This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Drupal Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


345 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

I work for a Drupal web development shop

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal is an open-source CMS that works well when set up correctly. I've seen a lot of websites that have been built by developers that have never worked with Drupal before, and then the end result can sometimes be a nonsensical nightmare, especially for the content administrators. Drupal has the ability to create custom built websites with powerful integrations to countless other platforms, and it can really shine when Drupal experts handle the builds.

Cons

Drupal still has quite a learning curve, even with a customized back-end. People who are used to Wordpress or Squarespace don't find it as intuitive, and without proper training, creating and publishing content properly is difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Pretty decent and more than a CMS

Reviewed 3 months ago

Drupal is a notable, free, and open-source content administration framework that is equipped towards complete site planning with its adaptability because of its core information base and PHP structure

Pros

The most effective element of Drupal is that the product is open source. In addition, its security is really high compared to other CMS. I like that Drupal proposes a variety of modules like video, participation, business.

Cons

Once you build the website, there is not much you can do to change the layout as it is fixed. It limits your creativity and can be frustrating. And it is a little bit harder to learn to use this software compared to other CMS. I wonder if they could make the admin panel more modern.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

The platform requires minimal configuration

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

CMS Drupal is probably the only engine that does not require complex configuration. All SEO parameters are normally configured even in the boxed version. Another big plus is that the kit comes with several good modules for expanding functionality.

Cons

The editor limits the layout options. The graphical interface uses the DS + FG body kit, so most of the elements can not simply be transferred from the layout to the web page. I need to know html well, without this, it is better not to work with Drupal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Best web-site builder that I've used

Reviewed a year ago

Really easy to use and has nice user friendly design.

Pros

This tool is amazing if you want to create a web-site but you don't have strong programming skills. It has many options, configurations that help to create the web-site that you want to create, also it helps to manage your site Admin dashboard where you can do any manipulation due to your site.

Cons

there are no cons, I think it is the best site constructor that help to save time, dont require strong technical skills and create good quality web site.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

The most powerful CMS + Website builder

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

100% free and opensource! You can use Drupal to code and design your website, CMS or eCommerce website. The platform is quite powerful and secure (the White House uses Drupal for their website!). For developers, Drupal is quite organised in the way it manages its code, and as with many modern coding platforms, codes can be reused and recycled. Drupal being open-source allows you to find many solutions for issues you face through the community. And Drupal community continues to grow daily.

Cons

Drupal has a steep learning curve, so if you are looking to setup a simple blog or CMS, I advise you to check Wordpress or Joomla.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Very powerful CMS with steep learning curve

Reviewed 2 years ago

My first encounter with Drupal was some time ago, and I immediately noticed this CMS was not very easy. While with such CMSs as Joomla I was able to setup and run a simple website in a matter of minutes, Drupal required much more effort. Then recently I participated in a project when we were moving a client from custom-built CMS to Drupal. During this project I felt the power of Drupal and its plugins....

Pros

* Very powerful CMS with lots of features * Tons of plugins (lots of them are free) that will make your website even more powerful

Cons

* Pretty steep learning curve - you won't be able to setup Drupal and start using it immediately. You'll have to spend some time educating yourself. * Not very intuitive admin panel, you'll have to get acquainted to it before you'll be able to use all the power of Drupal

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal one of the best open source platforms out there

Reviewed 6 months ago

The flexibility of the platform makes it a perfect choice for all who want a feature rich, secure and powerfull platform.

Pros

Drupal is highly customizable and because of that you can do what you want and need. Lots of modules are already developed and ready to be used with some little adjustments.

Cons

The navigationals structure looks difficult at first, but when you are used to it it’s perfect. Ofcourse there are better vendors most of them not open source that provide a better experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Feature rich CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The feature rich CMS which gives flexibility to develope web apps. It is purposely used for the websites demanding custom content types and workflows. It gives functionality to create custom workflow rules for content management requirements. We can develop creative websites using it that too in very short time span. It provides the versatility giving features that we can use to develop any web app like, normal website, portals, e-commerce site, anything.

Cons

If you are first time user, it will be really very difficult for you to deal with it. Drupal is having comparatively complex structure for admin side. It gives many features, but again you have to be familiar with it before using it for web development. The simple update module task can become difficult if you are really new to it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

A Better Value Than WordPress

Reviewed 2 years ago

Drupal can be used as a standard website or in a "headless" mode to provide data to other sources.

Pros

The community support for this product is incredible. There are no licensing fees and the number of modules available to accomplish tasks is very good. Updates are all found in one location. Unlike WordPress there are no separate licenses for each plug-in, each having their own upgrade path.

Cons

The learning curve can be steep but once you have invested your time, this tool becomes a blank canvas.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Difficult but powerful CMS

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I work with CMS Drupal almost every day. It's great that the toolbar can be changed to my own requirements. For example, remove an unnecessary tool and add the one that I often use.

Cons

CMS Drupal is definitely not for beginners. I have more than 5 years of experience working with sites, but it was still hard to figure out the first time. But if you have been developing websites for a long time and are looking for a good CMS, then Drupal will suit you.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

A Mostly User-Friendly Web Editor Platform (Your Experience Will Vary)

Reviewed 3 months ago

Drupal has been a strong platform so far. We expect that our experience will continue to improve over time, so I can't wait to see where it takes us.

Pros

Our organization moved to Drupal for our website a year and a half ago. The initial reception of the website was so-so, but that has more to do with how our organization decided to set things up... The good news is that Drupal is, for the most part, a straight-forward, user-friendly platform. In my time building out content, I've found it to be pretty intuitive and easy to understand. I also understand that Drupal is an open-source platform, meaning that it will continue to develop and get better over time.

Cons

Some components of the webpage content can be tricky to move around, especially when shifting the order of content on a page. Site structure is also not always the most obvious, but that may also be the way our organization set things up. A lot has to do with how your tech team sets things up from the start.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

My preferred website builder

Reviewed 3 years ago

We built our second iteration of our website with Drupal, after being on Wordpress. I've since worked with the latest Wordpress again and I really prefer Drupal. I recommend it for any new clients and try to take its free lessons online regularly so I'm always current on new features. I feel also that Drupal is superior in security.

Pros

THe flexibility of Drupal while it is still user-friendly wins every time. Other sitebuilders like WP and Webflow are extremely feature rich, but harder to use day-to-day. Simpler builders like Wix and Squarespace are great for newbies, but not as flexible. Drupal floats that line so anyone can use it but experts can make so much more of it. And it's free!

Cons

Image sizing did kind of limit us with our blogs - there were strict requirements on aspect ratio that I didn't find very helpful. However, that may have since been resolved or a limitation we placed on ourselves for consistency.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

It’s hard to work, it’s not suitable for beginners

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Using the Drupal admin panel, I can quickly publish content. For this, minimal knowledge of HTML and CSS is sufficient. Also, using the platform, I can quickly install plugins from the store. If our bank’s site was on WordPress, we would have to modify such plugins. But in the Drupal store, most of the plugins are in excellent condition from the very beginning and do not need to be finalized.

Cons

Designing a site layout from scratch is very difficult. This requires serious programming knowledge. I was able to cope with the frontend, but I did not master the backend setup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Most powerful open source CMS

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've been building website with Drupal for about 8 years and it allowed me to deliver websites that I would not have been able to code from scratch.

Pros

You can build almost anything with Drupal. The flexibility and scalability of it outperforms other well known CMS solutions such as WordPress. The quality control in place for submitted modules (aka plug-ins in WP) and themes means that you don't have worry about hidden malicious code. The Drupal community give so much and ask for so little in return.

Cons

The out-of-the-box UI isn't as user friendly as WordPress and it isn't as quick and easy to setup as WP. There isn't as much variety of modules and themes available for Drupal as compared to WP. Becoming a Drupal developer means you will have a larger learning curve BUT you'll also have a far more powerful "tool-belt" at the end of the day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Opensource CMS with lots of features and a big community

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Drupal is an opensource content management system. It has a lot of features, maybe more than other CMSs, and being opensource they all are free to use. There is a big community of Drupal, so it is easy to find documentation or have your questions answered. With Drupal 8 it is an even more robust and secure platform.

Cons

Some features are not very intuitive to use and there is room for improvement for performance.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal more then just websites

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using drupal since drupal 6 where I helped manage qualcomm.com I still use drupal today but for a much more decoupled experience with a angular front end and rest powered backend. It has been great working with drupal and seeing it improve and where it is going.

Pros

Great community support, frequent updates.

Cons

Open issues in forums for community modules that are years and years old. Sometimes there is a very critical patch required that sites get hacked if they are not all up to date all the time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

The best CMS if you know what you are doing

Reviewed 3 years ago

Shorter development time and more products to offer to my customers.

Pros

Very flexible. You can do almost anything with Drupal. The possibilities are endless. The community is vibrant and the security one of the best. With the latest version performance and other features are greatly improve.

Cons

Complexity, lack of proper documentation. The developer community it is very helpful but can't be a little hostile to non developers or less advanced users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Powerful CMS with decent security features.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Made by geeks so the backend has been thought through and very scalable. Security wise a lot better than wordpress and the open source concentric community makes modules / plugins easier to maintain as there's not just one company devloping / supporting them.

Cons

Is difficult to learn initially (if not a coding background). However drupal 8 has got a lot more front end friendly, looks prettier and is getting easier to implement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Great but you get what you put it

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I have used this software in two different companies. In one, we invested lots of time and money customising and designing our website. Drupal was great for that and it did everything we wanted. However, in the other company they have little budget and don't get the most out of it so really you need time and dedication to making it great.

Cons

The CMS is not always that easy to navigate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

One of the best CMS out there

Reviewed 3 years ago

Development of great websites, Drupal is powerful and the capabilities and possibilities are endless. However, Drupal may have a steeper learning curve than other CMSs out there.

Pros

Drupal is a great software for building web applications. Drupal has a lot of features and is highly extendable and customizable. Drupal also boasts a large support community and numerous plugins are available. Whatever the website or application you want to create, Drupal can do it!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Incredibly flexible CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal can power any number of websites, from extremely complicated to simple portfolios. It's very flexible and open source which means you can extend it almost infinitely.

Cons

Not a lot comes with core Drupal. You have to find and install modules to do even simple things like media handling or text editing (Drupal 7). The learning curve can be incredibly steep, especially if you're coming from a platform like Wordpress.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5.00/10

Share this review:

Make sure you need it

Reviewed a year ago

In my experience, it seemed like it was just too much. There were too many things that needed to be set up and working just right before I could get to something that looked like what I wanted. Be prepared for a steep learning curve as opposed to getting up and running quickly with something like WordPress.

Pros

I like most of the security that is available in Drupal. For an open-source product, it gives enterprise-level users reason to trust it.

Cons

Drupal can be a bit overkill for sites that just need some simple editing. Before selecting this software know that it is going to be a bit complicated to set up and design for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Best CMS by far - used them all since the birth of the We

Reviewed 3 years ago

Have migrated 2 company websites from version 6 to 7 and dabbled in 8. Robust functionality ties into our ERP/CRM. Have even built a commercial product on top of a fork of the open source code.

Pros

Features are boundless thanks to a robust worldwide open source community of contributors. Easy to learn and use.

Cons

Hiring a full-time, in-house back-end developer can be difficult. They're an independent lot and typically like to work from home wherever that may be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend5.00/10

Share this review:

Can be complicated

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used Drupal at an electronic publication and found one version to be easier to use than the other two. The best version was seamless as far as entering text and data, while the other two versions (for lesser-known publications) required HTML coding within the text boxes. It felt very outdated to use. I’m not sure how much the company spent on the lesser version of Drupal, but it was a lot more time-consuming and, overall, resulted in a lot of lost productivity for me.

Pros

For the most updated version that I used, the data/text entry was very easy.

Cons

Some versions of the Drupal software I used required HTML coding within the text boxes, which I was not well-versed on. Considering how another version I used didn’t require this, it was very frustrating and felt unnecessary to do so much extra work for the same results.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal is great Content Management System

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

1. its free 2. easy to install & comes pre-installed with number of hosting packages 3. easy to use once its configured 4. extend drupal to unlimited levels there's not limit like drupal can be CMS or E-commerce website 5. its not bulky software

Cons

1. you need some tech. knowledge to use drupal 2. version to version code changes quickly like template in Drupal 2 not compatible with drupal 7