App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Ghost Inspector Logo

Catch bugs before they cost you

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Ghost Inspector Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

13

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

subject7
accelq
sahi-pro

Pros and cons

I have a great experience with Ghost Inspector. It really helps my team to assess the quality of the software we are building.
Simple and easy capture feature with some useful customizations. Easy to manage test suites.
Nothing special i used the free trial so i didn't use all modules in this software but the trial was very helpful for me and my production.
Inability to bypass Google recaptcha while testing.
This is what happened to us and we stopped using this tool because we had to fix the tests too often.
Does not support properly multiple browsers to run the tests.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


13 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Will E.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A clever way to automate front-end tests on websites

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Being able to record and then test a particular workflow on our key websites, to ensure they are running as expected. These results can then be emailed to our team to ensure any issues are resolved quickly.

Cons

The 'small' price plan could be cheaper as there are users (like us) who use it infrequently. This small price plan is perhaps too generous in terms of the number of tests you can run, we don't even get close to 10,000, so their pricing could do with a few tiers below the 'small' one.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent bridge between manual and automated testing

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

If you're a company looking into cost-efficient automated testing options, this is it. I've worked as an employee through Ghost Inspector for over a year, and during that time I had to test all of the functionalities of a website. GS provided an easy to use platform where knowing the basics of XML would be enough to complete most of the tasks. I won't speak of the pricing as I haven't been paying for it myself, but I will say it's definitely faster and cost-efficient to start with GS than to make your own framework.

Cons

There are certain limitations that come with a service such as this, with some of the elements not being reachable.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Simple and effective tool for web browser testing

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

- Simple and easy capture feature with some useful customizations. - Easy to manage test suites - Possibility to reuse tests

Cons

- Serious limitations in terms of test flows (does not allow if/else validations nor while cycles). - Tests can take long times to run in the cloud - Impossible to step by step debug.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

interesting tool

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

As a non-technical person, I am able to record tests without writing a single line of code and I am able to modify the steps to be reusable

Cons

doesn't support grouping, doesn't support jira integration, doesn't support multiple platforms and supports both FF and Chrome

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple tool to get automated tests up and running.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Really easy to use, just click through your site, record all scenarios, schedule tests etc. Really easy to use for non-technical people.

Cons

If your site is not very static, if it has many dynamic elements, pages - you can expect that these tests will often break when you change something. This is what happened to us and we stopped using this tool because we had to fix the tests too often. If your site does not change so often, then this is a great way to know if something breaks. As the tests are run in the cloud, you cant run them on your local environment. Speed is not so good, but that does not really matter in most cases.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We totally hear you on test maintenance. It's one of the biggest challenges that comes with browser testing. We've got a few features (like test modularization) that are designed to help, and a few more features being developed. We know that we've still got a ways to go, but we're working to make test management as painless as possible. We hope we can offer something a little better suited to your situation in the future. Thanks again!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The application that our QA Team use to run automatic tests in our application

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Currently, Ghost Inspector is the tool that our QA team uses to run our automatic regression testing in our applications. It is also easy to integrate with other applications and send reports of the test results.

Cons

The user experience should be improved, sometimes is not easy to train new colleagues on this tool but with some time investment, they stay autonomous.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We use Ghost Inspector for effective high level integration testing

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Ghost Inspector makes it extremely easy to put together some pretty comprehensive integration tests a website or web-app. Ghost Inspector's test creation workflow is extremely easy to use, and the ability to see screenshots and videos of tests when they fail is fantastic.

Cons

As is often the case, I find the pricing a bit steep. We've also got some (admittedly edge-case) needs that we'd love the Chrome testing agent to be able to do (particularly around multimedia) which GI doesn't currently support, but I have hope that they'll get there eventually.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ghost Inspector

Reviewed 3 years ago

Nothing special i used the free trial so i didn't use all modules in this software but the trial was very helpful for me and my production

Pros

Ghost Inspector fast and easy to use and very helpful to detect bugs

Cons

Very fast software many modules to use and very helpful it saves time.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aqsa M.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy Way to Automation

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ghost Inspector is the best choice for people who are new to the automation field. By just following the flow this tool gives you each and every step/selector/assertion to write in your code. Very easy to use for beginners.

Cons

There are some limitations that you face and when you have large suites/projects with more than 10 screens to run then it's not a suitable option for you.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Automated QA Testing made Simple

Reviewed 6 years ago

Qa is an important process of SDLC. Ghost inspector has made Qa process faster and easier.

Pros

Ability to automate the QA process. Seamless integration with Google chrome through an extension.

Cons

Inability to bypass Google recaptcha while testing.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We're glad Ghost Inspector has helped to make your QA process faster and easier.

LC
AvatarImg

Leonardo C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for browser testing

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have a great experience with Ghost Inspector. It really helps my team to assess the quality of the software we are building

Pros

I really like the usability of this tool and how complete is the documentation to help you create and execute test cases for your web platform

Cons

I think it is a little expensive for the amount of feature it offers when you compare it to other frameworks

MT
AvatarImg

Marija T.

Research, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Usefull tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy fast to setup. regular testing structure i use much more should i say "open source (open hands ) " frameworks and runners but ghost insp. has always been my choice for quick show of skills on an interview or setting up playground env for junior qa's or anything that can release a person from the hassle of setting up when you just wanna crash your site

Cons

Not so much open source , well not at all but thats fine for the purpose i use it.

AA
AvatarImg

Amol A.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good cloud based tool for testing

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

i have used the software to try automate web projects and it has good folder structure to organise the tests

Cons

does not support properly multiple browsers to run the tests