App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GitLab Reviews - Page 29

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


745 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

ok, but not compared to other code versioning software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

it's on local machine, and not open like other online code repository softwares. Integration is the same as git hub to IDEs.

Cons

limited support, required a lot of tinkering in the settings, user management was not easy and often was down.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The most serious Github competitor

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The fact it can be self hosted for free is the best feature of GitLab. Also the new Continuous Integration jobs is a killer feature which makes it a serious competitor in the hosted Git repository world. New features are always being added all the time which is awesome.

Cons

Sometimes the UI is confusing and the Integrations are often not as fully featured as you would get with Github. Sometimes the free edition is missing some features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Project Management with GitLab

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Source code management and access permission to certain users gives a smooth workflow over a product development, GitLab do an amazing work for me in this.

Cons

All the features GitLab are easy to use, understand and integrate, didn't find any cons as of now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The best self-hosted git and team management application I ever used

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

self-hosted and open source. do whatever you want, host it, modify it whatever. Has inbuild CI / CD integration which is very useful. There is no alternative to this.

Cons

It takes time to go through and understand all the features. Some things are only available in enterprise version that's a bummer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best Team work Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is very useful if you write a code with your team, You do not need to send them by email you just push there and it has very good Version Control System that checks what changed by your teammate.

Cons

It is sometimes hard to make connection between your compiler and your gitlab.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software to access your Git account

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great Git program.

Pros

Managing your Git repositories can be difficult, but GitLab makes it much easier.

Cons

GitLab is easy to use most of the time, but when you have an issue with two different version of the same file, it can get complicated, but that is almost just the nature of the beast.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I still prefer Github...

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's easier to use actually. That's what I like the most

Cons

I don't feel comfortable using this version controlling tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Project Management Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's pretty easy to use for project-making, that's it is biggest advantage

Pros

1. Provides full suite of tools for project making 2. The interface is well-designed 3. Easy for non-developers to use

Cons

1. Not fit for production servers 2. Lots of dependencies and assumptions 3. A bit overwhelming

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Teamwork tools

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Price friendly and functional for group working.

Cons

Not that easy to use for a new user, and need some basic knowledge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great source control alternative

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it has been a good platform for us. No complaints

Pros

It is a good alternative to github and other source control companies. As github is folded into microsoft, it is good to have an independent alternative.

Cons

I still prefer GitHub. GitLab is improving all of the time, but GitHub is still my preferred choice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

overall review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software really helps me in developing web applications, where this software has features that are mandatory and needed by all developers

Cons

what I like about this software is that we can easily convert files and collaborate with other developers very easily

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keep your projects and versioning aligned.

Reviewed 3 years ago

When you are working on several projects on the same time, you can easily manage it with GitLAB. Possibility to work on multiple projects in several branches etc.

Pros

Manage several projects on the same time "Pull Requests" to ask your project members whether they approve an addition to the master branch. Version management

Cons

Working with GitLab is for advanced developers. If you have little experience with web development, I would not recommend it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great repository tool for beginners and small organisations

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

It offers unlimited private repositories which is the reason we switched from Github Implementation of CI/CD is quite easy within the same tool

Cons

Not very popular among people and hence doesn’t count as an added skill many times

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review for GitLab

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it's very good and I recommend this to others.

Pros

Very good version control software. The codes uploaded in repositories are well visible. I have worked with others on a project and codes can be shared , modified very easily.

Cons

It is complex to use. Need to learn about it well before using. Github is easier to use. Once one of my plot which was big in original notebook the size diminished very much when it was uploaded to GitLab. It would be better if we could easily also upload interactive plots.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great tool to keep track while designing products

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good one, love the tool and will definitely keep on working wiht it.

Pros

The overview and documentation possibilities as well as good collaboration options.

Cons

Sometimes I lost track since its structure was pretty complex – but I guess that depends on how you set it up/use it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good way to do software versioning

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The software is very easy to use, and after a short time all tasks turn out to be almost automatic.

Cons

You have to learn how to perform the various actions through command line but after you learn it, everything becomes easier!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Despite Competition

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

GitLab is an excellent software service, rivalling the extremely popular GitHub for features, ease of use and quality.

Cons

GitLab is not as popular as GitHub, meaning it can be harder to collaborate on the platform as many people will not have an account.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

the experience is very good and it is a good tool.

Reviewed a year ago

When I had some files stored, I got to know the many functions that it has, and I knew what this hosting service can achieve.

Pros

The graphical interface allows you explore the app.

Cons

has many functions that are difficult to access and understand.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

amazing devops tools

Reviewed 2 years ago

i used during my job as a software developer to manage git repo and devops cycle

Pros

very easy to use to manage devops cycle and git cycle , before using this tool i had hard time using other tools like gerrit

Cons

lack more representative User interface to compare changes and resolve conflict

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

encountered many errors with gitlab

Reviewed 3 years ago

It was good but I left using it because of many errors and also lacking good report design

Pros

it has all in one capacity for developing a software

Cons

I encountered many errors in it while defining issues or assign task with sidebar, so I needed to refresh my page. Also, it has a complicated UI/UX.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexibility and scalability

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's similar to GitHub, but it allows admins to create an instance of the software on a closed server, so you can add extra layers of security to your projects.

Cons

Checking older code versions is not so easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best open source web-based Git repository manager

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to install also on premise with open source license. A lot of free features also in community edition.

Cons

Of course not all features are free and you do not have good code review possibilities. As you can image it supports only Git version control system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Open-source power

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I've used gitlab in my home to track my projects and keep a backup in case I lose my online data. The possibility to run it privately without a cost is much appreciated, that way I don't expose my data more than it needs to.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

best platform to manage our projects.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We can invite group of persons to contribute in private project. We can easily control our source code over here.

Cons

I did not find any issue on gitlab till now, although its configuration is complex for new users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great way to create an internal knowledge base

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I used GitLab to create an online repository for a project I worked on, it was simple, accessible and really easy to handle and share with co-workers, great tool !

Cons

I had only positive experience with gitLab and I highly recommend using it