App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Katalon Studio Logo

Katalon Studio

Modern, comprehensive quality management platform

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Katalon Studio Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

707

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.53/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It's been really awesome for people on test automation teams. The coverage it provides with respect to the platforms is superb.
The community in katalon is great, its a small yet growing community with lots of willing and helpful users. I myself have become an avid user of the tool and the forum.
It is available free of cost, being an open source application, and also a great interface to use. It provides relatively good features for mobile automation.
Also, tests are always failing in the headless browser and there isn't enough information to investigate what the problem is.
Updates for the software could be with errors when tests couldn't be executed.
Difficult with the backend testing and doesnt support all languages.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


707 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anshuman B.

Security Engineer

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Future of automated testing

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Anshuman B.: Hi, I'm Anshuman and I'm a security engineer. Today, I'm here to review Katalon Studio,...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ryan D.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bridge the gap from manual to automated testing

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Katalon Studio has been instrumental in lowering the barrier of entry for our people who are just learning test automation. It has enabled rapid creation of automation to implement continuous testing in our end to end functional testing efforts.

Cons

We still needed to implement some standard ways of how we save, write and organize our test suites. Katalon could provide some guidelines or templates to help in this effort.

OO
AvatarImg

OLUGBENGA O.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

KATALON AUTOMATION TOOL: FREE, EASY AND CAPABLE

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Its easy to download (no installation needed) and use feature. Multiple methods of scripting test cases. No or little programming knowledge

Cons

Takes time to load. Freezes often. Some configurations aren't so straightforward

as
AvatarImg

amar s.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Katalon Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Not good ..I like other functionality but very disappointed with IDE. It completely sucks.

Pros

Record and play functionality with IDE where we can write custom keyword that make it different from other tools of this kind.

Cons

The Pros of this software has become the Cons. I have selected this tools among some other tools of this kind becoz this tool has IDE support and we can write custom keyword on that but there are a lot of issues in Katalon IDE and coding on that has become really frustrating . Around 8-10 projects in our organization are suffering from that. I have also posted same concerns in katalon forum but no...

FC
AvatarImg

Felipe C.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great solution to ease automated tests

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great experience at all, it provided necessary features and learning curve was quite fast.

Pros

It's very easy to use, interface is clean and simple, providing exactly what's needed for the end user, despite simple web or even a more complex API testing as well.

Cons

It's a bit heavy, having some performance issues during some intense usage. Exporting automation scripts provides decent, but results could be a bit more improved.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jeremiah S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent testing product

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have used Katalon for two use cases. Initially it was primarily used for automated monitoring of multiple Single Sign On solutions - allowing us to setup a batch run that hourly would sign in to our various client sites and insure successful sign in and log out through the sites. We have also used for automated testing of API development.

Pros

Katalon Studio is an affordable solution that allows for many complex testing needs to be met and integrated within the QA pipeline. We used Katalon as a testing agent for our API developments and ongoing monitoring for Single Sign On solutions. Setup was quick and easy with more in depth functionality as we saw fit available to fine tune our testing and monitoring.

Cons

There was a small learning curve in the language used to develop the scripts but nothing major. The biggest hit came when they moved from allowing us to call Katalon via a batch script for free and making you pay for individual engines to run to allow for our monitoring.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Harshit B.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Automation Testing AIO.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's been really awesome for people on test automation teams. the coverage it provides with respect to the platforms is superb.

Pros

The pros of the application are without doubt the number of platforms that it covers and does it very very well.

Cons

Not a lot of cons to be honest, the learning curve was steep for people on the manual side to testing, however after some they did get adjusted to things and are regular users of the application.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rakesh K.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A very good open-source tool which supports all selenium features with a better handling interface.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was a very good experience. It suits a team very good if the team is new to automation.

Pros

Inbuilt functions, Automated reports, Automatic framework structure, runtime logs give much more visibility into what's happening

Cons

Too much information in the html report, Should provide option to add customizable report like reportng

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adrian A.

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

QA for every one

Reviewed 3 years ago

I’ll admin I am kind of a Katalon fanboy, for my needs and workflow Katalon is an amazing tool which enables me to think and develop testing scenarios really fast and almost no friction when adoption the tool for the team.

Pros

Easy to use, automagically created test scripts that works and you can fine tune manually or out right create from scratch via easy to learn (Java based) groovy scripts

Cons

Hard to say, you can compare it against other “free” options for pricing but it depends on your own team capabilities and time to make that comparison .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Diego G.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon for automated tests

Reviewed 5 years ago

I liked it very much for the feasibility of use when loading and the portability it has, you just have to run the file without installing

Pros

I really like the user-friendly interface, the organization of the objects and the configuration features

Cons

What I like least is the poor management of changes when changing an attribute, the object search filter does not search by attribute

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aditya T.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio is a great automation testing tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

The main advantage of Katalon Studio is Freeware Software and has an excellent customer support, they make sure queries raised in the forum are worked upon in the next relase of the software

Pros

With katalon studio, test cases can be easily created, updated, parameterized and integrated according to the business requirements. User does not require much knowledge of Html or Java. It not only provides automation testing for web browser, it also supports mobile testing and many more features to come. The best thing about Katalon is its Web-record function which can just create test case just by recording the flow of apllication.

Cons

It's still developing as a product, every month an update is released which has got new features and better functionality is expected which sometimes proves wrong. It does not support automation for silver light based application and flash based application

MS
AvatarImg

Monica S.

Fine Art, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio, great tool to get introduced to Testing Automation, as well experienced users

Reviewed 5 years ago

We had very little test automation in place, and actually was using as an intern till the "purchased" product was up to speed. It surpassed my expectations the more I used it. Very reliable, easy to maintain and update. Was able to build out a decent library of smaller reusable modules, that have greatly decreased the time it takes to create new testcases. It took the frustration out of tool itself, making it enjoyable to work in.

Pros

Very fast to get up and running. Fits a variety level of users, flexible enough to allow advanced users to pretty much setup how they please at the same time enough of all the base needs for the new user. With it being free product, they update it regularly and are very attentive to user requests. Their application is actually fun to use. The setup and options are intuitive. Not hard to figure out how to do and implement even more complex, complicated operations with custom code. Very portable. The install being as isolated from the code, can easily install on another machine, and open project and be running tests, no special build, or install requirements to do this as I've seen in other tools.

Cons

Not a fan of the Object Repository handling, doesn't do well of detecting dupes, can get quick messy if user of the object spy. The code repository integration is basic, the interface to it not very robust. Its scripting language is Groovy, which is not as popular as others.

PF
AvatarImg

Paul F.

Human Resources, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is an awesome automation testing tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

- I use it for the system testing, and it suit for all my needs like how I build my own testing framework in eclipse. I started using it since 2018 Jan and I can see the software keep improving the feature and functionality. As my company need to use Jenkins for the build test and this tool fit for my requirement otherwise if I build my own framework will take me longer time only can start the automation testing.

Pros

- The record& playback feature help those QA who doesn't have programming language also can do automation testing. - The object ID changed, immediately all the test cases using the object will get refresh - Object capture can let QA to decide how to navigate to the web element, can have multiple selection by ID,Name,Text,Xpath and so on. If we develop by using eclipse only can have 1 locator at the same time. - Better feature than HP QTP and it's FREE. -Test data can have multiple option like csv,text,excel -Nicer report for all the test suite executed -Allow to import third party library and use it to write the customkeyword in JAVA. -Attached the custom profile use in test suite collection for different testing purposes.

Cons

- A lot of issue found when executed the test in command prompt, because I use Jenkins to trigger the test - The browser driver not the latest in the market - Firefox browser not support the latest in the market. - Although I didn't pay for the support but I hope Katalon team can support /fix the stopper issue raised in the forum within short period.

MG
AvatarImg

Mike G.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product and great alternative

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall the tool has many good functions and capabilities. Pros, outweigh cons in a major way. Pricing structure and support is excellent.

Pros

Somewhat easy to get started (see cons), Git integration, beginner and expert modes. Ability to export and continue with other IDEs if desired to go outside of the tool (not locked in to it forever). Plenty of information on the web to troubleshoot and ask questions (unlike our previous tool). May frequent updates and feature releases.

Cons

A little cumbersome to setup all the needed plugins. Until everything is configured just right, you will run in to errors here and there that take time to troubleshoot. Test case navigation/folder structure could use a few more options and customization capabilities to be able to sort things better. Automatic centralized location for code and test case storage (similar to ALM) would be great. Having to commit and pull code each time from different stations is cumbersome. To schedule remote execution you must make sure the machine pulled latest code which is an issue if execution and development PCs are different.

AD
AvatarImg

Arun D.

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio - Free, Easy to Use, Best UI for Web, Mobile and API automation

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to setup Easy to use UI - Objecy Spy, Recorder, Keyword and Script view, debugging, Integration with GIT etc.., Easy to learn - Built in keywords, framework, simple external data integration, record and play back Advanced Capabilities - Multi browser, parallel execution, command line execution, record / spy mobile applications, API etc..,

Cons

Newer version of Katalon Studio has moved some of the free features to paid (ex. Jira integration) Capturing objects, scripting and execution time on mobile apps must be improved Multilevel API calls are not efficient compared to tools like SoapUI, Postman etc.. Report cannot be customized Desktop app automation not available

nr
AvatarImg

navya r.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A powerful automated testing tool at free of cost

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have a challenge to start over the automation immediately and there aren't any QA's who has much knowledge about it. In that case being a QA Developer I suggested on using Katalon studio to save time on setting up the framework from scratch. Having this tool handy and easy to use it doesn't take much time for our manual testers to write scripts using manual mode. I personally like the tool as it allows us to create custom keywords though the tool provides many pre-defined methods there is a requirement to create custom keywords as the application demands like retrieving the links from emails, verfying pdfs. Today we have had ample number of test cases developed using Katalon Studio. And we are further hoping to start working on API automation too using Katalon.

Pros

Powerful tool but easy to use and simple to deploy Open Source Tool Single tool provides features to perform Web UI, Mobile and API automation Supports Page Object Modal Provides Object Spy feature Provides cross browser testing It has both manual and script mode It has many pre-defined methods which helps the manual testers to create automation scripts Releases feature updates frequently Provides integration with various 3rd party tools like TestRail, qTest, Git, Jenkins Provides great reports.

Cons

Paid support Frequent feature release takes time for installation everytime

RG
AvatarImg

Robert G.

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for testing your development

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great, Katalon is a very powerful and flexible testing product, that I am able to use for most of my API's regardless of the language or technology I use.

Pros

I really like that Katalon is both similar to using Selenium and Quick Test pro. This is a fantastic marriage of the best features those products offered separately. It is also great to be able to save objects into a reusable repository and to be able to save request/responses and global variables. It makes it easier than trying to maintain request in files on your system. The use of Groovy, similar to QTP using VBScript, makes it easy to run tests in a more programmatical manner, allowing for loops and conditionals. Overall I find it extremely useful and I have recommended it to and prepared a training video for everyone on my team

Cons

One thing that Selenium had handled well was the conversion of HTML recorded tests to JUnit specifically which is something that seems absent from Katalon, and the conversion between the Browser Plugin recording and the tests created in the IDE seem to be incompatible. Memory does seem to be an issue, as I have trouble running Katalon along with other Java-based IDEs. I have also had trouble recording objects in the IDE, where certain form objects (e.g. select/combo boxes) use the contents as the default name, and in my case, caused the object name to exceed the character limit. forcing me to rename all my objects and keep track of what I had named them, which was a bit tedious. Also, the integration with Jenkins seems confusing.

FV
AvatarImg

Francisco V.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

I still can't believe it's free

Reviewed 5 years ago

Pros

It's packed with features, which comes in handy when you want to perform many tasks with one single tool. Getting started is easy, even for beginners; I have a few years of experience in automation with pure scripting and transitioning to a UI based tool was like going from riding a horse to driving a sports car. SpyWeb is incredibly useful, I even prefer it to the recorder, which may seem faster at first, but in my experience it's been far more efective; selecting the right locator immediately after capturing the TestObject really saves time. Databinding in test suites is a blessing, very easy to use and drive tests from this data.

Cons

The UI is a bit clunky, not very intuitive, and I guess the word is "overpopulated". There are many options, buttons, dropdowns, popups, which can be confusing. The learning process is fast at first, but when you are forced to use extended keywords, conditionals, method calling, the tool becomes a nightmare for beginner/intermediate users. I usually just write methods in script view, but many users have no experience in coding and really struggle with the UI assembly of methods or binary statements. Debugging is somewhat confusing as well, but that's not so important in my opinion. The application takes way too long to *start* running tests as the size of them increases (the execution is really fast though).

os
AvatarImg

olaoye s.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My Experience using katalon studio for mobile application testing

Reviewed 5 years ago

My search for a mobile automation test tool led me to katalon, i needed a tool that could help with stress test, ui test, fuctional test as well as regression test. I must say the UI feel with katalon was great coupled with simple user experience, with katalon it looked like all the features i needed to achieve mobile app test were all sited in one place. Seting up katalon on on mac for android testing wasn't stress at all, i just needed to read their documentation and their short clips directory videos to say the least katalon as a great community with very relevant questions and relatable asnwers. I have used katalon for mobile and app test only, maybe my next exploration will be to use it for api testing

Pros

The Record mobile app feature, that allows easy recording, and very effective to perform stress test on mobile apps The spy mobile, that allows me jump into any screen i missed during recording while i'm able to select the missing element, i am also able to add the new element to a different repo Organised workbench and easy customization: I like how katalon organises its my testcases/files and folders. I'm able to group elements in folder, collapse and enlarge boards, etc Groovy scripting board - Very clean, collapsable, optioned and easy scripting interface, katalon made groovy look so easy, i learnt groovy scripting

Cons

somethings still have to be updated/saved manually for every test e.g i have to always set "uninstallAfterClose to false" everytime i run my test

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon is my daily use software for testing

Reviewed 5 years ago

I used appium before I know katalon. I think katalon is easier compared with appium. Especially for verify the element displayed or not. In Katalon, we have special method to verify element not exist. Katalon is more user friendly and easier to manage the test case.

Pros

It is convenient and integrated with Selenium and Appium. It almost has all the features what Sele/App have. Besides, it has its own defined methods which can be used very efficiently to do the testing work. For example, which you want to scroll to a certain text, all you need to do is use scrollToText() without handling the XY coordinate. I truly thank Katalon for making my work easier!

Cons

I think one feature I am not satisfied is handling the webview in mobile apps. I know there is a method in Katalon which allow us to switch from native apps to webview. But it seems like it does not work for me. When I post the question in forum, I did not get the solution neither. Currently I am working on testing hybrid apps with webview in it. I hope one day you can fix this.

KK
AvatarImg

Katerina K.

Media Production, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for beginners, fast growing software with a lot of pros

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It was my first software for automation of my tests. So it's a good tool for complete beginners. The test case writing process takes less time than in many other tools. I like the way you can switch between manual and script mode - from predefined options to the actual code

Cons

Updates for the software could be with errors when tests couldn't be executed. Or with changes like "to create a pdf report please install the add on". I don't like such changes when some of the functionalities suddenly stop working.

JP
AvatarImg

Jyoti P.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A great tool for Automation Testing! Amazing features and user friendly

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is very easy to learn and I would recommend this to anyone who is new to automation testing. This tool is very user friendly, but I faced some issues such as scripts failing randomly, or generation of huge volumes of cache files. But the overall experience is good as I got a lot to learn and implement as well.

Pros

I liked the fact that Katalon Studio provides us a lot of Features that we can make use of, in order to automate test cases. It provides the features such as web recorder, object spy, a user friendly interface. It organizes all the files in separate folders and generated detailed reports of the execution taken place of the test cases.

Cons

The tool generates a lot of cache files and sometimes it gives an error because of it. Sometimes the web recorder does not work. Once the test cases are passed, again if we run the tests, it fails.

SM
AvatarImg

Sara M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This software was chosen by me because it's so simple and intuitive to use! Everyone can use it if it doesn't now programming! Love it!

Cons

Difficult with dynamic id's and when we try to build a suite of tests the results are not the real ones. Example: 10 tests individually they pass when I try a build them all in a suite 80% of them fail. This is very boring.

AD
AvatarImg

Anurag D.

Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Katalon for easy Testing

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was good when we use to work in 5.9. 6.2 version needs improvement

Pros

- Ease of finding elements - SPY & Record feature - Work on one browser and run on other. - Profile part /framework structure is too good. - Renaming custom keyword automatically updates in all test cases which is very good but If we are calling custom keyword inside custom keyword, it's not working in 6.2

Cons

- Intellisense is not there - Dynamic values or variables are treated as string, something should be there to differentiate variable ex : def query = "select * from table where col=dynamic_value" - The version 1.7.16 by slf4j binding is not compatible with [1.6] - Katalon studio should work irrespective of Browser version like if chrome is updated V-76, it's stop working in 6.2 Version. there should...

MB
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automation for mobile apps

Reviewed 5 years ago

I had used the standalone Appium for a while in my free time. When I started a project that required mobile app automation, I wanted to produce automated tests as quickly as possible. I discovered Katalon and was able to setup numerous automated tests within months, complete with logging. I appreciate that I didn't have to write a lot from scratch, and I was able to focus more on testing.

Pros

Full IDE with; CSS/mobile element inspection, debugging tools, and built-in logging for tests. Easy to use for beginners and facilitates rapid development for advanced users. Active support community. Most streamlined Appium setup.

Cons

The user interface feels slow at times. The Eclipse based IDE is limited to Java and Groovy.

MA
AvatarImg

Marquita A.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review from beginner in automation.

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far it helps in regression testing we have 3 environment for test and the cycle of deployment become more easy since we can automate it now I started from using the recording then from that we familiarizing the code.

Pros

This have a lot of option to explore in testing: It has recording. Has Manual and Script code. Like other automation there's lot of info in google but this one is the easy to understand.

Cons

I am in the Philippines and my coworker is in the US. Most of my friends in same field work on other automation I only have one friend can understand Katalon in short I want to get in larger community so I get more information easily on working on this.