This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Drupal Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


345 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

very capable, extensible web framework, sort of beastly under the hood

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Can format/present/lay-out a website in almost any imaginable way. Perms and auths allow for easily varied professional/enterprise workflow (versus something like Wordpress that seems intended for SoHo sites). Lots of good features for optimizing complex pages. Scales up well for high-volume. Large community, lots of support options. A whole ton of contrib code offers multiple ways to do most things you might want to do within the context of Drupal.

Cons

Very steep learning curve. relatively heavy system requirements. Abtruse jargon/mechanisms. Out of the box, it's not even vaguely ready to use. Newer releases have emphasized gee-whiz features and change-for-change's sake, making internal APIs increasingly complex without adding a lot of value. Drupal8 is a lot more top heavy than Drupal7, and abandoned much of the contrib code base for little practical gain. The common PHP name space combined with many contrib authors can make for code instability, though the community is better at that than it used to be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal Rocks. for the serious user

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have created multimillion-dollar Enterprise level sites on a platform is Rock Solid reliable fast I'm downright amazing. You can build something as a simple blog can International multi-level site with Drupal.

Pros

Drupal fully open-source and will run on just about any server operating system. It has a massive worldwide community community that collaborates on security fixes, module creation. What this means is If You Can Dream It Drupal can do it Loggins & themes won't cost you a penny. This is in stark contrast 2 enterprise-level modules that are pay only when working on the WordPress platform. Some of the biggest Enterprises in the world use Drupal including Conde Nast, Sony and even the White House.

Cons

The one drawback to Drupal is the learning curve is extremely high is not for the faint of heart but for those that are willing to put in the time you can build anything stable fast and secure with Drupal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Complex but amazingly powerful content management system

Reviewed 3 years ago

We rely on drupal to run our websites.

Pros

Drupal is not the solution you go to if you want to quickly put out a simple website. It IS the solution you want if you need a website that will scale, if you need robust features, if you care about security, and if you don't really mind getting your hands a little dirty. A lot of things are really more complicated than they need to be compared to Wordpress, but unlike Wordpress, you can accomplish so much more with Drupal with the right modules and a little customization know-how.

Cons

Complexity. If you're just starting out with Drupal, you can easily find yourself using 5 modules to do something one module can do, which leads to a more bloated install as you add more features to your site. Knowing how to keep the site lean has performance and security advantages because you don't have to have so many modules to keep in line and updated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5.00/10

Share this review:

I wanted to love Drupal, but it wasn't a good fit for my nonprofit's needs

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal is a powerful web developing platform with a large, global community of people and companies using it, developing for it and improving it. It's used to build websites that you probably consult every day. It's flexible and scalable.

Cons

The negative flipside of Drupal's power and flexibility is that it is still many steps behind Wordpress in terms of ease of use and value for money. My nonprofit sunk thousands of dollars into a Drupal site that didn't do everything we wanted it to do and which we ultimately could no longer afford to maintain given the high fees charged by Drupal developers who are in great demand. That's not to say that Drupal won't meet your needs. My advice is simply that you do your homework before going the Drupal route including an assessment of the staff and financial resources you have to maintain/upgrade the site once it has been built.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6.00/10

Share this review:

More Powerful than WordPress but Only if you have a Developer, not for DIY

Reviewed 2 years ago

In my previous job, I used Drupal daily for about two years and managed 10 websites in 4 languages. I had admin rights on some and helped build and configure custom blocks as well as launch new sites. However, most admin work was done by developers.

Pros

In many ways more powerful and customizable than Wordpress and of course drag and drop CMS systems. The ability to build page templates and quickly generate new pages and content is great, easier than in WordPress. Works well for professional business sites, especially with 100+ pages but not great for small sites.

Cons

-Hard to do much without a developer -Less user friendly than WordPress -No tree view for your website (like Typ03 or File Explorer) -General User Interface not intuitive and many options hidden or difficult to find -Supports localization, but gets messy with multiple languages and hard to keep an overview -Even experienced marketers or Wordpress users can't install and set it up themselves like WP -Less support and plugins than Wordpress, though more than others like Typ03

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal is a Beast!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Drupal gets us up to speed on projects quickly. Even though it can be a pain to learn, the effort is well worth it. It's flexibility is remarkable, and the API/de-coupled movement is well represented in Drupal 8. With this framework in place, it allows us to grow and build custom apps without having to upgrade for the foreseeable future.

Pros

Comprehensive CMS. Powerful, can handle a lot of requests quickly and efficiently. Great user management. Consistent upgrade life cycle with clear goals. Easily create and manage multiple content types. Crazy customization options for content types and users. Huge community with a lot of active support and plugins.

Cons

Minor features, like calendar functionality, found in other CMS's simply don't work. Drupal 7 and 8 both have this issue. Drupal's reliance on nodes can be difficult for a newcomer. Not the best solution for small sites.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal - CMS to build the World

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been a super impressive experience working extensively with Drupal. What was truly superior is knowing that Drupal has a very strong community support and proved to be extremely informative in my time of need. You can: * join forums to ask questions * trade code and gain insights * join online groups and that is just to name a few.

Pros

Drupal is a well-known, free and open source content management system that is geared towards complete website designing with its flexibility due to its core database and PHP structure, compared to WordPress, which is more on the blogging side. It is also very customizable; therefore, if you are armed with the right plugins and modules, you will be granted the ability to build complex websites, enterprise-level websites or web applications. As mentioned before, Drupal is flexible, reliable, and secure, allowing any or all businesses wanting to create and online presence to reach the world, possible with little developer skills, web designing experience and web building knowledge, as it is suitable for both beginners and professionals.

Cons

I believe that Drupal has a limitation when it comes to designing templates vs other popular CMS on the market. When designing your template, it doesn't really support a drag and drop feature, so it forces you to use the templates that are available at start. Also due to it having more components, I don't believe it is the best when it comes to getting a website built in the least possible time.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend4.00/10

Share this review:

A CMS for Coders

Reviewed 2 years ago

Worked in agencies that chose to build on drupal and all I saw was linitations, endless bills to the client and a platform that was not agile, responsive or up to date with modern web standards.

Pros

The ability to build in house native software applications with a CMS is incredibly attractive and drupal makes it possible.

Cons

Nodes, taxonomy, I could go on. The language used is intriniscally made for coders, which makes it an incredibly difficult website platform to train people on especially clients.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use, Hard to master CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've used a few CMS such as Joomla before, but Drupal is the one that my team and I consistently go back to. For some of our key sites, this is a great tool to use. I have members on the team that are well versed in PHP and CSS so this is relatively easy for them to work with. We've used Drupal for a few in house websites ranging from relatively simple blogs to enterprise level business sites. The team has been using Drupal since Drupal6 and we're now at Drupal8. Drupal's best selling point over many CMS is in its flexibility and the multitude of options available for the users.

Pros

I really like the options that are available with Drupal; themes, modules,etc. I particularly enjoy having the ability to use themes and having options to create and use custom themes. It's a bit challenging to install and deploy the first time, but the themes themselves are incredibly easy to write if you have knowledge of CSS. I also feel that Drupal is well supported with forums, an established community documentation, and a decent slack channel.

Cons

I think that the old adage, "Easy to learn, hard to master" applies really well to Drupal. The layout and feel of Drupal is not really naturally intuitive. Furthermore, while it's not necessarily a con, but it feels like there really are almost too many modules and features available. Some of them share very similar functionalities and novice users may choose a less fleshed out/established option. However, I feel that this is typical of many open-source CMS software and it's something that can be easily overcome with experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Powerful open source alternative to WCMS monoliths

Reviewed 4 months ago

There is no task too big or complex for Drupal but hire an expert to guide you in crafting the right system for your business needs.

Pros

Drupal is incredibly flexible and extensible and beats most other WCMS’ hands down for its security credentials. If you’re in the business of building bespoke applications - be them marketing and sales orientated websites, heavy information Rich websites, high volume article-based websites or complex, personalised digital products - Drupal’s ceiling is hard to reach.

Cons

Because it’s so flexible, it requires more specialist expertise and better planning to setup. Also, the admin UI has - until recently - been quite poor. The Gin theme offers a lifeline but it is not yet under Drupal’s security advisory policy.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Great for developers; not for beginners

Reviewed 2 years ago

We run our University Library's website on Drupal, and find it very convenient and flexible when serving thousands of students at once.

Pros

VERY versitile; easy to create custom themes and plugins.

Cons

Vast user library, though community plugins can be outdates/abandoned since they are open source.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend3.00/10

Share this review:

Want to use an unnecessarily complex CMS? Drupal is for you

Reviewed 2 years ago

Painful at least. There are several times where we have been affected by bugs that, after digging in a little, we found that had been there for 5 or 6 years with no solution. If you are starting out a new project, I don't recommend using it unless you require some specific feature. For example, drupal permissions management is excellent. If you don't require something that you know only drupal can provide, go with something else. You will save a lot of frustration.

Pros

Some of its design choices make sense, and actually help you set up a complex site without diving in too deep.

Cons

Unnecessary complex. The software cannot evolve at the same rythm of the web. Some packages that were crucial in Drupal7 are still in Beta in Drupal8, and several years have passed. Basically if you choose to go with Drupal, you are on your own.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal - a CMS that could use an UX upgrade

Reviewed 2 years ago

Hopefully the new decoupled admin built in react will make for a better UX experience that will draw more attention to the system's strengths versus it's downfalls

Pros

Drupal is extremely versatile for people who have used it for a while. You get the options of being in an ecosystem for large scale development CMS software and it's all open source.

Cons

What can be extremely useful can also be horribly complex and not without it's challenges. Drupal 8 has gen going through some growing pains leaving devs a mystery in which path they should take without being left out. The community seems to talk in closed circles sometimes and you are left wondering if you made the right dev choice. <- this isn't a joke the webforms mess at the beginning of the drupal 8 cycle was a shit show.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Versatile but with a steep learning curve

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It's endlessly versatile, but that versatility comes with a steep learning curve.

Cons

Drupal's versatility comes with a steep learning curve. I create websites for clients, which they then manage themselves. Drupal can be daunting or simply to complicated to use for untrained staff, and for a developer it's tricky to lock down so they're forced into a set pathway, without losing that versatility. Also, there are far fewer plugins etc available for Drupal compared to WordPress.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Are you looking for an efficient, safe and easy to use CMS?

Reviewed 3 years ago

The installation of this CMS in the company for which work has been very useful. In our case, we use it to move content oriented to the internal public and the results are remarkable. Both in the ease it offers to work day by day and in the scope of our audiences. In particular I think it is a means with excellent features that are worth trying.

Pros

What I liked the most about Drupal is its performance, its safety standards and versatility. These are features that offer a truly pleasurable user experience.

Cons

As administrator of websites, I consider that although its characteristics and usability are extraordinary, its installation may need knowledge oriented to the technical area. I refer to this point, because at present there are other CMS that can be used without having that kind of knowledge.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Extremely powerful and versatile for creating websites

Reviewed 2 years ago

Initially installing Drupal required some heavy lifting but once it was in place, everything ran smoothly.

Pros

Once Drupal is up and running, it's very easy to create and build complex, content-rich websites using the various Drupal modules. Drupal can be leveraged to add features such as advanced admin UI, extend libraries such as jquery, and add features like blogs or google analytics. While using the modules may not be a straightforward and require reading docs, doing it within the Drupal framework ensures...

Cons

Drupal installation was not the smoothest for us. My recommendation is to carefully read the docs ... then read them again. Make sure you have all the prereqs for all the components necessary. Once you have this in place, installation will be much more straight forward. For more complex integrations in Drupal, we did have to leverage a web developer. It's not always point and click installation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Powerful but difficult for the user, it can be improved

Reviewed 3 years ago

In my work I managed to complete the development of a project with this software, our team was congratulated by our bosses and the board of directors is very happy with the results, we are currently in the quality testing phase, I hope that soon Drupal can be launched in the production environment On a personal level, I see it as an option to do independent work, so I can obtain many benefits.

Pros

What I like most about Drupal is that it is free, you can make a complete implementation without investing money in software, we have chosen to implement only free software, so we have done it without cost, I like the possibility of being beyond the simple The content of the administrator has options for future developments, it is easy to install and its use is quite practical, I liked the fact that...

Cons

The first thing that comes to my mind about what I do not like about Drupal is the cache system that has sometimes driven me crazy, it serves obsolete content and there are many conflicts when different users need to edit the same article, another problem is that there is failures in some buttons of the administration, sometimes the buttons do not perform any action, I had problems because sometimes...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Great CMS - highly customizable

Reviewed 2 years ago

Drupal is great! It's best-in-class when it comes to an open source web CMS. I'm a huge fan!

Pros

Super customizable, love the features available, love the development community overall, and I really enjoy the updates in Drupal 8. We recently updated from D7 to D8 and everything about D8 is better, from its mobile-first design to its back-end CMS functionality.

Cons

It's hard to use Drupal if you don't have developers on staff or if you don't have the budget to retain a development shop that specializes in Drupal. Some of their app integrations aren't super friendly either and require a LOT of development time (read: money) to make happen

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Probably my favourite CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's both easy to use, secure and customizable. I find it very intuitive for basic users, which is great when you need to grant editing access to several people (a bit less so for more advanced needs). It gives you the potential to do pretty much everything you need without affecting the security, and there's a big, helpful network of forums that can help you every time to get stuck.

Cons

Some of the most advanced features are not very intuitive, hence you struggle every time you need them -because you forgot where they were on the menus! Also, sometimes you need to find workarounds to get Drupal to do what you need to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

I wants to marry Drupal

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Being a developer its hard not to love Drupal -- with their recent update to Drupal 8 and moving to a Symfony2 backend and Twig templating system, its become bulletproof. Also, Composer is now built in to manage dependencies. The developer community is incredible and all modules are peer-reviewed by the community. This way you know the code you are getting is safe and sound unlike competitors...*cough*wordpress*cough*

Cons

The migration from Drupal 7 to Drupal 8 may be hard for some developers to swallow. A lot has changed, but almost all for the better. Drupal 8 modules are still a bit slow to be ported from Drupal 7.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Drupal is a complex content management system and really shouldn't be used for simple brochure sites

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that there is a strong community support system of developers and programmers for this content management system. When looking for a module to use for whatever function you need, it's best to use that developer community and check out the reviews. The other thing to watch for is when it was last updated or modified. If it's a frequently updated or modified module, that should mean that people are using it and it is well maintained.

Cons

It is not blatantly apparent before you begin using this content management system that it is so super complex, that it's not a good product for simple brochure websites...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

The Best Open Source Content Management System

Reviewed 5 months ago

My overall experience is really great with Drupal, because I have designed a number of ecommerce websites for my clients. They are really happy with the performance of the website including front-end and back-end. I am really satisfied with the features of Drupal.

Pros

Drupal is the professional and incredible content management system for the developers. Using Drupal you can build a stunning and amazing website. Drupal provides flexible and powerful solutions for your ecommerce business. You can secure your users. The interface is really easy to use, so even beginners can also create a website.

Cons

Drupal is great for marketers, developers and agencies. Even individuals can create and design the portfolio sites without any kind of cons. You will never face any issue in Drupal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Better Than WordPress

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

We decided not to save on a platform for creating a site, so we chose CMS Drupal. Thanks to this decision, we were able to make a great site that best meets the objectives of our company. We wrote code without problems, connected the control system and plug-ins, and also set the parameters for SEO promotion. On WordPress, we would never do that.

Cons

The update manager does not work almost always. We are constantly tormented when developers release the next update. We just can't deliver it the first time. This is no good, and I hope the developers fix everything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal - Enterprise Level CMS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is Highly Flexible, you can customize it very easily to any extent. It got wide community support which will help you if you got stuck anywhere. It got wide variety of modules & plugins available which you can choose in development of new features in your software/application. And the best part is its security, its one of the most secure CMS available out there. Man of Government website use drupal.

Cons

It is not recommenced for small scale website. As this CMS take good amount of efforts to be setup, making a small website will not be profitable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Great CMS platform, tons of modules, themes and experts to deploy it

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using Drupal for websites I have been working with for years, since version 4. Drupal is a very flexible and powerful CMS, with tons of module for everything (from credit card management to spam detection), also with a big marketplace of themes to quick launch nice websites. The community of developers is huge, so it is easy to have a Drupal expert nearby to help you with a new website or the development of a module if that is not already existing on the marketplace.

Pros

Very flexible Tons of themes and modules Available on managed cloud sites

Cons

More difficult to configure than Wordpress (but also way more powerful)