This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

IBM WebSphere

WebSphere Cast Iron Cloud integration

see alternatives

IBM WebSphere Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Security enabled, easy to deploy, stable, reliable, the console is very easy to use. Ease of installation/management, Stays current with patches/updates.

Anonymous Reviewer

It is a very stable server for application development and nodes/clusters can be configured/connected. Has a good console interface too.

Shiva R.

Robust application server. Provides very good logging mechanism , very good clustering support.

Alpeshkumar G.

Cons

Mainly, WS suffers common issues in IBM software. Can be REALLY hard to install, specially in non-default scenarios.

Anonymous Reviewer

When I'm in debug mode, sometimes the execution groups do not respond and I have to reboot them manually. I have problems with using the SVN plugin.

Nestor Z.

Customer Services is very poor , IBM needs to urgently address issue of customer dissatisfaction.

Alpeshkumar G.

Overall rating

4.1

5

4

3

2

1

12

16

5

0

1

82%
positive reviews
89%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


34 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The implementation of services and microservices in the latest version is simple and agile. Integrat

Reviewed 3 years ago

Understanding of application development concepts in ESB due to the easy application of concepts within the tools. Understanding of application development concepts in ESB due to the easy application of concepts within the tools. The almost zero administration of the tool that contributes to almost 99% of service availability and easy integration with third-party applications. Versatility for design...

Pros

Highly scalable High availability in hardware and software mode Easy maintenance Simple and easy-to-use development tools

Cons

Limited web console Managed security in operating system and not in application layer Desktop tools for administration very poorly optimized Poor emphasis on JCA standards

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Application server with Enterprise features

Reviewed a year ago

We have implemented IBM WebSphere on a core banking environment. It was actually a migration from giant middle-ware vendor. The migration was very smooth. WebSphere is capable of providing almost all enterprise feature required by our client. The solution is implemented using following features. +High Availability +Enhanced security + Transaction management etc. During the migration , we did not faced any major issue. The client and ourselves extremely satisfied with the capabilities of WebSphere. Finally I can say this is a fully pledged implementation of java specification,.

Pros

+ High Availability features + Session handling,Transaction Management features + Enterprise grade application server + Stable, Robust and extensible platform. + Comprehensive documentation from IBM + Large Community support/ best paid support from vendor

Cons

+Monitoring WebSphere instances is bit tricky. +Lack of 3rd party plugins +Security configuration is quite tricky

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Big enterprise solution and comes with a lots of problems

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would recommend to anyone to really think do they really need IBM WebSphere or if their business problem could be solved using some other (more stable and cheaper) options.

Pros

I have been using IBM WebSphere Application Server and Portal for a long time, and it does come with tons of options and integration features, which is great for big enterprise systems.

Cons

I've had many issues with it - official docs are really bad, the community is small and it is hard even to describe some problems you experience, and it takes more time to learn than other options available. And since not many people are familiar with it, it is sometimes not easy to find a good engineer to support it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful & Stable Application server

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's been a smooth experience working with IBM Websphere. Integration with other Websphere tools is very easy and quick. The deployment and hosting, both are stable and secure.

Pros

It is one of the oldest running application servers from IBM, though they keep upgrading it to a newer version. It has all the basic functionality that you will look for in an application server. You can host all your applications especially the Java built applications on it. Our complete middleware tools like MQ and Message Broker were integrated very easily and securely with it.

Cons

The administration part of the tool is little difficult to understand at first. One really needs to go through the documentation thorougly to get the hang of it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WebSphere it's the corporate j2ee application server you need

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm a WAS admin from several years and i'm happy to work with was. It's not completely easy to be used but it's powerfull and stable.

Pros

It's robust, it's based on standardize j2ee engine build by IBM and also have SSO technology available out of the box. IBM support is excellent .

Cons

Not so easy to be used, you need to take some course to have a fast start.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

WEBSPHERE MESSAGE BROKER

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy to get suport and escalate cases

Pros

Is an integration layer software that allows easy communication With the service components of an organization which makes ir highly profitable system for companies due to its stability and management

Cons

Ease of integrating bussiness components

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Clean and simple console interface.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Security enabled, easy to deploy, stable, reliable, the console is very easy to use. Ease of installation/management, Stays current with patches/updates

Cons

not lightweight, Takes a bit time to get a server up and running. pricey as well, the support was not up to the mark, if you are struck somewhere.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It's a web server

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is expensive tool so most of the clients are big companies or banks

Cons

hard to use, complicated to deploy, expensive

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Websphere Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It provides the feature of creating custom queue managers and put custom messages on it for your component. Main benefit of this software is it helps to customize it according to your requirement.

Cons

Any tutorial video can be provided for the beginner users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very Good Java Application Server

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

What I like most about this software is how easy it is to deploy. There's a simple wizard and step by step guide that makes setting it up pretty easy and straightforward. Another thing I like is that it's highly customizable.

Cons

One major thing I don't like about this product is the cost. I think the price is rather too high, especially when compared to similar products. Another thing is the really bad support. I hope IBM can improve on that

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A solid base for your web applications

Reviewed 3 years ago

You will always be able to accomplish what you need to with WebSphere, but be prepared to learn! Also, take all tutorials with a grain of salt. Things have changed drastically between versions and also depending on who's doing the video. Some people take shortcuts that may impact (or may not) what you're trying to accomplish.

Pros

WebSphere has support for nearly any type of web server you need. While we've mainly used WebSphere Application Servers to run Maximo and related 3rd party applications, we've also tested using Tomcat, Liberty, and other server options/configurations with great success. Control is handled nicely from a web-based dashboard.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve to configuring WebSphere even for a simple use. If you're already familiar with basic web servers (such as Apache Tomcat), you'll be able to get a basic server set up and running fairly quickly, but as soon as you need any additional functionality, it can often take a long time to figure out how to accomplish it in the web-based UI. While guides abound for just about any functionality, there is always multiple ways to do it that seem to conflict with each other at times. The web-based UI is really just executing some .bat files on the backend, and if you learn those, you can accomplish certain tasks much quicker. Unfortunately, it seems like a lot of trial & error is the only way to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

probably the best in class in the market for application development

Reviewed 4 years ago

application development and deployment

Pros

it is a very stable server for application development and nodes/clusters can be configured/connected. Has a good console interface too.

Cons

it takes longer than usual to start the server and the other thing is that documentation could have been more comprehensive too

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I wouldn't chose it

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I worked as WS admin for a number of years. It's a generally stable software, once it's properly installed and configured

Cons

Mainly, WS suffers common issues in IBM software - Can be REALLY hard to install, specially in non-default scenarios - Support is terrible - Very steep learning curve

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Experience with IBM WebSphere

Reviewed 5 years ago

An app with a full set of functions and tools about business integrations. It also offers templates to easily build customized tools/apps.

Pros

A rich set of tools and services to make business to business operations

Cons

A little bit complicated to use, especially for new users

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Being a case manager, navigator dev websphere has been usefull for us for ease of deployment/ config

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's very easy to install and as a java supporting web server it can host large scale of applications like filenet and case manager, other supporting tool are also easy to configure and syncing and organizing diffrent nodes in single websphere installation is very good.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to implement

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Stability and robustness. Its easy to learn and new versions are well tested. The development tools are easy learning

Cons

Price. Is expensive and the licenses are adquiere by core. Depending on your contract and the infraestructure this could mean a lot of money yearly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IBM Websphere Platform is a very stable product.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Stable implementations

Pros

Very stable product that can handle large volumes of loads. It is very reliable for large implementations.

Cons

Cost is on the higher side and Issues are sometimes very hard to trace. Working through support can be cumbersome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good Product for small and large enterprises - iBM BPM, Process server, WESB

Reviewed 4 years ago

IBM Business Process Management Product has benefited greatly from the acquisition of a Lombardi, an industry leading BPM product which specialized in Human workflow oriented business processes. Furthermore IBM had their own legacy BPM product which was pretty strong on the back end integration and process orchestration front. WebSphere Process Server while dealing with the problem of systems integration...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IBM WTX

Reviewed 2 years ago

great tool for integration and ease of use is good. one of the best tools for handling EDI data of various domains such as HEALTH CARE, RETAIL, LOGISTICS

Pros

EASE OF USE ANY TO ANY TRANSFORMATION VARID FUNCTIONALITY GREAT TOOL FOR INTEGRATION OF BUSINESS AND ERP Systems

Cons

document tracking is a bit difficult. a better document tracking system should be needed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Middleware system to integrate T24 with other ADC channels

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall experience is very good. Our check clearing system and online banking system is currently integrated with T24 via IBM websphere.

Pros

We used IBM webshpere in one of the biggest banks in Pakistan. T24 integrates very well with other ADC channels via IBM websphere. Managing the queues for different ADC channels in IBM websphere is very easy and we can easily debug the particular issue faced in an ADC channel transactions.

Cons

Customer Care service is a little slow and we dont have much IBM partners and vendors in our region.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Websphere Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

IBM Websphere is one of the highly usable tool in middleware space. The way it integrates with MQ makes it even more popular.

Cons

Only thing which i least like about IBM is its complex features. It takes time to learn and implement this tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best Java EE application Server

Reviewed 3 years ago

One of our old Java project is deployed on IBM WebSphere. We have found no issues related to deployment and server performance and it have bee very stable so far.

Pros

IBM WebSphere is 20 years old project that aims to provide Java application server for Enterprise applications. Its latest version was released in 2016 that supports Java 8. It works best with Linux systems. Application deployments is easy and fast with WebSphere.

Cons

Being a Commercial Web serve, One has to pay high fees to get the licenses. It takes some time to make grip on using the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

All the tools at your fingertips

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

IBM WebSphere provides us with a wide variety of integration tools to make our work easier. It provides us with a library of examples to learn from them. Creating execution groups is very easy.

Cons

When I'm in debug mode, sometimes the execution groups do not respond and I have to reboot them manually. I have problems with using the SVN plugin. It is difficult to install it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

How did this become the enterprise standard?

Reviewed 5 years ago

I like that it has JNDI support and some Eclipse integration. Other than that, the layout for the administration console makes little sense and changes frequently, the memory footprint is huge (it takes far more resources to run the server than to run an application on the server), and there are generally bugs that result in memory leaks or even storage over utilization before even installing an application.

Pros

JNDI and Eclipse integration

Cons

Bugs that result in using up my server disk space

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I would say the best middle ware that anyone can get

Reviewed 3 years ago

It always prefer Websphere for deploying any Java based application

Pros

the applications deployed in it works awesome and very rarely the servers crashes. It improves the total service of the application deployed in it.

Cons

It is a bit hard to maintain, if the server crashes the applications deployed in it will be halted and it's a big con