App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

DbVisualizer Logo

Database management software for Windows, macOS & Linux/UNIX

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DbVisualizer Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

96

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.27/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

caspio
kintone
zoho-analytics

Pros and cons

DB Visualizer is very easy to use. It's great that you can save your queries and even if the software is closed and you had forgotten to save the query, it will remember it when the software loads.
I love the ease of DBVisualizer, everything is there and easy to use. It doesn’t take a lot of training to figure out each capability.
DB visualizer is easy to use and easy to implement. The ability to output data and auto-schedule queries is great for increasing productivity.
I hate the "new" functionality of home-key. It doesn't get you back to the start of the line - unless you are "pasting.
Tabs wont be opened in seperate tab unless we select that option with a right click and also if connection fails it doesn' give much details.
A bit difficult is the use of the Java Connectors. Some do not give all possibilities of the vendors ODBC driver.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


96 reviews

Recommended

NC
AvatarImg

Niels C.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful and easy to use SQL Client

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Tons of features. Most importantly great editor with autocomplete.

Cons

Tons of features that are a bit too inaccessible to use. E.g scripting that is sooo powerful but hard to figure out how works.

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product...Easy to Use!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall...great experience. Really like working with DbVis!

Pros

Really like the ease of use. It's reliable, dependable and just a workhorse to query your database. Like the fact that the updates are easy to install. When I have a question and/or a problem that needs resolution, there are lots of resources available to help.

Cons

I did have a problem once that was especially challenging and difficult for me to bring to resolution, but eventually I was able to solve it. An upgrade stalled midway through that just would not successfully complete the installation process. Customer service was able to help me identify that the install was hungup and expecting the latest version of other software on my laptop. Once that was updated the install process completed successfully.

MC
AvatarImg

Michael C.

Wireless, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer used with Microsoft Server DB

Reviewed 3 years ago

Happy with the product, I have been using for 8+ years

Pros

I like easy of setup and use of the product

Cons

Ideally could support DNS to find DB when ID address changes

KG
AvatarImg

Kunal G.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DBVisualizer is amazing! Simple to use and very quick

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of use, quick installation, ability to connect with so many databases and ability to play around with query results.

Cons

Upon new installation, I could see that the existing database connections were removed and needed to be re-created. If something can be done to export existing database connections as a file which could be imported upon an upgrade, that would be great!

cd
AvatarImg

charles d.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DB Visualizer

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent; Support is first rate and the online manual supplies practical examples for scripting or the use of variables.

Pros

Ability to connect to almost any ODBC/JDBC compliant data emgine. Ease of using either tabs or multiple SQL statements in a single tab. Ability to import data from desktop to remote data store. Ability to do an explain/execution plan ( if db engine supports functionality) and get a relative idea of data paths for a query.

Cons

Lack of "find/attribute help" when writing a query or SQL statement. Many tools provide "bubble help" of attributes as you type.

RC
AvatarImg

Randy C.

Photography, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great tool for multitasking and auto scheduling numerous databases

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

DB visualizer is easy to use and easy to implement. The ability to output data and auto-schedule queries is great for increasing productivity.

Cons

The documentation can be improved through the use of better samples.

NC
AvatarImg

Nick C.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long time user and fan of DbVisualizer - Great tool.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having used DBVisualizer for more than 10 years, it is my 'go to' tool for Database mapping and exploration, direct querying and query building.

Pros

SQL History, Format SQL, SQL Preview, View data, Explore tables, Generic connection support, Search function.

Cons

There is not much to dislike. This product saves so much time over other products, and there are functions that I haven't even got to using yet.

TL
AvatarImg

Tim L.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The gold standard for multiple database management work.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have yet to find a tool that works like DbVisualizer for my multiple database work.

Pros

It is the best product on the market for multi-platform database management. A single interface for all the major databases. It saves me countless hours when working on different platforms. The spend to delivery is why it is my primary tool. The export tools are solid and provides for ease of cross platform work.

Cons

The challenge with being the best for all platforms is that it also comes with its challenges regarding "explain plans" for database optimization.

CH
AvatarImg

Cindy H.

Airlines/Aviation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer is a great product for the money

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love to be able to open multiple tabs, to save my database commands by functionality, and the ability to view database tables and columns.

Cons

Sometimes queries are very difficult to stop and I have to go to AWS to check if they are still running and / or manually kill them.

MS
AvatarImg

Marcos S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer Ease of Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

It my opinion it’s an excellent product.

Pros

The ability to reverse engineer the objects is most important.

Cons

I have not discovered anything yet. I use it for postgres.

RB
AvatarImg

Rob B.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DB Visualizer is My Choice For a Broad Number of Engines

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This product is easy enough to use that I have even configured it for non-technical customers to allow them to easily browse and even edit data. There is some setup in those situations, but it is minimal (create the connection)

Cons

I love this product. I cannot think of anything that I am not happy with.

DK
AvatarImg

Dan K.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding product

Reviewed 4 years ago

This consistent interface provided by DBVis as we are constantly querying multiple databases from different vendors has made it easy to deploy and provide consistent examples to our user base.

Pros

quick storage of past query results is really helpful in determining what did and didn't work well previously. While script storage is possible, that has been time and again one of my go to resources.

Cons

I haven't really found any downside to the product yet.

DV
AvatarImg

David V.

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy and efftective

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I love the ease of DBVisualizer, everything is there and easy to use. It doesn’t take a lot of training to figure out each capability.

Cons

I do wish when importing from a file it gave a bit more info in what is failing if applicable.

RH
AvatarImg

Robert H.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Go to application

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease of use with communicating and accessing the different source systems we work with daily

Cons

The Enterprise license structure policy. We do not have enough users to fulfill.

BG
AvatarImg

Bengt G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer integrated with Mimer SQL

Reviewed a year ago

It is used as a frontend to the database server. Allows both the occasional use and more heavy duty daily use.

Pros

DbVisualizer allows access to the Mimer SQL database. In fact, ALL SQL data definition commands can be generated through the menu interface.Very easy to get an overview of the schema and all objects in the database.

Cons

Difficult to setup first connection and get started.

ER
AvatarImg

Ed R.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

overall

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've had very good experience.

Pros

Good visualization, good use of memory and easy to back out of queries.

Cons

I wish copying values from a result set would put commas between the values and single quotes like SQL developer does.

DT
AvatarImg

Don T.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Love it. I literally use it 3 times a week at minimum.

Pros

I love it's ease of use connecting, navigating and querying. The query builder feature is a great way to start on complex joins without having to type a lot. :-)

Cons

The viewing of relationships and references or anything looking like an ERD is quite unintuitive and clunky.

MJ
AvatarImg

Matthew J.

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I've tried others but keep coming back to DbVisualizer

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great table / view navigation. Integrates easily with a wide range of databases, and support for others can be added pretty easily. I've used DbVisualizer with everything from Presto to SQLite over the years and it just works.

Cons

The autocomplete function is a little overzealous at times.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of DbVisualizer

Reviewed 3 years ago

DbVisualizer is one of the best multiple database management tools. I use it to manage, MySQL, MariaDB, PostgreSQL, DB2, Oracle, and H2. Really nice to be able to use one interface to address all these different databases.

Pros

Support for so many different databases!

Cons

I don’t like the new taskbar icon. It washes out a bit.

NS
AvatarImg

Natosha S.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Data Analysis

Reviewed 4 years ago

DbVisualizer is my go-to data extracting tool!

Pros

Data Analysis is fast and easy; Easy to find table/field information and to pull sample data during development.

Cons

Seems like some of the sql keywords valid for the selected database don't always work in dbvisualizer.

HF
AvatarImg

Hans F.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DbVisualizer help me as an consultant in my daily work at many different sites

Reviewed 4 years ago

:) :) :)

Pros

Works in many different environments. Easy to install and setup. Quick learning curve

Cons

All my settings are now and then lost at a customer installation. Properly due to a change in the server setting, but anyway annoying .

ML
AvatarImg

Matthew L.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great SQL tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

DB Visualizer makes it easy to run SQL queries against multiple systems quickly and easily. My productivity has improved because of how well it works.

Cons

I have not had any problems with DbVisualizer.

DK
AvatarImg

Daekyu K.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy and fast tool for SAP HANA DB

Reviewed 3 years ago

Dvis is easy to use and faster than database specific client tool.

Pros

It's faster than HANA studio to handle SAP HANA DB data.

Cons

ERD (Table reference diagram) is sometimes shown differently from actual.

DB
AvatarImg

Detlef B.

Banking, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for all types of databases

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Work with different types of databases is nearly the same and i can use variables in SQL requests.

Cons

I would like to edit the column descriptions just in Place.

RR
AvatarImg

Ricardo R.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for database analysis and design

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall Dbvizualizer has been a very useful tool that I have been using for several years whenever I need to visually work or understand the database that I'm working with. Very easy to use, intuitive features and I'm sure anybody will find some useful features in it.

Pros

One of the features that I like the most from Dbvizualizer is the ability to generate a nice ER diagram from the connected DB and even for specific DB objects.

Cons

The only thing I have noticed is that it may be too high-consuming resources for older computers. Also when I run it in Linux the app will crash every once in a while.