App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

DbVisualizer Logo

DbVisualizer

Database management software for Windows, macOS & Linux/UNIX

see alternatives

DbVisualizer Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

66
100%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.38/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

DB Visualizer is very easy to use. It's great that you can save your queries and even if the software is closed and you had forgotten to save the query, it will remember it when the software loads.
My favorite three things in DbVisualizer are 1 variable replacement and 2 inline export functionality. The time I save exporting my results as a CSV as the query is running is super helpful.
I love it's ease of use connecting, navigating and querying. The query builder feature is a great way to start on complex joins without having to type a lot.
I hate the "new" functionality of home-key. It doesn't get you back to the start of the line - unless you are "pasting.
Tabs wont be opened in seperate tab unless we select that option with a right click and also if connection fails it doesn' give much details.
A bit difficult is the use of the Java Connectors. Some do not give all possibilities of the vendors ODBC driver.

DbVisualizer users...

Oracle PeopleSoft-logocaret
listing-logo

Oracle PeopleSoft

PostgreSQL-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

PostgreSQL

IntelliJ IDEA-logocaret
listing-logo

IntelliJ IDEA

How would you rate DbVisualizer?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


66 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

20+ Years & Still Going Strong

Reviewed a year ago

I have been using DbVis for over twenty years now. Every once in a while I try another database browser.. DBeaver, Navicat, etc. I always come back to DbVis. As a developer nothing makes working with disparate databases easier.

Pros

Easy to management a variety of disparate database systems.

Cons

Doing a lot in MongoDB these days; one of the few systems DbVis doesn't support. It's a Java app and can be a bit slow at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Connects to almost every database

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

DBVisualizer is our daily tool for querying databases like PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQL Server and Informix. It has many handy features like exporting Data to various formats, importing Data from Excel and CSV, auto completition, or editing result sets.

Cons

Not much to complain about, but application startup can take a while with a huge sql history.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

overall

Reviewed a year ago

I've had very good experience.

Pros

Good visualization, good use of memory and easy to back out of queries.

Cons

I wish copying values from a result set would put commas between the values and single quotes like SQL developer does.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The advanced SQL Managment Studio

Reviewed a year ago

We are using DbVis on a daily base, to homologize the use of software. One tool fits it all.

Pros

Its intuitive to use and allows more over the GUI than other software. Its a breeze to use this solution for multiple DBs of Type (pgSQL/MSSQL).

Cons

A bit difficult is the use of the Java Connectors. Some do not give all possibilities of the vendors ODBC driver.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed a year ago

Love it. I literally use it 3 times a week at minimum.

Pros

I love it's ease of use connecting, navigating and querying. The query builder feature is a great way to start on complex joins without having to type a lot. :-)

Cons

The viewing of relationships and references or anything looking like an ERD is quite unintuitive and clunky.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I've tried others but keep coming back to DbVisualizer

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great table / view navigation. Integrates easily with a wide range of databases, and support for others can be added pretty easily. I've used DbVisualizer with everything from Presto to SQLite over the years and it just works.

Cons

The autocomplete function is a little overzealous at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best universal DBMS GUI ever

Reviewed 2 years ago

Introduced it at Rabobank via my personal license and then they to opted for a corporate license

Pros

Ease of use and rich functionality a.o. the Monitor function

Cons

Actually i could think of any function I miss

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DB Review

Reviewed a year ago

I'm using in every day basis and I'm really comfortable using it.

Pros

Export feature is awesome. SQL editor is good and helper comes to hand. Live data edit etc... Just love DbVisualizer.

Cons

I haven't found anything that I don't like this much. Like I said I'm very comfortable using this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

DB Visualizer is very easy to use. It's great that you can save your queries and even if the software is closed and you had forgotten to save the query, it will remember it when the software loads.

Cons

Sometimes the software performs slow with many open queries.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DB VIS review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Query time mentioned along with the results made me write faster queries and importing exporting is much easier and can be done with in the connections

Cons

Tabs wont be opened in seperate tab unless we select that option with a right click and also if connection fails it doesn' give much details

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Data Analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

DbVisualizer is my go-to data extracting tool!

Pros

Data Analysis is fast and easy; Easy to find table/field information and to pull sample data during development.

Cons

Seems like some of the sql keywords valid for the selected database don't always work in dbvisualizer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My Go-To Tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I've been using DbVisualizer for over 10 years. Across multiple companies and across multiple roles, it's my preferred tool for looking at the database.

Cons

The UI was always OK at best, but recent updates have turned that around entirely.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DbViz Review

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Ease of use with multiple tabs, options for downloading results, DDL easily accessible.

Cons

Require password to run queries in selected environments, or other warning controls to prevent unwanted commands in sensitive environments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer help me as an consultant in my daily work at many different sites

Reviewed 2 years ago

:) :) :)

Pros

Works in many different environments. Easy to install and setup. Quick learning curve

Cons

All my settings are now and then lost at a customer installation. Properly due to a change in the server setting, but anyway annoying .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great SQL tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

DB Visualizer makes it easy to run SQL queries against multiple systems quickly and easily. My productivity has improved because of how well it works.

Cons

I have not had any problems with DbVisualizer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DB VIS review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Its very easy to use and also the query execution is cool with errors showing. Also the db export and import is a lot easier and in all types of formats.

Cons

The only thing is that the connections get lost easily.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy and fast tool for SAP HANA DB

Reviewed a year ago

Dvis is easy to use and faster than database specific client tool.

Pros

It's faster than HANA studio to handle SAP HANA DB data.

Cons

ERD (Table reference diagram) is sometimes shown differently from actual.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The tool that keeps on giving

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I have to connect to multiple databases every day, from SQL to DB2 and it's great that I can do it under one interface.

Cons

I would like a faster way to export data to csv.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

DbVisualizer is a great tool for database querying. Very easy to setup and use. Has some pretty nice features.

Cons

There is not really anything which I don't like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for all types of databases

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Work with different types of databases is nearly the same and i can use variables in SQL requests.

Cons

I would like to edit the column descriptions just in Place.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New to DbVisualizer

Reviewed a year ago

DbVisualizer is a great tool for a developer.

Pros

I was able to get DbVisualizer up and running very quickly. The interface is intuitive and I didn't need to consult documentation until I need more advanced features such as variables.

Cons

Creating and editing connections could be easier to use, but I don't do that very often.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer used with Microsoft Server DB

Reviewed a year ago

Happy with the product, I have been using for 8+ years

Pros

I like easy of setup and use of the product

Cons

Ideally could support DNS to find DB when ID address changes

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Useful and Easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use Exportable to PHP queries Queries runs quick

Cons

Difficult to make quick relations/queries comparing e.g. Microsoft Access

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer - Una Herramienta de Productividad

Reviewed 2 years ago

DbVisualizer da un salto de calidad en nuestra porductivdad

Pros

DbVisualizer nos brinda una organizacion de nuestras bases de datos de gran nivel para poder analizar de una forma mas comoda estas, ademas su gran variedad de motores de bases de datos que soporta y que se puede integrar lo hace una gran opcion sin importar el motor que se use.

Cons

DbVisualizer deberia de permitir exportar partes o secciones de la estructura de bases de datos en imagen o en formatos de varias paginas para Bases de Datos grandes.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for database analysis and design

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall Dbvizualizer has been a very useful tool that I have been using for several years whenever I need to visually work or understand the database that I'm working with. Very easy to use, intuitive features and I'm sure anybody will find some useful features in it.

Pros

One of the features that I like the most from Dbvizualizer is the ability to generate a nice ER diagram from the connected DB and even for specific DB objects.

Cons

The only thing I have noticed is that it may be too high-consuming resources for older computers. Also when I run it in Linux the app will crash every once in a while.