you to organize the connections in an efficient way, quickly identifying which environment you are working on, it has points of improvement but one of the best tools that I have tried for the database.

Pros

It is a fairly easy to understand graphic tool that allows you to connect to almost any database language. It has multiple functionalities such as query plan that allows you to know the execution time of your queries. Allows you to customize the different environments that you set in the connections allowing you to identify which one you are working on. It also has multiple export results, allowing you to import it from a csv to a simple plain text file.

Cons

Some of its many features are only available for certain database languages, thus reducing the experience you may have with some languages such as SYBASE, which for example does not support a query plan for this language.

UR
AvatarImg

Umang R.

Packaging and Containers, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good value tool for all SQL queries

Reviewed 6 months ago

- overall, very good and useful tool to have in terms of SQL work

Pros

- Easy to use and get trained for reading and writing SQL queries - can retrieve all kinds of data through queries

Cons

- Export function could be easy to understand - Sometimes, you have to navigate the different functionalities

PP
AvatarImg

Paul P.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Time Saving Cross-DB SQL Toolbox

Reviewed 7 months ago

Very easy to install/set up and use. Love that it just works with pretty much all the main DBs out there.

Pros

Intuitive and time-saving auto completion is a life-saver.

Cons

Occasionally slightly flaky UI (especially in Linux it seems)

BN
AvatarImg

Bongani N.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Affordable Database Software

Reviewed a year ago

It's affordable database software offering high-quality features that can get any database job done more efficiently. The interface is amazing, and getting started is not a drag. I would recommend this to anyone in my industry. It's cost-effective, and it's an industry-level standard.

Pros

There are a lot of things to like about DBeaver. What I like most about the software is: i) It's one of the most affordable database software in the market but performs as an industry standard. ii) I can connect to most of the databases in development. iii) Easy data exporting in different formats, including XML.iv) Seamless connection with NoSQL and SQL database. v) The software has regular updatesvi) User-friendly interfacevii) integration with different databases

Cons

i) I don't like the multiple tabs when retrieving a table. Which can waste time. Otherwise, it's an awesome software to use.

CS
AvatarImg

Charmy S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great database management tool!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Best in the market for database management and schema maintenance. Easy to use.

Pros

Satisfied enough with DBeaver. Helpful enough for editing database and can easily develop production deployment scripts. I have used the free version and has proved to be extremely useful and works very well. Satisfied with the tool and helps save a lot of time. Additionally, another compelling advantage of using DBeaver is auto-completion of keywords and formatting at the time of writing queries. You can even easily connect to Snowflake and other servers. in case of any queries, we can easily contact the community.

Cons

At times, it may happen that exact errors are not provided in the queries. No export feature available.

MD
AvatarImg

Masoud D.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free cross-platform database management tool that is on par with expensive alternatives

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It supports connecting to a huge number of database engines which makes it very useful as it reduces your dependency on multiple tools to achieve the same goal. The query result pane is very user-friendly and feature-rich too as it allows you to filter results, store them in different formats, generate queries based on them and a lot more in a single pane while meeting the user-friendliness goals. The auto-completion is just fantastic as it always suggests the best and the most relevant results. Creating projects is also supported which makes DBeaver a must-have for database developers and database administrators. The updates are frequent enough to deal with the bugs and reported issues and also to add new features to this amazing database management tool.

Cons

The default shortcuts could be improved to match the more mainstream tools on the market but as you can edit and customise them, I don't see a huge problem here.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great tool even in Community Version

Reviewed a year ago

I use it daily without any major issue. Stability is not a concern. A great experience so far.

Pros

Even in its Community Edition, it has all the basic features to successfully work on small to medium-sized projects; you can use it in bigger projects as well but you will probably need to pair with some other tools or buy a commercial license. Paid licenses prices are quite affordable comparing to some other vendors. You can work on multiple databases at once thanks to the tabbed interface, and you can customize panels rearranging (almost) all the tools.

Cons

Sometimes the UI can feel a bit too cluttered and new users might be a bit overwhelmed. It can take some time to get used to it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DBeaver is a great universal database manager

Reviewed 3 years ago

When you need to quickly look in a database / table,especially when it is not the RDBMS that you are using most of the time, DBeaver is great. It's eclipse based so familiar to java developers. The easy of making a connection (wizard / guided) allows everyone to work with it.

Pros

DBeaver is really a great tool to work with. I am using the community version and the way it allows for making connections to databases is great. Whenever you want to make a connection it for instance, will download driver when needed. The support for RDBMS is great and even H2 (a flat file dbms) is supported which is great. It allows for server connections to H2 as well as regular. A lot of RDBMS are supported. Even LDAP can be connected to. The ERD functionality is helpful in showing relationship between databases.

Cons

Not that much not to like. The only database i did not see (and that i know) is IMS DB (from the 1960) but in theory that should also be possible since there is a JDBC for that database. Working with the data en executing queries and commands take a little effort but that is about it.

BH
AvatarImg

Ben H.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Free App For Managing Databases

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I have found DBeaver to be a valuable part of my daily work flow. It is updated regularly and bugs are fixed quickly. I would recommend DBeaver to anyone looking for a simple, easy to use DB editor.

Pros

I love the ease of use of DBeaver. I use it on a daily basis to manage several MariaDB databases. It works great on Kubuntu and has become my goto tool for database management. It remembers tabs for my next session, has an easy SQL editor with autocompletion and is straight forward to run through a proxy.

Cons

On occasion, I have had problems creating both MySql events and procedures using Dbeaver. In both cases I have had to resort to the MySql command prompt and then confirm through DBeaver. A minor annoyance as these are unusual use cases for me.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Software eficiente para Gestionar tus Bases de datos

Reviewed 4 months ago

Una experiencia muy eficiente para la gestion de mis bases de datos.

Pros

La facilidad de conexion entre distintos motores de bases de datos, asi como tambien la facilidad de importacion, exportacion y transferencias de data entre las bases de datos que se gestionan con el software DBeaver

Cons

Hasta el momento las pocas opciones que he utilizado, me han sido muy funcional. Por esa razon no tengo desventajas que mencionar.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As wonderful as a Beaver

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The database management tool is one of its kind, with its community version it supports almost 99% of SQL and NoSQL databases, the ease of use and maintenance is remarkable.Very user friendly.

Cons

Can start supporting those remaining 1% of databases

PM
AvatarImg

Pierluigi M.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DBeaver

Reviewed a year ago

Esperienza ottima, ne faccio un uso quotidiano da 7 anni, consigliatissimo!

Pros

La facilità d'uso, la velocità di configurazione, l'alta compatibilità con tutti i tipi di DB

Cons

Non ho notato particolari inconvenienti nell'utilizzo

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

NF
AvatarImg

Neha F.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dbeaver - Free, easy to connect across multi platforms

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

connecting across multi platforms, open source. Love the auto complete feature, makes it easy and time saving to query multiple columns without having to remember the metadata

Cons

Real time errors, dbeaver invalidates the working database having to re open the application. UI could be better and intuitive

OD
AvatarImg

Osman D.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Dbeaver_11-07-2022

Reviewed 2 years ago

i use it every for executing SQL scripts on over postgres, oracle, neo4j

Pros

it supports many database type and vendor.

Cons

it developed over eclipse so that it's graphics interface needs improvement.

SK
AvatarImg

Sabareesh K.

Marketing and Advertising, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DBeaver - One Data Management Solution for multiple databases

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are using DBeaver for last 2 years and the whole Engineering team easily adapted this tool to connect multiple databases

Pros

We can easily use this software to connect any database solutions. We are currently using to connect Postgres, Yellowbrick and VoltDB where the jdbc drivers can be automatically download from the driver location. Even the Hadoop connect also supported using this tool which is really awesome

Cons

Sometimes we are feeling the software will get stuck when we are querying for larger dataset especially when we are using this for the analytics querries. Performance tuning should be taken care.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good data management tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It has a great user interface and pretty much-advanced features like query execution plan analysis database backup and restores the user interface is customizable so it's great.

Cons

There is not a single thing about DBaever that I dislike.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Dbeaver review by D Analyst and Engineering

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The most I liked about this software was Cloud engineering.

Cons

The least I liked about this software was the features.

RE
AvatarImg

Roman E.

Gambling & Casinos, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DBeaver for DBA

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use this tool every day for 4-5 hours. It is my primary tool for working with DB (but not the only one) and fits almost all my needs. I use it for querying, altering tables, changing users' permissions e.c.t.

Pros

Almost, there is no crashes. The GUI is very comfortable to use. There is an option to save your scripts and easily find them. A lot of properties to make the tool more comfortable and fit to each user.

Cons

There is no graphic interface for execution plan. Altering tables using GUI is less comfortable then with competitors.