This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Drupal Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


345 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4.00/10

Share this review:

The promise of open-source CMS made (nearly) feasible

Reviewed 3 years ago

Drupal was ultimately not a good fit for us.

Pros

The community (which I marked as Customer Support) is very active and large. Open-source can (potentially) lower TCO for small and medium companies with smaller digital footprint. Easy to extend platform with a rich and often mature library of community modules.

Cons

While it is getting better and some modules offer improvements, Drupal continues to be one of the most difficult CMS systems to get setup and configured for scalable, multi-site needs. Being open-source can provide smaller organizations with a much lower TCO, but larger enterprises should carefully evaluate the long-term TCO especially in configurations that need to scale. Recommended to look into some PAAS players like Acquia and Pantheon for more enterprise needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Easy website management tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Extremely user friendly interface and the availability of pre designed templates make it a wonderful tool to use.

Cons

Some parts of the software was buggy and needed restarting the instance from time to time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Complicated system for creating large projects

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We appeal to this system only when you need to create a large portal on the Internet. Sites made in Drupal, always look original. Huge functionality allows you to realize almost any desire - from adding comments to the order form.

Cons

This is a complex system that a beginner can hardly master. Yes, and edit this site is not easy. In addition, the web resource requires a powerful hosting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

This CMS requires powerful hosting

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

One of the key advantages because of which we use this platform is the ability to connect additional modules, which can significantly improve its SEO promotion without unnecessary efforts.

Cons

Due to the too high requirements for the platform, we had to change several hosting services, so far we managed to find the best option for our website running on Drupal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Great, flexible CMS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Good community with many developers and support. Some modules are easy to install. Q

Cons

What you get out of the platform depends upon your level (or budget) for developers, but this is to be expected.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Super powerful and versatile, steepish learning curve

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal is super flexible and can be adapted to so many CMS needs. I love that it's open-source, and of course I love the price. I haven't tested its robustness because my needs are small compared to some other users, but I take comfort in knowing it's robust enough for enterprise and government use.

Cons

Takes some commitment to get off the ground. There is decent support to be found online, but the downside of so much flexibility is figuring out how to configure/design things best for your needs. The learning curve also has also made it harder to collaborate with colleagues who aren't willing or able to figure it out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend4.00/10

Share this review:

Powerful but can be tiring

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's very, very flexible and ultimately enables you to use it for a wide range of applications. There's a very strong community to back it up which means that instead of having to write your own bespoke drupal modules, there's normally one already waiting for you on drupal.org. With very configurable permissions, you can allow regular users to have sessions with varying levels of access.

Cons

There's been a lot of security advisories for this software over the last year. Most weeks, I've had to support some issue or another and they just keep coming. Drupal 8 is an entirely different beast to Drupal 7 too so there's a whole lot to learn if you'd previously developed on 7. In addition, the APIs underneath the hood of Drupal often make it quite a long process developing with Drupal. There are a lot of quirks to learn about before you can really get stuck in.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5.00/10

Share this review:

Great for users who are more advanced

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like the flexibility of the modules and themes.

Cons

There seems to be more a learning curve compared to other CMS. There's also not as big of a developer community.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Standard CMS, very user-friendly

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

I liked this CMS because it has a huge number of ready-made modules and from them, like from bricks, you can easily assemble a site. All ready-made modules are configured so that they interact perfectly with each other and minimal settings are required from the user.

Cons

Despite the abundance of pre-installed modules, they are not enough to run a full-fledged website. For example, when I was building an online store on Drupal, I had to go to the developer's site and download additional modules from it. These modules are often paid.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Best Content Management System

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Easy to use, modules can be created easily, can modify codebase as per need, easy to interact with third party APIs

Cons

If they can make bit light weight then that would be perfect.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Powerful CMS Platform

Reviewed a year ago

Drupal is a stable, powerful CMS that can create and manage complex websites. Overall, I've had a positive experience using it.

Pros

I have several clients that use Drupal. The CMS is very flexible and powerful. It also has a great community behind it so you can quickly get answers to questions. Most of my clients say they love the control they have when creating new sites.

Cons

I'm a consultant so I use lots of CMS platforms. Of all the platforms I've used, Drupal was the hardest to learn but once you get the hang of it, you realize just how powerful it is and why some organizations choose it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend4.00/10

Share this review:

My team used Drupal when creating our new website.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We were able to give everyone access to Drupal, and were able to add the correct admin levels. It make it easy for the content editors to add content, the reviewers to review, and then publish right away.

Cons

We ran into some bugs and issues when using Drupal that required us to reach out to get help. Without these issues we would have had a great experience overall.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and versatile.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Drupal has been very easy to use and has allowed the creation of website with little knowledge of coding.

Cons

Some of the options and menus are deep and it can be hard to find the functionality or settings I am looking for.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Great opensource framework for Website/CMS system - Drupal

Reviewed a year ago

our new website is switched over easily and better improved after lunching using new Drupal 8 framework.

Pros

1. Its module-based core design; 2. Its new YAML-based definitions/configurations system; 3. The technology stack is very simple and popular in the open source; 4. Dynamic contents-oriented CMS system that can be easily customized based on the requirements; 5. The multi-site function is easier and better considered in terms of setup and management;

Cons

some features seem a bit complex for beginners; system management may need more tech skills; the learning curve to develop for drupal may not as simple as for wordpress,etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Only Way to Go!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Happy with the price!

Pros

There isn't any better source for open source CMS.

Cons

Because it's open source, Drupal doesn't always function amazingly. Pretty good though!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal is not horrible like I once believed

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've been using Drupal as a headless CMS most recently and have been pleased with how easy it is to navigate setting this up and the seamless-ness of the API calls to the CMS to return content. Honestly, I still prefer WordPress as a Developer but I won't be so quick to shoot down Drupal for future projects anymore, that's for sure!

Pros

Drupal has proven to actually be quite simple to navigate and use. It seems like custom modifications are actually proving to be quite simple. I have been quite pleased with the ease of being able to use Drupal as a headless CMS, Drupal actually accommodates this type of setup quite well.

Cons

Some of the default Drupal menu options can take a little time to learn and figure out what they are supposed to mean, but otherwise I think if you are using this as a barebones CMS for a larger project that ultimately won't matter that much and is not a big deal in the scheme of things.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Robust web content management system

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the customization that is available with respect to page layouts, designs and animation. Drupal is pretty intuitive in it organization. It's fairly easy to make updates to sites using Drupal, once the framework is established, which leads me to my con.

Cons

Developing the website's framework was somewhat complicated, and I find that to make some changes, we have to go back to the development team to add/change certain features, which I feel should be accessible to the everyday website maintenance team.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal is very, very user friendly and has a nice clean look for visitors to your site.

Cons

Not being able to see embedded links or videos in the back end is annoying.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8.00/10

Share this review:

Great website developer

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We use Drupal for both of our company's websites and have never had an issue. They are very prompt on sending you email when updates are released. There are countless themes to choose from and different ways to house your website. Having that variety is nice.

Cons

For beginners I wouldnt recommend Drupal as I feel it is for a more advance user. It has a bit of a learning curve to it but not one that is easily overcome if you have the willingness to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great CMS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love being able to see changes and updates to page as quickly as I can with Drupal. I also have the ability to review the html code along with a WYSIWYG.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Free Open Source CMS, Powerful and complex

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Drupal allows you to relate pages and custom objects together to create very dynamic pages. It's the kind of CMS you want if you manage a lot of different pages that link together. It had great multilingual support and is very stable. It's clean and after some training it's not too difficult to use.

Cons

Overall I think the learning curve for Drupal is much steeper than something more simple like Wordpress, but of course you tend to get more advanced functionality with that added complexity.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Like Wordpres, only more powerful

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

In CMS Drupal, I can easily build a site architecture. In the Taxonomy section, I can link different pages and materials. Another platform works with notes, as well as familiar to many Wordpress. By the way, both services are equally easy to use, only Drupal has a lot more features.

Cons

To develop my own template, for a long time had to develop layouts in php. It was only recently in the Drupal store that an extension appeared to simplify development.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Simple CMS for small sites

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We use CMS Drupal when creating small sites: blogs and landing pages. The platform provides the ability to manage access rights for users. You can use the templates for the design of the site. The function of connecting the forum to the site is supported.

Cons

The main drawback of CMS Drupal is a low level of security. Sometimes sites created on the basis of this platform are hacked by intruders. For this reason, you should not create large portals or online stores on this CMS.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10.00/10

Share this review:

Drupal the professional CMS for everybody

Reviewed 4 months ago

I made my first website in pure HTML in 1998. I heard about CMS in the early 2000"s and in 2004 about Drupal. It's more powerful than other CMS, beacuse not so fancy but powerful, secure and stable.

Pros

Drupal is a powerful, secure CMS for fast and secure websites. It is simple and easy to use - if you have a basic knowledge about HTML, SQL, etc.

Cons

Drupal is not as popular than WordPress, so there are less themes and features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.00/10

Share this review:

Extremely powerful open source CMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

If you need powerful roles and permissions this is the only choice. This is coming from a .NET developer.

Pros

Once I got comfortable using Drupal I'm very impressed. The security and flexibility are second to none. I haven't made the switch to Drupal 8 (and I hear it's very different) but I look forward to learning it.

Cons

Since most features are add on modules, it can get a little tedious updating and patching modules. But same can be said for WordPress. The learning curve was a bit steep as well.