App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

JumpCloud Directory Platform Logo

A cloud directory platform for secure access to resources

(20)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

JumpCloud Directory Platform Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


207 reviews

Recommended

GS
AvatarImg

Gareth S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Free Tier

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I run a predominantly Mac shop with only a handful of PCs. While I chose a competing Apple MDM solution, it was not because of dissatisfaction with JumpCloud. The Apple solution does not work with PCs, so I stuck with JumpCloud for those. At the price point (free) and the basic functionality provided, I am able to meet my audit and compliance targets with little effort and at a bargain.

Cons

The administrative interface and deployment steps are a tad cumbersome, but that's about it.

JC
AvatarImg

John C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Contender for Cloud Based LDAP

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great solution for infrastructure free cloud based LDAP.

Pros

Easy to roll out and implement, whether you are considering to go totally cloud or looking for a SSO for web based services.

Cons

The small businesses that I work with have used the free user/device model successfully. Though once they grow past the limit, the cost is quite steep to fully buy into the cost structure. I wish there was a middle ground to transition small business into a more cost effective growth model.

NT
AvatarImg

Neeraj T.

Industrial Automation, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It's quite good as we are using since last 8 months.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent !!

Pros

It's managed easily other OS platform and integration is also easy.

Cons

user handling and management is very easy.

VF
AvatarImg

Vincent F.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jumpcloud at A-JIS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

As IT admins for a K-12 school, we like to be able to map different software solutions to our users to manage licenses and to leverage SSO.

Cons

The lack of CSV exports for admin data and having to rely on the API. The API works well so that is not an issue but not all admins are able to leverage it.

TM
AvatarImg

Tim M.

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JumpCloud Keeps Us Safe

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it's a great tool for keeping our data secure, and for managing our cloud VPN credentials.

Pros

I like the ability to manage our user's devices, and secure their data if the device becomes lost or stolen.

Cons

It takes a lot of time to learn the ins and outs of the platform, and training or advanced support costs extra.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Moises C.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Break away from the traditional way of managing your computers

Reviewed 5 years ago

I love the ability of being able to manage computers and apps from anywhere that I am at. I do not have to be in the office to manage anything. Break away from the traditional settings.

Pros

I love the fact this this is an online solution to your old traditional way to manage computers from internal servers. It branches outside your office to anywhere you want to do work.

Cons

Some of the function setups are not that user friendly. Policies are a headache when selecting what to configure. It's not easy to go back where you left off. Sometimes you have to scroll down a long list of configurations to get back to the location that you last left off from.

JV
AvatarImg

Javier V.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A very good platform

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are very happy to select jumpcloud platform, we are a startup company and jumpcloud helped us to deploy it very faster. I recommend it 100%. The services are very good and I only remember one incident that directly affected me, but the jumpcloud support resolved it quickly I hope that new jumpcloud company services include without modify the price, for example System Insights.

Pros

Very easy to deploy, configure users, devices, radius

Cons

May be de command function is not easy to deploy

PM
AvatarImg

Paul M.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jumpcloud - Active Directory in the Cloud

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Having a cloud-hosted authoritative directory. The ease of creating and managing users across g-suite, ldap and Microsoft 365.

Cons

The cost for a large group of users a little higher than I'd like to pay. Especially as a education institution.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I love JumpCloud - it's a very smart approach to directory services in a cloud first world

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

JumpCloud provides the ability to be the core directory service, easily federate with other services and provides wealth of management capabilities in a cross-platform way.

Cons

Replacing a directory service is never an easy process, so there is some upfront investment in regards to implementation.

IR
AvatarImg

Isreli R.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DaaS as it should be.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Simple to use yet allows for more advanced functions. - No add-ons. Full functionality so it is easier to adopt new functionality. - The product evolves and adds features very fast. - New features and the over all product tend to be high quality.

Cons

- Sometimes you can feel the start-uppy nature of the company with less then ripe features released. - The cloud nature of the service means depending on another company in case of an outage.

MJ
AvatarImg

Mike J.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great non-domain user control!

Reviewed 5 years ago

With this service I was able to settle some PCI Compliance issues with just a short amount of setup time.

Pros

I loved the fact that I was easily able to implement this product with Linux and Windows servers to auto-create and populate user information and user control. This has changed so many steps in our initial buildouts and use on these machines. Must say it has saved countless hours of work!

Cons

So far, I do not see any part that I am not a fan of at all.

TM
AvatarImg

Terence M.

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bye bye Active Directory, Hello JumpCloud

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

As I worked on AD before. To be able to manage Mac and Windows together is great. Also to manage at home End Users. As well. Unlike on-prem AD.

Cons

JumpCloud does not have remote access to systems.

RC
AvatarImg

Rudolf C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jumpcloud Active Directory

Reviewed 3 years ago

When MacOS has been cloned for backups, we encountered error with the Jumpcloud agent requiring it to be uninstalled manually and deleted manually then reinstallation took place.

Pros

It was very easy to use because of its GUI dashboard. Single Sign On was so helpful that when you configure or reset a password - it's real time when applied to devices.

Cons

If we can integrate features to update OS aside from installed applications, that would be awesome!

CH
AvatarImg

Christian H.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jumpstart your directory service with JumpCloud

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having SSO (Single-Sign-On) across all our systems (mostly Linux) and Google G Suite (Google Drive, Gmail etc) has made systems administration much less painful for both, users and administrators.

Pros

The setup is relatively easy, and major operating systems are supported. It allows single-sign-on (SSO) across a variety of systems. For me, of particular interest was having Linux and G Suite SSO, for which JumpCloud provides an excellent solution.

Cons

I wish Linux SSO would work by an LDAP proxy cache instead of a patch to /etc/passwd /etc/shadow /etc/group /etc/gshadow files. An LDAP proxy cache just appears more secure to me.

Jm
AvatarImg

Joe mar N.

Computer & Network Security, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Safe with Jumpcloud

Reviewed 15 days ago

for how many years of using jumpcloud. it brings peace to me for security of my files.

Pros

the entire program of jumpcloud. for security and easy to access.

Cons

it cannot be easily access or hack by someone

RC
AvatarImg

Roman C.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very ambitious product, and it delivers!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Would highly recommend.

Pros

Very easy to deploy, and does what it advertises. Do not expect all the mega granular functionality of Microsoft AD, but for a small to medium business, it covers the basis. Strengths are managing remote workers, and ease of use.

Cons

Migration tool is OK, but could use "push" functionality. All devices are not automatically added to the "All Devices" group.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy directory management in the cloud

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

User management in the cloud has made it easy to integrate with SSO from our software vendors.

Cons

Dependent on JumpCloud to have consistent uptime. Have only had one outage lasting more than an hour in the five years we have used it.

VH
AvatarImg

Victoria H.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Happy with our decision

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great!

Pros

The features seem straightforward, and I have heard no complaints from the users and security engineers.

Cons

I'm not entirely clear what it does, but maybe that's the point? It's supposed to work without hindering day to day activities.

SA
AvatarImg

Sandy A.

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use as an administrator

Reviewed 3 years ago

Experience is great with user interface and SSO Groups

Pros

It is easy to use as an admin to change passwords, add SSO groups, add users

Cons

I don't feel the MDM is up to speed with others available at this time.

PR
AvatarImg

Przemysław R.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best for managing Windows devices

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Pre-configured policies, assets management, patch management. Clean design, responsive support.

Cons

Some limitations for Apple devices. Application deployments is a bit complicated.

BB
AvatarImg

Bill B.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free for ten users makes this very applicable to most small businesses

Reviewed 4 years ago

The small businesses that I work with have from 3 to 10 PCs, but usually no server. JumpCloud provides the missing centralized user account control. Fairly easy to implement once you understand the model. Their documentation is good and fairly complete, sufficient to learn and utilize the product. Once set up, it has been trouble-free.

Pros

Multi-platform! It uses and modifies local machine settings, so even if a laptop leaves the LAN or the service is down, everything continues to work.

Cons

The Samba integration is complex. This is more about Samba than JumpCloud, however. I needed a few different pages to pull together the whole picture on how to implement.

ST
AvatarImg

Simon T.

Design, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Triggerbob

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ok, a few bumps along the road but a growing product

Pros

SSO specifically for the Mac. Improving MDM.

Cons

Third party MDM integration and agent implementation is painful

ML
AvatarImg

Michel L.

Gambling & Casinos, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is simple, but powerful

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like how simple to use the application is, and yet so powerful. Plus, it is amazing that we don't have to worry about setting up and maintaining a Directory server. Another bonus is how JumpCloud can also be used as an inventory, with a lot of useful information about each machine. And there is still a bunch of features still not explored by our team.

Cons

Setting up a new machine for a user remotely is still a little (very little) painful, since it requires manual intervention from the user.

DH
AvatarImg

Donald H.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ease of use

Reviewed 5 years ago

Used this product at my clients sites that are a small office and not a domain. Works best in these environments.

Pros

Ease of deployment and ease of use when managing end users and Nas access.

Cons

When changing password it would not flow from jump cloud to O365. You would have to change in O365 and push to jumpcloud.

JH
AvatarImg

Jin How L.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The go to for a cloud domain controller

Reviewed 3 years ago

Asset management and software deployment. Policies can be implemented very easily as well with just a click of a few buttons.

Pros

In the cloud, do not have to care about the physical servers. Asset management and software deployment. Policies can be implemented very easily as well with just a click of a few buttons.

Cons

Integration with macOS could have been better. E.g - If a new user is tied to a macOS laptop and the "Change password at first login" option is selected, there would be no way that the user would be able to login.