App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Heimdal Patch & Asset Management Logo

Innovative Patch Management. Anytime. Anywhere.

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Heimdal Patch & Asset Management Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

40

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.12/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

action1-rmm
automox

Pros and cons

Support and the aftersales team are responsive and know the product well with both happy to offer setup/leading practice advice alongside help for any issues.
Very good and quick response from customer support that are ready to help with all parts of the program.
Its so easy to use with a brilliant user interface. Hardly any input is needed, it just sits and does it's job.
Sometimes I might get lost in all the features and the options.
We've submitted a feature request to reword the reboot agent popup as it is currently somewhat misleading, requiring additional user training.
We had a minor issue with one program that kept failing to update.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


40 reviews

Recommended

WS
AvatarImg

William S.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unified Management and control

Reviewed a month ago

Overall, use has been great and once setup - we don't need to constantly monitor it.

Pros

As a customer of Heimdal who was using their other modules it made sense to add this piece and stop using our previous Patch Management vendor. Due to lower cost and agent consolidation we thought this was the best option and we were not wrong. It caught things the other program missed.

Cons

If a machine needs to be heavily patched they seem to get stuck with a flood of updates. Only happens with severely out of date machines.

JC
AvatarImg

Jesper C.

Security and Investigations, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One tool for everything

Reviewed 2 years ago

The main aspect is really how much time we save, since it updates windows and 3rd part software.

Pros

I use this software on a daily basis, this helps us on so many aspects. Having a lot of tools in one program makes our daily job so much easier and saves us a ton of time - Well worth it!

Cons

I would wish i where able to get a better overview of what is missing software updates, the dashboard focus on what is "good" only, would be nice to have the other side shown also, to faster target where our focus needs to be in our environment.

JB
AvatarImg

Jake B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Product But Can Be Limited

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall its not too bad of a product, my only concern is the amount of false positives we have received as a business and now we are a little desensitized when an alert comes through saying High Risk as it is normally just a PC that requires a reboot after a windows update. This also comes through when you set a custom update delay which I also raised with the internal support team.

Pros

I like how easy the product is to use, manage, deploy and make changes on the Management Console.

Cons

The reporting looks good on first glance, but is not consistent and shows errors inside a small time frame and not a large time frame. When checking the console, these flagged errors do not appear. You also cannot make the reports appear when you would like and the only customisation you have is that you can change the frequency of how often in a week these come through (Minimum 3 days, Maximum 7 days).

MG
AvatarImg

Mona G.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Patch Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is so easy to deploy any patches including Browser or any other software installed. I like the facet you can stop certain patches from installing or install them when you would like.

Pros

It is very easy to install the Software on Network and off network. The help and document section were very helpful. You can deploy software using Heimdal including Sophos.

Cons

The restart option was not very user friendly and users thought they devices were infected due to the picture. Once educated this problem has been solved.

MP
AvatarImg

Mike P.

Building Materials, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Heimdal Patch and Asset Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great support and aftersales, reliable and consistent patching with good controls and features. The option to branch out and add products beyond patch management all in 1 "pane of glass" whilst only using 1 client makes Heimdal a great time saver.

Pros

Heimdal is easy to configure, reliable when installing patches and has all the standard features you'd expect from a patch management solution. Support and the aftersales team are responsive and know the product well with both happy to offer setup/leading practice advice alongside help for any issues. After a couple tweaks to our initial setup Microsoft Patch Tuesdays are now a breeze to approve and roll-out across the environment.

Cons

Some alternative products allowed for a little greater control over a client device, i.e. interactively force a reboot. Heimdal relies on the policy set to force/prompt for such an event. Some alternative products we reviewed did display required/pending/installed patches in a slightly more 'user friendly' manner. Once you've learnt the management console this issue is less of a barrier.

PB
AvatarImg

Paul B.

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The one stop shop

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall the experience has been excellent. We've an assigned Success Manager who helped us go through the deployment and configuration stage. Explaining what each individual check box and option did so we could decide if it was something we needed/wanted. We realised pretty quickly too then that there was options we could enable later on if we needed without too much hassle. On the support side they appear to have a excellent team who are very quick to come back with the right answer.

Pros

The product has Patch Management, Asset Management, Security, MDM and Remote Support all in one suite. For me this makes the management of multiple physical sites much easier.

Cons

Deployment to mobile devices and new machines. There is no device discovery option so you need to be able to get to the physical device to install the application.

PL
AvatarImg

Paul L.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Enterprise Patch Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our clients and servers are allways upto date, no matter if inhouse or in the field. The reporting tools gives an overall good feedback about the actual patches per endpoint view. The possibility to surpress certain updates and rollback is a must

Pros

It can be used to enroll new softwarepackages, it is possible to make custom build packages, it is possible to manage different versions/builds in a convienient way , you can control the deployment using Policies and it is easy to use. The support is eminent!

Cons

The number of available software packages should be increased - They are working on it!

JC
AvatarImg

Jesper C.

Furniture, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Patch management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Realy good, again the 3rd party update feature is king, and aswell for windows updates if we have a sales personor QC in the fields for a long time with out connecting vi VPN we then allways know that heimdal has his og hers back with regards to updates

Pros

i Love the automatic 3rd party software update feature, it makes it easy to make sure alot of the software we use allways are up to date.

Cons

Not much it did take me some time and a couple of test policys to get running just how i wanted with allways installing one form a product on certin system and another version on others.

ML
AvatarImg

Mark L.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best patching app

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Its so easy to use with a brilliant user interface. Hardly any input is needed, it just sits and does it's job.

Cons

Nothing, compared to our last app, this is so much better.

US
AvatarImg

Usman S.

Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Wiseengry

Reviewed 15 days ago

The management of the company should be good

Pros

Installation of silent software by a 3rd party

Cons

You can do it very quickly with this app

CM
AvatarImg

Carsten M.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Heimdal = 3. party patching made easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Primarely 3.party patching

Pros

The deployment goes smoothly, so it's an easywin if you'd like to be in more control of your 3.party patching. Also, Heimdal listens if you have ideas for improving the way things work.

Cons

We've experinced a couple of times, that a "false positive match" in applications names resulted in unwanted applications installed on computers by Heimdal. But that should be fixed now.

FJ
AvatarImg

Frederik J.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent security with a lot more build in

Reviewed 2 years ago

Works great. We use it for a lot of different endpoints.

Pros

Everything in the same ecosystem. Only pay for what you need.

Cons

The admin portal can be a little difficult to navigate in the beginning. But once you get the hang of it, its not a problem.

GA
AvatarImg

Gustavo A.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

most helpful software

Reviewed 2 years ago

In addition to saving time, which ultimately means money, it protects my environment against intrusions that make use of exploits by clearly, quickly and automatically updating my software and managing my Microsoft-related updates. As a bonus, I have a complete listing of all programs installed on my network. I have other features too.

Pros

Having the peace of mind of not being caught off guard by unperformed updates is without a doubt the best thing about this product.

Cons

Well, so far I haven't identified anything undesirable in the product.

II
AvatarImg

Isabelle I.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Patch & Assett Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is a bit complicated, but once it is setup, it works fine.

Pros

Having patches automatically downloaded and installed on many networks is a good thing. It is difficult to train users on updating, they regularly forget.

Cons

I was not instructed that on each computer Services had to be on automatic for the updates to work. I had to revisit each one.

TJ
AvatarImg

Therkel J.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Patch management software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use: took only a few minutes to set it up. Great value: we are saving a lot of man hours, not having to manually update our software, compared to the low cost of the product.

Cons

Language compatibility: we have had to update Foxit Reader manually for some time, as it defaulted back to english when updated by Heimdal, instead of the danish version that we needed. All of our other software has stayed on danish language when updated by Heimdal.

CB
AvatarImg

Christian B.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great experience. Many blocked outbound and inbound traffic.

Pros

This is a great product that requires little action of part of the user and runs in the background. It is also not cpu or ram intensive.

Cons

I would like more notifications on any patches or blocked connections. Also, I think the price is a little too high.

AM
AvatarImg

Arivazhagan M.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

usefull and simple management

Pros

patch update and mentioning the risk on ROI

Cons

drivers field shoud be on seperate field

MM
AvatarImg

Morten M.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good, stable and safe

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good, stable and takes care of itself. Do not disturb the user too much.

Pros

It is easy to buy and deploy. Setup is easy and intuitive.

Cons

A feature to manage licenses so you do not have to write to customer support to get released so it can be used again.

RG
AvatarImg

Romy G.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy about the support

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience was good especially that the HEIMDAL Support is very fast.

Pros

The Heimdal Agent is easy to use and helps with the deployment of known applications but with other custom applications that are not in their patching system. The pricing is also better than the average.

Cons

I want more features but I have to wait for other priorities.

YP
AvatarImg

Yannick P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everything is up-to-date all the tiem

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We can easily deploy applications to our endpoints, and make sure that all our applications are kept up-to-date automatically.

Cons

The "uninstall" feature is a bit unreliable and difficult to target certain applications.

DH
AvatarImg

David H.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Gleeds Heimdal Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Good value, very configurable and relatively simple to manage

Cons

Lack of support for MacOS patching . Reporting could be better.

TK
AvatarImg

Tom K.

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

3party software patch og deployment

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Professional and serious help when things do not work out as desired.

Cons

Sometimes when you have not used the dashboard for some times, i can be diffecult to find a specific setting again.

bf
AvatarImg

blair f.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to be Safer

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

lite on resources. fills security gaps. innovative.

Cons

some confusion about product branding. is it still called thor (for example), or some other longer name?

IK
AvatarImg

Iain K.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive multi-tier protection

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

From setup to deployment and support, the Heimdal experience has been unlike any other software I've used in recent years.Having a single pane of glass to manage critical end-point protection helps you easily get an overview of your estate.

Cons

Nothing - the product and support is excellent.

BW
AvatarImg

Brian W.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sleep well at night

Reviewed 2 years ago

Protects your clients 24/7 instead of an occasional audit.

Pros

Ensures the OS and the key apps are patched keeping the potential exploits to a minimum

Cons

Interface is a little daunting and hard to navigate, Also getting the sweet spot in setup is a chore.