App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GitLab Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


745 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best-of-breed source-code management tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Working on a dev-team where multiple engineers work together on discrete projects in different technologies, GitLab has enabled us to manage a complex codebase, keep version conflicts to a minimum, allowing our developers to focus on writing code rather than fighting things like merge-conflicts. In short, we wouldn't be half as productive and efficient using a lesser SCM tool like Mercurial. Git rules.

Pros

It's simply the best version-control tool on the market. Being based on Git, most senior developers already know how to use it, so it makes my dev team automatically more efficient and responsive in collaborating. Using merge requests, we're able to monitor and approve changes to code. A huge benefit of GitLab is the automatic security scan with each commit (e.g., connection strings with Db credentials are flagged, etc.)

Cons

The learning curve is steep if you want to master the intricacies of Git, but the basics (creating repos, forking, merges, pushes, pulls and commits) are fairly easy to learn in a few hours.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent all-in-one solution for DevOps

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall a great option for self-hosted Git servers.

Pros

GitLab is a robust platform that includes many features than are broader than just SCM or CI. The most appealing part is that GitLab has an open source core and the source code for paid features is also available. This make everything very transparent. Installing GitLab in your own environment is very simple, there is a single installer that will install GitLab no matter what type of environment you...

Cons

If you are looking to buy the SaaS, $20/month is fairly expensive, there is no individual option such as the $4/month GitHub offering. It seems like GitLab is mostly concerned about small teams and business, not individuals as the free tier has been increasing restricted over the past few years. Most open source projects are still predominantly hosted on GitHub, the community for GitLab appears to be fairly small. That also could be attributed to a lack of Ruby developers as golfing and rust are more popular.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good SCM tool

Reviewed 20 days ago

It is pretty straight forward, easy to use, and all-in-one SCM tool. Our engineering team never really have a big problems with it, documentation are readily available, and it can be integrated with other tools that we use.

Pros

Apart from the (detailed) repository features, such as we can see the log history for each merge request. Here we can also store related documentation very easily.

Cons

If there's a warning/error message for the user, it doesn't really stands out, it's easy to be missed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great, but missing some features.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It would be awesome to build out the profile view a bit more. I lead a team of developers and we use Gitlab and really like it for its privacy and ease of use, but because our repos are private we are unable to showcase our profile views on our portfolios etc. This has pushed me to split usage between gitlab and github. Gitlab for work / github for my private repos / gists / etc.

Pros

Price, private repos, ease of use for teams, (almost) all the features of github. We use gitlab for all of our client repos and it works great. Setting up teams and getting up and running is fast and easy. We've also looked into the option of self hosting gitlab on our own servers, but the web service is so good we haven't felt the need yet. UI is nice as well. Anyone familiar with github can easily jump in and enjoy gitlab.

Cons

Not as much community, profile view is not as robust / flushed out as gitlab. Feels private. Love the ease of private repos but that seems to be the main thing users are utilizing and there is less open source projects on gitlab. Also the profile view is not as well known as gitlab and there isn't the option to showcase private commits on your commit chart, which is a bummer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Code + documentation + collaboration + Continuous Integration in one place (and it is FLOSS too!)

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

* Feature rich * Interface: easy to use yet customizable * Code + documentation + Continuous Integration in one place * It has all the features that we are used to in other platforms such as github plus others like time tracking, boards, pipelines... * Easy to use * Possibility to get private (free) projects * FLOSS * It can be self-hosted

Cons

I haven't found anything I do not like about gitlab, other than regretting that most projects are still stored elsewhere.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Well rounded solution for software development and deployment

Reviewed 2 months ago

Manages the full software development/deployment life-cycle, from task management through to source code management, code reviews and deployment. GitLab has made a huge difference to the productivity of our entire team and I can't imagine us doing without it.

Pros

CI/CD pipeline functionality; Code reviews & approvals; Integrated kanban-style task management

Cons

Expensive; Some features deprecated after relatively short amount of time

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vast features and an unlocked set of tools

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love everything about this product. We've tried bitbucket, github, and now GitLab and I think we've found our home. This is a very solid software set and ci/cd tools that are easy enough to implement.

Cons

I wish that you could group repo's by category and use that during the search. If you could do that then it would be perfect. I also wish you would consolidate the project/group/etc search on the top and turn it into one smart search.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Feature rich if you have a specific use case in CI/CD or DevOps, not recommended for Open source

Reviewed 5 months ago

We use Gitlab to host our users' application code, and on each push, run tests on it and publish the results. We use CI CD pipelines to ensure the process is automated and the users can see their changes deployed. Gitlab has done well to provide us options for hosting and automated testing, and we are hopeful of a few more interesting features

Pros

Gitlab's enterprise offerings have made a name for themselves for organizations seeking to find a solution for easier reviewing and collaboration, CI/CD and automated testing, alongside source code management. Thanks to the development workflows built into the product, alongside an easy integration process, we were able to create profiles for our users, enable them to regularly check in their code, and run tests and build scripts each time, and integrate it with our existing platform

Cons

Gitlab's open source community activity leaves a lot to be desired. Often, community made solutions make things a lot better on platforms like Github, and the same is missing on Gitlab. It's also somewhat expensive for smaller teams and has low customizability

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good option for git based source control

Reviewed 14 days ago

We use gitlab as a git source control solution and for CI/CD to some extend

Pros

It supports all required features needed for source control solution. It has competitive pricing.

Cons

Perhaps github is more user friendly and has more features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool to track issues and to manage IT projects

Reviewed 5 months ago

A part the issue tracking feature, which is a very long time component, the CI/CD help us to build a robust CI and CD process.

Pros

Issues tracking is simple and complete, but the really powerful part of the software it's the CI/CD. Pipelines and integration with Kubernetes (and lots of others tools) are a long time and mature features.

Cons

Actually I don't find out missing features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best remote coding versioning control software out there!

Reviewed a year ago

It is just great! My only and “first” code versioning program ever! I really recommend it over any other solution out there, the features are top and the repositories and GUI just look so professional and awesome. It is also very responsive and easy to use. Recommended 100%.

Pros

I just love the ease off use of gitlab overall, I dime from using the competitors solution and I could not use it at is fullest because the features were hard to understand and apply. I feel like a professional developer using it, my code is always backed up and up to date on a beautiful web user interface!! I love how the badges look and how it feels colorful!! No more black and white complex programs. I feel I use most of the features with very strong usage and it solves or my code versioning and collaboration needs, all in one robust and nice looking interface! I love it!

Cons

There are some features that I did not use or did not know they even existed, some time the features are a little hidden on the menu es and tabs, I feel some of the features are hard to come by.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great web-based Git repository with numerous features

Reviewed 7 months ago

I can recommend this software to a person who is looking for a latest version control system with all the advance features. By using GitLab, it makes your life easier in various ways. Such as ease of collaboration with different teams on different projects at the same time. Keeping your code quality and secured.

Pros

Comparing to other repository applications, Git Lab has a rather user-friendly interface. The automatic popup notification to create a merge request after a commit is done is a very helpful feature. Code comparison interface is very user friendly and saves a lot of time and effort. The "Merge after the pipeline succeeds" feature also very helpful in time reduction. The ability to integrate it with third party notification management application such as "Slack" is highly effective.

Cons

The revert is a bit tricky and complicated. They can improve the user's experience by providing better documentation on how to integrate others apps like third-party apps. But I do not see many disadvantages in this software, comparing to its competitors

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gitlab as a source code management tool

Reviewed 10 months ago

Gitlab has enabled analyst programmers to carry out a centralized versioning of applications. And it has allowed us to manage the projects.

Pros

Gitlab allows us to have a centralized repository of the source code of the institution's applications

Cons

We would like gitlab to have greater integration with other tools on the market.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Like GitHub, but a bit better

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. Highly customizable. Free private projects, which are perfect for hobbyists. At production, it is easy to run pipelines and get logs about them. It integrates perfectly with Heroku.

Cons

It took a bit of a learning curve to exploit all possibilities of the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great tool that lacks performance

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

GitLab has a modern UI that matches other products used along with it (Jira, Confluence etc.) which is basically a must when you're working with your team through them.

Cons

GitLab merge request feature lacks a lot of features like live coding, looking at code references and is basically very slow - you'd better switch branches and see code in your IDE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A strong alternative to Bitbucket and Github

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

GitLab is Open Source, so trying it is free, and the community edition has a generous set of features. The self-hosting aspect is critical to our clients and us​. The enterprise edition offers almost anything a developer could want from a source code management system, including continuous integration.

Cons

GitLab is not as well integrated as GitHub in other software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitLab is way underrated

Reviewed 3 years ago

Life changing. Really. Like, it makes my life easier by giving my insight and control. Dump multiple tools, and try GitLab.

Pros

I can't understand why everyone is not using GitLab, it is incredible. The feature set is mindblowing, and used correctly, it really is a full-cycle product!

Cons

Some things can feel developer orientated, so onboarding designers can be tricky.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Developers friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago

I imported around 30 repositories in a few steps so simple and easy. I really love it, I'd been use Github and Bitbucket in the past, and GitLab is much better.

Pros

Free tier is enough to start a great project or a startup, Web UI and CI are a essential part of the daily job.

Cons

I think the grant access to new team members computer could be a pain if you have too many repositories

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My favorite Git platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's the beating Git Heart of most of the web applications we create,

Pros

Out of the box, Gitlab offers so much features and functionality that it's a real pleasure to use. We use Issues a lot and lately also the Wiki functionality. Fantastic tool!

Cons

When we started using it in 2017 they sometimes had performance issues, but lately most of the time it has a great uptime and performance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Simple and powerful

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Intuitive and easy-to-use interface, enlisting and cloning repos, browsing & viewing files, switching between branches and repositories, configuring rights/groups, locking branches etc. We've integrated it with Jira and Jenkins and it worked seamlessly.

Cons

It needs to improve the interface and features for file comparison in merge requests and commit history. 1. Files with moderate amount of changes are collapsed by default. Many reviewers do not notice that and skip reviewing the code and miss major bugs. 2. Larger diffs are not even loaded in review window. Again, it's easy for reviewers to miss such files in merge requests. 3. When viewing the diff, you're limited to a certain unchanged area before and after the diff within the file. You'd have to view the entire file separately and locate the diff in plain file viewer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitLab- one of the best version control software which eases development cycle

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall, I really had a wonderful experience using gitlab and have been using it since past 4 years

Pros

I like it’s version control system, integrations to other softwares. And the ease of usage.

Cons

Nothing much, Except there are lot many commands if we use git command prompt.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This should be the must have tool for any software development company.

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

- It very clearly shows all branches, and pending merge requests. - Very easy to track changes. - Easy to compare codes. - Version management of code using very simple tags. - UI interface is much better than other competitors.

Cons

First-time setup requires lots of time especially if you are setting up along with CI.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great "batteries-included" DevOps Platform

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

It offers a lot of features, especially CI/CD is one of the best I have used. Therefore it is possible to do almost everything in one platform

Cons

Issue management is a bit faster in Jira. GitLab includes all features we need, but it takes more clicks. It is totally enough for most things though until a certain team size

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gitlab is a day-to-day tool for a developer

Reviewed 2 years ago

A very good experience, even better now that there is the dark mode.

Pros

I like the way the tool is organized and I love the dark mode. The milestone system is very helpful to track our progress.

Cons

There is a bug that refresh the dashboard two times when you clic on "Back". This is quite annoying and I hope it gets fixed soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great suite of tools for developers

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use Gitlab to manage my personal and team projects. The main characteristic that brought me to Gitlab was their project management capabilities and the possibility to have private repositories for free.

Pros

Among other features, it has CI/CD capabilities, a clean and elegant UI, free and unlimited private repositories and since it is open source, allows for you to run your own self-hosted version if you have a particular set of requirements that requires this type of security.

Cons

Given the amount of features available, it can be a little hard at first to get things going, specially if you are new to some of the features they offer.