This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Drupal Reviews - Page 11

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


352 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not of much use for freelancers and small businesses

Reviewed 3 years ago

While appreciating the sophistication of this CMS, Drupal was of no use as I could get better and faster result working with WordPress. Security breach is never a big issue for me to be honest.

Pros

I understand this software comes with the best security features, so important for projects that are sensitive to be hacked while working in groups or communities.

Cons

Drupal is difficult to use and there is a steep learning curve. For freelancers and small businesses, why not use WordPress (or even Joomla) that is so easy to use and yet get the same or even better result! After all, WordPress has a big and growing library of plugins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Have a client with a drupal site, prefer wordpress

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Works well and seems like a cool way of organizing everything. Definitely enterprise class.

Cons

Can be confusing to do basic things that I know in Wordpress. Less plugin options and support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Good tool, but not user friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal is a good alternative to WordPress if you don't want to be one of the typical WordPress users. They offer quite a bit of variety and more custom code than WordPress as well.

Cons

Drupal is NOT user-friendly. Finding pages and stuffing content takes so much longer than necessary. There are also odd requirements on different modules that really don't seem necessary and only make is a longer process than it should be. Simple things like saving a page or going back to your previous page are borderline impossible. Overall, I would always choose WordPress if you are building it for a less than genius user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I've developed four websites using drupal.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to add users to assign roles. Users can add content fairly easily. Large range of customizations available.

Cons

Sometimes counter-intuitive. You need to make sure you know what your doing before you go messing about with settings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Drupal as CMS

Reviewed 10 months ago

We did not have a great experience with Drupal, but it is worth looking into if you're looking for an open source option.

Pros

Drupal was a good option for us while we were shopping for a full enterprise-level CMS to use at our college.

Cons

We did not have enough internal expertise or internal developers to properly implement, manage, or keep up with Drupal updates and releases.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Drupal CMS Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Perfect choice for the Content Management System with all the features. To create and update APIs for content is within few minutes. Built in web services, mobile support, security, external plugins. Stable with powerful version control and access control methods. Suitable for large content based applications. It has built in multi language support.

Cons

It is not user friendly. Not supported with all type of sql databases. The installation is complex and need to install separate plugins for more features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Versatile CMS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like that I can use Drupal for free as it is an open source content management system.

Cons

Drupal offers all that I need and I can use it easily without needing coding skills.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not the best CMS in the market.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used it in the past but don't intend to use it in the future.

Pros

I like the customizality that drupal offer to developer in terms of configurations.

Cons

The plugin library is rather limited in comparison to Wordpress.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great flexibility and good for advanced sites

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very flexible, developer friendly, great for comunities

Pros

A large amount of modules can be used for free and many people maintain them up to date. It is flexible and probably very open to code implementations for complex implementations

Cons

Developer friendly, but not suitable for everyone. It is easier to pick up for someone that has already a development background. It requires a little bit of expertise when installing it, there might be technical details required that are not very common for non-IT background users/admins

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

The standard that needs an update

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is a standard layout, similar to wordpress, that makes Drupal intuitive. It's also easy to delegate different levels of permissions to people for different sections.

Cons

The process to do certain things is very unintuitive and there are no tooltips to help you along the way. Often I get stuck trying to d a basic thing and have to ask someone for help-only for them to explain that I've completely misunderstood how this other type of content or section functions. Why can't they all function the same way?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A CMS Without a True Niche

Reviewed 3 years ago

As other CMSs shed their original niches and begin to become more general purpose, robust web content platforms, Drupal is quickly losing reasons to exist. At one point it may have been a good choice, but that time may have passed.

Pros

Drupal is a very powerful CMS that can give you really granular control over what your site is going to look like without making you have to dive directly into code.

Cons

Unfortunately, Drupal just isn't as popular as many CMS platforms out there that have tremendous community support with lots of themes, plugins, and answers to be found everywhere.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I liked how easy it was to use and the large variety of free templates there are on offer to the public.

Cons

The admin UI is not as good as some other website admin user interfaces.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Overall review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I really like this CMS, because the content management system is quite good in my opinion

Cons

what I really like about this CMS is that it has a fairly large community around the world, making it easier for us to find information related to Drupal issues

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful, but complex

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal is amazing. Highly customization with a lot of available support online.

Cons

When compared to some other similar products Drupal has a high learning curve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great platform for building web projects.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal have one of the most supportive community. Extensions. Lots of extensions. Great themes

Cons

Sometimes integration with third party can be problematic.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

drupal is great for people who want to control the look and feel of their websites

Reviewed 2 years ago

web design needs

Pros

I loved the ability to take complex databases and use drupal to make them more accessible online

Cons

doesn't work the same across all browsers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not so easy to start, but super versatile after having some experience

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Not being a professional web developer, it was difficult for me to start. But after having some practice and after consulting a lot of forums I can say that it is a very versatile tool for web development, it is useful and you have at your disposal tons of information provided by other users.

Cons

The learning curve is very high, you must have some prior knowledge in web development. I think that in general it is oriented towards the larges development.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Hard to compare to WP

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal is one of the most feature rich CMSs beside WordPress. It's really hard to compare as they go side-by-side in almost every criterion. However, Drupal are very serious when it comes to security (whitehouse.gov uses it!)

Cons

Not really a con, but it has less number of themes and plugins than WordPress. Note that "less" does not mean you'll miss anything really Another thing is the cost of plugin development, which tend to be a bit higher than WP's

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Only know the end results were good.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We got an online database up and running that even novices can use.

Cons

It was way over my head. Glad there was a coder working on the project.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Reliable CMS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Drupal is one of the best CMS. It’s fully open-source platform that provides all essential features you need from one CMS. It’s secure, stable and flexible. I like the user-friendly interface , simple navigation and how easy is to create professional looking blogs/ websites.

Cons

I can point the huge learning curve as downside. There are ton of free templates, however starting from scratch is a journey. Compared to other CMS platforms, Drupal has lack of plugins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful and flexible

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The versatility of the software is pretty amazing. It can do social networks and ecommerce and it's locked down like fort knox.

Cons

The learning curve is steep. As a tech professional at how much trial and error I need to figure out how all of this 'node' business works.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

If it were not for bugs, everything could be better

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

There are a lot of convenient modules in the system, and if you take the time to thoroughly study the functionality, you can create good websites.

Cons

Besides the fact that the system is rather complicated, in addition developers are slow to eliminate the errors found by users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Drup there it is

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Open source software making Customer Management System Customizable to the clients needs. Able to incorporate other products together with Drupal. Modules/themes can be created quickly.

Cons

There are many features for this and it does take some time to wrap your head around it. Support for this is minimal and in order to figure out some of the features you will have to play around with the tool(there are training options available if required though).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Incredibly powerful content management software that is also incredibly annoying to use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The Drupal system is extremely powerful and flexible. The options for developing sites with it are virtually limitless.

Cons

Administration, maintenance and security updates are time-consuming and difficult. The admin interface "out of the box" is confusing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Drupal

Reviewed a year ago

Ultimately, making the switch to Drupal has upgraded our site and online traffic.

Pros

This software was not too difficult to integrate from our previous website software. It provides multiple page templates.

Cons

The software isn't the most user friendly. Although there are multiple page templates, not all of them make the site aesthetically pleasing.