App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GitLab Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


745 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

Reviewed 3 years ago

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

Pros

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

Cons

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GitLab Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Pros

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain...

Cons

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A complete tool to store your projects and configure your CI/CD

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have great thoughts about GitLab my experience has been really good. I was really impressed when I started working with it and configured the first project there. I definitely recommend GitLab to anyone that wants to start a new project and doesn't want to use too many tools, GitLab has everything that you need to start.

Pros

I started using GitLab for an external project and I like the following: 1) Easy to work with and auto explanatory. Creating/configuring a new repository is really easy. 2) Great CI/CD implementation. Having the repository with built-in CI/CD is really convenient, you can have everything related to the build and deployment process saved along with your code. I have used bamboo and I really appreciate...

Cons

1) Configuring build variables is really messy and it is not an ideal implementation. I haven't found a way to set different values for them depending on the branch, so configuring different environments is not too easy 2) Even though having your code with CI/CD is really convenient, it has some drawbacks. If you have an established continuous deployment process that you repeat in many projects and...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.

Pros

- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth. - Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review...

Cons

At this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitLab is the best for its CI

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Cons

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Open Source Software!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

Pros

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within...

Cons

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software wit a minimal but efficient design but can definitely use improvements

Reviewed 4 years ago

Best way to use it is to keep your gitlab organized is keeping pr's as functional as possible and not mashing 1000 changes into one pr. otherwise gitlab performance go down and so will the interest of the other people who review your merge request!! Setting up gitlab to manage your software projects is child's play, and although the UI is minimal in design it which gets the job done but could definitely...

Pros

1. Free of cost 2. Highly efficient, does the job without uncertainty. 3. Never observed any downtime 4. Very frequent and proper updates to the software. 5. easy to maintain 6. can easily integrate with jenkins for Continuous Integration- Continuous Deployment. 7. Easy to setup and use, no support or setup or external teams required. Anybody with minimum computer skills can get this up and running. 8. easy integration with youtrack for issue tracking and merge requesting tracking

Cons

These are not very big cons, but I find them annoying and could definitely use improvement: 1. The edit description on an open merge request also shows up on the history. So If somebody were to make a 10 different changes to the title while keeping the 2. The code formatting in the description box is not too good. It can take several tries before getting it right. 3. There is no way of searching...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The All-in-One orchestration tool for CICD

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for developers and admins

Pros

GitLab provides all-in-one capability for developers to do Source Code Management, CI/CD automation, Security and coding standards checks. Earlier we used to have separate tools for each of the above functions, but moving to Gitlab we now have a single stop-shop for all our Application Development and Automation needs. I see many other companies are trying to follow the gitlab methodology but gitlab is way ahead of the competetion.

Cons

Project and Portfolio management can still have improvements to provide Roadmap and Grantt views in future versions

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitLab - one-stop solution for development and source control

Reviewed 4 months ago

I've been using Gitlab both as part of a company and as an individual. It fit both needs. You can also switch on/off some of the features and simplify the experience if you don't want to use the CI/CD for example.

Pros

I believe this is the best Github competitor which offers more configuration flexibility in setting up your development lifecycle.

Cons

The menus are not very UX friendly. There are lots of options when using Gitlab and sometimes is hard to find the particular section you need. It's annoying but having in mind all the good things that Gitlab offers, it's negligible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Value Suite of Software Development Tools

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Gitlab has an extremely robust free tier with tools that go far beyond simple source/version control. We use the Gitlab CI/CD pipeline runner extensively, allowing us to not only use Gitlab for source, but also for our deployment/build pipeline. Gitlab also has the ability to manage Kubernetes clusters from the suite, which is super helpful. We also extensively use the issue board for tracking scrum issues, which includes time estimates. Gitlab used to be most popular for offering free private repos, and it still does, but these other free features make it an absolute home run. We use Gitlab for every project because of how great it's been.

Cons

The pipeline runner can occasionally be a bit buggy sometimes, but nothing critical. For example, if you prematurely stop one pipeline and immediately start another, it can take 10 minutes for the new pipeline to start for some reason. Also, the time tracking on the issue board does not automatically put the sum at the top of the column, which I find annoying - we built a small gitlab api integration to pull that info for us. They have been updating this feature recently, though, so it may be solved soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gitlab: Great repository mangement tool

Reviewed a year ago

The overall experience of using Gitlab is amazing. I really like the UI and UX of gitlab.

Pros

I really love the issue board (Kanban board) feature which is very user friendly and easy to track the progress. I also like the CICD feature. I find the UI and UX of Gitlab is simple and easy.

Cons

I almost like everything of gitlab. But I feel that a gitlab is little expensive to run CI/CD pipelines. We may have some issues while running the multiple parallel nodes for CI/CD integrating with the kubernates cluster.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful version control with a confusing UI

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall I have enjoyed working with GitLab. Our build pipeline was very customized so that it matches the exact process we wanted, and when there is a build issue, the problem is easy to identify and correct. The UI is a bit cluttered and unintuitive but it just takes a bit of extra time to get accustomed to.

Pros

Gitlab has been a great collaborative tool for us which allows for very customize-able build pipelines and easy issue tracking. The ability to add comments to code snippets and open up un-resolved threads allows you to stay on top of suggestions. Having to manually resolve those threads on your code comments before merge means that you are unlikely to accidentally push code forward without addressing those suggestions. There are also a good number of settings that allow you to control options such as how you want to handle merge commits, giving you complete control over your repository.

Cons

The main issue I have with GitLab is that the UI can be confusing and unclear. I am not a fan of the stacked diff view when comparing code changes. Compared to another version control system like BitBucket, I find it a bit more work to sort through the changes in a merge request. It's something you get used to, but initially is a bit unintuitive and less enjoyable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces. The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.

Cons

The setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers. It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must have tool for every development team

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Gitlab is simply the best version control and project management tool for any organisation, period! It has everything you need in a greatly priced package. It is my go to tool for my personal projects as well as used in every organisation I have worked with. I even tried to host their community version myself which was great. The documentation is well laid out, breaking changes are communicated well. Apart from this, the CI/CD functionality is easy to use, UI easy to navigate, reporting/labelling/tagging features are one of the easiest. The free plan for individuals or small team covers everything you need.

Cons

None I can think of. I even like the new UI introduced recently.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Git Service

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way. Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

Cons

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good set of features, integrated CI/CD

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've switched to it in some projects because of the better issue tracking features. It also has a built in CI/CD service that is pretty good and can be used with external git services like github. So far it's been good, I've heard there was a time where it was really slow but that was before I started using it. It may be not the fastest but i'm on the free plan so no need to complain. It can be self hosted too.

Pros

It's got a free plan to try it out. Integrated CI/CD. Good enough issue tracking with boards. Can invite different people with different permission levels. Can be self hosted.

Cons

Issue tracking may not be as good as jire and other similar project, but it's good enough for most use cases. The licensing thing may look weird as it's open source but not everything is free even if you host it. Can be pricey if you want some features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Pros

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Cons

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very solid Git server

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.

Pros

The installation is pretty straight forward and easy. It's the only free git server solution I found that offers LFS support. We started our project without the support of Git LFS but as the project grew, we had to find a solution and transfer our repository to an LFS ready server. GitLab offered the perfect solution, allowing us to keep our existing SSH keys for authentication, existing LDAP users and transfer our existing project pretty easily. Since then, we never ran into issues and the server is running smoothly since the first day.

Cons

The server is based on RoR so it's heavier than a simple Git Server. You need to make sure you have enough resources to get it to run properly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GitHub is the complete tool you can find for version control in you team.

Reviewed 2 years ago

GitHub is a tool that helps you in your day to day and allows you to quickly advance in your work, it is very complete and you can find within it all kinds of things that can help you. Being one of the most used software, you can find all kinds of help and guides on the internet to solve any problem that may arise, allowing you not to be left adrift with the errors that may arise about the tool. Its graphical interface is very easy to use and you adapt quickly to its operation, it is very intuitive and you do not need further explanation to learn how to use the tool.

Pros

GitHub is a complete tool in every sense that will allow you to do your work in the most efficient and fast way, all the options it offers you to carry out your tasks and carry out an accurate documentation of the work that is being carried out will make your days of work are much easier and less stressful. GitHub gives you very simple search options where only a fraction of the name of the object...

Cons

One of the things that can be said that puts this tool at a disadvantage is its cost, its cost of business implementation is somewhat high, making companies consider other more economical implementation options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very good git repo manager

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very nice experience, I will keep using it.

Pros

I've tried them all from Github to Bitbucket. I think that Gitlab is an optimal tool since it not only provides repository management but also a lot of useful tools to make your DevOps process much easier. I find it perfect when it comes to code review thanks to the comments and approval system.

Cons

Sometimes it is not so easy to find what you are looking for and you have to dig in the settings

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Version control for private companies

Reviewed a year ago

I find the interface a bit complex, but once I got my hands on it, I got used to it and I simply prefer it over Github.

Pros

The software includes version control, container storage, issue tracker, grouping and goals. All of these provides great experience for a developer.

Cons

I don't like the interface, it looks too professional. Something more playful would be highly appreceated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing source code and CI/CD system

Reviewed 3 years ago

Complete source control and CI/CD system for writing computer software

Pros

Integrated CI/CD!!! can't emphasize how much this is helpful to have, I hate using Jenkins so much The UI is very slick and good, while GitHub is the "de facto standard" I actually really love GitLab's GUI as well

Cons

not really their fault at all, but, a lot of -other- projects are already on GitHub.. so it's a bit annoying to cross collaborate with GitHub users (say - you want to open a pull request to a GitHub project so you're forced to do it on GitHub). It kinda sucks to have stuff spread out across multiple sites and have to get used to multiple UIs/concepts

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

More than code management product

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is been a great experience so far and it helped us automate most of our software deployment processes.

Pros

The reason we switched to Gitlab is that we found that it offers more than any other git SAAS product in the market and it wasn't just a code repository. They have CI/CD for automation and automated Artifacts.

Cons

1. Stability of the product was not the best, we had frequent hiccups where the pipelines runners were down or other parts of the system. 2. Pricing plans are pretty steep so it is 4x whenever you move to the next plan.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ready to integrate different types of projects

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are very happy and pleased to use the tool. Our ci-cd and approval / reviewer workflows are fully supported; this allows are agile practices taken to reality.

Pros

Great integration with git. Always pushing new features to improve user overall experience. Large set of integrations for different languages. Large set of integrations for different tools for code quality, lint, code analysis, etc. Pipeline allows almost any type of step for testing, building, deploying. Great to have own registry.

Cons

API should be more powerful and package for most common languages as nodejs. Registry navigator should be improved. Members permission management could also be improved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gitlab is an awesome devops tool for open source and deployment

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

What I like the best thing about GitLab is that it's free and includes a large no of features. And, The features that I like the most are:- Project management, Version control, CI/CD, and etc.

Cons

The thing which I don't like about GitLab is that, "In the free tier we can't use a CI/CD until we provide a card which is annoying". Also, The GitLab UI stucks sometimes when editing files.